Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > VirtualDub, VDubMod & AviDemux

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 1st May 2017, 00:19   #241  |  Link
StainlessS
HeartlessS Usurer
 
StainlessS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Over the rainbow
Posts: 5,904
Yanak, as you mention MSU Old Cinema, I thought I would point something out, here:- https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?p=1371376

Not good news I'm afraid, unless they have updated it.
__________________
I sometimes post sober.
StainlessS@MediaFire ::: AND/OR ::: StainlessS@SendSpace

"Some infinities are bigger than other infinities", but how many of them are infinitely bigger ???
StainlessS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2017, 01:51   #242  |  Link
Yanak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 250
Hi,
Took this example from the filters list but i have not tested through avisynth if it works or not, too late to make some tests now as it's almost 3am here but will give some tries tomorrow, thank you for pointing this.

It isn't the type of filter i use the most in virtualdub but still annoying if limited like you discovered, beside doing manually a lot of stuff in avisynth or using overlays there isn't really easy solutions to make footage look old and dirt in avisynth, more the contrary (even worse when it comes to import and apply easily some externally created or 3D LUT in some ways into avisynth, complete headache for those, when it could bring some really neat stuff )

Thanks for pointing this, will try a bit tomorrow but I'm afraid it have not changed since all those years, at least i will have time to elaborate a plan B for the next time i will need this .
Yanak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2017, 02:01   #243  |  Link
StainlessS
HeartlessS Usurer
 
StainlessS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Over the rainbow
Posts: 5,904
You can if necessary set up VDub as a frameserver and feed it into Avs.

Also, never used it but there is T3DLut:- https://www.google.co.uk/?gfe_rd=cr&...visynth+t3dlut

EDIT: I have a version of the plugin, if you cant find it.

EDIT: Old cinema is not so atypical of MSU filters, there is more than one that suffers from similar problems.
__________________
I sometimes post sober.
StainlessS@MediaFire ::: AND/OR ::: StainlessS@SendSpace

"Some infinities are bigger than other infinities", but how many of them are infinitely bigger ???

Last edited by StainlessS; 1st May 2017 at 02:11.
StainlessS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2017, 02:13   #244  |  Link
Yanak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 250
I could never get the vdub frameserver to work under windows seven, this is another thing that could be updated and be very helpful .

Will check tomorrow for the plugin, quickly saw there was even a 64 bit version of it on the link but nothing to download there, will research tomorrow when my eyes won't be half close and if i have no luck i'll pm you about it, this gave me good hope, hopefully it will work.

Thank you very much for the help.
Yanak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2017, 02:26   #245  |  Link
StainlessS
HeartlessS Usurer
 
StainlessS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Over the rainbow
Posts: 5,904
Yanak, I was looking at your profile, to see what you were doing and clicked on what you were looking at, got this alert

No idea what that means but seems VERY suspicious to me, do not give any password, and change your password if you did give it,

by the way, if you just click the close box, nothing happens and you can view the pages that seem to be on Doom9.

HERE: Image:-

EDIT: SonyBiz.net seems to be SONY, but who knows (and why are they asking for Password) !!!


#################################################


__________________
I sometimes post sober.
StainlessS@MediaFire ::: AND/OR ::: StainlessS@SendSpace

"Some infinities are bigger than other infinities", but how many of them are infinitely bigger ???

Last edited by StainlessS; 16th July 2017 at 02:13.
StainlessS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2017, 02:49   #246  |  Link
raffriff42
Retried Guesser
 
raffriff42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,377
StainlessS, it does the same thing for me. It's the link below "this thing:" in the text. I reported it. (It ain't Yanak's fault!)
Safe "printable" view: https://forum.doom9.org/printthread.php?t=139389
raffriff42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2017, 02:57   #247  |  Link
StainlessS
HeartlessS Usurer
 
StainlessS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Over the rainbow
Posts: 5,904
Cheers Raff, have seen that before and had no idea what the cause was.

EDIT: So, it seems that it is just because someone inserted a link to a jpeg that happens to be on sony server.
__________________
I sometimes post sober.
StainlessS@MediaFire ::: AND/OR ::: StainlessS@SendSpace

"Some infinities are bigger than other infinities", but how many of them are infinitely bigger ???

Last edited by StainlessS; 1st May 2017 at 02:59.
StainlessS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2017, 08:06   #248  |  Link
shekh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 549
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yanak View Post
- Do you plan to add some kind of 3D LUT support so we could apply .cube or .3dl profiles directly to the videos ?
No plan

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yanak View Post
- Will there be a way to import curve profiles from external programs a bit like the "Gradation Curves" plug-in used to do ( sadly i mostly use Gimp for curve and this format is not supported in this old plugin tho ).
To import where, into curves plugin? Again, no plan.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yanak View Post
- Will it be possible to add an option in the script editor to have an automatic return to the line so the stuff typed stays inside the window without the need to use the horizontal scroll to see the end of the line ?
This is really simple, probably.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yanak View Post
...
Let's say we have a new "Insert Filters parameters" , it could return something like this ( with comment at the start ) :
#"MSU Old cinema 2.0" (247, 223, 181, 0, 1, 0, 30, 70, 15, 3, 30, 10, 30, 150, 0, 1, 100)
...
I don't really want to mess with script editor, but what I may do is support copy and paste of filters, then this will allow to paste filters in any text editor.
(looking similar to vdscript commands)
__________________
VirtualDub2
shekh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2017, 15:00   #249  |  Link
Yanak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 250
@StainlessS :,
saw that just now, really weird, answered to your PM too but seems like my messages don't work, tried a few times but not sure if you gonna get it , sorry if it worked and comes in duplicates.

Found T3DLut plugin in x86 an x64 but this won't work as it supports only a very specific format ( sent more infos on this by PM but i don't know if you will receive it or not )

@raffriff42 : i think i recall you from encodingtalk forum unless it's another similar name, i am the guy who had issues with your frametime checker first versions as it wasn't French language aware


@shekh :
Thanks for the reply,

Import curves into the curves plugin yes, that was the idea, import external programs curves directly, well not gonna happen, but thanks for replying.

The changes to the text editor return to the line and possibility to copy the filter codes will be great already.

Thanks again.

Last edited by Yanak; 1st May 2017 at 15:08.
Yanak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2017, 16:25   #250  |  Link
StainlessS
HeartlessS Usurer
 
StainlessS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Over the rainbow
Posts: 5,904
Yup, I got all three of your PM's Yanak. PM'ed response.
__________________
I sometimes post sober.
StainlessS@MediaFire ::: AND/OR ::: StainlessS@SendSpace

"Some infinities are bigger than other infinities", but how many of them are infinitely bigger ???
StainlessS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th May 2017, 20:18   #251  |  Link
sneaker_ger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,100
When setting x264 SAR and exporting to mkv the mkv video display width/height headers are not set appropriately.
sneaker_ger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th May 2017, 20:28   #252  |  Link
shekh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 549
Quote:
Originally Posted by sneaker_ger View Post
When setting x264 SAR and exporting to mkv the mkv video display width/height headers are not set appropriately.
Thanks. How do you know, from MediaInfo?
__________________
VirtualDub2
shekh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th May 2017, 20:41   #253  |  Link
sneaker_ger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,100
MkvToolNix GUI Header editor or mkvinfo.
sneaker_ger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th May 2017, 20:44   #254  |  Link
sneaker_ger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,100
On second look it's even worse:
1.) no mkv CodecPrivate written for integrated x264
2.) "DisplayUnit" is set to 4. Legal range is 0 to 3.

Same problem with MP4:
3.) Invalid AVCConfigurationBox.

Last edited by sneaker_ger; 7th May 2017 at 21:50.
sneaker_ger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th May 2017, 23:25   #255  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,390
Quote:
Originally Posted by sneaker_ger View Post
2.) "DisplayUnit" is set to 4. Legal range is 0 to 3.
Actually, 4 is a valid value for "unknown", it was added in the recent standardization efforts of the Matroska specification.

https://github.com/Matroska-Org/matr...roska.xml#L388

... couldn't find a page where the recent spec is properly rendered on. <.<
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2017, 08:22   #256  |  Link
sneaker_ger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,100
I see.
This part of the spec is interesting. The DAR when using DisplayUnit != 0 and DisplayWidth and DisplayHeight not set seems to be undefined.
sneaker_ger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2017, 11:18   #257  |  Link
shekh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 549
I guess there is probably some imperfection at stream level too, like avcc/annexb stuff or unnecessary headers... never planned to dig deep into specifications
__________________
VirtualDub2
shekh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th May 2017, 20:57   #258  |  Link
shekh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 549
Quote:
Originally Posted by sneaker_ger View Post
On second look it's even worse:
1.) no mkv CodecPrivate written for integrated x264
2.) "DisplayUnit" is set to 4. Legal range is 0 to 3.

Same problem with MP4:
3.) Invalid AVCConfigurationBox.
Should be much better with the new build 39460: aspect ratio certainly works, filled some missing headers.


Quote:
Originally Posted by LigH View Post
In the good old VirtualDubMod, saving a screenshot of the currently displayed frame was so easy: Video Snapshot source frame (Shift+1).

Trying the same in VDubFMod r38543 (32b) ... Video menu: No more matching entry. File menu: Export ... a submenu, that costs me precious time, unless there is a keyboard shortcut assigned; Single image ... no shortcut assigned yet, have to try to assign one later; click. Nothing happens?

Well, let's assign the shortcut. To File.SaveImage seems valid. Test it ... nothing happens.

Let's try in VDubFMod r38544 (64b) ... pressing shortcut (was assigned for both versions, that's nice): OK, a dialog appears. Exporting a single image works. So it appears to be broken only in the 32b version.

Or is it? Trying again ... this time it works there as well?! Strange. A reliable bug could be found and fixed. But unreliable issues are the hardest.
Mystery solved! The picture was disappearing with most any command: just go to "frame rate" for example, press cancel and now you have "copy output" disabled.
I cant believe it was so simple
__________________
VirtualDub2
shekh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th May 2017, 21:22   #259  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 5,603
I am impressed!

__________________

New German Gleitz board
MediaFire: x264 | x265 | VPx | AOM | Xvid
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th May 2017, 21:30   #260  |  Link
raffriff42
Retried Guesser
 
raffriff42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,377
Hi shekh! When viewing a deep color image via AvisynthPlus, "copy output frame to clipboard" returns nothing but a black rectangle. Adding a ConvertFormat: RGB32 filter solves the problem.

Last edited by raffriff42; 14th May 2017 at 21:37.
raffriff42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 14:22.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.