Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 AVC / H.264

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 8th February 2012, 10:25   #6981  |  Link
CruNcher
Registered User
 
CruNcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,949
Quote:
Originally Posted by NikosD View Post
I didn't say CoreAVC uses copy-back.
I said the opposite, that they don't use it.

But CoreAVC supports Media SDK after CoreAVC 3.x.
ClearVideo support was there in CoreAVC 2.x, but QS HW support in CoreAVC 2.x wasn't.

You put PotPlayer and MPC-HC in ISV's too ?

What do they (PotPlayer and MPC-HC) use with their internal codecs in order to accelerate in QS HW the H.264 video ?
The same ClearVideo DXVA interface, though CoreAVC uses some clever workarounds the same as Mirillis does for several special decoding issues

Not every DXVA decoder is the same only because its using the same interface

Arcsoft and Cyberlink are currently also going this way trying to fix issues with workarounds
__________________
all my compares are riddles so please try to decipher them yourselves :)

It is about Time

Join the Revolution NOW before it is to Late !

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=168004

Last edited by CruNcher; 8th February 2012 at 10:36.
CruNcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th February 2012, 10:30   #6982  |  Link
NikosD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 2,845
Apparently MPC-HC doesn't have access to ClearVideo documentation because they have disabled DXVA acceleration for QS HW.

It doesn't work for them and they haven't found those clever workarounds you mention.

Splash and PotPlayer work fine with QS HW.
But I think PotPlayer doesn't have access to ClearVideo too, like MPC-HC.

How did they do it ?
__________________
Win 10 x64 (19041.450) - Core i3-4170 - Radeon RX 470 (20.8.1)
HEVC decoding benchmarks
H.264 DXVA Benchmarks for all
NikosD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th February 2012, 10:39   #6983  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 10,002
Quote:
Originally Posted by NikosD View Post
How did they do it ?
Probably stole it somewhere, like all their other stuff.
Also, PotPlayer uses Erics QS decoder.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders

Last edited by nevcairiel; 8th February 2012 at 10:41.
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th February 2012, 10:41   #6984  |  Link
NikosD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 2,845
Probably build it by themselves, because there is no free code accessible for that task.
Erics QS decoder is an alternative mode for PotPlayer, like many others.

But their own internal codecs provide native DXVA acceleration for H.264 and MPEG-2, without using quicksync.dll

@Cruncher
If PotPlayer had access to ClearVideo documentation, they would have added VC-1 DXVA acceleration for QS HW, too.
Which is ClearVideo only.

So PotPlayer doesn't use ClearVideo for H.264, either.
They do it natively.

And what about MS DS/MFT ?
Do they use ClearVideo too?
__________________
Win 10 x64 (19041.450) - Core i3-4170 - Radeon RX 470 (20.8.1)
HEVC decoding benchmarks
H.264 DXVA Benchmarks for all

Last edited by NikosD; 8th February 2012 at 10:47.
NikosD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th February 2012, 10:56   #6985  |  Link
CruNcher
Registered User
 
CruNcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,949
they think practical why reinvent if someone did it already though they try to fix things no one tackled yet but give nothing back that's the shame of it
Though they don't do very advanced workarounds their workarounds are mostly container analyze based (MediaInfo) and just turning stuff on and off (still they have no automatic QS fallback for some of these issues which is the easiest way to fix them) when they think its better todo so but the other go into the bitstream level itself
__________________
all my compares are riddles so please try to decipher them yourselves :)

It is about Time

Join the Revolution NOW before it is to Late !

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=168004

Last edited by CruNcher; 8th February 2012 at 11:04.
CruNcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th February 2012, 21:24   #6986  |  Link
TheShadowRunner
Registered User
 
TheShadowRunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 399
Hi Betaboy,
Here's a report for a hi10p decoding bug:
The sample: cqm_sample.mkv
LAV decodes it fine, but as you can see Core gives a huge artifact.
It's apparently due to the use of cqm.
Hope it helps.
__________________
XP SP3 / Geforce 8500 / Zoom Player
TheShadowRunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2012, 16:16   #6987  |  Link
BetaBoy
CoreCodec Founder
 
BetaBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 1,421
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheShadowRunner View Post
Hi Betaboy,
Here's a report for a hi10p decoding bug:
The sample: cqm_sample.mkv
LAV decodes it fine, but as you can see Core gives a huge artifact.
It's apparently due to the use of cqm.
Hope it helps.
We are looking into it, thx for the sample.
__________________
Dan "BetaBoy" Marlin
Ubiquitous Multimedia Technologies and Developer Tools

http://corecodec.com
BetaBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2012, 19:40   #6988  |  Link
CruNcher
Registered User
 
CruNcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,949
@Dan

https://forum.doom9.org/showpost.php...postcount=6977
__________________
all my compares are riddles so please try to decipher them yourselves :)

It is about Time

Join the Revolution NOW before it is to Late !

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=168004
CruNcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2012, 17:26   #6989  |  Link
BetaBoy
CoreCodec Founder
 
BetaBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 1,421
CruNcher.. got it... fixed, thx.
__________________
Dan "BetaBoy" Marlin
Ubiquitous Multimedia Technologies and Developer Tools

http://corecodec.com
BetaBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2012, 17:28   #6990  |  Link
BetaBoy
CoreCodec Founder
 
BetaBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 1,421
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheShadowRunner View Post
Hi Betaboy,
Here's a report for a hi10p decoding bug:
The sample: cqm_sample.mkv
LAV decodes it fine, but as you can see Core gives a huge artifact.
It's apparently due to the use of cqm.
Hope it helps.
Fixed. Thx again for the report!
__________________
Dan "BetaBoy" Marlin
Ubiquitous Multimedia Technologies and Developer Tools

http://corecodec.com
BetaBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2012, 19:32   #6991  |  Link
dead_screem
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 105
Care to comment on when the next version will be out? Twitter says "Feburary" but that is kinda vague, especially since there was going to be a quick turnaround 3.0.2 bug fix only release, but you guys decided to wait for 3.1 to release those fixes, and 3.1 was supposed to start finalizing last Dec 12... So, when's it coming out?
dead_screem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2012, 21:30   #6992  |  Link
BetaBoy
CoreCodec Founder
 
BetaBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 1,421
As with all of our releases its a moving target based on feedback and where we are at with it, so its ready when its done. As you can see above we are also addressing other reported bugs as they are being reported as well as doing some work on Haali's Splitter so this has also affected our timeline.

At the moment it is looking like we are gonna push out adding 422 (444 will likely make it) with the next release to make sure the newer changes are solid before committing it. We will however likely still stick with it as a milestone in calling it 3.1 though considering all the work we have done on it.

We have a few smaller todo's with include Chroma MC ASM and 444 filter work, so we are close.
__________________
Dan "BetaBoy" Marlin
Ubiquitous Multimedia Technologies and Developer Tools

http://corecodec.com
BetaBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2012, 14:38   #6993  |  Link
kerman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 46
Doesnt CoreAVC supports VC-1? I have it as the main external filter on mpc-hc but doesnt run on VC-1 streams. It does on h.264/x264, but never with VC-1. I use MPC-HC x32 with madVR and Haali media source. OS Win7x64.

Also, on h.264 decoding doesnt enable dxva2 (tray icon is always blue), although I have dxva checked on properties. I have an AMD HD6950. Should I check/uncheck anything on CCC or mpc-hc?

Last edited by kerman; 16th February 2012 at 14:42.
kerman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2012, 14:43   #6994  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 10,002
CoreAVC is only for ... AVC1, as the name suggest, also known as H.264. VC-1 is a different codec entirely, and not supported by CoreAVC.
I'll admit that the "AVC1" and "VC-1" might be confusing at times, but AVC1 is just an alternate name for H.264.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2012, 15:12   #6995  |  Link
kerman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 46
Thanks, yes I just got confused. BTW, is there any "champ" on VC-1 codec performance? Mainconcept, Arcsoft, Cyberlink...? I mean, similar to CoreAVC with H.264
kerman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2012, 15:27   #6996  |  Link
betaking
Fantasy Codecs writer
 
betaking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Yang Zhou,Jiang Su,China
Posts: 392
Quote:
Originally Posted by kerman View Post
Thanks, yes I just got confused. BTW, is there any "champ" on VC-1 codec performance? Mainconcept, Arcsoft, Cyberlink...? I mean, similar to CoreAVC with H.264
Microsoft>Cyberlink>Arcsoft>Mainconcept!
betaking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2012, 15:42   #6997  |  Link
Midzuki
Unavailable
 
Midzuki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: offline
Posts: 1,478
Quote:
Originally Posted by betaking View Post
Microsoft>Cyberlink>Arcsoft>Mainconcept!
I agree, Mainconcept's VC-1 decoder is sluggish as hell

BUT maybe it's good enough for accurate frameserving via DirectShowSource()
Midzuki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2012, 15:57   #6998  |  Link
CruNcher
Registered User
 
CruNcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,949
yep normaly Mainconcept does excellent work but the VC-1 Decoder is far from that and it's funny seeing Cyberlink and Arcsoft beating it but i guess Mainconcept doesn't invest much resources into it's Developing
__________________
all my compares are riddles so please try to decipher them yourselves :)

It is about Time

Join the Revolution NOW before it is to Late !

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=168004
CruNcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2012, 00:37   #6999  |  Link
robpdotcom
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 297
Quote:
Originally Posted by BetaBoy View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by clsid View Post
@BetaBoy
Any news on fixing the TrueHD mediatype issue with Haali splitter? If it has been fixed already, could to link to a new build so we don't have to wait until next CoreAVC release?
The fix will be included in the next CoreAVC release.
I'd also like to request that Haali change the way it deals with subtitle streams - right now it loads default subs automatically, but I think everyone would be happier if it only loaded forced subs.

Also, is there a way to allow the video renderer to do the deinterlacing? I only see the option to set:

None (weave)
Single Field
Bob
Hardware

There is no option to output interlaced frames.
__________________
Windows 7 x64
i7 870
16GB RAM
AMD 6870

Last edited by robpdotcom; 19th February 2012 at 00:47.
robpdotcom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2012, 15:40   #7000  |  Link
Thunderbolt8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,178
Quote:
Originally Posted by robpdotcom View Post
I think everyone would be happier if it only loaded forced subs.
not me
__________________
Laptop Acer Aspire V3-772g: i7-4202MQ, 8GB Ram, NVIDIA GTX 760M (+ Intel HD 4600), Windows 8.1 x64, madVR (x64), MPC-HC (x64), LAV Filter (x64), XySubfilter (x64)
Thunderbolt8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
codec, coreavc, corecodec, coremvc, cuda, decoder, dxva, h.264, mvc, scam

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 14:25.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.