Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Yesterday, 19:58   #52561  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 480
Quote:
Originally Posted by brazen1 View Post
I've been using madVR v0.92.14 with no problems. I just installed the new madVR v0.92.15 released today carrying over settings from v0.92.14. MPC-HC starts with a black screen and no OSD. I assume it is paused which it is and I press play even though there is no OSD. My display flashes into HDR mode. Audio begins and the picture is frozen on a single frame. If I navigate forward or reverse, the movie begins to play normally. So I start with MPC-BE instead and none of this funny business occurs. It just starts and plays like it should. Both MPC players use identical settings. I'm using the latest current nightly builds of each. Both players performed as expected before upgrading to v.0.92.15 fwiw.
think I know what this is, untick delay playback until render q is full, this was unticked on my install of the latest version for some reason which is why i think it fixed my MPC-HC, with it back on, back to black screen, unticked, fixed again.

i was getting this on the old version as well though, must be a bug with HC on a windows update or something, had this for a while now.
__________________
WIN 10 v1709 - I7 2700k - 8GB
AMD RX580 4GB - LG 65EF9500 OLED (HDR10)(3D) - DENON AVR-X2200
KODI DS - MPC/HC/BE + MADVR
2160p - FULL RGB 4:4:4 8bit
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 19:59   #52562  |  Link
Sunset1982
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 248
Quote:
Originally Posted by mclingo View Post
new version of MADVR has fixed the 23,076 playback issue with MPC-HC, no longer hangs with black screen, wierd but great !

unfortunately I was hoping that maybe a combination of new AMD drivers and new MADVR would fix the blown out reds issue with AMD 23hz SDR playback, this really needs fixing, had this for months now with 3 different AMD cards and muliple sets of drivers and LAV / MADVR versions.

https://1drv.ms/u/s!AgvFafeelEBigP8JoUs9wKjRu8Ajjw


Just a reminder of the issue.

all 23,976 playback of any SDR material has blown out reds as shown in picture, but only with MADVR renderer.

If If I turn off refresh rate switching and play in 60hz the problem goes away
if I put my TV in PC mode the problem goes away (bluray mode used for access to TV processing)
if I turn off use DIRECT3D for presentation in MADVR the problem goes
if If set calibration to BT2020 in MADVR the problem goes away
HDR material plays fine.

surely the way this problem manifests itself must ring a bell for someone?
What movie (Star wars?) and Timestamp is this screenshot? I can check it with my setup...
__________________
Intel i5 6600, 16 GB DDR4, EVGA GTX1070 8 GB, Windows 10 x64, Kodi 17.5, latest MadVR (x64), LAV Filter latest nightly (x64), XySubfilter .746 (x64)

LG 4K OLED (55C7D)
Sunset1982 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 20:05   #52563  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 480
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sunset1982 View Post
What movie (Star wars?) and Timestamp is this screenshot? I can check it with my setup...
all movies mate, its pretty obvious when you play the movie, phantom menace about 33 mins, it may only happen with setups very similar to mine though, see my SIG.
__________________
WIN 10 v1709 - I7 2700k - 8GB
AMD RX580 4GB - LG 65EF9500 OLED (HDR10)(3D) - DENON AVR-X2200
KODI DS - MPC/HC/BE + MADVR
2160p - FULL RGB 4:4:4 8bit
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 20:12   #52564  |  Link
brazen1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 152
Quote:
Originally Posted by mclingo View Post
think I know what this is, untick delay playback until render q is full, this was unticked on my install of the latest version for some reason which is why i think it fixed my MPC-HC, with it back on, back to black screen, unticked, fixed again.

i was getting this on the old version as well though, must be a bug with HC on a windows update or something, had this for a while now.
I've never had a reason to enable that setting so there is nothing to untick but thanks anyway.
__________________
HOW TO-Kodi 2D-3D-UHD (4k) HDR Guide Internal & External Players
W10v1803 X5690 9604GB RGB 4:4:4 8bit Desktop @60Hz 8,10,12bit @Matched Refresh Rates
KODI MPC-HC/BE PDVD DVDFab
65JS8500 UHD HDR 3D
brazen1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 20:49   #52565  |  Link
Crimson Wolf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Razoola View Post
'* added true GPU mode info (color format, bitdepth & dynamic range) to OSD (Nvidia only)'

Just wondering where in the OSD this info shows?
On my TV, it shows refresh then (12bit, RGB, Full). On my DVI monitor, just shows refresh rate.
Crimson Wolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 20:59   #52566  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4,893
DVI is "always" 8 bit full range RGBA with consumer cards so there is nothing to report.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 21:37   #52567  |  Link
Ver Greeneyes
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 432
madshi, ever since updating to Windows 10 version 1803 I've been having an issue with madVR where my render queues seem "capped" in some way, maybe by GPU memory usage, and trying to use the more expensive algorithms leads to queues not filling up at all even though the render time is very low. I have a GeForce GTX 1080 and I never had problems before updating to Windows 10 version 1803, so I think Microsoft added some sort of new limitation.

I was briefly able to work around it by using FSE mode, but then that stopped working too, so I've fallen back to using extremely simple algorithms that don't hit the cap (even super-xbr is affected). I was hoping that new drivers or windows updates would fix the problem, but no luck so far. Unfortunately the new build of madvr doesn't fix it either. Let me know if there's anything I can do to help debug the issue.
Ver Greeneyes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 21:46   #52568  |  Link
ABDO
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 56
thank you madshi for your A legendary effort in Recent months in AVS fourm to make that great work for us, We appreciate that very much, i don't know what if we don't have you and madvr in our PC, It will be a nightmare.
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Any news or leaks about the new algorithm?Nope. Haven't had a chance to work on it recently, but I'll start work on it again soon
ABDO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 21:47   #52569  |  Link
BetA13
Guru3D
 
BetA13's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Germany
Posts: 136
well, i just tested the New Nvidia driver --> 411.63
and im happy to say, that theres no Problems so far with MadVR and this new Branch of Drivers form NV..

didnt test HDR yet..But everything else, so far so good..

(windows7)
BetA13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 21:52   #52570  |  Link
Sparktank
47.952fps@71.928Hz
 
Sparktank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 853
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
"transfer=2048" as opposed to what other option? I'm not sure what you mean.
There is no file name tag for transfer characteristics.
Bt.**** for signalling HDR.

Or whatever number that is.
SMPTE ST 2084 (PQ)

EDIT: For working with 16bit screenshots.
__________________
Win10 (x64) build 17134 | GPU Caps Viewer v1.39.0.0
NVIDIA GeForce GT 640 (GK107) 2047MB/DDR3 | (R398.11)
NTSC | DVD: R1 | BD: A

Last edited by Sparktank; Yesterday at 22:21.
Sparktank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 22:00   #52571  |  Link
Manni
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 511
Quote:
Originally Posted by chros View Post
You can also give this a try:
https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=175007

@madshi, thanks for the new build!
Hi Chros,

Thanks for the link, but you might have missed in my post that I was already using MCE Controller and an iPad with iRule to control MadVR
__________________
Win 10 Pro x64 V1803 MCE add-on
i7 3770K@4.2Ghz 16Gb@2.1Ghz EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2 11Gb@2GHz 399.24 RGB Full 12bits
MPC-BE / LAV / MadVR / MyMovies V5.24
Denon X8500H>Vertex>JVC RS500/X7000
Manni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 22:36   #52572  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 480
Quote:
Originally Posted by brazen1 View Post
I've never had a reason to enable that setting so there is nothing to untick but thanks anyway.

must just be a coincidence then but mine really does have that exact behavior when that is ticked and is now fine with it unticked.
__________________
WIN 10 v1709 - I7 2700k - 8GB
AMD RX580 4GB - LG 65EF9500 OLED (HDR10)(3D) - DENON AVR-X2200
KODI DS - MPC/HC/BE + MADVR
2160p - FULL RGB 4:4:4 8bit
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 23:03   #52573  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 3,867
jmone, you around? I'm HOPING it's just me, but, the latest build does not fix the subtitle issue for me. I don't know if this was supposed to be fixed or not but I don't get subs showing up at all. Just wondering if jmone (or anyone else) has tested it.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10, I7 3770k, GTX 1060, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX303, LG C8 65" OLED
Laptop: MSI GT70 Dominator (Optimus)
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 23:29   #52574  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,078
Quote:
Originally Posted by mclingo View Post
which of these are relevant to AMD cards, all of them?
If any of those things were specific to Nvidia, I would have said so.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Razoola View Post
'* added true GPU mode info (color format, bitdepth & dynamic range) to OSD (Nvidia only)'

Just wondering where in the OSD this info shows?
At the end of the first line - but only if madVR is able to get the information from the GPU driver.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Siso View Post
Yes, desktop PC, updated to 0.92.15, reset to default settings, same result.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crimson Wolf View Post
My TV has desktop color depth, output color depth, output color format, output dynamic range connected with HDMI and OSD shows the information as stated in the changelog, but my other monitor which is connected with DVI and only shows desktop color depth shows refresh rate only on the OSD like the screenshot from Siso.
Quote:
Originally Posted by BetA13 View Post
i guess i have the same problem...

i see just the normal OSD stuff nothing new..
made a clean madvr install.

tested on 2 monitors, one with DVI - and one with VGA..(yes one monitor still has VGA)
I can only guess that your GPU driver somehow doesn't report this information to madVR, I don't know why. If you want to know how it looks like, there's a screenshot in this post:

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/24-di...l#post56833736

Quote:
Originally Posted by mogli View Post
It means that starting with v0.92.15 the render queue always stays low at about half the given number of presented frames in advance (only tried windowed mode). Consequently the present queue does stay low, too. Before this version they were always full. So either latest madVR needs immensely more GPU processing power without the stats reflecting so or there's something wrong. Resetting to default doesn't help, i.e. it isn't related to my personal settings.
Is this only with HDR content, or also with SDR? And if you go back to v0.92.14, the problem is definitely completely gone?

Quote:
Originally Posted by brazen1 View Post
Good blind shot reco. Changed D3D11/automatic native to DXVA 2 copy back/my nvidia GPU. With MPC-HC video starts paused and pressing play it begins and all is well. Still, shouldn't start paused.
Strange. Did that problem only occur for HDR movies, or also for SDR?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grimsdyke View Post
I have reported this already a while ago but you said back then that you had not the time to look more into it.

Setup:
MPC-BE + LAV + MadVR playing a SD-file.

Problem:
With SD activated in LAV Video the image is displayed only for a few seconds then the image turns completely green.
The video keeps playing and I can hear the sound.
(I first mentioned that to Nev but he said that is most likely a MadVR issue).
I don't remember any of that. Do you have a link to the old discussion?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mclingo View Post
unfortunately I was hoping that maybe a combination of new AMD drivers and new MADVR would fix the blown out reds issue with AMD 23hz SDR playback, this really needs fixing, had this for months now with 3 different AMD cards and muliple sets of drivers and LAV / MADVR versions.
I don't think anybody else has reported this issue yet. So I think it must be something specific to your setup somehow. Looking at your "if I do this or that the problem goes away" list, I'm 99.9% sure that it's not madVR's fault.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ver Greeneyes View Post
madshi, ever since updating to Windows 10 version 1803 I've been having an issue with madVR where my render queues seem "capped" in some way, maybe by GPU memory usage, and trying to use the more expensive algorithms leads to queues not filling up at all even though the render time is very low. I have a GeForce GTX 1080 and I never had problems before updating to Windows 10 version 1803, so I think Microsoft added some sort of new limitation.
Why do you use Windows 10, when Windows 8.1 is a much better HTPC OS? I keep on recommending Windows 8.1. Again and again... <sigh>

Anyway. At this point I don't have a solution. Interestingly, it seems not everybody seems to have this problem, only some users?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ABDO View Post
thank you madshi for your A legendary effort in Recent months in AVS fourm to make that great work for us, We appreciate that very much, i don't know what if we don't have you and madvr in our PC, It will be a nightmare.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Sparktank View Post
There is no file name tag for transfer characteristics.
Bt.**** for signalling HDR.

Or whatever number that is.
SMPTE ST 2084 (PQ)

EDIT: For working with 16bit screenshots.
There actually already is a file name tag for that. Search for "tag" in the changelog to find the details.
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 23:45   #52575  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 480
[QUOTE=madshi;

I don't think anybody else has reported this issue yet. So I think it must be something specific to your setup somehow. Looking at your "if I do this or that the problem goes away" list, I'm 99.9% sure that it's not madVR's fault.

.[/QUOTE]

I tend to agree but I ruled out my Tv by plugging in my other HDR and got the same problem. I ruled out my AVR by bypassing it and going straight into the TV which just leaves My PC. I've had three different AMD cards and one fresh rebuild and I still have the same issue, i've also replaced the HDMI cables. If I put the NVIDIA card in its fine so its definitely and issue with the AMD driver and how it acts with MADVR as it doesnt do with other renderers.

someone else has also reported this a while back but I cant remember who it was, it will be connected to my setup but I dont think its a fault, it must be a driver issue or something to do with how MADVR works. AMD insists there are no issues but I cant help feeling there is an real issue here but because everyone's setup so different these days in sublte ways its hard finding a subset of users with a similar enough setup to mine.

for instance, very few people use their TV processing so they will likely set it to PC mode, I use it to smooth out panning shots which because there is less motion blur on OLED you can get jagged edges in bright areas on pans. These are there on LCD but get blurred out. If you apply just the right amount you get smoothing without the soap opera effect.
__________________
WIN 10 v1709 - I7 2700k - 8GB
AMD RX580 4GB - LG 65EF9500 OLED (HDR10)(3D) - DENON AVR-X2200
KODI DS - MPC/HC/BE + MADVR
2160p - FULL RGB 4:4:4 8bit

Last edited by mclingo; Yesterday at 23:48.
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 00:02   #52576  |  Link
Ver Greeneyes
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 432
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Why do you use Windows 10, when Windows 8.1 is a much better HTPC OS? I keep on recommending Windows 8.1. Again and again... <sigh>
Because this isn't an HTPC, it's just a desktop computer. Things were also working fine before I updated to the Spring 2018 update (1803).. leave it to Microsoft to muck things up even more I guess.
Ver Greeneyes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 00:12   #52577  |  Link
Sparktank
47.952fps@71.928Hz
 
Sparktank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 853
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
There actually already is a file name tag for that. Search for "tag" in the changelog to find the details.
Thanks! Somehow that got passed me.
I'll have to go through the changelogs again to see what else I missed.
__________________
Win10 (x64) build 17134 | GPU Caps Viewer v1.39.0.0
NVIDIA GeForce GT 640 (GK107) 2047MB/DDR3 | (R398.11)
NTSC | DVD: R1 | BD: A
Sparktank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 03:23   #52578  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2,833
Madshi, when using the keyboard shortcut to option the settings, can you return focus back to the player please? It's fine if you use the the context menu to get into the settings.
I tried different versions of madVR and player and it doesn't change anything, guess this has always been the case but nobody has commented on it.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:51.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.