Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > (HD) DVD, Blu-ray & (S)VCD > DVD Rebuilder

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 26th May 2013, 22:06   #17321  |  Link
soneca
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Brazil
Posts: 752
Just for the record, "Parker" without problems.
But here this movie was released without extras, and with minor differences.
Code:
[05/26/13] BD Rebuilder v0.44.09 (beta)
[15:48:10] Source:  PARKER_00000
  - Input BD size: 19,47 GB
  - Approximate total content: [01:58:29.125]
  - Target BD size: 4,36 GB
  - Windows Version: 6.1 [7601]
  - MOVIE-ONLY mode enabled
  - Quality: Good (Very Fast), ABR
  - X264 Tweak(s) enabled
  - Decoding/Frame serving: DGDecNV [2-way]
  - Audio Settings: AC3=0 DTS=0 HD=1 Kbs=640
[15:48:10] PHASE ONE, Encoding
 - [15:48:10] Processing: VID_00000 (1 of 1)
 - [15:48:10] Extracting A/V streams [VID_00000]
 - [16:00:12] Reencoding video [VID_00000]
   - Source Video: MPEG-4 (AVC), 1920x1080
   - Rate/Length: 24,000fps, 170.619 frames
   - Bitrate: 4.159 Kbs
 - [16:00:12] Reencoding: VID_00000, Pass 1 of 1
 - [16:21:00] Video Encode complete
 - [16:21:00] Processing audio tracks
   - Track 4352 (eng): Reencoding audio to AC3...
[16:23:51]PHASE ONE complete
[16:23:51]PHASE TWO - Rebuild Started
 - [16:23:51] Rebuilding AVCHD file Structure
[16:25:56] - Encode and Rebuild complete
[16:25:56] JOB: PARKER finished.
soneca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2013, 23:28   #17322  |  Link
sytyguy
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 28
No, he's saying something is wrong when running it over a LAN, but running it locally it runs fine.
sytyguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2013, 23:28   #17323  |  Link
Inwards
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by gonca View Post
@Inwards
Are you saying that you tested 44.09 over a network and 44.03 locally, and therefore the problem is 44.09 and not your network.

And a log like Ch3vr0n said would be nice
No, I tested 44.09 over the network and locally. 44.03 I tested over the network only.
Inwards is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2013, 23:43   #17324  |  Link
gonca
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Scarborough, Canada
Posts: 838
You'll have to provide the info Ch3vr0n mentioned, as there are not no other reports coming in about this
gonca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2013, 20:24   #17325  |  Link
Starfiresg1
Registered User
 
Starfiresg1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 22
While doing a SBS-backup of Wreck it Ralph 3D I've run into a small problem:

Apparently the re-encoding of the video is skipped if the input size is smaller than the target. In my case I had set the target as BD-25 and BDR reported the input size of 21.17 GB. After reducing the target size the video re-encode happens as expected. I would think that a video re-encode is always needed (regardless of the input and target size) if it's a 3D-conversion to SBS (or any other 3D-format)?
Starfiresg1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2013, 23:40   #17326  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,245
Quote:
Originally Posted by Starfiresg1 View Post
While doing a SBS-backup of Wreck it Ralph 3D I've run into a small problem:

Apparently the re-encoding of the video is skipped if the input size is smaller than the target. In my case I had set the target as BD-25 and BDR reported the input size of 21.17 GB. After reducing the target size the video re-encode happens as expected. I would think that a video re-encode is always needed (regardless of the input and target size) if it's a 3D-conversion to SBS (or any other 3D-format)?
Hmm... it definitely should be. I though I had that covered. I'll go back an do some testing.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th May 2013, 01:25   #17327  |  Link
Winenut
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
Didn't know it existed? I've personally mentioned it to you twice. I even posted my results using v0.44.09.
My original post was on 5/19. Release 44.09 shows as coming out 2 days later on 5/21.

And sorry. I did notice your reference to 44.09 (earlier), but then forgot about it. At the tme, you didn't indicate what the changes were in 44.09, and so I had no reason to believe it would solve my problem. And the change log didn't seem to indicate any significant changes that might affect the problem I was having, except perhaps the new version of H264. And then later, when I noticed the issue was opencl.ddl, it didn't seem a change to H264 would have any impact.

Then later, I saw 44.09 on Videohelp.com, and figured it was worth a try. Particularly since by then, you knew my problem was opencl.dll and reiterated your recomendation for 44.09.

In any case 44.09 is working fine...for a number of titles I've tried.

Question is...since opencl.dll seems to serve to enable multi-threading of background tasks (for both CPU, and optionally the GPU), why don't you need to use that anymore. Did H264 change so much that it's not needed anymore? And if so, why was it still included with 44.09.

Thanks again for your help, and sorry to be such a nuisance.

Steve
Winenut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th May 2013, 01:53   #17328  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,245
Quote:
Originally Posted by Winenut View Post
My original post was on 5/19. Release 44.09 shows as coming out 2 days later on 5/21.

And sorry. I did notice your reference to 44.09 (earlier), but then forgot about it. At the tme, you didn't indicate what the changes were in 44.09, and so I had no reason to believe it would solve my problem. And the change log didn't seem to indicate any significant changes that might affect the problem I was having, except perhaps the new version of H264. And then later, when I noticed the issue was opencl.ddl, it didn't seem a change to H264 would have any impact.

Then later, I saw 44.09 on Videohelp.com, and figured it was worth a try. Particularly since by then, you knew my problem was opencl.dll and reiterated your recomendation for 44.09.

In any case 44.09 is working fine...for a number of titles I've tried.

Question is...since opencl.dll seems to serve to enable multi-threading of background tasks (for both CPU, and optionally the GPU), why don't you need to use that anymore. Did H264 change so much that it's not needed anymore? And if so, why was it still included with 44.09.

Thanks again for your help, and sorry to be such a nuisance.

Steve
There was a bug in the older version of X264 that made it fail on systems that didn't have opencl as a video capability (even when that capability wasn't being used). The opencl.dll file was a dummy stub that was created for no other purpose than to keep X264 from failing. The newer version of X264 was corrected -- so the dummy file "opencl.dll" is no longer needed.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th May 2013, 02:06   #17329  |  Link
soneca
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Brazil
Posts: 752
Jdobbs,

It would be possible to include a depth control for subtitles in 3D?
In the title "Flying Swords of Dragon Gate" subtitles were "stuck" in the picture, deep, hurting a little reading.
I'll do some more tests, apparently subtitle depth may vary depending on the movie.
soneca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th May 2013, 05:48   #17330  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,245
Quote:
Originally Posted by soneca View Post
Jdobbs,

It would be possible to include a depth control for subtitles in 3D?
In the title "Flying Swords of Dragon Gate" subtitles were "stuck" in the picture, deep, hurting a little reading.
I'll do some more tests, apparently subtitle depth may vary depending on the movie.
BD-RB does the subtitles consistently across all movies, so the depth doesn't vary from this end. But I can easily add a hidden option that can change the depth.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th May 2013, 06:18   #17331  |  Link
soneca
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Brazil
Posts: 752
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
BD-RB does the subtitles consistently across all movies, so the depth doesn't vary from this end. But I can easily add a hidden option that can change the depth.
Surely, BD-RB does not change the depth but it seems that the result varies slightly depending on the source.

soneca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th May 2013, 23:36   #17332  |  Link
colinhunt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 998
Note that some 3D Blu-rays will have (if they don't already) dynamic 3D subtitles, i.e. ones that move in X and Z axis according to the depth and convergence of the scene.
colinhunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th May 2013, 01:31   #17333  |  Link
soneca
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Brazil
Posts: 752
Quote:
Originally Posted by colinhunt View Post
Note that some 3D Blu-rays will have (if they don't already) dynamic 3D subtitles, i.e. ones that move in X and Z axis according to the depth and convergence of the scene.
As subtitles found in "Avatar" for example?

Last edited by soneca; 29th May 2013 at 02:42.
soneca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th May 2013, 02:04   #17334  |  Link
Inwards
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by gonca View Post
You'll have to provide the info Ch3vr0n mentioned, as there are not no other reports coming in about this
Here is the failed log of an ISO mounted over the network
Code:
----------------------
[05/28/13] BD Rebuilder v0.44.09 (beta)
[18:34:54] Source:  FIRE_AND_ICE
  - Input BD size: 28.47 GB
  - Approximate total content: [02:14:36.067]
  - Target BD size: 22.95 GB
  - Windows Version: 6.1 [7601]
  - Auto Quality: Good (Very Fast), ABR
  - Decoding/Frame serving: DirectShow
  - Audio Settings: AC3=0 DTS=0 HD=1 Kbs=640
[18:34:55] PHASE ONE, Encoding
 - [18:34:55] Processing: VID_00000 (1 of 7)
 - [18:34:55] Extracting A/V streams [VID_00000]
 - [18:44:27] Reencoding video [VID_00000]
   - Source Video: MPEG-4 (AVC), 1920x1080
   - Rate/Length: 23.976fps, 117,436 frames
   - Bitrate: 30,882 Kbs
 - [18:44:27] Reencoding: VID_00000, Pass 1 of 1
 - [19:08:12] Video Encode complete
 - [19:08:12] Processing audio tracks
   - Track 4352 (eng): Keeping original audio
 - [19:08:12] Multiplexing M2TS
 - [19:09:47] Processing: VID_00001 (2 of 7)
 - [19:09:47] Extracting A/V streams [VID_00001]
 - [19:10:04] Reencoding video [VID_00001]
   - Source Video: MPEG-2, 720x480
   - Rate/Length: 29.970fps, 24,330 frames
   - Bitrate: 3,932 Kbs
 - [19:10:04] Reencoding: VID_00001, Pass 1 of 1
 - [19:10:40] Video Encode complete
 - [19:10:40] Processing audio tracks
   - Track 4352 (eng): Keeping original audio
 - [19:10:40] Multiplexing M2TS
 - [19:10:46] Processing: VID_00002 (3 of 7)
 - [19:10:46] Extracting A/V streams [VID_00002]
 - [19:10:58] Reencoding video [VID_00002]
   - Source Video: MPEG-2, 720x480
   - Rate/Length: 29.970fps, 14,417 frames
   - Bitrate: 3,930 Kbs
 - [19:10:58] Reencoding: VID_00002, Pass 1 of 1
 - [19:11:18] Video Encode complete
 - [19:11:18] Processing audio tracks
   - Track 4352 (eng): Keeping original audio
 - [19:11:18] Multiplexing M2TS
 - [19:11:22] Processing: VID_00003 (4 of 7)
 - [19:11:22] Extracting A/V streams [VID_00003]
 - [19:11:40] Reencoding video [VID_00003]
   - Source Video: MPEG-2, 720x480
   - Rate/Length: 29.970fps, 25,358 frames
   - Bitrate: 3,919 Kbs
 - [19:11:40] Reencoding: VID_00003, Pass 1 of 1
 - [19:12:14] Video Encode complete
 - [19:12:14] Processing audio tracks
   - Track 4352 (eng): Keeping original audio
 - [19:12:14] Multiplexing M2TS
 - [19:12:18] Processing: VID_00004 (5 of 7)
 - [19:12:18] Extracting A/V streams [VID_00004]
 - [19:12:35] Reencoding video [VID_00004]
   - Source Video: MPEG-2, 720x480
   - Rate/Length: 29.970fps, 23,545 frames
   - Bitrate: 3,929 Kbs
 - [19:12:35] Reencoding: VID_00004, Pass 1 of 1
 - [19:13:07] Video Encode complete
 - [19:13:07] Processing audio tracks
   - Track 4352 (eng): Keeping original audio
 - [19:13:07] Multiplexing M2TS
 - [19:13:11] Processing: VID_00005 (6 of 7)
 - [19:13:11] Extracting A/V streams [VID_00005]
 - [19:13:22] Reencoding video [VID_00005]
   - Source Video: MPEG-4 (AVC), 1920x1080
   - Rate/Length: 23.976fps, 1,810 frames
   - Bitrate: 29,312 Kbs
 - [19:13:23] Reencoding: VID_00005, Pass 1 of 1
 - [19:13:45] Video Encode complete
 - [19:13:45] Processing audio tracks
   - Track 4352 (eng): Keeping original audio
 - [19:13:45] Multiplexing M2TS
 - [19:13:49] Processing: VID_00016 (7 of 7)
 - [19:13:49] Extracting A/V streams [VID_00016]
 - [19:13:52] Reencoding video [VID_00016]
   - Source Video: MPEG-2, 720x480
   - Rate/Length: 29.970fps, 900 frames
   - Bitrate: 2,376 Kbs
 - [19:13:52] Reencoding: VID_00016, Pass 1 of 1
  - Encode failed.  Aborting.
  - BD-Rebuilder v0.44.09 (beta)
  - Windows Version: 6.1 [7601]
  - AVISYNTH Version: 2.5.8.0, Ok
  - HAALI Splitter: 1.9.42.1, Ok
  - FFDSHOW: 4422, Ok
  - WIN7 preferred AVC CODEC:  Ok
  - WIN7 preferred VC-1 CODEC:  Ok
  - WIN7 preferred MPEG2 CODEC:  Ok
  - FFDSHOW VC-1 set to "wmv9", Ok
  - FFDSHOW MPEG2 set to "libavcodec":  Ok
  - FFDSHOW AVC set to "libavcodec":  Ok
  - AnyDVD settings check: Ok.
  - X264:  Ok
  - AFTEN:  Ok
  - FAAC:  Ok
  - MP4BOX:  Ok
  - WAVI:  Ok
  - TSMUXER:  Ok
[19:13:53] - Failed video encode, aborted
...and here's the resumed log with the locally mounted ISO:

Code:
----------------------
[05/28/13] BD Rebuilder v0.44.09 (beta)
[19:59:38] Source:  FIRE_AND_ICE
  - Input BD size: 28.47 GB
  - Approximate total content: [02:14:36.067]
  - Target BD size: 22.95 GB
  - Windows Version: 6.1 [7601]
  - Auto Quality: Good (Very Fast), ABR
  - Decoding/Frame serving: DirectShow
  - Audio Settings: AC3=0 DTS=0 HD=1 Kbs=640
- Resuming from previously started job.
[19:59:40] PHASE ONE, Encoding
 - [19:59:40] Processing: VID_00016 (7 of 7)
 - [19:59:40] Reencoding video [VID_00016]
   - Source Video: MPEG-2, 720x480
   - Rate/Length: 29.970fps, 900 frames
   - Bitrate: 2,376 Kbs
 - [19:59:40] Reencoding: VID_00016, Pass 1 of 1
 - [19:59:41] Video Encode complete
 - [19:59:41] Processing audio tracks
   - Track 4352 (eng): Keeping original audio
 - [19:59:41] Multiplexing M2TS
[19:59:44]PHASE ONE complete
[19:59:44]PHASE TWO - Rebuild Started
 - [19:59:44] Rebuilding BD file Structure
[19:59:47] - Encode and Rebuild complete
[19:59:47] JOB: FIRE_AND_ICE finished.
Inwards is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th May 2013, 02:19   #17335  |  Link
omegaman7
Registered User
 
omegaman7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA, Oregon
Posts: 791
Mmmm, I haven't had two computers networked to each other for some time. Local ISO mounting, I don't believe I've ever had a problem. Over a network though? Wish I had a secondary PC powerful enough to make the attempt Part time work sucks...
__________________
Only one rooster, need be in the hen house...
omegaman7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th May 2013, 02:44   #17336  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,245
The problem is that there are too many variables -- and almost all of them are outside of BD-RB. The bottom line: if it were truly mounted and working correctly, BD-RB wouldn't be able to tell the difference -- and it would work exactly the same either way. The fact that it works when mounted locally tells me the issue is outside of BD-RB and falls somewhere in the network abstraction.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net

Last edited by jdobbs; 29th May 2013 at 02:47.
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th May 2013, 02:48   #17337  |  Link
omegaman7
Registered User
 
omegaman7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA, Oregon
Posts: 791
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
The problem is that there are too many variables -- and almost all of them are outside of BD-RB. The bottom line: if it were truly mounted and working correctly, BD-RB wouldn't be able to tell the difference -- and it would work exactly the same either way. The fact that it works when mounted locally tells me the issue is outside of BD-RB and falls somewhere in the network abstraction.
I don't recall having many network issues on XP. Windows 7 seems to have issues maintaining an indefinite connection. It's as though it needs to refresh for certain processes. Thereby causing an issue. I burned discs over the network on XP, I'd never trust it with '7', and I love 7. Just my own observations. Really haven't done much networking with 7 though. THere is likely something I overlooked.
__________________
Only one rooster, need be in the hen house...

Last edited by jdobbs; 29th May 2013 at 03:18.
omegaman7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th May 2013, 03:15   #17338  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,245
Quote:
Originally Posted by omegaman7 View Post
I don't recall having many network issues on XP. Windows 7 seems to have issues maintaining an indefinite connection. It's as though it needs to refresh for certain processes. Thereby causing an issue. I burned discs over the network on XP, I'd never trust it with '7', and I love 7. Just my own observations. Really haven't done much networking with 7 though. THere is likely something I overlooked.
I do encodes using the network all the time. But I don't mount an ISO remotely. I rip to hard drive and share it.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th May 2013, 03:40   #17339  |  Link
omegaman7
Registered User
 
omegaman7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA, Oregon
Posts: 791
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
I do encodes using the network all the time. But I don't mount an ISO remotely. I rip to hard drive and share it.
I'm sure I will play with it more down the road. Just gotta win the lottery or something LOL!!! Nah, I should go full time within the year. Then I'll be VERY comfortable. I hope :S
__________________
Only one rooster, need be in the hen house...
omegaman7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th May 2013, 11:33   #17340  |  Link
lauguru
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 241
hello jdobbs
one question
http://mewiki.project357.com/wiki/X264_Settings
for codec h264 Values available: ultrafast, superfast, veryfast, faster, fast, medium, slow, slower, veryslow, placebo.

with that command, you activate "placebo"?

ENCODE_QUALITY=4 is very slow (ultra high quality)

if so it could activate the option "placebo" in the next version of bdrebuilder?thks
lauguru is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 14:45.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.