Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > VirtualDub, VDubMod & AviDemux

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 5th February 2019, 00:20   #781  |  Link
nji
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by shekh View Post
This is terrible. I was about to offer another filter (fflayer) but it has similar issue.

for logo 32-bit code uses mmx inline asm; 64-bit code uses heavy bit-hackery. All this code looks throwaway.
As far as I know the original VirtualDub (64 bit) filter works fine.
Maybe you could take that one?
nji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th February 2019, 00:30   #782  |  Link
shekh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 639
Quote:
Originally Posted by nji View Post
As far as I know the original VirtualDub (64 bit) filter works fine.
Maybe you could take that one?
I did not change it. Anyway, tested with 1.10.5 and the issue is present.
__________________
VirtualDub2
shekh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th February 2019, 00:39   #783  |  Link
nji
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 21
I'm sorry - then my information about orig VirtualDub was wrong.

However don't worry too much.
Actually it WAS terrible when nobody knew about the bugs in logo and fflayer.
Now we're a step further, and can turn to that :-)
nji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2019, 00:39   #784  |  Link
wonkey_monkey
Formerly davidh*****
 
wonkey_monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,650
I've just noticed that if I press F2 while an Avisynth script is loaded, the new instance of the filter I'm testing gets constructed before the previous one gets destructed. If, instead, I reload the file manually (selecting it from the Recent list), the previous instance gets destructed before the new instance is constructed.

More out of curiosity than anything else (I'm trying to track down a crash, but that's my filter's problem), is there a reason for the difference?
__________________
My AviSynth filters / I'm the Doctor
wonkey_monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2019, 01:57   #785  |  Link
shekh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 639
Quote:
Originally Posted by wonkey_monkey View Post
I've just noticed that if I press F2 while an Avisynth script is loaded, the new instance of the filter I'm testing gets constructed before the previous one gets destructed. If, instead, I reload the file manually (selecting it from the Recent list), the previous instance gets destructed before the new instance is constructed.

More out of curiosity than anything else (I'm trying to track down a crash, but that's my filter's problem), is there a reason for the difference?
Interesting. This probably can become an issue with some script.
Calling recent file is same as "close, open" but "reopen" is special atomic procedure. However the only case where it makes difference is the dialog telling the timeline becomes shorter and you can lose some edits. From there you can choose "cancel", in which case the whole reopening is aborted and you are left with previous state unchanged.
__________________
VirtualDub2
shekh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2019, 00:24   #786  |  Link
wonkey_monkey
Formerly davidh*****
 
wonkey_monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,650
Hey shekh, I know I've already asked for a lot of stuff, but would you consider adding an option to disable the grey frame that comes up when you reach the end of the timeline? It can be jarring when scrubbing back and forth.

Seeing the frame count at the end of the timeline is nice, but if you could add an option to make it impossible to actually reach that last point, it'd be really great.
__________________
My AviSynth filters / I'm the Doctor
wonkey_monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2019, 11:58   #787  |  Link
shekh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 639
I have an idea. There is this feature which can work: go to last visible frame, press "set selection end" (to select entire timeline but the last frame), press Go->Zoom selection. In this mode you will not see the gray "past the end frame".
What is missing probably, I should enable "Zoom selection" doing exactly this when there is no timeline selection initially. Would be easy.

Btw,
Quote:
I just updated and now I find that VirtualDub2 remembers zoom levels from when I last closed it. This, I think, is different to the previous behaviour, where files were always first opened at 100%.
The option exists now: preferences->Main->Remember autosize and zoom
__________________
VirtualDub2
shekh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2019, 16:33   #788  |  Link
nji
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 21
Audio out of sync when "direct stream copy" "from other file"

As far as I understand the matter of direct stream copy of audio
it is only possible by reading the audio by another codec.
As the standard codecs decode both video and audio.
Right?

OK, as mostly I only change visible effects in the video
(no fps change etc.) my typical work flow is to use
"direct stream copy" with "from another file".
This works well for MP4(AVC,AAC), by reading the audio
with the "Quick Time decoder".
But - as I now discovered - fails for WMV9 (even if both
audio/ video are CBR), reading the file with the WMV plugin (by fccHandler).
The audio is out of sync (too late).

What did I do wrong?
nji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2019, 09:53   #789  |  Link
nji
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 21
Anybody to confirm that effect?
nji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2019, 06:55   #790  |  Link
shekh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 639
Hi nji,
In some file types audio has relative offset to video and this offset is ignored when using "audio from other file". Maybe this is the case. I can tell better if I look at specific sample, can you share it?
__________________
VirtualDub2
shekh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2019, 10:07   #791  |  Link
nji
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 21
Hi shekh.

The effect seems to be with every typical WMV file (WMV9/ WMA2, even if both CBR).
And it differs from file to file (sometimes it's about -600ms, sometimes about -700ms, ...).
While I'm not sure if it's an absolute offset at all, but non-linear.
I had a look with MediaInfo, but there's no entry about audio offset.

I would like to point out that I'm not trying to do some very unusual thing.
It's just that I want to improve some older videos by light, color.
No timeline change, no audio change.
And of course I would like audio leave untouched then.
But - if I get all this right ... (do I?) - for this I have to get a
second import filter for that format, import audio separately with that,
and for "some (which?) file types" (your quote) still get wrong results?

Isn't that kind of ... horrible?

Or is my thinking wrong somewhere, and there is a simple workflow for that
simple task?
nji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2019, 19:12   #792  |  Link
shekh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 639
The whole application is not seamless. Simple workflow is full processing (video and audio). Anything involving direct copy has caveats, something works something not, I would not call this simple.
Please understand vd2 is product of different motivation. The original was meant to perform direct copy - abandoned by all developers. I mostly concentrate on full processing. As you see utilizing both these pieces at the same time is problematic.

Direct copy may look like simple concept, but implementation is not easy, for example, mkvmerge has incredible amount of code and it "just" does direct copy of some formats.
Considering the WMV problem, will see if I find it fixable
__________________
VirtualDub2
shekh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2019, 21:13   #793  |  Link
nji
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 21
Hi shekh.

Thankyou for your explanation.

Please don't get me wrong - it is not meant demanding.
(Actually I'm very grateful for your great work on vd2).

Being mostly a user, with a little knowledge here and there,
I am often suprised by all that pitholes.
(Said between us:
If I was to design the technology of video in a most confusing way...
I wouldn't have enough creativity to reach what is given now ... ;-))

OK, maybe my newbies' feedback still is kind of useful for you?

If one just wants to improve the video (without changing timeline)
and lets the audio at "copy", he would expect to have that done.

searching for another input filter (if exist at all),
setting "from another file",
all this is not so nice.
(Even worse if the result of all this is wrong then (de-sync)).

Isn't there a way to copy the audio without a different input filter?
For example by reading the file by a second instance of the given filter?



In the meantime I searched for infos about wmv/wma and audio issues
- without success.
As mentioned, no info about the audio offset shown.
But it must be somewhere (?).

On the other side:
Maybe for the professionals it's a strange combination I produced:
MKV container with AVC and WMA?
But to decrease the audio quality without need ...?

Greetings
nji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2019, 21:46   #794  |  Link
shekh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 639
In fact I started to fix the audio copy issue (I agree it is annoying), but you know there is always lack of time for something.

Quote:
If I was to design the technology of video in a most confusing way...
I wouldn't have enough creativity to reach what is given now
This is brilliant
__________________
VirtualDub2
shekh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2019, 23:18   #795  |  Link
Taurus
Registered User
 
Taurus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Krautland
Posts: 838
Quote:
If I was to design the technology of video in a most confusing way...
I wouldn't have enough creativity to reach what is given now ...
Yeah, this what I'm thinking every other day!
Taurus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th March 2019, 17:44   #796  |  Link
wonkey_monkey
Formerly davidh*****
 
wonkey_monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,650
I recently updated to the latest version and it now seems that copying (CTRL+1, CTRL+2) doesn't work. Photoshop complains of "unexpected end-of-file" and Ditto (clipboard manager) doesn't show a thumbnail as it used to.

Edit: 43385 seems to fix it.
__________________
My AviSynth filters / I'm the Doctor

Last edited by wonkey_monkey; 4th March 2019 at 17:47.
wonkey_monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th March 2019, 08:00   #797  |  Link
lansing
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,073
I'm requesting new feature, I want to go through a video and save a lot of screenshots manually. Right now I can set a hotkey to trigger the "file.saveImage" event, but it'll come with a prompt and file name of the saving image was defaulted to the file name of the video. So the work flow not good. I want something like setting an image location and then when I press the hotkey, the image will be save automatically to the folder with a unique image file name, and no prompt.
lansing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th March 2019, 11:02   #798  |  Link
shekh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 639
Quote:
Originally Posted by lansing View Post
I'm requesting new feature, I want to go through a video and save a lot of screenshots manually. Right now I can set a hotkey to trigger the "file.saveImage" event, but it'll come with a prompt and file name of the saving image was defaulted to the file name of the video. So the work flow not good. I want something like setting an image location and then when I press the hotkey, the image will be save automatically to the folder with a unique image file name, and no prompt.
Hi. The way I want to do it:
first set markers for all desired frames
then use "Save image sequence" and enable "save what: markers" option. The option needs to be implemented.

I might also do as you describe but it means adding some hidden file.SaveImageWithoutAsking command. Need to think about it.
__________________
VirtualDub2
shekh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th March 2019, 18:02   #799  |  Link
lansing
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,073
Quote:
Originally Posted by shekh View Post
Hi. The way I want to do it:
first set markers for all desired frames
then use "Save image sequence" and enable "save what: markers" option. The option needs to be implemented.

I might also do as you describe but it means adding some hidden file.SaveImageWithoutAsking command. Need to think about it.
Saving images as hotkey pressed gives me more control, I can get access to the saved image right away. It is similar to how the capture mode saving works, you first set a location and a base file name, and then every captured video was auto saved to that folder with filename + some increment number.

With "set marker->save image sequence", I can't access the images until the whole thing was finished.
lansing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th March 2019, 00:21   #800  |  Link
wonkey_monkey
Formerly davidh*****
 
wonkey_monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,650
I'm not sure if this is a VirtualDub2 problem, but the following Avisynth script:

Code:
colorbars(pixel_type="rgbap8")
comes out all messed up. I was surprised it worked at all, given that VirtualDub2 doesn't understand pixel_type="rgbp8" (no alpha). Is it mistaking RGBAP8 for some other colour space?
__________________
My AviSynth filters / I'm the Doctor
wonkey_monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 14:14.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.