Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > VirtualDub, VDubMod & AviDemux

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 14th July 2012, 05:37   #1  |  Link
BlueToast
Registered User
 
BlueToast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Missouri, US
Posts: 68
What does it take to do decent screen captures?

Greetings,

I am wondering what it really takes to do decent 1920x1200 screen captures. FRAPS cannot be used because there is no OpenGL or DirectX or D3D or DirectDraw involved. VirtualDub cannot be used because its OpenGL function is broken, resulting in a black screen, and when not using OpenGL, I have a very hard time getting a decent framerate (even with an i7-3930K, 32GB RAM, 128GB m4 SSD system).

I have Googled regarding the OpenGL black screen, but there are no relevant results.

Trying to capture a canvas-based game running in my Chrome window at 29.97fps. Resolution is 1219x1160, and there will be no sound recorded.
__________________
Intel C2Q Q9450 Yorkfield 12MB L2-Cache @ 3.2GHz, G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2-1000 (PC2 8000) DC, Corsair 750TX, ATI VisionTek Radeon HD4850 512MB, 500GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 SATA-II, 200GB Maxtor IDE-150
BlueToast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th July 2012, 05:40   #2  |  Link
BlueToast
Registered User
 
BlueToast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Missouri, US
Posts: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keiyakusha View Post
if you on windows 7, fraps can capture anything cause desktop uses DirectX
I have tried using Fraps, but it won't pickup anything. I am using Windows 7 Professional SP1 (x64) with latest updates.

Using the "Monitor Aero desktop (DWM)" and hitting the record hotkey, it creates a file "chrome 2012-07-13 23-46-46-35.avi" and I do stuff in chrome, then hit the hotkey again. I checkout the video and the entire thing is black with the exception of a fraps logo at the top.

EDIT: Greetings,

Problem solved. "Monitor Aero desktop (DWM)" was capturing my Google+ Hangout feed, which was coincidentally all black. ;o Tested Fraps and it works great for screen capturing the whole Windows 7 desktop. Purchased the software.
__________________
Intel C2Q Q9450 Yorkfield 12MB L2-Cache @ 3.2GHz, G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2-1000 (PC2 8000) DC, Corsair 750TX, ATI VisionTek Radeon HD4850 512MB, 500GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 SATA-II, 200GB Maxtor IDE-150

Last edited by BlueToast; 14th July 2012 at 06:08.
BlueToast is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:34.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.