Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Subtitles

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 3rd October 2020, 22:57   #1201  |  Link
Atlantis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 455
Just wanted to say that I recently discovered nOCR and wanted to thank anyone responsible for it. It is like true magic compared to the other methods in Subtitle Edit. It requires less interaction. It's really like night and day.
Atlantis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd October 2020, 23:26   #1202  |  Link
jlw_4049
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 300
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atlantis View Post
Just wanted to say that I recently discovered nOCR and wanted to thank anyone responsible for it. It is like true magic compared to the other methods in Subtitle Edit. It requires less interaction. It's really like night and day.
I agree, it's so much faster and generally more accurate.

It's definitely the best of both worlds.

Sent from my SM-G986U1 using Tapatalk
jlw_4049 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th October 2020, 00:00   #1203  |  Link
Atlantis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 455
Before, I easily could spend 1-2 hours, more like 2 hours on a movie. With nOCR I do it in 10 minutes!

How does the self-learning work? Does it stay after each project or is it reset each time you finish a file?

Last edited by Atlantis; 4th October 2020 at 00:03.
Atlantis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th October 2020, 18:12   #1204  |  Link
Nikse555
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mars
Posts: 323
Quote:
Originally Posted by von Suppé View Post
I wouldn't know if this is already been addressed to, but now that I think about it:

Is it possible to load a SUP and/or XML/PNG file into SE, not OCR-ing it, only for adjusting the timecodes? And after that, export back to SUP or XML/PNG, so without changing the original subtitle images and their X/Y coördinates. Of course, preferably with realtime monitoring in the preview with a chosen video.

I would be very happy if that's possible.
Cheers
Sorry, SE cannot really do this... I guess SE has most of the code for this, so it would be relative easy to make. Perhaps a new program...


Quote:
Originally Posted by Atlantis View Post
Just wanted to say that I recently discovered nOCR and wanted to thank anyone responsible for it. It is like true magic compared to the other methods in Subtitle Edit. It requires less interaction. It's really like night and day.
Nice to hear
Still, some subtitles (different/strange fonts) work better in Tesseract, but yes, nOCR works well for most subtitles.


Also, Subtitle Edit 3.5.17 is out: https://github.com/SubtitleEdit/subtitleedit/releases
Fixed a bug in BDSup reading with overlapping images (keeping images between PES packets and only clearing at Composition State=Epoch Start) and many minor improvements and fixes, and even Karaoke CD+G -> BDSup included.
Batch convert (and cmd line) can now handle transport streams with both teletext/images - and 300 different formats
Nikse555 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 6th October 2020, 18:32   #1205  |  Link
jlw_4049
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 300
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nikse555 View Post
Sorry, SE cannot really do this... I guess SE has most of the code for this, so it would be relative easy to make. Perhaps a new program...







Nice to hear

Still, some subtitles (different/strange fonts) work better in Tesseract, but yes, nOCR works well for most subtitles.





Also, Subtitle Edit 3.5.17 is out: https://github.com/SubtitleEdit/subtitleedit/releases

Fixed a bug in BDSup reading with overlapping images (keeping images between PES packets and only clearing at Composition State=Epoch Start) and many minor improvements and fixes, and even Karaoke CD+G -> BDSup included.

Batch convert (and cmd line) can now handle transport streams with both teletext/images - and 300 different formats
What a beast, thank you sir

Sent from my SM-G986U1 using Tapatalk
jlw_4049 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th October 2020, 18:16   #1206  |  Link
jpsdr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: France
Posts: 1,842
Hello, a little question.
I have two srt files A and B.
I want to insert the lines 100 to 200 of the file A after the line 50 of file B (and so before line 51 of file B which will become 152).

How do i do ?

I can't just do it in Notepad because line numbers will not be good anymore.
__________________
My github.
jpsdr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th October 2020, 22:32   #1207  |  Link
Janusz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Poland
Posts: 66
@jpsdr
A. In the notebook
1. Insert lines in Notepad. Save the changed file with a new name.
2. Load the new file into the Subtitle Edit program.
3. Use Tools / Renumber to renumber (reorder) the line numbers.

B. In Subtitle Edit. (use the right mouse button)
1. Open file "A" in the program, mark lines 100 to 200, execute "Copy as text to clipboard"
2. Open file "B" in a new (second) session of the program, position the cursor on line 51,
execute Column / Paste from Clipboard with [Choose column] = All checked
and [Overwrite / Shift cells down] = Shift cells down.
__________________
Sorry for my mistakes - I'm using a translator.
Janusz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2020, 17:13   #1208  |  Link
jpsdr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: France
Posts: 1,842
Ok, thanks.
__________________
My github.
jpsdr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th October 2020, 18:53   #1209  |  Link
mugz8391
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 14
New to Subtitle Edit - Typewriter Effect?

A few years ago I used Aegisub but it is no longer being supported it appears and links to the forum are dead right now.

I cannot remember how to apply the "typewriter effect" to lines of text and I'm not having much luck finding help to apply the different effects for Subtitle Edit either - I see in the change log this effect is supported but no tutorial on how to apply it. Can I get any help here?
mugz8391 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th October 2020, 20:44   #1210  |  Link
Janusz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Poland
Posts: 66
@mugz8391
Select the line or lines you want this effect to apply to
press the right mouse button on the marked area,
select [Typewriter effect ...]
__________________
Sorry for my mistakes - I'm using a translator.
Janusz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th October 2020, 11:49   #1211  |  Link
von Suppé
Registered User
 
von Suppé's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 278
Hi Nikse,

In the latest version, is there something wrong with the handling of *.ass subtitles, when exporting to SUP?

The preview in the SUP export-windows is definitely not showing what it used to.
Seems like the text is in front of a black cloud??

With srt to SUP evrything's okay.

Cheers

Edit: Sorry. I forgot that when creating or editing ASS styles in Aegisub first, things go well. Aegisub is doing more than when creating/changing ASS styles in SE.

So, all is well. Sorry for inconvenience.

Last edited by von Suppé; 13th October 2020 at 12:27.
von Suppé is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th October 2020, 08:56   #1212  |  Link
Melan
Registered User
 
Melan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Poland
Posts: 61
Hello.
Could you please implement automatic deletion of spaces before characters like:
!
?
,
.
without informing about it in the "All fixes" window? I mean the Binary image compare method.
Currently, I have defined these patches using regex in OCRFixReplaceList file and the whole list of patches is "cluttered" by them, which makes it difficult to read.

https://i.imgur.com/F9sVhV5.png
Melan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th October 2020, 20:35   #1213  |  Link
Ghitulescu
Registered User
 
Ghitulescu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,697
Quote:
Originally Posted by Melan View Post
Hello.
Could you please implement automatic deletion of spaces before characters like:
!
?
,
.
without informing about it in the "All fixes" window?
And as soon as this change is implemented, the Frenchmen will come and ask for inserting a space inbetween for this is what French spelling requires.

If you create your own subtitles, I am sure you have not this issue.
The rest might fall under Rule 6
__________________
Born in the USB (not USA)
Ghitulescu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:02.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.