Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 17th October 2018, 17:21   #53341  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
@SamuriHL, just to get a speed impression, with your 1060, I suppose you can do the following with ease:

1) "NGU High" Luma upscaling with 1080 -> 4K at 60fps? (Chroma set to "normal").
2) Tone mapping including highlight recovery and measurements at 4K 60fps?

Correct? Thanks!
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th October 2018, 17:30   #53342  |  Link
Siso
Registered User
 
Siso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 392
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamuriHL View Post
On my 6gb 1060 I stick with medium. It's very subjective but most people aren't going to see a HUGE difference between medium and high and on lower end equipment where performance matters more it's certainly not worth it IMO.
Good point.
Siso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th October 2018, 17:37   #53343  |  Link
mytbyte
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 198
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warner306 View Post
Bad metadata or lack of metadata. The measurement would be more accurate. The metadata is just available to assist with tone mapping.
Well, I took the HDR clipping pattern that is also marked as 1000 nits max and when I set peak brightness in MadVR to 10000 nits, I get visible flashing bars all the way accross so there IS data all the way up to 10000 nits in the file and madVR detects that, apparently.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Warner306 View Post
I would doubt you are crushing black given the accuracy of your calibration.
Just measured that my near black tracking is rising slower than the BT.2390 reference (up to 8% stimulus), so it is darker than it should be, but data is there.

Last edited by mytbyte; 17th October 2018 at 17:46.
mytbyte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th October 2018, 18:13   #53344  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4,254
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
@SamuriHL, just to get a speed impression, with your 1060, I suppose you can do the following with ease:

1) "NGU High" Luma upscaling with 1080 -> 4K at 60fps? (Chroma set to "normal").
2) Tone mapping including highlight recovery and measurements at 4K 60fps?

Correct? Thanks!
1) Rendering is hanging out around 27ms or lower average with NGU Sharp HIGH luma upscaling 1080 -> 4k 60. Chroma set to normal.

2) Rendering is about 35ms or so at 4k 60 with tone mapping highlight recovery measurements and 65% desat.

Of note I am using D3D11 decoding not doing any copy back.

P.S. All trade quality options are disabled.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10, I9 9900k, RTX 2070 Founder's Edition, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX303, LG C8 65" OLED
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th October 2018, 18:25   #53345  |  Link
Balthazar2k4
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Here, There, & Everywhere
Posts: 258
Out of curiosity what is the state of madVR with an AMD Vega solution for 4K HDR material? I am looking to replace my HTPC with a Hades Canyon NUC (8809G) and want to understand what issues I might run into. I saw a post way back about madVR being unable to autoswitch HDR mode in Windows with AMD cards. Has this changed?

I am presently using a GTX960/Pentium G4600 based machine now and want to get a similar experience... just smaller.

Edit: I see that AMD now has a private HDR API that madVR will utilize. That answers that, but is there anything else that might be an issue?

Last edited by Balthazar2k4; 17th October 2018 at 20:08.
Balthazar2k4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th October 2018, 20:59   #53346  |  Link
Alexkral
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 111
Hi Madshi,

I'm sorry to be late for your request of feedback about NNEDI3, like many others I don't update madVR very often (I'm still using 0.92.2 now), neither read this thread, but I think there was a good reason to keep it. Maybe nobody else noticed, but it is/was the only doubling algorithm capable of independent width or height doubling. I encode my BD3Ds to 1920 x 2160 OU for viewing on my FPR UHD TV. This way there is no need to upscale the height, the TV just take the available lines and reorder them in a line alternative scheme. When I play these videos in fullscreen with madVR using NNEDI3 for doubling, I can see in the OSD that after chroma upscaling, luma x (or the whole image x depending on settings for chroma doubling) is upscaled with NNEDI and image y is left untouched. But if I choose super-xbr or NGU for doubling, I can see that after chroma upscaling, both image x and image y are upscaled and then image y is downscaled with the algorithm chosed.
I understand that you had reasons to remove NNEDI3 so I'm not going to ask for it back, but maybe this feature could be added to NGU. Anyway I suspect that image y doubling to 4320 and then downscaling back to 2160 should not mean a significant quality loss, but given that it is not necessary in this situation, maybe I should just forget about doubling and use one of the other upscaling algorithms.

Also, I don't understand if the new option "tone map HDR using external 3DLUT" is just for processing HDR, or for both processing HDR and converting HDR to SDR.

Last edited by Alexkral; 18th October 2018 at 05:54.
Alexkral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th October 2018, 21:45   #53347  |  Link
422415
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
I can set RGB Full 12 bpc in 1809 and 416.34. I simply change the refresh rate first, setting it to RGB Full 8 bpc 340x2160p23, and then after I am in 23 Hz I can set 12 bpc, this lives through reboots and similar without issue. However, this is not with a custom 23 Hz mode, with a custom mode I simply cannot use >8 bit at all.
I just updated to Windows 1809 and 416.34 and it still will not switch to 12bpc. Incredibly frustrating.
422415 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th October 2018, 22:31   #53348  |  Link
el Filou
Registered User
 
el Filou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 504
On my my 1050 Ti on 1080 display I have to check 'compromise on mapping accuracy' for 60p HDR content. With 24p it's fine.
Not a big deal for me as most HDR content besides demos still is 24p movies at the moment.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10 1809, MediaPortal 1, LAV Filters, ReClock, madVR. DVB-C TV, Panasonic GT60, 6.0 speakers Denon 2310, Core 2 Duo E7400, GeForce 1050 Ti
el Filou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th October 2018, 12:02   #53349  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,190
HDR looks terrible with that enabled.. Compromise on anything else..
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th October 2018, 16:18   #53350  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,111
Quote:
Originally Posted by el Filou View Post
On my my 1050 Ti on 1080 display I have to check 'compromise on mapping accuracy' for 60p HDR content. With 24p it's fine.
Not a big deal for me as most HDR content besides demos still is 24p movies at the moment.
If you create a profile for 4K60 with scale chroma separately checked under trade quality for performance, you should be able to enable everything again, save highlight recovery.

Last edited by Warner306; 18th October 2018 at 17:54.
Warner306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th October 2018, 16:20   #53351  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,111
Quote:
Originally Posted by Balthazar2k4 View Post
Out of curiosity what is the state of madVR with an AMD Vega solution for 4K HDR material? I am looking to replace my HTPC with a Hades Canyon NUC (8809G) and want to understand what issues I might run into. I saw a post way back about madVR being unable to autoswitch HDR mode in Windows with AMD cards. Has this changed?

I am presently using a GTX960/Pentium G4600 based machine now and want to get a similar experience... just smaller.

Edit: I see that AMD now has a private HDR API that madVR will utilize. That answers that, but is there anything else that might be an issue?
It will work fine. However, the NUC is expensive and has an overpowered CPU for a HTPC. A Zotac Zbox with a GTX 1060 would be a better choice.

Last edited by Warner306; 18th October 2018 at 17:54.
Warner306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th October 2018, 18:19   #53352  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,111
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamuriHL View Post
2) Rendering is about 35ms or so at 4k 60 with tone mapping highlight recovery measurements and 65% desat.

Of note I am using D3D11 decoding not doing any copy back.

P.S. All trade quality options are disabled.
What are your rendering times when chroma upscaling is set to something like Lanczos3 and dithering set to Ordered Dithering?
Warner306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th October 2018, 00:02   #53353  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4,254
Oh hell, that's right, I did set dithering to ordered a couple weeks ago and forgot about it. As for chroma I'd have to check and I don't know if I'll have time to test tonight. I should be able to tomorrow.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10, I9 9900k, RTX 2070 Founder's Edition, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX303, LG C8 65" OLED
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th October 2018, 16:04   #53354  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,111
Just curious. I thought the GTX 1060 was faster than that.
Warner306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th October 2018, 19:11   #53355  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4,254
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamuriHL View Post
1) Rendering is hanging out around 27ms or lower average with NGU Sharp HIGH luma upscaling 1080 -> 4k 60. Chroma set to normal.

2) Rendering is about 35ms or so at 4k 60 with tone mapping highlight recovery measurements and 65% desat.

Of note I am using D3D11 decoding not doing any copy back.

P.S. All trade quality options are disabled.
So this was with ordered dithering. However, changing it to error diffusion 2 didn't seem to make much difference. I'm still kicking around 30ms for 4k 60.

Changing to laczos3 as Warner306 suggested (still with error diffusion 2) lowers it down to ~20ms.

And changing THAT to ordered dithering lowers it to ~18ms.

Hope this helps!
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10, I9 9900k, RTX 2070 Founder's Edition, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX303, LG C8 65" OLED
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th October 2018, 22:08   #53356  |  Link
Axelpowa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 16
Hdrpeaknit value for hdr profiles

Hi,

I'm trying to set multiple profiles in madVR under the device settings for HDR taking hdrpeaknit of a movie in account.

Like this

If (hdrpeaknit <=1000) "275" (275 would be a profile)
Else if.....
Else if....
Else...

The problem I have is that my Projector jvc x7500 switches to HDR profile as if I were sending metadata to the projector instead of staying in my sdr2020 profile.

Any way to avoid this?

Regards!
Axelpowa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th October 2018, 22:28   #53357  |  Link
Manni
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 713
Are you sure you've selected pixel shader in each of your HDR profile? There shouldn't be any HDR metadata sent with pixel shader, unless you've selected the "output video in HDR" option.

Otherwise you might want to try checking the "report BT2020" box in the calibration tab if you have an nVidia GPU. Or if it's checked, try uncheking it. But it shouldn't force HDR mode in the JVCs either way.
__________________
Win10 Pro x64 b1809 MCE
i7 3770K@4.0Ghz 16Gb@2.18Ghz EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2 11Gb@2GHz 398.11 RGB Full 8bits
MPC-BE/LAV/MadVR/jRiver/MyMovies V5.25PR2
Denon X8500H>HD Fury Maestro>JVC RS2000

Last edited by Manni; 19th October 2018 at 22:30.
Manni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th October 2018, 23:03   #53358  |  Link
Axelpowa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manni View Post
Are you sure you've selected pixel shader in each of your HDR profile? There shouldn't be any HDR metadata sent with pixel shader, unless you've selected the "output video in HDR" option.

Otherwise you might want to try checking the "report BT2020" box in the calibration tab if you have an nVidia GPU. Or if it's checked, try uncheking it. But it shouldn't force HDR mode in the JVCs either way.
Hi Manni,

Yes, I've checked it. Was the first thing I thought, but it is correct. I created every profile duplicating the one I use for sdr2020 pixel shader. After that I just changed the peak nits target for every profile.

Regards!
Axelpowa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th October 2018, 23:18   #53359  |  Link
Manni
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 713
Quote:
Originally Posted by Axelpowa View Post
Hi Manni,

Yes, I've checked it. Was the first thing I thought, but it is correct. I created every profile duplicating the one I use for sdr2020 pixel shader. After that I just changed the peak nits target for every profile.

Regards!
Did you check that the profile that should be enabled with your logic is indeed enabled? Otherwise it could be another profile that's selected for whatever reason.

If your sdr2020 pixel shader profile behaves correctly and you've simply copied it to create the others, then I have no idea, except checking every single option.

If you enable a copy where nothing is changed from your original profile, does it behave as the original or does it not work?

Apart from that I can't think of anything else. I have an X7000 and I use a Vertex to disable the HDR metadata anyway, so I don't have this problem.
__________________
Win10 Pro x64 b1809 MCE
i7 3770K@4.0Ghz 16Gb@2.18Ghz EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2 11Gb@2GHz 398.11 RGB Full 8bits
MPC-BE/LAV/MadVR/jRiver/MyMovies V5.25PR2
Denon X8500H>HD Fury Maestro>JVC RS2000

Last edited by Manni; 19th October 2018 at 23:21.
Manni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th October 2018, 00:25   #53360  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,111
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamuriHL View Post
So this was with ordered dithering. However, changing it to error diffusion 2 didn't seem to make much difference. I'm still kicking around 30ms for 4k 60.

Changing to laczos3 as Warner306 suggested (still with error diffusion 2) lowers it down to ~20ms.

And changing THAT to ordered dithering lowers it to ~18ms.

Hope this helps!
So the GTX 1060 is just slightly too slow for tone mapping at 4K 60 fps. This is helpful because I am often talking to people building PCs at AVSForums, mostly for madVR. The GTX 1060 still seems like a good choice, but the GTX 1070 is required for 4K 60 fps with extra sauce.
Warner306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:53.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.