Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > (HD) DVD, Blu-ray & (S)VCD > DVD & BD Rebuilder

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 15th December 2009, 04:40   #6321  |  Link
Revgen
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Near LA, California, USA
Posts: 1,545
@Jdobbs

I just tried encoding The Third Man (US Criterion Version) to BD-25. However, for some reason, one of the special features is a 720x480 mpeg-2 video that's progressive 23.976fps pulldown-flagged to 29.97fps but is detected as pure interlaced by BD Rebuilder. If you can get a hold of the Third Man Blue-Ray, the specific m2ts file is 00008.m2ts . DGIndex properly detects the video as progressive.
__________________
Pirate: Now how would you like to die? Would you like to have your head chopped off or be burned at the stake?

Curly: Burned at the stake!

Moe: Why?

Curly: A hot steak is always better than a cold chop.

Last edited by Revgen; 15th December 2009 at 04:50.
Revgen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th December 2009, 04:59   #6322  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,471
Quote:
Originally Posted by Revgen View Post
@Jdobbs

I just tried encoding The Third Man (US Criterion Version) to BD-25. However, for some reason, one of the special features is a 720x480 mpeg-2 video that's progressive 23.976fps pulldown-flagged to 29.97fps but is detected as pure interlaced by BD Rebuilder. If you can get a hold of the Third Man Blue-Ray, the specific m2ts file is 00008.m2ts . DGIndex properly detects the video as progressive.
What version of BD-RB are you using? There was an error fixed in v0.31.04 that could cause that.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th December 2009, 05:00   #6323  |  Link
Revgen
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Near LA, California, USA
Posts: 1,545
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
What version of BD-RB are you using? There was an error fixed in v0.31.04 that could cause that.
Version 0.31.05

EDIT:

Now that I look at it, it does see it as progressive (Has a * at the end) but the .avs script decided to convert it to 29.97fps. Why can't it just keep it at 23.976?
__________________
Pirate: Now how would you like to die? Would you like to have your head chopped off or be burned at the stake?

Curly: Burned at the stake!

Moe: Why?

Curly: A hot steak is always better than a cold chop.

Last edited by Revgen; 15th December 2009 at 05:05.
Revgen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th December 2009, 05:01   #6324  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,471
Quote:
Originally Posted by Revgen View Post
Version 0.31.05
I'll see if I can find that movie.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th December 2009, 05:07   #6325  |  Link
Revgen
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Near LA, California, USA
Posts: 1,545
NVM,

Now that I look at it, it does see it as progressive (Has a * at the end, didn't see that originally) but the .avs script decided to convert it to 29.97fps. Why can't it just keep it at 23.976?
__________________
Pirate: Now how would you like to die? Would you like to have your head chopped off or be burned at the stake?

Curly: Burned at the stake!

Moe: Why?

Curly: A hot steak is always better than a cold chop.
Revgen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th December 2009, 05:10   #6326  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,471
Quote:
Originally Posted by Revgen View Post
NVM,

Now that I look at it, it does see it as progressive (Has a * at the end, didn't see that originally) but the .avs script decided to convert it to 29.97fps. Why can't it just keep it at 23.976?
Because blu-ray doesn't support 23.976fps at 720x480. So I have to reinsert the pulldown flags, and I just haven't gotten around to doing that yet.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th December 2009, 05:15   #6327  |  Link
Revgen
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Near LA, California, USA
Posts: 1,545
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
Because blu-ray doesn't support 23.976fps at 720x480. So I have to reinsert the pulldown flags, and I just haven't gotten around to doing that yet.
Pulldown can be done by x264 using the --pulldown 32 parameter. So I can't see why that would be a problem. Unless Tsmuxer is the issue.

Thanks for your work on BD-Rebuilder. I'll wait until you get it solved.
__________________
Pirate: Now how would you like to die? Would you like to have your head chopped off or be burned at the stake?

Curly: Burned at the stake!

Moe: Why?

Curly: A hot steak is always better than a cold chop.
Revgen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th December 2009, 16:26   #6328  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,471
Quote:
Originally Posted by drmih View Post
I can only think of Van Helsing and Inglorious Bastards which I can remember working recently.

**Scrub Van Helsing - that doesn't work
Just did another full-backup UNIVERSAL title to BD-9 last night ("Love Actually"). No issues at all.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th December 2009, 17:36   #6329  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,471
Quote:
Originally Posted by Revgen View Post
Pulldown can be done by x264 using the --pulldown 32 parameter. So I can't see why that would be a problem. Unless Tsmuxer is the issue.

Thanks for your work on BD-Rebuilder. I'll wait until you get it solved.
You make it sound a lot simpler than it is. You also have to do inverse telecining when you bring it in (which is often inaccurate) because DirectShowSource() doesn't have any flags to tell it to ignore pulldown -- not to mention the issues associated with hybrid pulldown/interlaced sources.

I'll do it eventually -- its just not a priority yet, especially since the only pulldown sources I've ever seen on Blu-Ray are extras. Right now its just smarter to process it at 29.97fps.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th December 2009, 17:59   #6330  |  Link
Denada
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
Yes. Codec packs are notorious for changing your settings.
Hmm changed my vc-1 decoding in FFDSHOW setup from disabled to libavcodec, and now I do not get te encoding failed messages anymore..

Changed this to disabled a while ago, didnt give any problems until some of these encoding failed errors showed up on a couple of disks.. anyway.. its working again now...
Denada is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th December 2009, 20:38   #6331  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,471
Quote:
Originally Posted by Denada View Post
Hmm changed my vc-1 decoding in FFDSHOW setup from disabled to libavcodec, and now I do not get te encoding failed messages anymore..

Changed this to disabled a while ago, didnt give any problems until some of these encoding failed errors showed up on a couple of disks.. anyway.. its working again now...
Change it to WMV9 -- selecting "libavcodec" will cause other issues (with interlaced sources). VC-1 should only be set to "disabled" if you have WMV11 installed on your system and you are NOT using Windows 7.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th December 2009, 23:00   #6332  |  Link
Denada
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
Change it to WMV9 -- selecting "libavcodec" will cause other issues (with interlaced sources). VC-1 should only be set to "disabled" if you have WMV11 installed on your system and you are NOT using Windows 7.
Thanks for that advice, i am using Windows 7, so I'll stick to WMV9 for now..
Denada is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th December 2009, 06:37   #6333  |  Link
Race Guy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
Just did another full-backup UNIVERSAL title to BD-9 last night ("Love Actually"). No issues at all.
If you happen to have either of these Uni's, jdobbs:

12 Monkeys
Public Enemies

See what happens full to BD-9.
Race Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th December 2009, 14:05   #6334  |  Link
deliduran
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 2
2.35:1

JDOBBS first i want to thank you fot this usefull aplication.

Here is my question
I want to view the re-encoded movie in 2.35:1 but i do not know how to do this. Some help would be nice

Regards,
deliduran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th December 2009, 14:34   #6335  |  Link
MILLZY
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 86
Could anybody help me with this error please:

Error in attempt to multiplex: MUX_00000.meta
- Matroska parse error: Invalid EBML number size 3 at pos 4310527393
[13:25:29] - Failed to build structure, aborted

Star Trek full backup(windows 7) BD rebuilder latest version.
MILLZY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th December 2009, 14:42   #6336  |  Link
eTiMaGo
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by deliduran View Post
JDOBBS first i want to thank you fot this usefull aplication.

Here is my question
I want to view the re-encoded movie in 2.35:1 but i do not know how to do this. Some help would be nice

Regards,
As far as I know the program does not touch the aspect ratio? What you get out is the same as what you put in (except for the convert to 720p option, I guess, but that should still keep the original AR, no?)
eTiMaGo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th December 2009, 15:21   #6337  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,471
Quote:
Originally Posted by Race Guy View Post
If you happen to have either of these Uni's, jdobbs:

12 Monkeys
Public Enemies

See what happens full to BD-9.
I have "12 Monkeys" and have done it before with no problem -- I'll try it again. I plan to pick up "Public Enemies" soon.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th December 2009, 17:39   #6338  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,471
Quote:
Originally Posted by deliduran View Post
JDOBBS first i want to thank you fot this usefull aplication.

Here is my question
I want to view the re-encoded movie in 2.35:1 but i do not know how to do this. Some help would be nice

Regards,
In Blu-Ray a 2.35:1 movie would be encoded as 16:9 with black bars. The standard doesn't support a direct 2.35:1 encoding.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th December 2009, 22:28   #6339  |  Link
deliduran
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 2
2.35:1

Thanks for the quick reply.
deliduran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th December 2009, 04:20   #6340  |  Link
bennynihon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 106
I'm having an issue encoding The Office Season 5 Disc 4. Right at the end of encoding (around 97.6%). I'm using 0.31.04.

Quote:
- [18:25:40] Reencoding: VID_00106 (30 of 40)
- Encode failed. Retrying.
- Encode failed. Retrying.
- Reached retry limit. Aborting.
Opening up LASTCMD.TXT, I executed the command on the command line.

Quote:
C:\>"H:\BD-RB\tools\x264.exe" "H:\TEMP\WORKFILES\VID_00106.AVS" --preset veryfast --weightp 0 --qpmin=0 --bitrate 511 --level 4.1 --sar 10:11 --aud --nal-hrd --vbv-bufsize 14500 --keyint 24 --min-keyint 1 --ipratio 1.1 --pbratio 1.1 --vbv-maxrate 17500 --interlaced --threads auto --slices 4 --thread-input --stats "H:\TEMP\WORKFILES\VID_00106.AVS.MKV.stats" --pass 1 --output NUL
avs [error]: DirectShowSource: RenderFile, the filter graph manager won't talk to me(H:\TEMP\WORKFILES\VID_00106.AVS, line 2)
x264 [error]: could not open input file `H:\TEMP\WORKFILES\VID_00106.AVS'
The avs file is there.

Quote:
#Created by BD Rebuilder - v0.31.04 (beta)
DirectshowSource("H:\FILES\MOVIES\BLURAY\OFFICE_S5_D4\BDMV\STREAM\00106.m2ts", fps=29.97, framecount=54010, audio=false)
AssumeFieldBased().AssumeBFF()
ConvertToYV12()
LoadPlugin("H:\BD-RB\tools\decomb521.dll")
FieldDeinterlace()
ConvertToYV12().AssumeFPS(30000,1001)
And the m2ts file is certainly there as well.

I'll try 0.31.05 in the meantime.

Thanks.
bennynihon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:30.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.