Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > (HD) DVD, Blu-ray & (S)VCD > DVD & BD Rebuilder

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 19th December 2010, 00:28   #10561  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,863
Quote:
Originally Posted by LowDead View Post
@Capsbackup: Thank you very much, it worked perfectly.

@JDobbs: Is the LAVF only used for minor speed improvements or does it also improve quality in some cases?

//LD
Well... minor is a relative term. It can be a lot more than "minor" on some processors.

But -- the quality will probably be about the same either way.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2010, 00:55   #10562  |  Link
Capsbackup
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,995
Quote:
Originally Posted by LowDead View Post
@Capsbackup: Thank you very much, it worked perfectly.

@JDobbs: Is the LAVF only used for minor speed improvements or does it also improve quality in some cases?

//LD
Good to know. I have never used/selected LAVF for decoding, and have never had these pixelations.
Capsbackup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2010, 07:54   #10563  |  Link
gamete
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 132
thanks jdobbs
gamete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2010, 15:12   #10564  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,863
Quote:
Originally Posted by Capsbackup View Post
Good to know. I have never used/selected LAVF for decoding, and have never had these pixelations.
That would probably indicate that it is a CODEC issue. If the pixelation goes away -- it likely indicates another CODEC has overwritten FFDSHOW and is causing the problem before the encode even occurs.

This is why I keep stressing to people that they need to avoid codec packs, other video packages etc... and to reinstall with the apps from the first post if there seems to be problems or if they've installed something else. Some programs are just way to intrusive into your configuration, and "forget" to ask you before they modify your environment. But the advice just never seems to get through. Especially for those who really, really, really want to install newer versions of FFDSHOW, HAALI, or AVISYNTH for no reason other than "it is there".
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net

Last edited by jdobbs; 19th December 2010 at 16:16.
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2010, 20:11   #10565  |  Link
LowDead
Elit Amans
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 269
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
That would probably indicate that it is a CODEC issue. If the pixelation goes away -- it likely indicates another CODEC has overwritten FFDSHOW and is causing the problem before the encode even occurs.
Just to be clear.

LAVF=Pixelation
FFDSHOW=NO Pixelation

And I don't have any codec packs.. Everything installed as described in the first post. As Capsbackup said, LAVF caused it on this particular VC-1 stream. I had never seen any pixelation before and have been using LAVF since you implemented it.

But I agree totally.. Codec packs can be a pain in the..

//LD
LowDead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2010, 21:10   #10566  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,863
Quote:
Originally Posted by LowDead View Post
Just to be clear.

LAVF=Pixelation
FFDSHOW=NO Pixelation

And I don't have any codec packs.. Everything installed as described in the first post. As Capsbackup said, LAVF caused it on this particular VC-1 stream. I had never seen any pixelation before and have been using LAVF since you implemented it.

But I agree totally.. Codec packs can be a pain in the..

//LD
Oh... I thought it was happening in the other direction... interesting.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th December 2010, 20:30   #10567  |  Link
TheBreen
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 17
I have successfully created several BD25 images with the latest build but the Sound of Music (tis the season..) just will not compress for me properly without artifacts. The original disc is fine and so far I have tried using automatic, Good and High Quality settings. What I get are horizontal bands of purple color which periodically flash on and off when watching the compressed image. I don't think I have any codec packs or such installed, just the suggested ffdshow, although is there a simple way to confirm this?



Has this come up before or is there another setting I should try?
TheBreen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th December 2010, 20:47   #10568  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,863
@TheBreen

Run INSPECT.EXE and post your results. It sounds more like a frame-serving issue than an encoding issue. Also, are you using LAVF or regular AVISYNTH encoding?
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th December 2010, 20:57   #10569  |  Link
TheBreen
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
@TheBreen

Run INSPECT.EXE and post your results. It sounds more like a frame-serving issue than an encoding issue. Also, are you using LAVF or regular AVISYNTH encoding?
Hi and thanks. Here is the report from inspect.exe:

- Windows Version: 5.1 [2600]
- AVISYNTH Version: 2.5.7.0, Ok
- HAALI Splitter: Ok
- FFDSHOW: 3326, Ok
- FFDSHOW VC-1 set "disabled", WMP11, Ok
- FFDSHOW MPEG2 set incorrectly: [0]
- FFDSHOW AVC set to "libavcodec": Ok
- BD Rebuilder v0.36.0.6, Ok
- X264: Ok
- AFTEN: Ok
- FAAC: Ok
- MP4BOX: Ok
- WAVI: Ok
- TSMUXER: Ok

It looks like there may be a problem above? I have not enabled the setting 'Use X264's internal LAVF for decoding', but I'm not sure that answers your question about AVISYNTH.

Last edited by TheBreen; 20th December 2010 at 20:59.
TheBreen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th December 2010, 21:29   #10570  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,863
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheBreen View Post
Hi and thanks. Here is the report from inspect.exe:

- Windows Version: 5.1 [2600]
- AVISYNTH Version: 2.5.7.0, Ok
- HAALI Splitter: Ok
- FFDSHOW: 3326, Ok
- FFDSHOW VC-1 set "disabled", WMP11, Ok
- FFDSHOW MPEG2 set incorrectly: [0]
- FFDSHOW AVC set to "libavcodec": Ok
- BD Rebuilder v0.36.0.6, Ok
- X264: Ok
- AFTEN: Ok
- FAAC: Ok
- MP4BOX: Ok
- WAVI: Ok
- TSMUXER: Ok

It looks like there may be a problem above? I have not enabled the setting 'Use X264's internal LAVF for decoding', but I'm not sure that answers your question about AVISYNTH.
What type of encoding was used on the source (VC-1, MPEG-2, or AVC)?
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th December 2010, 21:48   #10571  |  Link
TheBreen
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
What type of encoding was used on the source (VC-1, MPEG-2, or AVC)?
I think AVC. While viewing with MPC-HC, 'properties' shows the following:

Video: MPEG4 Video (H264) 1920x1080 23.98fps [Video - AVC (H.264), High Profile, Level 4.1, 1920x1080, 23.976 fps (1011,e0,00)]

MediaInfo:

Video #1
ID : 4113 (0x1011)
Menu ID : 1 (0x1)
Format : AVC
Format/Info : Advanced Video Codec
Format profile : High@L4.1
Format settings, CABAC : Yes
Format settings, ReFrames : 4 frames
Codec ID : 27
Duration : 2h 54mn
Bit rate mode : Variable
Maximum bit rate : 32.5 Mbps
Width : 1 920 pixels
Height : 1 080 pixels
Display aspect ratio : 16:9
Frame rate : 23.976 fps
Color space : YUV
Chroma subsampling : 4:2:0
Bit depth : 8 bits
Scan type : Progressive
Color primaries : BT.709-5, BT.1361, IEC 61966-2-4, SMPTE RP177
Transfer characteristics : BT.709-5, BT.1361
Matrix coefficients : BT.709-5, BT.1361, IEC 61966-2-4 709, SMPTE RP177
Source : 00360.m2ts
TheBreen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th December 2010, 21:54   #10572  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,863
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheBreen View Post
I think AVC. While viewing with MPC-HC, 'properties' shows the following:

Video: MPEG4 Video (H264) 1920x1080 23.98fps [Video - AVC (H.264), High Profile, Level 4.1, 1920x1080, 23.976 fps (1011,e0,00)]

MediaInfo:

Video #1
ID : 4113 (0x1011)
Menu ID : 1 (0x1)
Format : AVC
Format/Info : Advanced Video Codec
Format profile : High@L4.1
Format settings, CABAC : Yes
Format settings, ReFrames : 4 frames
Codec ID : 27
Duration : 2h 54mn
Bit rate mode : Variable
Maximum bit rate : 32.5 Mbps
Width : 1 920 pixels
Height : 1 080 pixels
Display aspect ratio : 16:9
Frame rate : 23.976 fps
Color space : YUV
Chroma subsampling : 4:2:0
Bit depth : 8 bits
Scan type : Progressive
Color primaries : BT.709-5, BT.1361, IEC 61966-2-4, SMPTE RP177
Transfer characteristics : BT.709-5, BT.1361
Matrix coefficients : BT.709-5, BT.1361, IEC 61966-2-4 709, SMPTE RP177
Source : 00360.m2ts
I need to know what is on the original, the output is always going to be AVC. The original's format will show in the LOG of the encode.

[Edit] I just looked it up online -- and it looks like the original is in AVC as well. But could you check to be sure?
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net

Last edited by jdobbs; 20th December 2010 at 22:00.
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th December 2010, 22:04   #10573  |  Link
TheBreen
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
I need to know what is on the original, the output is always going to be AVC. The original's format will show in the LOG of the encode.
Sorry but I get lost with some of the technical shorthand. If you mean the original Sound of Music source (ripped disc), then what I posted above are the video properties shown by MPC-HC when viewing that original source.

When you refer to the LOG of the encode, do you mean the BD-Rebuilder log for this job?

-----------------------
[19:17:44] BD Rebuilder v0.36.06 (beta)
- Source: THE_SOUND_OF_MUSIC
- Input BD size: 42.17 GB
- Approximate total content: [02:54:41.429]
- Target BD size: 22.95 GB
- Windows Version: 5.1 [2600]
- MOVIE-ONLY mode enabled
- Quality: High Quality (Default), ABR
- Audio Settings: AC3=1 DTS=1 HD=0 Kbs=640
[19:17:44] PHASE ONE, Encoding
- [19:17:44] Extracting A/V streams [VID_00360]
- [19:42:04] Reencoding: VID_00360 (1 of 1)
- [19:42:04] Collecting video information
- Source Video: MPEG-4 (AVC), 1920x1080
- Rate/Length: 23.976fps, 251,303 frames
- Bitrate: 16,702 Kbs
- [19:42:04] Reencoding: VID_00360, Pass 1 of 1
- [09:37:08] Video Encode complete
- [09:37:08] Reencoding audio tracks (if req'd)
- [09:42:45] Multiplexing M2TS
[09:52:58]PHASE ONE complete
[09:52:58]PHASE TWO - Rebuild Started
- [09:52:58] Rebuilding BD file Structure
[10:04:22] - Encode and Rebuild complete
- WORKFILES folder removed.
[10:04:24]JOB: THE_SOUND_OF_MUSIC finished.

If I still have not answered your question I profusely apologize and I may need guidance to know where to look for the answer.
TheBreen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st December 2010, 12:38   #10574  |  Link
Sephiroth0000
Registered User
 
Sephiroth0000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 263
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
That makes no difference whatsoever. The priority is relative to the processes running... when there is nothing competing with X264 it will still max processor(s) out -- and even if X264 wasn't only process, the combination of X264 and other processors would max out the processors.

There's nothing wrong with overclocking -- but you have to make sure you back it down to a stable level. My guess is that yours is slightly faster than it should be.
Do you think bringing it back to 3ghz will be sufficent? It runs at 2.50ghz stock.
Sephiroth0000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st December 2010, 16:15   #10575  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,863
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sephiroth0000 View Post
Do you think bringing it back to 3ghz will be sufficent? It runs at 2.50ghz stock.
It's hard to tell... I'd just try it and see.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st December 2010, 17:36   #10576  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,863
BD Rebuilder v0.36.07 (beta)

I've updated the first post of the first post of this thread with a link to the latest release of BD-RB (v0.36.07). Changes for this release:
Code:
- Corrected an issue in which the iPod Alternate
  output was not accepted on some earlier iPODs.
  Changed encoding algoritm to adjust levels and
  maximum bitrates to maintain compatibility 
  across all models.
- Modified the WEIGHTP=n hidden setting so that a
  value of 0, 1, or 2 can be entered.  This value
  represents what will be used in the "--weightp"
  option of the X264 command line.  Default is "1".
- Made some changes to the "Quick Encode" decision
  algorithm to ensure portions of multi-angle or
  multi-path streams cannot be encoded with varying
  levels of quality.
- Improved the initial scan for pulldown.  Also
  corrected some inconsistencies in the MPEG-2
  extended scanning routine to ensure proper hybrid
  and pulldown recognition.
- Changed the default for IVTC so that it is now
  enabled.  If you are playing back your encodes on
  a PC and your CODEC doesn't handle pulldown very
  well, you may want to consider disabling IVTC in
  the SETUP dialog.
- Added a modified method of inverse telecining.  
  BD-RB can now takes advantage of DirectShowSource() 
  in that it ignores pulldown flags and provides 
  frame conversion.  This can result in a significant 
  speed increase in encoding of IVTC'd sources (as 
  much as 30%).  In order to use the new method, use
  the "IVTC_TELECIDE=0" hidden setting. Note: This 
  may later become the default, but since it is still 
  experimental it requires making the hidden change.
- Changed the "Approximate Content" display so that
  it show total for source, rather than just the 
  total that requires reencoding.
- Updated the included version of X264.EXE to the
  latest release (r1834).
- Updated the included version of X264-64.EXE to 
  the latest release (r1834).
- Other minor corrections and cosmetic fixes.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st December 2010, 18:46   #10577  |  Link
Capsbackup
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,995
Just noticed if in audio setup I select "Limit to one track for each language", no audio tracks are selected for the Blu-ray Salt, even though there are 9 english tracks listed. Possible reason is the DTS Express (2nd) is listed first in the tree view list.
If I remove the Limit to one track, then eight of the nine are kept, of course except the DTS Express track.
Since this is a multi-m2ts Blu-ray, with three seperate versions of the movie to choose from, it requires many deselections of the audio tracks that are unwanted, and for the 20+ m2ts per version it is quite time consuming and requires checking every title to make sure all selections are the same and match each other!
Since it appears more titles are being released that are multi-m2ts, a simpler audio setup for these type movies will be very welcome.
Capsbackup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st December 2010, 19:04   #10578  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,863
Quote:
Originally Posted by Capsbackup View Post
Just noticed if in audio setup I select "Limit to one track for each language", no audio tracks are selected for the Blu-ray Salt, even though there are 9 english tracks listed. Possible reason is the DTS Express (2nd) is listed first in the tree view list.
If I remove the Limit to one track, then eight of the nine are kept, of course except the DTS Express track.
Since this is a multi-m2ts Blu-ray, with three seperate versions of the movie to choose from, it requires many deselections of the audio tracks that are unwanted, and for the 20+ m2ts per version it is quite time consuming and requires checking every title to make sure all selections are the same and match each other!
Since it appears more titles are being released that are multi-m2ts, a simpler audio setup for these type movies will be very welcome.
I just picked that one up this morning. I'll run it a little later (I have a job going now) and see what I find.

You can expect the select/deselect of audio to apply to all parts of a playlist (at least for the main movie) to be included in the next release.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net

Last edited by jdobbs; 21st December 2010 at 19:20.
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st December 2010, 19:15   #10579  |  Link
Capsbackup
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,995
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
I just picked that one up this morning. I'll run it a little later (I have a job going now) and see what I find.

You can expect the select/deselect of audio to apply to all parts of a playlist (at least for the feature) to be included in the next release.
Same happens for Movie-Only selection, but I assume since I only have to select one audio to keep, BD-RB applies that selection to all the other m2ts files associated with the kept mpls.
Your experience will be welcome,
Capsbackup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st December 2010, 19:24   #10580  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,863
Quote:
Originally Posted by Capsbackup View Post
Same happens for Movie-Only selection, but I assume since I only have to select one audio to keep, BD-RB applies that selection to all the other m2ts files associated with the kept mpls.Your experience will be welcome,
Yep. In movie-only mode I apply the same audio selection(s) to all parts of a playlist.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:38.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.