Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > (HD) DVD, Blu-ray & (S)VCD > DVD & BD Rebuilder

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 22nd March 2014, 03:14   #19601  |  Link
Ch3vr0n
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,366
working fine here, check your system clock.
Ch3vr0n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2014, 03:25   #19602  |  Link
wakko709
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 87
thank you but no luck!
wakko709 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2014, 03:41   #19603  |  Link
wakko709
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 87
never mind
wakko709 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2014, 04:05   #19604  |  Link
Lathe
Registered User
 
Lathe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,042
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ch3vr0n View Post
how do you know the extra's don't add up to the extra 15GB? Did you check every m2ts to see if they are an extra or not. No there isn't a bunch of "padding", if a disc is incorrectly decrypted and the same scene is played again they don't place the same scene a 2nd time on the disc. They just reference a 2nd time to that 1st scene in the playlist
Hmmm, well I guess that I just didn't understand the reasons behind some of these newer voluminous files; appreciate your explaining it.
Lathe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2014, 06:17   #19605  |  Link
Lathe
Registered User
 
Lathe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,042
Okay, I got to thinking about it, and I THINK I can make it clearer as to what I am asking...

I have used BDRB hundreds of times to back up my Blu-rays. Now, up to THIS one that I'm asking about, almost every other one that I've done before, after BDRB loads the BDMV folder and analyzes it and then displays the 'Contents' of the Blu-ray, it has almost ALWAYS just consisted of maybe a few extras and one clear movie 'file' that is anywhere around 25-35 Gigs on the average (thus the need for BDRB) And, this movie 'file' shows below it the audio tracks available. And, you can clearly see the difference because the movie 'file' shows that is is like, say, 150,000 frames, which CLEARLY distinguishes it from all the small extras displayed in the contents.

NOW, in this case, it looks TOTALLY different. Instead of showing one big obvious movie file (and then the others which you can choose to 'blank' or 'preview' or whatever) you see literally 90 relatively small files of varying sizes which as you said apparently are all the little pieces of the movie. As a matter of fact, BDRB just got done processing the Blu-ray, and it literally made 90 2-Pass encodes. I've NEVER seen that before...

What I am asking, please, is WHY in THIS case does the resulting analysis of the contents of this Blu-ray look this way INSTEAD of what I've seen hundreds of times with other Blu-rays with the one CLEAR movie file and a number of other extras. In other words with 90 small pieces like that, doesn't that pretty much render the 'blanking' option irrelevant, because how can you possibly go through and identify what is what....?

I KNOW this probably sounds pretty dumb and basic compared to the MUCH more complex things you guys understand and deal with, but I am quite mystified why THIS blu-ray structure looks so very different and how BDRB processed it differently from almost all the hundreds of others that I've done.

Oh, BTW, you are right that this is indeed a Theatrical / Extended edition Blu-ray, so I don't know, would that be the ONLY reason why it looks this way? Would just that reason make this much difference in the way it is structured as compared to most others?

Thank you kindly for your time and help...

Last edited by Lathe; 22nd March 2014 at 06:28.
Lathe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2014, 07:46   #19606  |  Link
Ch3vr0n
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,366
bdrb uses a playlist and some algorithm to determine all the needed m2ts files to encode. That's why you see all those entries. Why does it look like that? I already told you, because cutting a movie into lots of smaller segments makes it easiers to include both a theatrical and extended cut on the same disc without having to include the entire movie a 2nd time. They just reference the extra segments in the playlist and that's it. It's one of two ways they can put a movie on the disc. 1 big file or lots of small ones. Nothing unusual, i've seen lots of those discs. They're more common than you think

If there's another reason i don't know but it's the only one i can think of and have encountered. If they didn't use those small segments and included the theatrical and extended movie in 1 big file each, they'd be needing the BDXL discs (upto 100GB each). Nothing unusual lots of small files

anyways. back on topic. This is a debug tread, not a discussion
Ch3vr0n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2014, 07:54   #19607  |  Link
Ch3vr0n
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,366
@jdobbs: just an FYI, "the hobbit, part 1" is another one of those movies where dgdecnv just "hangs" when it reaches the end of the extracting phase. the "current progress" bar stays at 100, never goes into encoding. dgdecnv process just sits there in the taskmanager and ya can leave it there for 15min, nothin happens as usual. The only fix is going back to x264's LAVF mode.

also: how close are you on releasing a build with full 3D support? I'd love to test it
Ch3vr0n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2014, 08:23   #19608  |  Link
Sharc
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,850
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ch3vr0n View Post
@jdobbs: just an FYI, "the hobbit, part 1" is another one of those movies where dgdecnv just "hangs" when it reaches the end of the extracting phase. the "current progress" bar stays at 100, never goes into encoding. dgdecnv process just sits there in the taskmanager and ya can leave it there for 15min, nothin happens as usual. The only fix is going back to x264's LAVF mode.
Hmmm ..... I recall posts #17738 ff.
In my case waiting 10 minutes, or aborting and resuming did the trick.

Last edited by Sharc; 22nd March 2014 at 08:28.
Sharc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2014, 13:17   #19609  |  Link
Imperial Zeppelin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 138
Frozen driving anyone else nuts. I tried multiple boots, etc....

If I try Full Backup either from a AnyDVD ISO RIP, ISOBURN RIP or right from the disc, all mediated by AnyDVD of course:
[03/22/14] BD Rebuilder v0.46.14 (beta)
[08:11:22] Source: FROZEN
- Input BD size: 40.16 GB
- Approximate total content: [02:59:12.532]
- Target BD size: 21.92 GB
- Windows Version: 6.1 [7601]
- Auto Quality: Good (Very Fast), ABR
- Decoding/Frame serving: DirectShow
- Audio Settings: AC3=1 DTS=1 HD=0 Kbs=640
[08:11:24] PHASE ONE, Encoding
- [08:11:24] Processing: VID_00800 (1 of 44)
- [08:11:24] Extracting A/V streams [VID_00800]
- [08:11:30] Reencoding video [VID_00800]
- Source Video: MPEG-4 (AVC), 1920x1080
- Rate/Length: 23.976fps, 800 frames
- Bitrate: 16,620 Kbs
- [08:11:30] Reencoding: VID_00800, Pass 1 of 1
- [08:11:58] Video Encode complete
- [08:11:58] Processing audio tracks
- Track 4352 (eng): Reencoding audio to AC3...
- [08:12:00] Multiplexing M2TS
- [08:12:05] Processing: VID_00879 (2 of 44)
- [08:12:05] Extracting A/V streams [VID_00879]
- [08:12:11] Reencoding video [VID_00879]
- Source Video: MPEG-4 (AVC), 1920x1080
- Rate/Length: 23.976fps, 1,372 frames
- Bitrate: 16,370 Kbs
- [08:12:11] Reencoding: VID_00879, Pass 1 of 1
- [08:12:48] Video Encode complete
- [08:12:48] Processing audio tracks
- Track 4352 (eng): Reencoding audio to AC3...
- ERROR preparing intermediate audio.
[08:12:49] - Failed to reencode audio, aborted

If I go Movie only in any flavor listed above, I get:
[03/22/14] BD Rebuilder v0.46.14 (beta)
[08:09:38] Source: FROZEN_00810
- Input BD size: 25.19 GB
- Approximate total content: [01:42:13.043]
- Target BD size: 22.95 GB
- Windows Version: 6.1 [7601]
- MOVIE-ONLY mode enabled
- Auto Quality: Good (Very Fast), ABR
- Decoding/Frame serving: DirectShow
- Audio Settings: AC3=1 DTS=1 HD=0 Kbs=640
[08:09:40] PHASE ONE, Encoding
- [08:09:40] Processing: VID_00879 (1 of 11)
- [08:09:40] Extracting A/V streams [VID_00879]
- [08:09:46] Reencoding video [VID_00879]
- Source Video: MPEG-4 (AVC), 1920x1080
- Rate/Length: 23.976fps, 1,372 frames
- Bitrate: 28,293 Kbs
- [08:09:46] Reencoding: VID_00879, Pass 1 of 1
- [08:10:26] Video Encode complete
- [08:10:26] Processing audio tracks
- Track 4352 (eng): Reencoding audio to AC3...
- ERROR preparing intermediate audio.
[08:10:33] - Failed to reencode audio, aborted
- [08:10:52] ScanDirectory() 00005 2506
__________________
Phenom II 940
GA-MA790FS-DS5 plus ATI 480
4 x 2 GB Mushkin
Windows 7 64-bit
3.5 Terabytes Mass Storage
2 BD Burners, 2 DVD burners
Lots of other "Stuff"
Imperial Zeppelin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2014, 13:33   #19610  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,863
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ch3vr0n View Post
@jdobbs: just an FYI, "the hobbit, part 1" is another one of those movies where dgdecnv just "hangs" when it reaches the end of the extracting phase. the "current progress" bar stays at 100, never goes into encoding. dgdecnv process just sits there in the taskmanager and ya can leave it there for 15min, nothin happens as usual. The only fix is going back to x264's LAVF mode.

also: how close are you on releasing a build with full 3D support? I'd love to test it
I'll have to test "The Hobbit, Pt 1" -- I haven't gotten that one yet, but I probably will soon. Unfortunately with the lack of donations in the last month I'm not planning to pick up any discs that aren't for my personal use. "Frozen" falls out of that category. It's one thing to work for nothing, it's another to pay for the privilege.

I have full 3D backups working -- but there is an picture-sync issue with multipart sources that I'm working. I'm hoping to get a special test version out in the next week or so.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2014, 14:22   #19611  |  Link
Imlurker2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 25
JDobbs

My bad for NOT RTFM. It is short enough.
I'll download the latest release.

Thanks you.
Imlurker2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2014, 22:08   #19612  |  Link
rusty666
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 120
most of time im encodeing it seems to be out of sync of the output file
rusty666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd March 2014, 02:17   #19613  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,863
Quote:
Originally Posted by rusty666 View Post
most of time im encodeing it seems to be out of sync of the output file
I have no idea what you are saying.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd March 2014, 10:39   #19614  |  Link
rusty666
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 120
the past few films i have encoded have been out of sync.
rusty666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd March 2014, 13:51   #19615  |  Link
gonca
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,068
rusty666
Could you supply some information, such as logs etc.

the past few films i have encoded have been out of sync.
is not helpful for debugging, since the last few I have done are in sync.
gonca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd March 2014, 18:47   #19616  |  Link
rusty666
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 120
sorry i didnt keep the logs . i done pacific rim 3d iso to bd25 3d sbs . it was way out of sync about half way till the end
rusty666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd March 2014, 18:52   #19617  |  Link
rusty666
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 120
and i wanted peabody from xvid to blu ray but that was out of sync aswell
rusty666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd March 2014, 19:03   #19618  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,922
Where did you get Peabody in xvid?
Guest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd March 2014, 20:06   #19619  |  Link
Ch3vr0n
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,366
that and afaik bdrb can't handle Xvid's
Ch3vr0n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd March 2014, 20:23   #19620  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,922
@Lathe

Use of profanity can lead to strikes. And drama doesn't do any good for reputations here. Follow up to PM if needed. Thank you for your understanding.

Last edited by Guest; 23rd March 2014 at 21:10.
Guest is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 16:19.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.