Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 7th November 2018, 18:29   #53661  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 654
one other thing that might help, create a batch file you can run from a key press or remote, put this in it, run this when you lose HDMI, it should come back but in 23hz mode, then create another batch file for 2160p 60hz, you could try going straight to 46k 60hz but this doesnt work for me, seems to be a bug in driver or MADVR.



cd\

c:

SETRES h3840 v2160 b32 f23
__________________
i7 Gen2 - OLED EF950 - RX580 - AVRX2200
Win10-1809 - 4K - 444 RGB 60hz AMD 18.9.3
KODI DS - MAD 92.17 0. - LAV 0.73.1 - FSE / 3D / DIRECT3D11 / 10bit

Last edited by mclingo; 7th November 2018 at 18:31.
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th November 2018, 23:52   #53662  |  Link
Ampallang
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 17
So its me again I have now to ask for tomorroe cube measurement for 3d lut creation. I have a 3d lut for sdr with 100nite gama 2.4.
I will create tomorrow a lut for bt2020 sdr. Maximum nits 310 I can get without hdr flag. So 310 are my max nits on TV b7 with an apl25 window. Will this two LUTs work for doing the tonemapping hdr to sdr with madvr? Htpc control will be meassure then Friday my files so I can enjoy testing between hdr pass-through and hdr > sdr by madvr.
Ampallang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th November 2018, 10:08   #53663  |  Link
chros
Registered User
 
chros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,147
Just a quick poll for you guys:
- What nvidia driver version do you use on Windows 8.1 and with which card? (you can see mine in the signature)
I'm mostly interested in pascal cards but others also can be interesting.
(I'm not interested in Win10 users , we already know a lot about it.)
Thanks!
__________________
MSI GE60-0NC(i73630QM,16GB,IntelHD4000(10.18.10.4653)+GeForceGT650m(2GB,v355.98)+muxless,1920x1080@60Hz,Plextor M5M 256GB SSD,Win8.1x64+MPC-BEx64+LAV+MadVR)+Yamaha RX-A870+LG 55LD650(1080p@24/25/60Hz)
chros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th November 2018, 11:12   #53664  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,420
On my 8.1 HTPC I always just use the latest from whenever I updated it last. They don't usually break 8.1 drivers regularly, the repeated breakage is only on 10 since MS keeps changing things and NVIDIA is catching up.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th November 2018, 13:39   #53665  |  Link
chros
Registered User
 
chros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,147
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevcairiel View Post
On my 8.1 HTPC I always just use the latest from whenever I updated it last. They don't usually break 8.1 drivers regularly, the repeated breakage is only on 10 since MS keeps changing things and NVIDIA is catching up.
Cheers, that's what I used to do as well, until: I noticed (by accident) that they changed how the different power states and their corresponding voltage work for my card with > v36x drivers. Hence I got back to v355.98 and never wanted to upgrade it again.
__________________
MSI GE60-0NC(i73630QM,16GB,IntelHD4000(10.18.10.4653)+GeForceGT650m(2GB,v355.98)+muxless,1920x1080@60Hz,Plextor M5M 256GB SSD,Win8.1x64+MPC-BEx64+LAV+MadVR)+Yamaha RX-A870+LG 55LD650(1080p@24/25/60Hz)
chros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th November 2018, 15:31   #53666  |  Link
giulianoprs
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 21
hello to everyone, return after months to ask for a review and advice, and if I can improve the quality of vision, as a test bench I always take the tv series "the walking dead" because it contains video noise, the file is 1080p, my settings are:
artifact removal-reduce banding artifacy (active)
default debanding strength (low)
strength uring fade in / out (high)
reduce compression artifacts -2-quality MEDIUM
all the other in default.

chroma upscaling: NGU -sharp, medium quality - everything else in default.
image upscaling: NGU standard-algorithm quality medium- everything else is "let madVR decode".
upscaling refinement - all in default (here I do not understand the functions)

I must say that with these settings of mpc + madvr have improved compared to vlc or kodi17.6, a little better there is, but no more, you can still improve? any suggestions / advice?
giulianoprs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th November 2018, 16:36   #53667  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 888
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ampallang View Post
So its me again I have now to ask for tomorroe cube measurement for 3d lut creation. I have a 3d lut for sdr with 100nite gama 2.4.
I will create tomorrow a lut for bt2020 sdr. Maximum nits 310 I can get without hdr flag. So 310 are my max nits on TV b7 with an apl25 window. Will this two LUTs work for doing the tonemapping hdr to sdr with madvr? Htpc control will be meassure then Friday my files so I can enjoy testing between hdr pass-through and hdr > sdr by madvr.
310 nits can work for HDR -> SDR, but the image will be too dim.

Your B7 can reach 768 cd/mē with HDR output. You are probably giving up too much brightness. You want to avoid tone mapping the SDR range (0 to 100 nits), and you usually need around 500 nits peak to do this. The HDR -> SDR image will be dark and flat when it doesn't need to be.
Warner306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th November 2018, 16:37   #53668  |  Link
njfoses
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 40
New Nvidia driver 416.81
njfoses is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th November 2018, 16:49   #53669  |  Link
mytbyte
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 198
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warner306 View Post
310 nits can work for HDR -> SDR, but the image will be too dim.

Your B7 can reach 768 cd/mē with HDR output. You are probably giving up too much brightness. You want to avoid tone mapping the SDR range (0 to 100 nits), and you usually need around 500 nits peak to do this. The HDR -> SDR image will be dark and flat when it doesn't need to be.
Hmm, not sure, it certainly doesn't look flat here on a plasma with 200-ish nits peak brightness on 10% window.

But yeah it's beyond me why someone would sacrifice half the potential brightness...you profile the TV in HDR mode and make the LUT.
mytbyte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th November 2018, 17:01   #53670  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 888
Quote:
Originally Posted by mytbyte View Post
Hmm, not sure, it certainly doesn't look flat here on a plasma with 200-ish nits peak brightness on 10% window.
Compared relative to not compressing the first 100 nits. But it wouldn't look offensive when tone mapped that way.
Warner306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th November 2018, 17:35   #53671  |  Link
mytbyte
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 198
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warner306 View Post
Compared relative to not compressing the first 100 nits. But it wouldn't look offensive when tone mapped that way.
Very dim or dark room are the key, the pop is there with those deep blacks, not at all dim in perception...
mytbyte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th November 2018, 19:42   #53672  |  Link
Ampallang
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by mytbyte View Post
But yeah it's beyond me why someone would sacrifice half the potential brightness...you profile the TV in HDR mode and make the LUT.
Because you can't vibrate hdr really especially not on TV. Panel drift blue subpixel at 400 nits nothing color accurate and we don't want to write about tonemapping. I calibrate the TV profiles all but a lut isn't. Possible for hdr. If you didn't belive check you calibration with a volumic measurement and not only looking into de values without luminance.

Thats way I was thinking on the madvr attempt. No tonemapping of TV no blue subpixel on oled and no panel drift. And 310 nits aren't that low of course witu hdr I reached more than 750nits calibrate. I want to compare and I could belive that the madvr way could have some interesting look. If I didn't see any positiv pq improvements I can easily forget about and keep my hdr profile on TV.
But if you had an idea how you get correct hdr calibration and I mean verified by volume I am open to test this way also.
Ampallang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th November 2018, 21:53   #53673  |  Link
stiffwin
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 1
Madvr not activated in Kodi by 'Favorites' or 'Recently played'

Hi - Kodi 17.6 with Dsplayer - if I launch channels from the Channels list, Madvr is activated and works as it should. But if I launch the same channel from a 'Favorite' or 'Recently played channel', Madvr is not used. Also, in System settings I select Fullscreen and Windowed, but Kodi keeps reverting to Windowed. Are there any fixes or workarounds for these behaviours?
stiffwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th November 2018, 22:38   #53674  |  Link
Ampallang
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 17
Is there a LightSpace user who can explain short the settings for hdr to sdr lut creation before I start and set something wrong.
My understanding is measuring bt2020 with target 709, same for dci p3 and bt709 wide. A picture will be appreciate because measurement will take whole night and didn't want to redo this.
Ampallang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th November 2018, 09:04   #53675  |  Link
sat4all
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 44
You don't have to remeasure if you have already an SDR profile of your display, it's valid to generate a lut for PQ > SDR using either UHD Rec2020 or DCI P3 D65 lightspace preset, the later one give better results for me since my 2015 oled tv covers only 64% Rec2020 and 86% DCI P3.
__________________
ZOTAC MAGNUS EN1060K: Win 10 x64 + Kodi DSPlayer x64
LG OLED 65EF950v / Denon AVR-X3200W / KEF E305+ONKYO SKH-410 / Synology DS2415+ / Logitech Harmony 950

Last edited by sat4all; 9th November 2018 at 09:28.
sat4all is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th November 2018, 16:45   #53676  |  Link
Ampallang
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 17
Sat4all many thanks problem is the lut won't fit so maybe I used a wrong preset. Yes one of the strange of LightSpace you didn't need to remasure everything again. And with measure I mean widest gamut and then create only target LUTs on this Profil.
Ampallang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th November 2018, 18:29   #53677  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 888
Quote:
Originally Posted by stiffwin View Post
Hi - Kodi 17.6 with Dsplayer - if I launch channels from the Channels list, Madvr is activated and works as it should. But if I launch the same channel from a 'Favorite' or 'Recently played channel', Madvr is not used. Also, in System settings I select Fullscreen and Windowed, but Kodi keeps reverting to Windowed. Are there any fixes or workarounds for these behaviours?
You would have to move your discussion to the DSPlayer forum because the issues are not related to madVR:

https://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=223175
Warner306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th November 2018, 22:06   #53678  |  Link
Betroz
Is this for real?
 
Betroz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Norway
Posts: 148
Anybody here knows how a RX Vega 64 performs for MadVr use compared to a GTX 1080 card?
__________________
My HTPC : i5 6600K | nVidia GTX 1080 | TV : Samsung 75Q9FN QLED
Betroz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th November 2018, 22:20   #53679  |  Link
Ampallang
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 17
As far as I heard they are both equal. only nvidia can't do 10bit output and the vega needs more power.
Ampallang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th November 2018, 12:53   #53680  |  Link
sat4all
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 44
@madshi

I know you are busy with the HDR tone mapping algo work, but would you please consider moving GPU hard coded bars detection a little up in your to do list. Copy-back is really inefficient with UHD let alone when we add the tone mapping algos.

Thanks & Kind Regards
__________________
ZOTAC MAGNUS EN1060K: Win 10 x64 + Kodi DSPlayer x64
LG OLED 65EF950v / Denon AVR-X3200W / KEF E305+ONKYO SKH-410 / Synology DS2415+ / Logitech Harmony 950
sat4all is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 18:16.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.