Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > (HD) DVD, Blu-ray & (S)VCD > DVD & BD Rebuilder

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 8th October 2014, 04:08   #21521  |  Link
gonca
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Scarborough, Canada
Posts: 955
Those are the two registry keys I have
gonca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2014, 04:17   #21522  |  Link
gonca
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Scarborough, Canada
Posts: 955
I don't know if this is relevant but I just dragged an AVC m2ts into GraphStudio and it tells me that the video decoder is Microsoft DTV-DVD
Attached Images
 
gonca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2014, 04:22   #21523  |  Link
MajorEvent
Passed Newbie Inquisition
 
MajorEvent's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
could one of you out-of-sync guys look at your registry see what value you have set for these keys:

Hkey_local_machine\software\microsoft\directshow\preferrred\{31435641-0000-0010-8000-00aa00389b71}
hkey_local_machine\software\wow6432node\microsoft\directshow\preferred\{31435641-0000-0010-8000-00aa00389b71}

this is the avc preferred codec.
{212690fb-83e5-4526-8fd7-74478b7939cd}
{212690fb-83e5-4526-8fd7-74478b7939cd}

which refers to the Microsoft DTV-DVD codec.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
Can you check and make sure AVC decoding is checked under formats in the video configuration?
it is selected (h264).

Last edited by MajorEvent; 8th October 2014 at 04:32.
MajorEvent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2014, 04:35   #21524  |  Link
MajorEvent
Passed Newbie Inquisition
 
MajorEvent's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 40
LAVFilters Seance

I think I hear the gears turning inside jdobbs head...I can somehow feel a fix in the works and LAVFilters making a comeback to BD-Rebuilder. ;D
MajorEvent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2014, 04:39   #21525  |  Link
gonca
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Scarborough, Canada
Posts: 955
I just took ownership of the audio and video decoder dlls so I could rename them, and now GraphStudio shows LAV for both audio and video. I'll run a quick test
gonca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2014, 05:11   #21526  |  Link
gonca
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Scarborough, Canada
Posts: 955
Houston, we have sync!!!
The issue is now corrected on my system.
gonca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2014, 05:15   #21527  |  Link
MajorEvent
Passed Newbie Inquisition
 
MajorEvent's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by gonca View Post
Houston, we have sync!!!
The issue is now corrected on my system.
Excellent. With that confirmation, jdobbs knows he's on the right track now and I'm sure he'll be able to implement a fix soon and bring back LAVFilters. I bet he hates having to re-edit the first page so soon again
MajorEvent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2014, 05:20   #21528  |  Link
gonca
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Scarborough, Canada
Posts: 955
MajorEvent
Just rename the audio and video decoders as stated here http://www.makeyoutubevideo.com/disa...eodecoder.html and re install LAV. Check with GraphStudio
gonca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2014, 05:28   #21529  |  Link
MajorEvent
Passed Newbie Inquisition
 
MajorEvent's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by gonca View Post
MajorEvent
Just rename the audio and video decoders as stated here http://www.makeyoutubevideo.com/disa...eodecoder.html and re install LAV. Check with GraphStudio
Thanks for the link. That's really good of you. I grabbed a copy of graphstudio that I'll install later. I don't have any real pending re-encodes right now so for the moment I'll wait for a BD-Rebuilder update (I swear I can hear the gears turning in jdobbs head...I think he's working on it right now. )
MajorEvent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2014, 08:39   #21530  |  Link
Sharc
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,524
Quote:
Originally Posted by gonca View Post
I don't know if this is relevant but I just dragged an AVC m2ts into GraphStudio and it tells me that the video decoder is Microsoft DTV-DVD
I don't have the out-of-sync problem, but still:
Using Graphstudionext on an .m2ts source:
32-bit: connects to LAV video {EE30215D-164F-4A92-A4EB-9D4C13390F9F} and LAV audio
64-bit: connects to DTV-DVD {212690FB-83E5-4526-8FD7-74478B7939CD} and LAV audio

@jdobbs:
The registry values for the preferred codecs
{96B9D0ED-8D13-4171-A983-B84D88D627BE}
{04FE9017-F873-410E-871E-AB91661A4EF7}

My OS is Windows 7/64bit

Last edited by Sharc; 8th October 2014 at 09:33.
Sharc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2014, 10:21   #21531  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,859
There are also tools to override the preferred filter without entirely breaking it by disabling it on a file level, ie this: http://www.codecguide.com/windows7_p...er_tweaker.htm

I've pondered before if I should make the LAV installer set its decoders as the preferred decoders, however it may break stuff in some applications, which is why I didn't do that (ie. TV playback in WMC usually breaks), and most competent players have their own functions to prefer filters over the Microsoft ones.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2014, 10:52   #21532  |  Link
Sharc
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,524
Thanks for chiming in!
Yes, the filter tweak works. I feel we are getting close to the solution now.
And thanks for LAV
Sharc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2014, 14:25   #21533  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,449
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevcairiel View Post
There are also tools to override the preferred filter without entirely breaking it by disabling it on a file level, ie this: http://www.codecguide.com/windows7_p...er_tweaker.htm

I've pondered before if I should make the LAV installer set its decoders as the preferred decoders, however it may break stuff in some applications, which is why I didn't do that (ie. TV playback in WMC usually breaks), and most competent players have their own functions to prefer filters over the Microsoft ones.
When BD-RB sets the registry entries (the first time it runs) for FFDSHOW -- it does exactly the same thing as that tool. But currently it doesn't do it for LAVFilters, mainly because it wasn't necessary on my system.

I'm guessing that may be the key. I'll see if I can create a new installer for LAVFilters that sets the values -- and see if it works to fix the issue on MajorEvent's system (since he hasn't modified it yet).
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net

Last edited by jdobbs; 8th October 2014 at 14:30.
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2014, 15:41   #21534  |  Link
MajorEvent
Passed Newbie Inquisition
 
MajorEvent's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
and see if it works to fix the issue on MajorEvent's system (since he hasn't modified it yet).
Yep, my systems still pristinely messed up so I'm happy to test any changes.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharc View Post
32-bit: connects to LAV video {EE30215D-164F-4A92-A4EB-9D4C13390F9F} and LAV audio
64-bit: connects to DTV-DVD {212690FB-83E5-4526-8FD7-74478B7939CD} and LAV audio...,My OS is Windows 7/64bit
I'm rocking Windows 7 x64 Pro SP1. Seeing your result I wouldn't be surprised if the problem is limited to 64 bit systems or even Windows 7 x64. Was there anyone with Windows 8 or 8.1 x64 (or Windows 10 x64 TP ) who had the problem?

@nevcairiel: Thank you for checking in on our problem. I had a feeling you would and you should know it's appreciated.
MajorEvent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2014, 16:21   #21535  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,449
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevcairiel View Post
There are also tools to override the preferred filter without entirely breaking it by disabling it on a file level, ie this: http://www.codecguide.com/windows7_p...er_tweaker.htm

I've pondered before if I should make the LAV installer set its decoders as the preferred decoders, however it may break stuff in some applications, which is why I didn't do that (ie. TV playback in WMC usually breaks), and most competent players have their own functions to prefer filters over the Microsoft ones.
Can you create a special installer that sets the preferred settings (at least for AVC, VC-1 and MPEG-2)? I tried modifying the .iss file to force the change, but it didn't work. I don't think I'm familiar enough with Inno installer to do it correctly. I put the entries in "[Registry]" section and even used the "Permissions" parameter -- but it didn't change the values.

If not I can modify BD-RB to manually change the preferred settings at startup (like I do for FFDSHOW) -- but that way is kind of a cludge since I have to ask the user to run BD-RB as Administrator the first time it is run.

[Edit] Never mind. I got the customized installer working...
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net

Last edited by jdobbs; 8th October 2014 at 23:48.
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2014, 16:57   #21536  |  Link
omegaman7
Registered User
 
omegaman7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA, Oregon
Posts: 791
Sounds like you got this figured out. So you won't need anything else at the time being
__________________
Only one rooster, need be in the hen house...
omegaman7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2014, 17:01   #21537  |  Link
Mark_Venture
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
Nothing has changed in that area -- except a newer version of X264. Are you sure the quality setting is the same on both runs? I corrected some code that decided what setting to use when "Automatic" was chosen. The older version would have been more likely to use a faster/lower quality setting in that case -- when it really didn't apply to ALTERNATE encodes (based upon target BD size). It also makes a huge difference if your computer is being used for other tasks at the time of the encode -- as "IDLE" is the default priority for encodes and other processes would likely have a higher priority.
I always change to Normal priority, and usually just walk away from the PC as BD Rebuilder runs, so other than background windows tasks, BD Rebuilder is the only thing running.

Two ini file changes I just noticed.. ENCODE_QUALITY=2 (when it was running slow) vs ENCODE_QUALITY=0 (when it was fast). And ONEPASS_ENCODING=0 (when it was slow) vs ONEPASS_ENCODING=2 (when fast).

Based on a thread discussing on ENCODE_QUALITY=X, I'm thinking that is the difference. Its possible I missed settings -> Encoder -> Auto Quality, and maybe the default HQ was selected instead? (I'm guessing because when I look at the ini with AUTO Quality, the value is 0, when HQ is selected, the value is 2, and 2 is supposed to be slower).
Mark_Venture is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2014, 18:00   #21538  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,449
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark_Venture View Post
I always change to Normal priority, and usually just walk away from the PC as BD Rebuilder runs, so other than background windows tasks, BD Rebuilder is the only thing running.

Two ini file changes I just noticed.. ENCODE_QUALITY=2 (when it was running slow) vs ENCODE_QUALITY=0 (when it was fast). And ONEPASS_ENCODING=0 (when it was slow) vs ONEPASS_ENCODING=2 (when fast).

Based on a thread discussing on ENCODE_QUALITY=X, I'm thinking that is the difference. Its possible I missed settings -> Encoder -> Auto Quality, and maybe the default HQ was selected instead? (I'm guessing because when I look at the ini with AUTO Quality, the value is 0, when HQ is selected, the value is 2, and 2 is supposed to be slower).
The way it works now is:

1. If you have selected a specific quality setting -- it is used.
2, If you have selected "Automatic" then "High Quality (Default)" is used

That's because automatic quality only applies to encodes that have a target selected (BD-5, BD-9, BD-25, BD-50, or custom).

A setting of "2" translates as "High Quality (Default)" and would definitely be slower than "0" which is "Good (Very Fast)" -- but it would also usually result in a smaller file (while maintaining the same quality) in CRF mode.

As for ONPASS_ENCODING -- it doesn't apply to ALTERNATE encodes but it would make a huge difference on a standard movie-only backup.

BTW, if you aren't doing something else on the computer, IDLE and NORMAL priority would likely result in the same time. Priority only matters when processes are competing for resources.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net

Last edited by jdobbs; 8th October 2014 at 18:15.
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2014, 19:39   #21539  |  Link
Glarioo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
Just as a clarifier... what kind of video card do each of you have? Is hardware acceleration shown as "enabled" in the LAV video configuration dialog?
Hardware acceleration = none.
Using an old ATI Radeon HD5670 videocard.
AVC decoding is selected (h264).
Windows 7 x64 Pro SP1 is installed.

Last edited by Glarioo; 8th October 2014 at 19:54.
Glarioo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2014, 19:50   #21540  |  Link
Glarioo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 124
It seems there's a solution coming for LAV out of sync.

Run "Hachi" last night and it was perfectly in sync using LAV filters (0.62.0).
Source Video: MPEG-2, 1920x1080. Audio: DTS-HD High-Res audio.
Output: MKV Container, 1920x1080, 640Kbs DD5.1.

Last edited by Glarioo; 8th October 2014 at 20:03.
Glarioo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:48.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.