Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > New and alternative a/v containers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 29th April 2011, 11:25   #2041  |  Link
jmone
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 652
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Who's Madshi? What's madVR? Huh? What are you talking about?
Some slacker!

Seriously, would not sub rendering be a logical inclusion for your renderer?
jmone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th April 2011, 12:28   #2042  |  Link
tetsuo55
MPC-HC Project Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2,317
Although i agree that the video-renderer should blend-in the rendered subtitles I don't think it should also do the subtitle-rendering itself.

We still need a standalone subtitle renderer that writes to a buffer of ready-to-use subtitles. And renderers that understand how to use the images in the buffers.

For it to work like the internal mpc-hc subtitle renderer the video-render also has to fill a few buffers with data, so the subtitle-renderer can use the right timing.
__________________
MPC-HC, an open source project everyone can improve. Want to help? Test Nightly Builds, submit patches or bugs and chat on IRC
tetsuo55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th April 2011, 13:15   #2043  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 5,372
A stand alone filter is badly needed. However, for now i'd just like to get forced subs working in mc16. So whatever is the easiest path for that right now makes the most sense. Sub rendering seems like the biggest pita for devs to work on. But the effort is appreciated.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 11, AMD 5900X, RTX 3080, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX303, LG G2 77" OLED

Last edited by SamuriHL; 29th April 2011 at 13:17.
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th April 2011, 13:23   #2044  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,140
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmone View Post
Seriously, would not sub rendering be a logical inclusion for your renderer?
I generally don't comment on future versions/plans...

Quote:
Originally Posted by tetsuo55 View Post
We still need a standalone subtitle renderer that writes to a buffer of ready-to-use subtitles. And renderers that understand how to use the images in the buffers.

For it to work like the internal mpc-hc subtitle renderer the video-render also has to fill a few buffers with data, so the subtitle-renderer can use the right timing.
There's the ISubRenderCallback logic which the MPC-HC internal subtitle renderer uses to communicate with the Haali Video Renderer and with madVR. This ISubRenderCallback logic could also be used by a standalone subtitle renderer. Of course support for this would then have to be added to the MPC-HC EVR/VMR renderers.
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th April 2011, 13:46   #2045  |  Link
clsid
*****
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5,664
@nevcairiel
It would be cool if you could have a quick look at the ffdshow subtitle code. It is probably some kind of stupid timing or buffering issue.
__________________
MPC-HC 2.3.0
clsid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th April 2011, 14:07   #2046  |  Link
Nexin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 150
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevcairiel View Post
I don't think thats a good idea. ffdshow is a decoder, adding a splitter in there is weird .. (also, i have my own Audio Decoder, which would conflict with ffdshow - and i rather distribute both)
Additionally, i do not care for the extra work keeping it in sync.

Then there is the whole ffmpeg version issue...

Just install both packages, i don't think thats too much to ask.
Ok didn't know would be a problem if they were to be combined.
Nexin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th April 2011, 14:56   #2047  |  Link
sneaker_ger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,565
I haven't read up on all the subtitle stuff, but if you plan to include ASS support please use libass instead of vsfilter/MPC-HC, it's like 10 times faster and is actively developed and no one has build a DS filter with it yet.
sneaker_ger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th April 2011, 16:16   #2048  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 10,361
I noticed that the previous subtitle filtering was not properly implemented, when looking at the stream of data packages going out. I think i have corrected this, it does seem to work fine in ffdshow now, but i again only tested on one disc.

http://files.1f0.de/lavf/LAVFilters-...1-g746ae26.zip

PS: DirectVobSub worked just fine for PGS for me.
PPS: That build leaks some memory when watching PGS subs .. i already corrected it, but i cba to upload a new build right now. Its nothing extreme, over the whole movie maybe a few megs..
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders

Last edited by nevcairiel; 29th April 2011 at 16:57.
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th April 2011, 17:03   #2049  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 5,372
Awesome! I'll test this out sometime today. I have a bunch of work meetings right now so I can't test it at the moment but will definitely get to it. Thanks so much!

P.S. What version of DirectVobSub are you using? Do you have a link?
__________________
HTPC: Windows 11, AMD 5900X, RTX 3080, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX303, LG G2 77" OLED
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th April 2011, 17:04   #2050  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 10,361
I compiled my own from the latest MPC-HC source tree. Its included in the latest MPC-HC standalone filters, found here: http://xhmikosr.1f0.de/index.php?folder=bXBjLWhj - its VSFilter.dll

For compiling it, just open filters_2010.sln in the mpc-hc source tree.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders

Last edited by nevcairiel; 29th April 2011 at 17:07.
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th April 2011, 18:00   #2051  |  Link
RobertinoM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 9
need help :-(

if I check the filters in Graphstudio for a VC-1 Bluray like Inception I get still after the installation of LAV 0.24 this picture

playing e.g. Bluscenes Spaces which is also VC-1 I get the other one... with LAV Splitter ????

Where am I wrong???

Regards Robertino
Attached Images
  
RobertinoM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th April 2011, 18:01   #2052  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 5,372
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevcairiel View Post
I compiled my own from the latest MPC-HC source tree. Its included in the latest MPC-HC standalone filters, found here: http://xhmikosr.1f0.de/index.php?folder=bXBjLWhj - its VSFilter.dll

For compiling it, just open filters_2010.sln in the mpc-hc source tree.
Oh, sweet. That gets built anyway when I build MPC-HC. Thanks! I'm finally off all my meetings for work so I can give it a shot now. Gonna build the latest of everything now.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 11, AMD 5900X, RTX 3080, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX303, LG G2 77" OLED
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th April 2011, 19:18   #2053  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 5,372
Huh. Well, good news/bad news I guess. Bad news. I can't get subs to show up using the DirectVobSub filter. Not in MC16, anyway, which is now my player of choice. So, that sucks. However, good news. ffdshow now works with district 9 forced subs. Soooo, yea. I guess I'm all set for now. Personally, though, I'd prefer to figure out why DirectVobSub isn't working. I should try it with a different renderer than madVR and see if that makes a difference. I know madshi had to add special code to MPC-HC to make it work, so, I don't know if that's something MC16 would need to do, as well? Beats me. I'll mess around with it some more. In any case, I can use ffdshow for now. I'm trying really hard to remove ffdshow as a dependency though. Once you get bitstreaming implemented it was my hope to just nuke ffdshow. I have nothing against it at all, but, like jmone, I take the simplify approach to things and would rather do as much as possible with as little as possible. So having DirectVobSub work would be nice. Meh.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 11, AMD 5900X, RTX 3080, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX303, LG G2 77" OLED
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th April 2011, 19:20   #2054  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 10,361
DirectVobSub directly paints the subs onto the video image, somewhat like ffdshow in raw mode, so renderer support is not required. (But like i said earlier, it does not support NV12, so using it with LAV CUVID is currently not possible)

I think MPC-HC has some custom code that always loads DirectVobSub, i can try with MC16 later, and possibly adjust the DirectVobSub mediatypes.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th April 2011, 19:28   #2055  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 10,361
Ok i tested it with Avatar again, and i get subs to show up in MC16 with DirectVobSub.

There was a weird thing however. The forced subs looked perfectly fine, however, the normal subs were being displayed in the top left corner. I was like, wtf!
The weirdest thing is that this doesnt happen in MPC-HC when using DirectVobSub instead of the internal renderer.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders

Last edited by nevcairiel; 29th April 2011 at 19:31.
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th April 2011, 19:31   #2056  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 5,372
Do you have any special settings in DirectVobSub? Cause I can't get it to work at all. Even with regular subs. I'm using the DirectVobSub (autoload) filter. Is this the right one? And I'm doing this on my main HTPC right now which is AMD, so, I'm not trying to get it to work with CUVID. I'm not even using HAM mode at the moment.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 11, AMD 5900X, RTX 3080, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX303, LG G2 77" OLED
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th April 2011, 19:32   #2057  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 10,361
The autoload filter is meant to autoload, you need to add the other one to the list. See my FAQ in the second post. :P
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th April 2011, 19:34   #2058  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 5,372
If only it were obvious or something.

Quote:

Q: DirectVobSub will not load with LAVFSplitter
A: Make sure to use the "DirectVobSub" filter when adding it to the preferred filters list, and NOT "DirectVobSub (auto-loading version)". The latter will NOT work.
Oh....right. Son of a!
__________________
HTPC: Windows 11, AMD 5900X, RTX 3080, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX303, LG G2 77" OLED
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th April 2011, 19:35   #2059  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 5,372
SIGH. Still not working though. I'm talking just on regular, normal sub playing. I get no subs showing up at all. Just kill me.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 11, AMD 5900X, RTX 3080, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX303, LG G2 77" OLED
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th April 2011, 19:35   #2060  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 10,361
Weird, now i get the placement problem in MPC-HC as well .. why didn't i before..?


Quote:
Originally Posted by SamuriHL View Post
SIGH. Still not working though. I'm talking just on regular, normal sub playing. I get no subs showing up at all. Just kill me.
Does it show up in the filter graph? Is your video decoder outputting YV12?
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
decoders, directshow, filters, splitter

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 00:28.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.