Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Subtitles

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 3rd March 2023, 07:20   #1681  |  Link
varekai
Registered User
 
varekai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 527
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atlantis View Post
Just a waste of your time.
How hard can it be... No Time To Waste...
varekai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2023, 21:13   #1682  |  Link
Janusz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Poland
Posts: 143
Test files to load.

The following bug in the "compare" command has been present in several recent versions of Subtitle Edit.
1. I load the srt file containing text formatting (color) into the left window,
2. I load an srt file with the same content to the right, but without text formatting,
As a result I get:



And that's OK.

After enabling [ignore formatting] I get:



Here the result obtained contains errors and is incorrect.
Attached Images
  
Attached Files
File Type: zip files.zip (439 Bytes, 27 views)
__________________
Sorry for my mistakes - I'm using a translator.
Janusz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2023, 07:30   #1683  |  Link
dbtayag
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 17
I'm trying to nOCR some subtitles. Some subtitles are like this:





nOCR sees the first image like this:
I just don't...
Mind looking after Rosette?

Because it's two different characters speaking is there an option to make it look like this:
- I just don't...
- Mind looking after Rosette?

Or do I have to manually go line by line to change it like the latter?
dbtayag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th April 2023, 16:48   #1684  |  Link
speedy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbtayag View Post
I'm trying to nOCR some subtitles. Some subtitles are like this:





nOCR sees the first image like this:
I just don't...
Mind looking after Rosette?

Because it's two different characters speaking is there an option to make it look like this:
- I just don't...
- Mind looking after Rosette?

Or do I have to manually go line by line to change it like the latter?
I've been wondering about the same thing for a while now. It would be great if someone knows of a way to handle subtitles like these.
speedy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th May 2023, 14:59   #1685  |  Link
Nikse555
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mars
Posts: 428
Subtitle Edit 3.6.13 is out now
https://github.com/SubtitleEdit/subtitleedit/releases

Video -> Audio to text via Whisper now supports 5 different implementations:


@Janusz: The compare issue is hopefully fixed.
Nikse555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th May 2023, 16:22   #1686  |  Link
oniiz86
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 56
@Nikse555 Thanks so much for the update, the title thread has to be updated to 3.6.13, perhaps a mod could oblige @tebasuna51

Last edited by oniiz86; 14th May 2023 at 16:24.
oniiz86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th May 2023, 18:57   #1687  |  Link
locotus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 112
Seems to me that the change in "find" is not right. Before as the search of the file get to the last line, if you push de "find" botton
again the progran ask to if should start from first line. This is the way it should be because you may start searching in the middle
of the file, going back with previous one by one is certainly tedious.
locotus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2023, 19:12   #1688  |  Link
Janusz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Poland
Posts: 143
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nikse555 View Post
Subtitle Edit 3.6.13 is out now
@Janusz: The compare issue is hopefully fixed.
Unfortunately, the error I described still persists.
__________________
Sorry for my mistakes - I'm using a translator.
Janusz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th June 2023, 11:02   #1689  |  Link
varekai
Registered User
 
varekai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 527
about "Fix common errors" "What to fix"

Hello and thanks for Subtitle Edit!

In "Fix common errors" how do I add in "What to fix" missing space - (dash) at start of every new line.
Like this:
‐Oh, remember?
‐Yeah.
Fix to this:
‐ Oh, remember?
‐ Yeah.
I think it was found in the "Fix common errors" "What to fix" in previous versions?

Edit:
Found it.
Options->Settings->Dialog style->Dash both lines with space
It does not catch all but close enough for me.
In text like this where empty lines are removed it doesn't catch:
(Empty line removed)
‐Nope.

Thanks and best regards,
varekai

Last edited by varekai; 15th June 2023 at 17:27. Reason: Got it, close enough...
varekai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th June 2023, 12:29   #1690  |  Link
tormento
Acid fr0g
 
tormento's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Italy
Posts: 2,507
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nikse555 View Post
Subtitle Edit 3.6.13 is out now
Is there any way that the anime community can convince you to have SE able to split upper and lower PGS and proceed with OCR indipendently?

You can't imagine what a PITA is to have to edit timings and subs after having OCRed an anime with overlapping timings.
__________________
@turment on Telegram
tormento is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th June 2023, 12:37   #1691  |  Link
Emulgator
Big Bit Savings Now !
 
Emulgator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: close to the wall
Posts: 1,525
To ease the PITA:
Code:
#upper half
crop(0,0,0,height/2)
Code:
#lower half
crop(0,height/2,0,0)
__________________
"To bypass shortcuts and find suffering...is called QUALity" (Die toten Augen von Friedrichshain)
"Data reduction ? Yep, Sir. We're that issue working on. Synce invntoin uf lingöage..."
Emulgator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th June 2023, 08:22   #1692  |  Link
tormento
Acid fr0g
 
tormento's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Italy
Posts: 2,507
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emulgator View Post
To ease the PITA
And how can it have any sort of effect on PGS?

I neeed to split the subs not the video.
__________________
@turment on Telegram
tormento is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th June 2023, 08:51   #1693  |  Link
Emulgator
Big Bit Savings Now !
 
Emulgator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: close to the wall
Posts: 1,525
Ah, I see, PGS it was, sorry for the confusion.
__________________
"To bypass shortcuts and find suffering...is called QUALity" (Die toten Augen von Friedrichshain)
"Data reduction ? Yep, Sir. We're that issue working on. Synce invntoin uf lingöage..."
Emulgator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd August 2023, 15:54   #1694  |  Link
Lucius Snow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 157
Hi all,

Is it possible to disallow a placement of an insert before/after a scene change, according to a length set.

I don't know if my request is clear

Thanks.

Last edited by Lucius Snow; 3rd August 2023 at 16:53.
Lucius Snow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2023, 08:38   #1695  |  Link
von Suppé
Registered User
 
von Suppé's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 619
Hi Nikse

Did I find a little bug in one of the "Fix common errors" functions?
Take for example these two lines:

'Line 1.'
- Line 2.

Note that line 1 is between ' and '

When "Remove dialog dashes in single lines" is checked, the result window prompts to delete the dash of line 2. Where it isn't wished for.
I'm on v3.6.13

[EDIT] I think it's because it ends with '
Because

Line 1.'
- Line 2.


also gives that result

Last edited by von Suppé; 18th August 2023 at 08:41.
von Suppé is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd August 2023, 09:57   #1696  |  Link
nautilus7
Registered User
 
nautilus7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 1,518
Hi, is there a bug in blu-ray sup creation regarding shadow transparency? I am trying to create a sup with a non transparent shadow, but I can't seem to make it happen.

In the attached picture, you can see the shadow is transparent, although I set its alpha to 255 when creating the subtitle.
Attached Images
 

Last edited by nautilus7; 22nd August 2023 at 09:59.
nautilus7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd August 2023, 22:34   #1697  |  Link
locotus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 112
Is there any way in spell check to let the user change words with hyphens as separator instead of comma, like in what-what, he-he, D-did, H-Harry to what, what, etc?
locotus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th August 2023, 14:16   #1698  |  Link
draupert
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2023
Posts: 1
Hi all. I have two .stl subtitle files for the same video - one is exported as EBU STL open subtitling, one is exported as EBU STL teletext with "double height for text" activated.

My client wants me to deliver these two subtitle tracks as one mixed mode .xif file. Whenever I try to merge the two files (Tools > Join subtitles), the teletext properties are lost and I just have a .xif file with all open titles.

I have also tried exporting both as .xif and then merging, but still the closed captioning turns into open subtitling.

Any way to mitigate this with Subtitle Edit or any other software?

Thanks.
draupert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd September 2023, 04:45   #1699  |  Link
GMJCZP
Registered User
 
GMJCZP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: I have a statue in Hakodate, Japan
Posts: 744
Is there any possibility to use Whisper on W7 32 bit with this program?
__________________
By law and justice!

GMJCZP's Arsenal

Last edited by GMJCZP; 2nd September 2023 at 05:41.
GMJCZP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th September 2023, 07:07   #1700  |  Link
Zetti
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 300
Thanks for new release:
https://github.com/SubtitleEdit/subt...ases/tag/4.0.0
Zetti is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:46.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.