Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > New and alternative a/v containers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 14th April 2018, 22:39   #1621  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 12,921
I'm using MediaInfo with XML output to analyze media files and extract the cover artwork.

But, unfortunately, I noticed that latest MediaInfo (v18.03.1) does not output <Cover_Data> tag anymore, even with --Full option set

I suspect this has something to do with:
Quote:
Attachments: do not provide anymore attachments content in XML by default, reducing XML output size
What CLI option do I have to set to get the cover data again?

__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.



Last edited by LoRd_MuldeR; 14th April 2018 at 22:42.
LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th April 2018, 13:16   #1622  |  Link
Zenitram
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: France, Paris
Posts: 663
Quote:
Originally Posted by LoRd_MuldeR View Post
I'm using MediaInfo with XML output to analyze media files and extract the cover artwork.

But, unfortunately, I noticed that latest MediaInfo (v18.03.1) does not output <Cover_Data> tag anymore, even with --Full option set

I suspect this has something to do with:


What CLI option do I have to set to get the cover data again?

Right, I removed the presence of cover data by default, as it is not often used and make MediaInfo creating big XML files and with some (little) performance impact by default.

But it definitely lacks of documentation about how to active it, [documentation is on my ToDo-list](https://mediaarea.net/Vote/Mediainfo...umentation-127).

Magic hidden setting: add " --Cover_Data=base64" (or MediaInfo::Option("Cover_Data", "base64").

As usual when there are lot of users, a change in default value has some impact on a couple of users , sorry for that.
__________________
Want to know all about your media files? http://mediaarea.net/MediaInfo
Zenitram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th April 2018, 14:21   #1623  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 12,921
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zenitram View Post
But it definitely lacks of documentation about how to active it, [documentation is on my ToDo-list](https://mediaarea.net/Vote/Mediainfo...umentation-127).
Yeah, writing documentation is pain. Not only it takes a whole lot of time (if you want to do it properly), it tends to be outdated the very next day

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zenitram View Post
Magic hidden setting: add " --Cover_Data=base64" (or MediaInfo::Option("Cover_Data", "base64").
Thanks for the quick reply. That works like a charm!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zenitram View Post
As usual when there are lot of users, a change in default value has some impact on a couple of users , sorry for that.
No problem. I understand why the "new" default makes sense for most use-cases. And with the "magic setting" all is good for my use-case.
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.



Last edited by LoRd_MuldeR; 15th April 2018 at 14:23.
LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd May 2018, 08:32   #1624  |  Link
Selur
Registered User
 
Selur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,627
@Zenitram: Small follow-up question regarding 'Mastering display color primaries'.
So far we know that
  • 'Display P3' <> 'DCI-P3 D65' <> 'R(x=0.680, y=0.320), G(x=0.265, y=0.690), B(x=0.150, y=0.060), White point(x=0.3127, y=0.3290)'
  • 'DCI P3' <> 'DCI-P3 Theater' <> 'R(x=0.680, y=0.320), G(x=0.265, y=0.690), B(x=0.150, y=0.060), White point(x=0.314, y=0.3510)'
But now I encountered a source where 'Mastering display color primaries' just states 'BT.2020'.
What values does this refer to?
Also are there other constants used?

Cu Selur
__________________
Hybrid here in the forum, homepage
Selur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd May 2018, 09:29   #1625  |  Link
Zenitram
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: France, Paris
Posts: 663
Quote:
Originally Posted by Selur View Post
But now I encountered a source where 'Mastering display color primaries' just states 'BT.2020'.
What values does this refer to?
From H.265 specs:
Rec. ITU-R BT.2020-2
primary x y
green 0.170 0.797
blue 0.131 0.046
red 0.708 0.292
white D65 0.3127 0.3290

Quote:
Originally Posted by Selur View Post
Also are there other constants used?
For the moment, no more values are mapped, but hypothetically all values from H.265 (and more) could be mapped.
__________________
Want to know all about your media files? http://mediaarea.net/MediaInfo
Zenitram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd May 2018, 09:30   #1626  |  Link
Selur
Registered User
 
Selur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,627
Thanks!
__________________
Hybrid here in the forum, homepage
Selur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th August 2018, 12:09   #1627  |  Link
Murvel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 2
Suggestion for MediaInfo

Thanks for a great app.

I use it sometimes to compare different edits of the same clip, and I think it would be helpful if the app would always report the exact duration of a clip, down to seconds or even frames. As of now, you see duration in seconds for shorter clips only, whereas hours and minutes is all you see for longer clips.

Thanks again.
Murvel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th August 2018, 12:31   #1628  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 12,921
Quote:
Originally Posted by Murvel View Post
Thanks for a great app.

I use it sometimes to compare different edits of the same clip, and I think it would be helpful if the app would always report the exact duration of a clip, down to seconds or even frames. As of now, you see duration in seconds for shorter clips only, whereas hours and minutes is all you see for longer clips.

Thanks again.
Try with options --Full and --Language=raw, which should give you output like this:
Code:
.\mediainfo.i686.exe --Full --Language=raw "C:\Path\to\Movie.mkv"
General
[...]
Duration                         : 5764920
Duration/String                  : 1h 36mn
Duration/String1                 : 1h 36mn 4s 920ms
Duration/String2                 : 1h 36mn
Duration/String3                 : 01:36:04.920
Duration/String4                 : 01:36:04:23
Duration/String5                 : 01:36:04.920 (01:36:04:23)
[...]
Or, alternatively, use --Output=XML option:
Code:
.\mediainfo.i686.exe --Output=XML "C:\Path\to\Movie.mkv"
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<MediaInfo
    xmlns="https://mediaarea.net/mediainfo"
    xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance"
    xsi:schemaLocation="https://mediaarea.net/mediainfo https://mediaarea.net/mediainfo/mediainfo_2_0.xsd"
    version="2.0">
<creatingLibrary version="18.05" url="https://mediaarea.net/MediaInfo">MediaInfoLib</creatingLibrary>
[...]
<FileSize>4334673157</FileSize>
<Duration>5764.920</Duration>
[...]
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.



Last edited by LoRd_MuldeR; 12th August 2018 at 12:35.
LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd August 2018, 20:03   #1629  |  Link
Zenitram
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: France, Paris
Posts: 663
Dear MediaInfo users (and developers!),

Due to the increasing complexity, while keeping compatibility with legacy decoders, of audio formats, the way MediaInfo was displaying audio related information was worse and worse.
This was actually becoming difficult when we implement a better support of E-AC-3 in Bluray (mixed with core AC-3) and also Atmos (can be in E-AC-3, or TrueHD, TrueHd may be mixed with AC-3 or alone...), and DTS-HD features were not well displayed enough.

We change how we display formats with support of legacy decoders:
- the Format line in the text output contains now the name of the base format + list of features needed for outputting the best result.
- the "Format" field in XML or API (or "full" text output) contains the base format, "Format_AdditionalFeatures" field in XML or API contains the list of features, "Format/String" for the sum of both.
- Note that there are sometimes some differences between "Format/String" and the 2 other fields for commercial reasons.
- "Profile" field has changed for AAC, now contains the profile/level as found in MP4_IOD_Tag MP4 descriptor.
- We don't display anymore by default information about how legacy decoders would play the file.
- We change the way we display channel layout, with a list of channels. The previous method was not sustainable with the incoming 3D audio (16 or 24 channels). Note that issue with having channel names is that each format stipulates different channel names, we listed the mapping we do at https://mediaarea.net/AudioChannelLayout . Channel layout names will be in MediaInfo 18.08 and above, with a list ordered by the expected output order from the decoder, the former method is still available with "full" text, XML or API (list is ordered by "layer" so comparison is doable between formats, but similar channels have the same name and/or it is not well implemented, be careful with this field if you work with 16- or 24-channel content)
- We do the difference between technical name and the marketing name, e.g. "E-AC-3 JOC" for Dolby Atmos in E-AC-3, "MLP FBA" for TrueHD and "MLP FBA 16ch" for Atmos in TrueHD.
- We support now the channel configuration and the count of objects in an Atmos stream, either in E-AC-3 or TrueHD. But we don't "merge" the Atmos channels in the core channel count, we display Atmos channel info in separate fields.

Example of new output with a Dolby Atmos "9.1.4" stream with 1 dynamic object:

Code:
Audio
Format                                   : E-AC-3 JOC
Format/Info                              : Enhanced AC-3 with Joint Object Coding
Commercial name                          : Dolby Digital Plus with Dolby Atmos
Bit rate mode                            : Constant
Bit rate                                 : 448 kb/s
Channel(s)                               : 6 channels
Channel layout                           : L R C LFE Ls Rs
Sampling rate                            : 48.0 kHz
Frame rate                               : 31.250 FPS (1536 SPF)
Compression mode                         : Lossy
Service kind                             : Complete Main
Number of dynamic objects                : 1
Bed channel count                        : 14 channels
Bed channel configuration                : L R C LFE Ls Rs Lb Rb Tfl Tfr Tbl Tbr Lw Rw
Most of changes are reversible through options (" --File_HighestFormat=0 --File_ChannelLayout=0 --LegacyStreamDisplay=1" on the command line) but I hope that these option are used not so much.

We would like that you test the development snapshots at https://mediaarea.net/download/snaps...mediainfo-gui/ and also check the channel layout mapping at https://mediaarea.net/AudioChannelLayout ; due to sponsors behind these changes (they have priority), we will not change a lot the output but we would like to anticipate issues and bugs for advanced users like people here before we do a more public release.
__________________
Want to know all about your media files? http://mediaarea.net/MediaInfo

Last edited by Zenitram; 23rd August 2018 at 20:49.
Zenitram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th September 2018, 15:34   #1630  |  Link
manolito
Registered User
 
manolito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 2,291
As already announced by Zenitram, the latest version 18.08 breaks compatibility with most (if not all) third party software which uses MediaInfo. AVStoDVD for example can neither recognize video nor audio formats with this latest version.

This means that software which is still maintained will have to be updated to become compatible with the new MediaInfo output. For older applications which are no longer developed users have no choice but sticking with version 18.05.


Cheers
manolito
manolito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th September 2018, 18:34   #1631  |  Link
Zenitram
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: France, Paris
Posts: 663
Quote:
Originally Posted by manolito View Post
For older applications which are no longer developed users have no choice but sticking with version 18.05.
If there is some demands I could release a specific version of the DLL with the old behavior activated by default so new formats and bug fixes can be used with old apps, else for the lazy developers it is just the options above (but I recommend to adapt the tool to the new fields as it is a more detailed nd more future proof).

Quote:
Originally Posted by manolito View Post
AVStoDVD for example can neither recognize video nor audio formats with this latest version.
Wondering a bit how the API was used, as most old fields stay as is (maybe except for AAC) when called from the API e.g. "Format" field for AC-3, E-AC-3 or DTS are same. Anyway, true that this is possible, apologizes for this but this is really something I don't do often, and here it was something I had to do at some point for making some sponsors happy and prepare the future (I bet that this will be even more complex formats and hacks in the formats).
__________________
Want to know all about your media files? http://mediaarea.net/MediaInfo
Zenitram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th September 2018, 22:52   #1632  |  Link
manuelin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 3
Hello Zenitram, thank you very much for the new version with so many changes.

One question, would it be possible for the next version to re-enable all the parameters that show information about all the audios and not only the main one?
I explain:

Before:
Quote:
Audio #1
ID : 2
Formato : DTS
Formato/Info : Digital Theater Systems
Formato del perfil : MA / Core
ID códec : A_DTS
Duración : 1 h 26 min
Tipo de tasa de bits : Variable / Constante
Tasa de bits : 2 860 kb/s / 1 509 kb/s
Canal(es) : 8 canales / 6 canales
Posiciones del canal : Front: L C R, Side: L R, Back: L R, LFE / Front: L C R, Side: L R, LFE
Velocidad de muestreo : 48,0 kHz
Velocidad de fotogramas : 93,750 FPS (512 SPF)
Profundidad bits : 16 bits
Modo de compresión : Sin pérdida / Lossy
Tamaño de pista : 1,72 GiB (4%)
Título : Castellano DTS-HD MA 7.1 @ 2860 Kbps
Idioma : Español
Default : Sí
Forced : No
Now:
Quote:
Audio #1
ID : 2
Formato : DTS XLL
Formato/Info : Digital Theater Systems
Nombre comercial : DTS-HD Master Audio
ID códec : A_DTS
Duración : 1 h 26 min
Tipo de tasa de bits : Variable
Tasa de bits : 2 860 kb/s
Canal(es) : 8 canales
Channel layout : C L R LFE Lb Rb Lss Rss
Velocidad de muestreo : 48,0 kHz
Velocidad de fotogramas : 93,750 FPS (512 SPF)
Profundidad bits : 16 bits
Modo de compresión : Sin pérdida
Tamaño de pista : 1,72 GiB (4%)
Título : Castellano DTS-HD MA 7.1 @ 2860 Kbps
Idioma : Español
Default : Sí
Forced : No
I have marked in bold two examples, although there are more, but I think those 2 are some of the most important.


In short, before you could see the information of the main audios and also the core/embedded, now only the main.

And that previously worked very well to be able to see if the audio contained core/embedded, and also to be able to see its corresponding bitrate.


Thank you very much!
Regards
manuelin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th September 2018, 08:46   #1633  |  Link
Zenitram
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: France, Paris
Posts: 663
Quote:
Originally Posted by manuelin View Post
One question, would it be possible for the next version to re-enable all the parameters that show information about all the audios and not only the main one?
In the last years I got lot of complains about the presence of too much information, now I have a request to provide more information .
I was liking to provide info about the core stream but some sponsors (in addition to several users complaining about a non understandable output) were disliking that and they have priority. Maybe in the future such information will come back by default (in a different display? Possible, the previous one is considered too weird by several people).

For CLI and DLL, this is possible to revert to previous behavior by using the options (in the post above).
For GUI, we plan to have options but this is not the priority right now, you can vote for prioritizing options in the GUI
__________________
Want to know all about your media files? http://mediaarea.net/MediaInfo
Zenitram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd September 2018, 02:22   #1634  |  Link
Megalith
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 93
If MediaInfo doesn't show a field regarding dialnorm, is it safe to assume the audio track/s do not have dialnorm applied? I thought that dialnorm couldn't be removed from DTS-HD MA tracks, though...
Megalith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd September 2018, 09:02   #1635  |  Link
Zenitram
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: France, Paris
Posts: 663
Quote:
Originally Posted by Megalith View Post
If MediaInfo doesn't show a field regarding dialnorm, is it safe to assume the audio track/s do not have dialnorm applied? I thought that dialnorm couldn't be removed from DTS-HD MA tracks, though...
No.
It is safe to assume that the field is not present in the stream or that analysis is not implemented.

For dialnorm in DTS / DTS-HD MA, it is the second possibility.
__________________
Want to know all about your media files? http://mediaarea.net/MediaInfo
Zenitram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th September 2018, 23:58   #1636  |  Link
Murvel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 2
Suggestion for MediaInfo

Quote:
Originally Posted by LoRd_MuldeR View Post
Try with options --Full and --Language=raw, which should give you output like this:
Code:
.\mediainfo.i686.exe --Full --Language=raw "C:\Path\to\Movie.mkv"
General
[...]
Duration                         : 5764920
Duration/String                  : 1h 36mn
Duration/String1                 : 1h 36mn 4s 920ms
Duration/String2                 : 1h 36mn
Duration/String3                 : 01:36:04.920
Duration/String4                 : 01:36:04:23
Duration/String5                 : 01:36:04.920 (01:36:04:23)
[...]
Or, alternatively, use --Output=XML option:
Code:
.\mediainfo.i686.exe --Output=XML "C:\Path\to\Movie.mkv"
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<MediaInfo
    xmlns="https://mediaarea.net/mediainfo"
    xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance"
    xsi:schemaLocation="https://mediaarea.net/mediainfo https://mediaarea.net/mediainfo/mediainfo_2_0.xsd"
    version="2.0">
<creatingLibrary version="18.05" url="https://mediaarea.net/MediaInfo">MediaInfoLib</creatingLibrary>
[...]
<FileSize>4334673157</FileSize>
<Duration>5764.920</Duration>
[...]
Thanks for the suggestion, but I know of no way to accomplish this for the following (and most common?) scenario: The way I launch MediaInfo is I use Windows Explorer, in which I browse to the video file, right-click it, and in the context menu I click MediaInfo. The program launches and displays the properties for the video in question. If there's a way to inject your options to there, that would be a done deal, but I'd like to know how.
Murvel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th September 2018, 07:11   #1637  |  Link
Zenitram
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: France, Paris
Posts: 663
Quote:
Originally Posted by Murvel View Post
If there's a way to inject your options to there
Not yet implemented in the GUI. You can prioritize the feature if you are interested in it .
__________________
Want to know all about your media files? http://mediaarea.net/MediaInfo
Zenitram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2018, 15:42   #1638  |  Link
Selur
Registered User
 
Selur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,627
Small question latest version shows Width, Height, Stored_Width, Stored_Height, Sampled_Width, Sampled_Height, what is their relationship and how does it relate to the 'old' 'Original Width' and 'Original Height'?
__________________
Hybrid here in the forum, homepage
Selur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2018, 16:12   #1639  |  Link
Zenitram
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: France, Paris
Posts: 663
Quote:
Originally Posted by Selur View Post
Small question latest version shows Width, Height, Stored_Width, Stored_Height, Sampled_Width, Sampled_Height, what is their relationship and how does it relate to the 'old' 'Original Width' and 'Original Height'?
"Original XXX" is for when there is a conflict between 2 info which should be same but are not (container vs stream).

For the others, they are completely different values. in short:
- "Stored XXX" is what is stored in the stream i.e. before cropping, usually different than XXX when you use non multiples of 16 (e.g. AVC can not compress 1080 lines, it compresses 1088 lines and crop 8 lines, so height is 1080 and stored height is 1088. Stored height is very important for hardware limits, because in that case the HW mus support 1088 lines even if only 1080 are shown). Some streams are a bit crazy, e.g. they are encoded with 1120 lines with cropping to 1080, and an HW limited to 1088 lines will fail to decode this "fake" 1080 line stream.
- "Sampled XXX" was a tentative for something from 1 customer, not relevant, discard it for the moment (I may remove it in the future, nobody would cry for this field IMO). Should be now more or less similar to "XXX" alone (was more useful when there was no "clean aperture" metadata).
- "Clean aperture XXX" is the clean aperture size i.e. what is expected to be good enough, just a piece of metadata from the container relevant to people who know what clean aperture is.
__________________
Want to know all about your media files? http://mediaarea.net/MediaInfo
Zenitram is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 23:48.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.