Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > VapourSynth

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 22nd March 2017, 21:39   #2441  |  Link
Myrsloik
Professional Code Monkey
 
Myrsloik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kinnarps Chair
Posts: 2,554
Quote:
Originally Posted by hydra3333 View Post
Per this post http://rationalqm.us/board/viewtopic...3&p=6380#p6380 DG has added 2 new avisynth gpu accelerated filters,

and will be adding more new gpu accelerated filters in the near future, eg DGDeblock http://rationalqm.us/board/viewforum.php?f=14

Everyone loves to have quality good and extremely fast filters ... So now wondering 2 things :-

1. can we please add these to Vapoursynth i.e. https://github.com/vapoursynth/vapou...nth_compat.cpp ?

2. How can we add new filters quickly from time to time without having to wait for new releases of Vapoursynth ?
It was suggested that maybe have a user-editable config file so that we can add our own filter definitions from time to time pending new releases of Vapoursynth ?
Such an approach would be really handy for other new and updated filters too.
1. Sure, I'll add them.

2. You don't, write native stuff. Or recompile only avscompat.dll on your own. All you need is vs2017 community which is free.
__________________
VapourSynth - proving that scripting languages and video processing isn't dead yet
Myrsloik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd March 2017, 03:34   #2442  |  Link
hydra3333
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: crow-land
Posts: 540
Quote:
Originally Posted by Myrsloik View Post
1. Sure, I'll add them.

2. You don't, write native stuff. Or recompile only avscompat.dll on your own. All you need is vs2017 community which is free.
Beaut, thanks.

OK "vs2017 community" to recompile only a "portable" avscompat.dll on my own ... now I'm off to look up how to do that for x64 and then plonk a replacement AvsCompat.dll under
Vapoursynth\vapoursynth64\coreplugins

Very definitely looking forward to an expanded set of amazingly fast GPU accelerated filters
Imagine, if you would, a gpu based QTGMC or equivalent (well, one can always live in hope).
Exciting times !

Last edited by hydra3333; 23rd March 2017 at 03:42.
hydra3333 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th March 2017, 00:21   #2443  |  Link
Pat357
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 452
Plugin needed for Zimg lib / libimwri.dll

After I got the info about fmtconv being no longer updated, I started looking at ZIMG (again!)
Do we still need the ZIMG (libzimg) plugin with the current VS37 or is this completely included in VS ?

I know the build-in resizers are based on the Zimg lib., but maybe for some other things we still need the whole lib.
What is the name-space to access the Zimg lib functions directly ?
Anyway, without my (outdated) plugin loaded, I don't see the Z name-space in the function list.

Also the same question about libimwri.dll. Is this plugin still needed ?
Pat357 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th March 2017, 00:25   #2444  |  Link
TheFluff
Excessively jovial fellow
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: rude
Posts: 1,100
zimg is bundled with VS. core.resize.whatever just calls zimg directly - there are no VS-specific resizers that are based on zimg. There is no more functionality in zimg than what's in core.resize, as far as I know.
TheFluff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th March 2017, 18:46   #2445  |  Link
Pat357
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 452
Thanks, so the Zimg lib plugin is no longer required or even supported.

What about the ImageMagick Writer-Reader ? In the VS documentation it says "in the source tree".
I guess this is also compiled in VS and we don't need a separate plugin for it ? correct ?
Pat357 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th March 2017, 18:47   #2446  |  Link
Myrsloik
Professional Code Monkey
 
Myrsloik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kinnarps Chair
Posts: 2,554
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pat357 View Post
Thanks, so the Zimg lib plugin is no longer required or even supported.

What about the ImageMagick Writer-Reader ? In the VS documentation it says "in the source tree".
I guess this is also compiled in VS and we don't need a separate plugin for it ? correct ?
You still need a separate plugin on windows due to it being huge. And not working as well as I'd like.
__________________
VapourSynth - proving that scripting languages and video processing isn't dead yet
Myrsloik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th March 2017, 22:55   #2447  |  Link
Pat357
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 452
Any URL to download the current version from libimwri.dll (ImageMagick Writer-Reader for Windows) ?
I found my version somewhere it the tread about it dd 08/06/2016.

It would be a good idea to add an url for libimwri.dll to your "documentation" from VS homepage, just as you did for all other plugins.
Pat357 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2017, 14:34   #2448  |  Link
Izuchi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 28
I'd like some assistance regarding how to do fade in/outs. I tried following jackoneill's example (posted 3 years ago) but no luck.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jackoneill View Post
Code:
fade_input = # your source here
blank = core.std.BlankClip(clip=fade_input, length=1, color=[255, 128, 128]) # assumes you're working with 8 bit YUV
fade_frames = []
for i in range(fade_input.num_frames):
    fade_frames.append(core.std.Merge(clips=[fade_input[i], blank], weight=i/(fade_input.num_frames-1)))
fade_output = core.std.Splice(clips=fade_frames)
While I'm at it, is it possible to implement fade in/out as an in-built function rather than a script?
Izuchi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2017, 14:57   #2449  |  Link
Myrsloik
Professional Code Monkey
 
Myrsloik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kinnarps Chair
Posts: 2,554
Quote:
Originally Posted by Izuchi View Post
I'd like some assistance regarding how to do fade in/outs. I tried following jackoneill's example (posted 3 years ago) but no luck.



While I'm at it, is it possible to implement fade in/out as an in-built function rather than a script?
"no luck" means what exactly?
__________________
VapourSynth - proving that scripting languages and video processing isn't dead yet
Myrsloik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2017, 15:24   #2450  |  Link
Izuchi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by Myrsloik View Post
"no luck" means what exactly?
Nevermind, I just found out that the reason why it wasn't working was because the arguments for Merge had changed since jackoneill's initial post three years ago. Everything's now working as it should.
Izuchi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2017, 18:43   #2451  |  Link
Selur
Registered User
 
Selur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 7,277
using:
Code:
# Imports
import vapoursynth as vs
core = vs.get_core()
# Loading Plugins
core.std.LoadPlugin(path="G:/Hybrid/vsfilters/SourceFilter/LSmashSource/vslsmashsource.dll")
# Loading F:\TestClips&Co\Test-AC3-5.1.avi using LWLibavSource
clip = core.lsmas.LWLibavSource(source="F:/TESTCL~1/TEST-A~1.AVI", format="YUV420P8", cache=0)
# Loading F:\TestClips&Co\Subtitles\ass subtitle\test.ssa using SubText
clip = core.sub.TextFile(clip=clip, file="F:/TestClips&Co/Subtitles/ass subtitle/test.ssa")

clip = core.resize.Bicubic(clip=clip, format=vs.YUV444P16, matrix_s="470bg")
# Output
clip.set_output()
I get:
Quote:
Error getting the frame number 0:
Resize error 3074: no path between colorspaces
I'm clearly missing something. I thought TextFile would return RGB24 and converting to YUV444P16 should work,..
__________________
Hybrid here in the forum, homepage
Selur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2017, 18:51   #2452  |  Link
Selur
Registered User
 
Selur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 7,277
Got it,... adding:
Code:
clip = core.resize.Point(clip, matrix_in_s="470bg")
before the TextFile call fixes the issue.
__________________
Hybrid here in the forum, homepage
Selur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2017, 18:56   #2453  |  Link
Myrsloik
Professional Code Monkey
 
Myrsloik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kinnarps Chair
Posts: 2,554
Quote:
Originally Posted by Selur View Post
using:
Code:
# Imports
import vapoursynth as vs
core = vs.get_core()
# Loading Plugins
core.std.LoadPlugin(path="G:/Hybrid/vsfilters/SourceFilter/LSmashSource/vslsmashsource.dll")
# Loading F:\TestClips&Co\Test-AC3-5.1.avi using LWLibavSource
clip = core.lsmas.LWLibavSource(source="F:/TESTCL~1/TEST-A~1.AVI", format="YUV420P8", cache=0)
# Loading F:\TestClips&Co\Subtitles\ass subtitle\test.ssa using SubText
clip = core.sub.TextFile(clip=clip, file="F:/TestClips&Co/Subtitles/ass subtitle/test.ssa")

clip = core.resize.Bicubic(clip=clip, format=vs.YUV444P16, matrix_s="470bg")
# Output
clip.set_output()
I get:


I'm clearly missing something. I thought TextFile would return RGB24 and converting to YUV444P16 should work,..
Can you post the FrameProps output from after LWLibavSource and TextFile?
__________________
VapourSynth - proving that scripting languages and video processing isn't dead yet
Myrsloik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2017, 19:11   #2454  |  Link
Selur
Registered User
 
Selur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 7,277
Googling, I stumbled over:
Quote:
IMPORTANT: When using VapourSynth-Viewer you will receive "Resize error 3074: no path between colorspaces" when a YUV video is imported that has an "Unknown" color matrix. Read the "Color Matrix" section for examples of how to manually set a color matrix for a video source.
source: http://www.l33tmeatwad.com/vapoursyn...eo-information

Quote:
Can you post the FrameProps output from after LWLibavSource and TextFile?
adding 'clip = core.text.FrameProps(clip)' before or after always shows:
Code:
Frame properties:
_ChromaLocation: 0
_DurationDen: 25
_DurationNum: 1
_FieldBased: 0
_Matrix:2
_PicType: I
_Primaries: 2
_SARDen: 1
_SARNum: 1
_Transfer: 2
__________________
Hybrid here in the forum, homepage
Selur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2017, 19:14   #2455  |  Link
Myrsloik
Professional Code Monkey
 
Myrsloik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kinnarps Chair
Posts: 2,554
Quote:
Originally Posted by Selur View Post
Googling, I stumbled over:

source: http://www.l33tmeatwad.com/vapoursyn...eo-information


adding 'clip = core.text.FrameProps(clip)' before or after always shows:
Code:
Frame properties:
_ChromaLocation: 0
_DurationDen: 25
_DurationNum: 1
_FieldBased: 0
_Matrix:2
_PicType: I
_Primaries: 2
_SARDen: 1
_SARNum: 1
_Transfer: 2
Yes, Matrix:2=unknown. You need to use matrix_in_s as well (or skip matrix_s)
__________________
VapourSynth - proving that scripting languages and video processing isn't dead yet
Myrsloik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2017, 19:19   #2456  |  Link
Selur
Registered User
 
Selur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 7,277
Quote:
Matrix:2=unknown
That explains it.
-> Would be nice if the FrameProps filter could use normal strings instead of numbers to indicate the matrix.
Alternatively the documentation should include a mapping between the numbers and the matrices.
__________________
Hybrid here in the forum, homepage
Selur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2017, 19:40   #2457  |  Link
Myrsloik
Professional Code Monkey
 
Myrsloik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kinnarps Chair
Posts: 2,554
Quote:
Originally Posted by Selur View Post
That explains it.
-> Would be nice if the FrameProps filter could use normal strings instead of numbers to indicate the matrix.
Alternatively the documentation should include a mapping between the numbers and the matrices.
I'll probably add that in the next version. Not a bad idea for debugging
__________________
VapourSynth - proving that scripting languages and video processing isn't dead yet
Myrsloik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2017, 20:06   #2458  |  Link
sneaker_ger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,565
While we're at it: sub.TextFile() will display "MaskedMerge: Input frames mus have the same range" if supplied with a full range clip to blend. Can get a bit complicated with these error messages not showing the line number.
sneaker_ger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2017, 04:12   #2459  |  Link
Selur
Registered User
 
Selur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 7,277
Thanks, wouldn't have guessed from the description.
__________________
Hybrid here in the forum, homepage
Selur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th April 2017, 15:03   #2460  |  Link
stax76
Registered User
 
stax76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: On thin ice
Posts: 6,837
Did anybody find a way to render srt subtitles?
stax76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
speed, vaporware, vapoursynth

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 17:19.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.