Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 7th October 2017, 23:34   #46301  |  Link
FDisk80
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Israel
Posts: 162
Does 3D work for anyone with madVR after latest Windows 10 and nvidia driver update?
3D Vision crashes as soon as you click next on the Stereoscopic 3D wizard.
madVR switches to 24hz, ctrl+j says content is 3D but the TV is not initiating 3D mode.
FDisk80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th October 2017, 23:38   #46302  |  Link
dvd1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post

The settings for the 2nd image are NGU Standard with a bit of grain added (in the upscaling refinement settings).

Please note that this test image is very sharp, sharper than most movies, and the upscaling factor is very large (400%). The difference between various upscaling algos will be much smaller if you have a smaller upscaling factor, and if the video is softer.

which means (400%) maybe SD to 4k?
the more the SD source is of good quality the more you notice the differences between the various scalers as well on a full only (1080p)?
and if sd source is of low quality how to improve?

Last edited by dvd1; 7th October 2017 at 23:42.
dvd1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th October 2017, 23:54   #46303  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
Quote:
Originally Posted by arrgh View Post
to the flashig frequency, I tried to answer here https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.p...27#post1820027
but i have some "new" details; after those different tests, also with the 32bit versions and a hint by ryrynz to try d3d9, I just today rechecked the madVR settings in that respect (0.92.4) with 64bit software;

outcome :
if I deactivate in renderer/general all Options, especially "full exclusive" and "direct3D11", than there is no studder anymore (not in 2D and not in 3D);
if I activate "exclusive" then 2D still works but 3D starts to studder every 1-2 sec; if I add 3d11 the studder becomes hectic in 3D and regular, but slower, in 2D
Generally, the Intel GPU driver is buggy when using D3D11 presentation, and when using the "use a separate device for presentation" option. So you should ideally disable those 2 options. Sadly, 3D playback requires D3D11 <sigh>.

I did implement a workaround for the Intel driver bug, which helped on my PC and for some other Intel users, but seemingly not for all Intel users.

Quote:
Originally Posted by arrgh View Post
in all settings the player does not come clean out of 3D and hangs
Did you already upload freeze reports for this? I don't recall right now.

Quote:
Originally Posted by aufkrawall View Post
To my eyes, default setting of 400nits looks too dim for sRGB displays with gamma of 2.2, even in a room with dimmed lights. I prefer 350nits.
The high quality hue preservation seems to be totally worth the costs, as it prevents yellow and orange from turning into reddish.
I'm not sure about measuring each frame's peak luminance. It can prevent some overly glaring look, but the result can also be less spectacular.
"restore details in compressed highlights" can lead to extreme ringing and more aliasing, I don't think the more detailed look of bright areas is worth this.
There's extreme ringing even with anti-ringing enabled? Do you have a screenshot, or ideally a small sample?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mzso View Post
I have one more issue with ProgDVB+madVR though. The OSD doesn't appear right. I set it to HD but it's SD (and stretched to full width).
I reported it to the author, he concluded: "Thren MadVR working with 720x576 but not working with 1980x1080 bitmaps."
Of course I can't tell whether he's right or wrong.
I don't understand what he's saying, to be honest.

Quote:
Originally Posted by FDisk80 View Post
Does 3D work for anyone with madVR after latest Windows 10 and nvidia driver update?
3D Vision crashes as soon as you click next on the Stereoscopic 3D wizard.
madVR switches to 24hz, ctrl+j says content is 3D but the TV is not initiating 3D mode.
Have you tried the "enable nvidia 3d.reg"?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dvd1 View Post
which means (400%) maybe SD to 4k?
400% means e.g. 100x100 upscaled to 400x400.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dvd1 View Post
the more the SD source is of good quality the more you notice the differences between the various scalers as well on a full only (1080p)?
Yes.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dvd1 View Post
and if sd source is of low quality how to improve?
Depends on the quality problem. For soft sources maybe some sharpening. For aliased sources I'd recommend NGU Anti-Alias.
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2017, 00:02   #46304  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
teaser:

Two new algorithms coming in the next build, probably out tomorrow:

blocking -> cleaned
mosquito -> cleaned
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2017, 00:08   #46305  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,764
Amazing! The last option I wanted for remove artifacts and with very good quality.

__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2017, 00:10   #46306  |  Link
ABDO
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 64
Two new algorithms coming in the next build

yeah madshi, finally
ABDO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2017, 00:16   #46307  |  Link
FDisk80
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Israel
Posts: 162
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post

Have you tried the "enable nvidia 3d.reg"?
I did. It let me skip the nvidia 3D Vision Wizard. But if I do the nvidia image test it still crashes the same as the wizard crashed and madVR does not initiate 3D mode. I get no 3D logo on the TV as before. It just switches to 24hz and says that the content is "running in 3D".

I think this has started after latest Windows 10 update.
Reinstalled latest nvidia driver, cleaned with DDU, tried going back to DXVA copy-back... No go.

Can anyone try with Windows 10 v10.0.15063 & 385.69 drivers?

Was working beautify before. I'm lost at what is going on here.


Edit:
ok, WTH. I just pulled the power for the TV for 10 seconds, plugged it back in and 3D logo appeared as soon as I started a 3D movie.
What on earth could cause this? Maybe I messed with custom resolutions in madVR too much? I did have a couple of unsuccessful refresh rate switches, but it always recover back to normal and let me continue messing with it.

A restart for my non-smart 5 year old Samsung TV, hmm.. What's next a restart to my toaster. \_(ツ)_/

The 3D vision wizard still crashes btw, but that's nvidia being nvidia I guess.

Last edited by FDisk80; 8th October 2017 at 00:45.
FDisk80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2017, 00:28   #46308  |  Link
Sebastiii
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: France
Posts: 613
Nice nice for the teaser
__________________
HTPC : i7 920 6Go Win10(x64) / Nvidia 1050Ti / P6T Deluxe / Harman-Kardon AVR-355.
Sebastiii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2017, 00:34   #46309  |  Link
dvd1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 89
aliased sources
what does that mean?
dvd1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2017, 00:41   #46310  |  Link
sauma144
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
teaser:

Two new algorithms coming in the next build, probably out tomorrow:

blocking -> cleaned
mosquito -> cleaned
More deblock examples, please.
sauma144 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2017, 00:50   #46311  |  Link
el Filou
Registered User
 
el Filou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 573
those blocking and noise filters may make MPEG2 SD cable watchable again (damn you, cable provider! ), this is fantastic.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10 1809, MediaPortal 1, LAV Filters, ReClock, madVR. DVB-C TV, Panasonic GT60, 6.0 speakers Denon 2310, Core 2 Duo E7400, GeForce 1050 Ti
el Filou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2017, 01:00   #46312  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,764
Quote:
Originally Posted by dvd1 View Post
aliased sources
what does that mean?
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2017, 01:02   #46313  |  Link
70MM
X Cinema Projectionist NZ
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland NZ
Posts: 281
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post

With "crop black bars" active, madVR actually cuts the black bar pixels away, so madVR has less pixels to process. With "crop black bars" unchecked, madVR is aware of which pixels belong to the black bar and which don't, but the pixels are not cut away, so they're still being processed, they might just be zoomed away, eventually.

.
madshi so does this mean if we tick the box and zoom the black bars away, the image would be better again since there is no processing going on of the black bars as well?
70MM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2017, 01:15   #46314  |  Link
dvd1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
thanks for the example, but you can not make an example with pictures of a video?
thank you very much
dvd1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2017, 01:25   #46315  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6,060
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anime Viewer View Post
What temperatures should be of concern?

From running monitoring tools default GPU temp is 47* C and max its running at appears to be 69* C. From what I recall from the past 90-100+* C might be of concern.

CPU cores are reporting temperatures from 69*C to 88*C.


I'm not familiar with what a "tile" size is. They are small little lines (don't go very far across the screen) that seem to be randomly spread in their location.
88 sounds high but it is the cpu. gpu looks ok but that doesn't mean it is not defect.

one thing you could try is running a torture benchmark and see if you get the same artifacts to exclude a problem with madVR.

Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
You're saying they're not 4:3, but maybe 3.9:3 or something like that? Must be the fault of the studio doing the encoding then.

dvd/broadcast is/was created with a "overscan" part: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Safe_area_(television)

there can be anything in there cameras uneven blackbars random noise what ever not a mastering error just a bad spec.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 70MM View Post
madshi so does this mean if we tick the box and zoom the black bars away, the image would be better again since there is no processing going on of the black bars as well?
it just means rendertimes will be low if blackbars are removed and nothing else changes because madVR processes less pixel now. with zooming it may need more processing.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2017, 01:32   #46316  |  Link
70MM
X Cinema Projectionist NZ
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland NZ
Posts: 281
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
it just means rendertimes will be low if blackbars are removed and nothing else changes because madVR processes less pixel now. with zooming it may need more processing.
So one gains in one area but then looses in another. lower render times but higher processing due to the zoom thats required.
70MM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2017, 01:36   #46317  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6,060
you either loose performance and you win it. it depends on the zooming.

if you are presenting a 21/9 movie from a BD on a 16/9 screen and you don't zoom black bars but crop them than you clearly win performance.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2017, 01:53   #46318  |  Link
AngelGraves13
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 239
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
teaser:

Two new algorithms coming in the next build, probably out tomorrow:

blocking -> cleaned
mosquito -> cleaned
Yay! Finally...I've been saying we needed a deblocking filter for years now.

What kind of performance hit are we looking at with these enabled?

I'm guessing each setting will have its own checkbox?
AngelGraves13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2017, 01:56   #46319  |  Link
70MM
X Cinema Projectionist NZ
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland NZ
Posts: 281
I never tick any of the zoom black bars away. I use an Isco anamorphic III lens with motorised masking to 16:9 and 4:3.
70MM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2017, 02:49   #46320  |  Link
dvd1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 89

576 to 1080 p
all bilinear
What devrei improve?
dvd1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:27.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.