Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 Encoder GUIs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 3rd July 2005, 14:48   #121  |  Link
Doom9
clueless n00b
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: somewhere over the rainbow
Posts: 10,579
Quote:
Main Form: add this properties
If you need that, why not just put it into the constructor?

@edit: I've uploaded the latest sources.
__________________
For the web's most comprehensive collection of DVD backup guides go to www.doom9.org
Doom9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd July 2005, 15:16   #122  |  Link
Doom9
clueless n00b
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: somewhere over the rainbow
Posts: 10,579
Code:
private void suggestResolution_CheckedChanged(object sender, System.EventArgs e)
		{
			if (suggestResolution.Checked)
			{
				verticalResolution.Value = (decimal)VideoUtil.suggestResolution(reader.Height, Double.Parse(customDAR.Text)
			}
		}
is not valid code.. suggestResolution takes 4 arguments. and there's no getAspectRatio method either in the code I got from the post above.
__________________
For the web's most comprehensive collection of DVD backup guides go to www.doom9.org
Doom9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd July 2005, 18:24   #123  |  Link
azsd
6502 fan
 
azsd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: forest
Posts: 131
auto 3 pass has a flash speed (completed in 0.001 seconds with -1 fps) in 0.2.0.6 all step,
in 0.2.0.8 the first step has same error,the second step running correct.
in 0.2.0.8 the manuelly 3pass working fine.

here attached the log file of 0.2.0.6 and 0.2.0.8
azsd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd July 2005, 19:18   #124  |  Link
Doom9
clueless n00b
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: somewhere over the rainbow
Posts: 10,579
indeed there is something wrong.. the log points out that there's no input configured. Fortunately this happens here as well so I can begin fixing right away. For the future: please describe everything you did until the error starting from the point where you launch MeGUI. I know that's a lot of info.. but that ensures that I'll be able to reproduce things right away, or point out problems that might have something to do with your source.

@update: found and fixed the bug.. I'm not running an automated 3 pass to make sure everything works. I accidentally blanked out the input for the first pass.. that turned into an empty stats file which causes problems for subsequent passes.
__________________
For the web's most comprehensive collection of DVD backup guides go to www.doom9.org
Doom9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd July 2005, 19:41   #125  |  Link
Doom9
clueless n00b
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: somewhere over the rainbow
Posts: 10,579
bugfix is out in the user thread. I've uploaded the fixed class to the source package as well.
__________________
For the web's most comprehensive collection of DVD backup guides go to www.doom9.org
Doom9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd July 2005, 21:57   #126  |  Link
berrinam
Registered User
 
berrinam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,740
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doom9
Code:
private void suggestResolution_CheckedChanged(object sender, System.EventArgs e)
		{
			if (suggestResolution.Checked)
			{
				verticalResolution.Value = (decimal)VideoUtil.suggestResolution(reader.Height, Double.Parse(customDAR.Text)
			}
		}
is not valid code.. suggestResolution takes 4 arguments. and there's no getAspectRatio method either in the code I got from the post above.
Sorry about that ... I was looking at the wrong version of code. You should use this code:
Code:
		private void suggestResolution_CheckedChanged(object sender, System.EventArgs e)
		{
			if (suggestResolution.Checked)
			{
				CropValues cropping = new CropValues();
				cropping.left = (int)cropLeft.Value;
				cropping.right = (int)cropRight.Value;
				cropping.top = (int)cropTop.Value;
				cropping.bottom = (int)cropBottom.Value;
				
				int scriptVerticalResolution = VideoUtil.suggestResolution(reader.Height, Double.Parse(customDAR.Text), cropping, (int)horizontalResolution.Value);
				verticalResolution.Value = (decimal)scriptVerticalResolution;
			}
		}
And the JobUtil can also be put in the constructor. EDIT: when passing objects, are they passed as references, or are they cloned?

Last edited by berrinam; 3rd July 2005 at 22:02.
berrinam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd July 2005, 22:13   #127  |  Link
Doom9
clueless n00b
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: somewhere over the rainbow
Posts: 10,579
Quote:
You should use this code
it's already in there

Quote:
when passing objects, are they passed as references, or are they cloned?
passed as reference. Objects are reference type.. hence the VideoCodecSettings.clone method, and me cloning it before encoding in order not to change the original (currentXYZSettings in the main form). There are value types... integers, doubles, structs, decimal, bool... (all those I recall using in MeGUI).. value types are cloned, so to speak.
__________________
For the web's most comprehensive collection of DVD backup guides go to www.doom9.org
Doom9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd July 2005, 22:16   #128  |  Link
berrinam
Registered User
 
berrinam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,740
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doom9
it's already in there
Ok, sorry about the stuff-up -- I have too many versions on my computer. Anyway, it is already to add the one click encoder, yes?
berrinam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd July 2005, 22:30   #129  |  Link
Doom9
clueless n00b
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: somewhere over the rainbow
Posts: 10,579
I'm waiting on you to finish the window.. you said something about working on it again tomorrow to add the AVI mode.
__________________
For the web's most comprehensive collection of DVD backup guides go to www.doom9.org
Doom9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd July 2005, 22:40   #130  |  Link
berrinam
Registered User
 
berrinam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,740
yep, sure.
berrinam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th July 2005, 01:55   #131  |  Link
berrinam
Registered User
 
berrinam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,740
Ok, I finally have everything (hopefully) implemented in OneClick. I compiled it, just to make it easier for you. It's weird ... when I compile with csc.exe (the commandline compiler which is part of the 1.1 framework), the output filesizes are about half that of VS.NET. Anyway, the only changes I remember making since v0208 are the addition of the OneClickWindow and the event handler in MeGUI for it, which is as follows:
Code:
		private void mnuToolsOneClick_Click(object sender, System.EventArgs e)
		{
			OneClickWindow oneClick = new OneClickWindow(this, videoProfiles, audioProfiles, videoProfile.SelectedIndex, audioProfile.SelectedIndex, this.jobUtil);
			oneClick.ShowDialog();		
		}
berrinam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th July 2005, 07:45   #132  |  Link
berrinam
Registered User
 
berrinam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,740
Ok, the new version is . As above, it has oneclickwindow.cs. It also adds the Run DGIndex projects as minimized as an option, because when I was testing, I liked to be able to see what was happening. If you don't want that, then just ignore the settings files, and edit oneclickwindow, deleting line 1159. The eventhandler is the same as above. Built on 2.0.8 sources.

Last edited by berrinam; 4th July 2005 at 08:03.
berrinam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th July 2005, 08:09   #133  |  Link
Doom9
clueless n00b
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: somewhere over the rainbow
Posts: 10,579
considering the size, could you please just attach the files here.. I'd like to keep track of new versions and attached but not authorized attachments are only available to moderators.

I haven't looked at the sources yet but I do have a few conceptual questions looking at the window: what happened with the codec selection? It's grayed out here.

What's the numeric up down for in the audio box? I suppose that's container overhead seeing that it starts at 4.3.. but audio has no container overhead (at least not for aac in mp4.. nero aac considers the container overhead as part of the bitrate - for mp3 we have a fixed overhead depending on the type).

As far as the output goes.. perhaps you've noted that I changed the d2v creator to accept other types as well.. I think the one click encoder should reflect those changes so that it can also be used for other input types that dgindex supports. Hopefully, with the media library (see container forum) we'll be able to extract stream info for those other streams.. else just offer the default track1-8 as audio selection.

The dropdown in extra setup.. is that the video profile (I have no profiles at work)? And what's the project name good for?
__________________
For the web's most comprehensive collection of DVD backup guides go to www.doom9.org
Doom9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th July 2005, 08:16   #134  |  Link
berrinam
Registered User
 
berrinam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,740
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doom9
considering the size, could you please just attach the files here.. I'd like to keep track of new versions and attached but not authorized attachments are only available to moderators.
No problem

Quote:
what happened with the codec selection? It's grayed out here.
I figured that it shouldn't be editable by the user, because no configuration is possible, therefore it just reflects the codec being used by the profile.

Quote:
What's the numeric up down for in the audio box? I suppose that's container overhead seeing that it starts at 4.3.. but audio has no container overhead (at least not for aac in mp4.. nero aac considers the container overhead as part of the bitrate - for mp3 we have a fixed overhead depending on the type).
Yes, it's container overhead for mp4, just in the wrong place. I'm think I should get rid of it completely.

Quote:
As far as the output goes.. perhaps you've noted that I changed the d2v creator to accept other types as well.. I think the one click encoder should reflect those changes so that it can also be used for other input types that dgindex supports. Hopefully, with the media library (see container forum) we'll be able to extract stream info for those other streams.. else just offer the default track1-8 as audio selection.
I'm afraid I have no idea what you are talking about. EDIT: I see. I never noticed that before. I'll look into that, too.

Quote:
The dropdown in extra setup.. is that the video profile (I have no profiles at work)? And what's the project name good for?
Yes, it is video profile. The project name determines:
-the dgindex project name
-the filename of the intermediate video files (projectname_Movie.mp4, a la GK)
-the output filename


The same files that are on rapidshare are attached here

Last edited by berrinam; 4th July 2005 at 08:23.
berrinam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th July 2005, 08:30   #135  |  Link
Doom9
clueless n00b
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: somewhere over the rainbow
Posts: 10,579
Quote:
I figured that it shouldn't be editable by the user, because no configuration is possible, therefore it just reflects the codec being used by the profile.
Hmm.. so the user must have a profile? Might not be the ideal solution because people don't realize they can use profiles (or they work so well that nobody ever mentions that feature). You could of course create 4 default profiles based on the current videocodecsettings and list those. I'm not sure what the most user friendly course is here.

Quote:
I'm think I should get rid of it completely.
I agree.. the default values seem to work out just fine.. but you need to make sure they re set internally in accordance to how many b-frames are configured.
__________________
For the web's most comprehensive collection of DVD backup guides go to www.doom9.org
Doom9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th July 2005, 08:37   #136  |  Link
berrinam
Registered User
 
berrinam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,740
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doom9
Hmm.. so the user must have a profile? Might not be the ideal solution because people don't realize they can use profiles (or they work so well that nobody ever mentions that feature). You could of course create 4 default profiles based on the current videocodecsettings and list those. I'm not sure what the most user friendly course is here.
Well, I could add the config dialog again, which would be more user-friendly, I suppose. But I think for inexperienced user, (who this is partly aimed for) having default profiles like in Recode would be the best.

Quote:
I agree.. the default values seem to work out just fine.. but you need to make sure they re set internally in accordance to how many b-frames are configured.
Yes.
berrinam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th July 2005, 08:40   #137  |  Link
berrinam
Registered User
 
berrinam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,740
About accepting extra input formats: I'm sure you agree it would only be appropriate for oneclick if the track names were listed. Will projectX do this?
berrinam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th July 2005, 08:49   #138  |  Link
Doom9
clueless n00b
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: somewhere over the rainbow
Posts: 10,579
Quote:
Well, I could add the config dialog again, which would be more user-friendly, I suppose. But I think for inexperienced user, (who this is partly aimed for) having default profiles like in Recode would be the best.
Well, then we need to settle on what profiles we offer. The ones configured should definitely be available, and then some defaults.

Quote:
I'm sure you agree it would only be appropriate for oneclick if the track names were listed. Will projectX do this?
Well, unless you have an info file you never have the names, only track IDs.. you need to figure out the language on your own for TS, mpg and even VOB streams without an info file. I guess TS streams are going to be a bitch to handle.. I wonder if dgindex can somehow tell us what tracks are effectively available.

The mediainfo lib (http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=96516) seems to be useful for mpg but I don't see TS as a supported format.
__________________
For the web's most comprehensive collection of DVD backup guides go to www.doom9.org
Doom9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th July 2005, 09:24   #139  |  Link
berrinam
Registered User
 
berrinam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,740
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doom9
Well, then we need to settle on what profiles we offer. The ones configured should definitely be available, and then some defaults.
The ones configured are already available. I would say that defaults could be added just by distributing the xml profiles with the executable. Anyway, I haven't had enough experience with any of the codecs to be able to recommend settings.

Quote:
Well, unless you have an info file you never have the names, only track IDs.. you need to figure out the language on your own for TS, mpg and even VOB streams without an info file.
I still think this destroys the oneclick workflow.
berrinam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th July 2005, 09:47   #140  |  Link
Doom9
clueless n00b
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: somewhere over the rainbow
Posts: 10,579
Quote:
I still think this destroys the oneclick workflow.
Not necessarily.. you just have to do the "figuring out what audio streams are available" for those types of input as well.. you are reading the info file for vob input after all, so it would be done at the same point for other types of input. Then once input is selected, available audio tracks will be shown.
__________________
For the web's most comprehensive collection of DVD backup guides go to www.doom9.org
Doom9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
development, megui, not a help thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 14:04.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.