Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Audio encoding

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 1st November 2019, 06:19   #1  |  Link
theliver9x
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 12
Extract core with eac3to and tsmuxer spectrum different

I extract core audio from dts-hd with eac3to and with tsmuxer, then compared the two dts files and it have different hash, the spectrum is also different, why is there a difference here?
theliver9x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st November 2019, 10:29   #2  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,698
tsMuxeR is a muxer, like extractor not always work fine.

Please remember rule 8:

Quote:
8) No cross posting. Post your message once, to the appropriate forum and nowhere else or it will be locked or deleted without warning.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st November 2019, 14:39   #3  |  Link
theliver9x
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
tsMuxeR is a muxer, like extractor not always work fine.

Please remember rule 8:
Thanks, so eac3to extract is exactly bit and bit?
theliver9x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd November 2019, 10:11   #4  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,698
Yes, the core extraction from DTS-HD with eac3to always work fine for me.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd November 2019, 14:54   #5  |  Link
theliver9x
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
Yes, the core extraction from DTS-HD with eac3to always work fine for me.
I have a dts-hd music and it has a 16bit core, when i demux core and it automatically convert to 24bit, so i added the dontPatchDts command so it doesn't convert to 24bit, i will get a 16bit perfect? I wonder why it turned into 24bit?
theliver9x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd November 2019, 14:56   #6  |  Link
sneaker_ger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,502
DTS cores don't have any inherent bitdepth (same for many other lossy format, e.g. AC3, AAC). You can ignore what MediaInfo tells you about it after core extraction. Only the lossless DTS-HD Master Audio "has" a bitdepth in any meaningful way. Do not use -dontPatchDts.
sneaker_ger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd November 2019, 06:54   #7  |  Link
theliver9x
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by sneaker_ger View Post
DTS cores don't have any inherent bitdepth (same for many other lossy format, e.g. AC3, AAC). You can ignore what MediaInfo tells you about it after core extraction. Only the lossless DTS-HD Master Audio "has" a bitdepth in any meaningful way. Do not use -dontPatchDts.
Thanks for some useful information. So change bit is only change the title, right? It's like change the tag and the audio data inside won't change and won't be distorted?
theliver9x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd November 2019, 13:25   #8  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,698
Quote:
Originally Posted by theliver9x View Post
I have a dts-hd music and it has a 16bit core, when i demux core and it automatically convert to 24bit, so i added the dontPatchDts command so it doesn't convert to 24bit, i will get a 16bit perfect?
Nope, the core is lossy then the 16 bit it's not perfect, only the DTS-HD is 16 bit perfect.

Quote:
I wonder why it turned into 24bit?
Like the core is not perfect the best aproach to the perfection is decode the core to 24 bits at least.
Some decoders read this metadata to output 24 bit int (the internal decoder precission is 32 bits float) instead only 16 bit less accurate.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd November 2019, 13:32   #9  |  Link
theliver9x
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
Nope, the core is lossy then the 16 bit it's not perfect, only the DTS-HD is 16 bit perfect.



Like the core is not perfect the best aproach to the perfection is decode the core to 24 bits at least.
Some decoders read this metadata to output 24 bit int (the internal decoder precission is 32 bits float) instead only 16 bit less accurate.
So change bit to 24 is only change the title, right? It's like change the tag and the raw audio data inside won't change and won't be distorted?
theliver9x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2019, 12:03   #10  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,698
Of course only the metadata in header is changed, the raw audio data remain the same.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2019, 04:16   #11  |  Link
theliver9x
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
Of course only the metadata in header is changed, the raw audio data remain the same.
I have one more question, i tried converting a mono wav file to dts-hd and then i extracted dts-hd to wav again, in my opinion, dts-hd is lossless and not loss, i compared hash of the original wav file and the wav file i extracted from dts-hd but both are not the same, i have learned more and there is some information saying that remove wav header and it will be the same, so how do i delete the wav file header that has been extracted with arcsoft in eac3to?
theliver9x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2019, 11:26   #12  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,698
You an use eac3to to remove wav headers:

eac3to input.wav output1.pcm

To decode DTS-HD use libdcadec.dll (the eac3to default) arcsoft have some bugs.
Encode your input.wav to dtshd and directly:

eac3to input.dtshd output2.pcm

and after compare output1 with output2
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2019, 11:41   #13  |  Link
theliver9x
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
You an use eac3to to remove wav headers:

eac3to input.wav output1.pcm

To decode DTS-HD use libdcadec.dll (the eac3to default) arcsoft have some bugs.
Encode your input.wav to dtshd and directly:

eac3to input.dtshd output2.pcm

and after compare output1 with output2
I have compared the two pcm files and they are not the same.

Last edited by theliver9x; 11th November 2019 at 14:21.
theliver9x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th November 2019, 06:16   #14  |  Link
filler56789
SuperVirus
 
filler56789's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Antarctic Japan
Posts: 969
Quote:
Originally Posted by theliver9x View Post
I have compared the two pcm files and they are not the same.
This thread explains it all: https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=168133
filler56789 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th November 2019, 09:52   #15  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,698
Of course can have some extra silence at end to complain the granularity of 11 ms in DTS.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th November 2019, 10:38   #16  |  Link
theliver9x
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
Of course can have some extra silence at end to complain the granularity of 11 ms in DTS.
I have found the reason for the output is not the same as the original, because when encoder to dts-hd with MAS it add delay to the file, when eac3to extract to wav and it apply delay, eac3to without removing delay and apply to file output.
If i want to check dts-hd have delay or not, what software should i use to check it?
You can give me link download of LeeAudBi4?

Last edited by theliver9x; 13th November 2019 at 06:31.
theliver9x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th November 2019, 11:45   #17  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,698
The strict DTS stream don't have any info about the delay included by MAS.
When MAS create a DTS the output have a extra initial header (DTSHDHDR) with some info.

Quote:
Note: Authoring tools shall use the Codec_Delay_At_Max_Fs and the
Samples_Per_Frame_At_Max_Fs to determine the number of encoded frames that
initially must to be skipped (i.e., excluded from the disc).
This header is for Authoring tools only, the DTS stream can't have this header and the initial frames must be excluded.

You can read this header (from a file with extension .dtshd) with my LeeAudBi5: https://www.sendspace.com/file/2nwuq1
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th November 2019, 13:34   #18  |  Link
theliver9x
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
The strict DTS stream don't have any info about the delay included by MAS.
When MAS create a DTS the output have a extra initial header (DTSHDHDR) with some info.



This header is for Authoring tools only, the DTS stream can't have this header and the initial frames must be excluded.

You can read this header (from a file with extension .dtshd) with my LeeAudBi5: https://www.sendspace.com/file/2nwuq1
Thanks for good some information, so dts-hd on the bluray movie disc have delay or not? And what do i need to do to know if it is have delay or not?
theliver9x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th November 2019, 10:34   #19  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,698
In a container like m2ts (BD) or mkv the header DTSHDHDR don't exist but the container can have delays for any track.

When extract with eac3to must correct any delay in DTS tracks deleting/inserting frames, like standard frames are ~11 ms you can obtain a error less than +-6ms.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th November 2019, 06:10   #20  |  Link
theliver9x
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
In a container like m2ts (BD) or mkv the header DTSHDHDR don't exist but the container can have delays for any track.

When extract with eac3to must correct any delay in DTS tracks deleting/inserting frames, like standard frames are ~11 ms you can obtain a error less than +-6ms.
Let me ask more, dts 1509kbps 6 channels, so each internal channel will have a bitrate is 251kbps?
theliver9x is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 23:53.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.