Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Audio encoding

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 26th November 2015, 21:10   #1  |  Link
rhaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 115
Getting "Nero Audio Decoder 2" instance failed.

Hi. I'm trying to convert .aac to .wav and I get this message. I do have neroAacDec.exe in eac3to dir and in win32 dir.

So I run 'eac3to file.aac file.wav -downStereo' or something like that. And I get:
Code:
AAC, 2.0 channels, 48kHz
Decoding with DirectShow (Nero Audio Decoder 2)...
Getting "Nero Audio Decoder 2" instance failed.
Aborted at file position 262144.
I have Nero 7 installed, but that doesn't change anything since Nero AAC decoder has been standalone for 9 years now, so quotes from eac3to wiki are outdated.

I use latest eac3to package and nero codecs. Win8x64 (not 8.1)

Pls help.
rhaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2015, 21:39   #2  |  Link
sneaker_ger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,565
Get ffmpeg:
ffmpeg -i file.aac -ac 2 file.wav

Or, if you want eac3to to do the downmix:
ffmpeg -i file.aac file.wav
eac3to file.wav downmix.wav -down2

I think eac3to cannot open "raw" ADTS AAC directly.
sneaker_ger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th November 2015, 17:59   #3  |  Link
rhaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 115
Hey thanks for reply, it works. I also tried without -ac 2 part and it gives same, so why add extra commands? What do they do? Also what does -i stand for?

But yeah, I'm going to stay with this ffmpeg command line. Cheers!
rhaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th November 2015, 17:46   #4  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,248
Quote:
Originally Posted by rhaz View Post
Hi. I'm trying to convert .aac to .wav and I get this message. I do have neroAacDec.exe in eac3to dir and in win32 dir.

So I run 'eac3to file.aac file.wav -downStereo' or something like that. And I get:
Code:
AAC, 2.0 channels, 48kHz
Decoding with DirectShow (Nero Audio Decoder 2)...
Getting "Nero Audio Decoder 2" instance failed.
Aborted at file position 262144.
I have Nero 7 installed, but that doesn't change anything since Nero AAC decoder has been standalone for 9 years now, so quotes from eac3to wiki are outdated.

I use latest eac3to package and nero codecs. Win8x64 (not 8.1)

Pls help.
Obviously it's not using (and not trying to use) the neroAacDec.exe program, but it's trying to use some DirectShow filter - that appears to be missing on your system.

The neroAacDec.exe command-line decoder is 100% standalone and not related to DirectShow at all. You can call it like this:
Code:
neroAacDec.exe -if input.mp4 -of output.wav

If I remember correctly, neroAacDec.exe does not support ADTS (that's what ".aac" files typically are!), but only AAC stored in an MP4 container.

You can use faad to decode ADTS instead:
Code:
faad.exe -o output.wav input.aac
__________________
Go to https://standforukraine.com/ to find legitimate Ukrainian Charities 🇺🇦✊

Last edited by LoRd_MuldeR; 27th November 2015 at 17:53.
LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th November 2015, 17:50   #5  |  Link
sneaker_ger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by LoRd_MuldeR View Post
Obviously it's not using (and not trying to use) the neroAacDec.exe program, but it's trying to use some DirectShow filter - that appears to be missing on your system.
^ This.

Note that NeroAacDec cannot open ADTS AAC, either.
sneaker_ger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th November 2015, 18:03   #6  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,248
Quote:
Originally Posted by sneaker_ger View Post
^ This.

Note that NeroAacDec cannot open ADTS AAC, either.
Well, that's why I said he can try faad.exe (instead of NeroAacDec) for that kind of file. But FFmpeg works too, of course

Quote:
Originally Posted by rhaz View Post
Hey thanks for reply, it works. I also tried without -ac 2 part and it gives same, so why add extra commands? What do they do? Also what does -i stand for?
With FFmpeg, the "-i" option is used to specify the input file. The output file is just appended.

With NeroAacDec, you have to use "-if" to specify the input file, and you have to use "-of" to specify the output file. With faad, you use "-o" to specify the output file and just append the input file.

Every program does it a bit different, because things would be to easy otherwise
__________________
Go to https://standforukraine.com/ to find legitimate Ukrainian Charities 🇺🇦✊

Last edited by LoRd_MuldeR; 27th November 2015 at 18:34.
LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th November 2015, 18:04   #7  |  Link
sneaker_ger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,565
Totally overlooked that in your post, sorry.
sneaker_ger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th November 2015, 18:06   #8  |  Link
rhaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 115
Hey do you know how to set .wav output bitrate? it gives me 1.5k bitrate with 1gb file from 50mb 128kbps .aac file, looks like waste of space.
rhaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th November 2015, 18:14   #9  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,248
Quote:
Originally Posted by rhaz View Post
Hey do you know how to set .wav output bitrate? it gives me 1.5k bitrate with 1gb file from 50mb 128kbps .aac file, looks like waste of space.
Wave files almost always contain "raw" PCM data, so the bitrate is defined by samples per second × bits per sample × number of channels!

There's nothing you can do about it, except for converting to a lower sampling frequency (which will destroy the higher frequencies) or converting to a lower bit depth (which will increase the noise level). Probably you want neither of that

When looking for a lossless compression, try FLAC oder APE (Monkey's Audio). Otherwise, if lossy compression is acceptable, use AAC, Vorbis or Opus - depending on your personal preferences.
__________________
Go to https://standforukraine.com/ to find legitimate Ukrainian Charities 🇺🇦✊

Last edited by LoRd_MuldeR; 27th November 2015 at 19:07.
LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th November 2015, 18:22   #10  |  Link
rhaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 115
Hey thanks for all the help!
rhaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
aac, decoder, eac3to, nero

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:25.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.