Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 25th November 2020, 10:40   #60821  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,408
Quote:
Originally Posted by tp4tissue View Post
Has anyone else noticed that 60hz kind of smears 24fps content.. Whereas if you have matched refresh, the frames look more stochastic but also more clear.
You have Smooth Motion enabled I assume. Yes at 60Hz frame blending gives a noticeable reduction of clarity in motion. At 120Hz it's much less of an issue. Ideally match the refresh at 60Hz.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th November 2020, 21:31   #60822  |  Link
el Filou
Registered User
 
el Filou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 732
Quote:
Originally Posted by tp4tissue View Post
That's pretty neat. Buhhhh.. it's blasphemous to watch 4K on NON-4K screens. A War-Crime..
Yeah but it's on my desktop, I don't really watch movies on it and don't plan on getting a 4K display for it.
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
my point is that you have to disable 2x chroma scaler for 1420p+ output for an UHD source.
Yes, I understood that, and I confirm that it works if you do that. I must have been using NGU chroma when I tested that option a long time ago which is why I had wrongly concluded that it didn't work in that scenario, but now I'm using ReconSoft and it works.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10 1909, MediaPortal 1, LAV Filters, ReClock, madVR. DVB-C TV, Panasonic GT60, 6.0 speakers Denon 2310, Core 2 Duo E7400, GeForce 1050 Ti
el Filou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2020, 01:14   #60823  |  Link
tp4tissue
Registered User
 
tp4tissue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 630
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
You have Smooth Motion enabled I assume. Yes at 60Hz frame blending gives a noticeable reduction of clarity in motion. At 120Hz it's much less of an issue. Ideally match the refresh at 60Hz.
I do not have smooth motion enabled.

I think it has to do with the frame hold times of the TV.
__________________
Ghetto | 2500k 5Ghz
tp4tissue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2020, 01:19   #60824  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,408
Quote:
Originally Posted by tp4tissue View Post
I do not have smooth motion enabled.

I think it has to do with the frame hold times of the TV.
Sounds like it.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2020, 10:26   #60825  |  Link
petran79
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 86
Still using w10 1803 and madvr works fine,though I use It on desktop. On laptop where performance suffers, MPC vidéo decoder offers also good quality without heating the GPU too much.
petran79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th November 2020, 16:54   #60826  |  Link
mrmarioman
Registered User
 
mrmarioman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 39
is there a way for madvr to change to 10-12 bit automatically when it detects a hdr movie? kinda annoying having to change it every time in nvidia control panel.
mrmarioman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th November 2020, 20:31   #60827  |  Link
ang3l
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 19
recently bought a panasonic hz1000, connected with an amd rx480, windows 10 1909, latest amd driver 20.11.2

I have a problem with the sdr black levels, when windows recognizes the display as compatible with hdr it darkens the black level, in the black clipping test practically nothing flashes, but also has effect also on the desktop

but if in the tv settings I turn off an hdr option that make to appear the tv as not compatible for hdr in windows the black levels then are perfect

so what it can be?, what does windows when it recognizes an hdr tv even if the use hdr option is off?
ang3l is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th November 2020, 20:40   #60828  |  Link
VBB
Registered User
 
VBB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Long Beach, CA, USA
Posts: 563
@mrmarioman - madVR has no control over the driver settings. Depending on the display, 8-bit can actually be better. You didn't give us any info on your setup. Assuming you are running the desktop at 60Hz 8-bit, the video driver will switch to a higher bit rate automatically when going to a lower refresh rate, if you set it manually once.
__________________
Henry

LG OLED65C7P | Denon AVR-X3500H | ELAC Uni-Fi x7 | ELAC Debut 2.0 SUB3030 x2
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960 | LAV Filters | madVR | MPC-HC | Plex | X-Rite i1Display Pro | DisplayCAL | HCFR
VBB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th November 2020, 20:43   #60829  |  Link
VBB
Registered User
 
VBB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Long Beach, CA, USA
Posts: 563
@ang3l - since you are using madVR, you should not be switching Windows into HDR mode manually. Windows shouldn't do anything differently. Sounds like the AMD driver is doing something.
__________________
Henry

LG OLED65C7P | Denon AVR-X3500H | ELAC Uni-Fi x7 | ELAC Debut 2.0 SUB3030 x2
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960 | LAV Filters | madVR | MPC-HC | Plex | X-Rite i1Display Pro | DisplayCAL | HCFR
VBB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th November 2020, 21:17   #60830  |  Link
LordX2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 99
Hopefully one of my last questions:

Since I am using the HDR to SDR tone mapping with MadVR - my PJ is in SDR mode with BT.709 color settings.

Should I set the display to being calibrated for BT.709 in MadVR settings? Or is this redundant?
LordX2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th November 2020, 21:41   #60831  |  Link
VBB
Registered User
 
VBB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Long Beach, CA, USA
Posts: 563
Yes, you should. Match gamma as well. The more madVR knows about your setup, the better.
__________________
Henry

LG OLED65C7P | Denon AVR-X3500H | ELAC Uni-Fi x7 | ELAC Debut 2.0 SUB3030 x2
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960 | LAV Filters | madVR | MPC-HC | Plex | X-Rite i1Display Pro | DisplayCAL | HCFR
VBB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th November 2020, 22:24   #60832  |  Link
ang3l
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by VBB View Post
@ang3l - since you are using madVR, you should not be switching Windows into HDR mode manually. Windows shouldn't do anything differently. Sounds like the AMD driver is doing something.
yes, windows is in sdr mode, "play hdr game and apps" turned off and also the tv recognize the input signal as sdr

I forgot to report that the skin tones are way too reddish, so it may also be related to wide color gamut in some way, but in the amd radeon settings panel there is nothing about it, I tried to switch between rgb full range, limited, YcbCr 4:4:4 etc, but there is no effect, always darkened blacklevels and oversaturated colors

on the tv I tried to change all the settings, but the only one that works is that "setup hdmi hdr", which turn off the hdr functionality for the selected hdmi port

p.s.

another thing, if I leave that option on the tv on, so the hdmi on the tv is able to receive hdr metadata, but I connect the pc to the tv through my avr that is limited to 1080p with no uhd funciontality the black levels are correct

just to dimostrate that is not that option on the tv that turn wcg on for the incoming signal

I also tried to output the desktop at 1920x1080 connecting the pc directly to the tv, but nothing, windows recognize an hdr capable display and black levels/colors are wrongs

Last edited by ang3l; 27th November 2020 at 22:54.
ang3l is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th November 2020, 22:52   #60833  |  Link
VBB
Registered User
 
VBB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Long Beach, CA, USA
Posts: 563
Sounds like your gamut and black levels are wrong. I don't know about Panasonic's, but if there's an AUTO setting for gamut, use that. For black levels, it depends on what you set for the video card, but the display needs to match that. If blacks are crushed, then there's a mismatch.
__________________
Henry

LG OLED65C7P | Denon AVR-X3500H | ELAC Uni-Fi x7 | ELAC Debut 2.0 SUB3030 x2
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960 | LAV Filters | madVR | MPC-HC | Plex | X-Rite i1Display Pro | DisplayCAL | HCFR
VBB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th November 2020, 23:28   #60834  |  Link
mrmarioman
Registered User
 
mrmarioman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by VBB View Post
@mrmarioman - madVR has no control over the driver settings. Depending on the display, 8-bit can actually be better. You didn't give us any info on your setup. Assuming you are running the desktop at 60Hz 8-bit, the video driver will switch to a higher bit rate automatically when going to a lower refresh rate, if you set it manually once.
I have a Sony X900F TV connected to my PC.
Madvr allows you to automatically change the resolution and refresh rate of the display depending on the movie source you play, but not the bit depth. Which is a bit of a nuisance having to manually change from 8 bit to 10 depending on the movie. I was hoping there was a way.
mrmarioman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th November 2020, 23:32   #60835  |  Link
LordX2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by VBB View Post
Yes, you should. Match gamma as well. The more madVR knows about your setup, the better.
My PJ is set on 'gamma 7' - which I believe is a SONY thing - not to one of the numbers like 2.2 or 2.4.
LordX2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th November 2020, 00:03   #60836  |  Link
VBB
Registered User
 
VBB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Long Beach, CA, USA
Posts: 563
@mrmarioman - if your display doesn't have any issues with 10/12-bit, why not just keep it at that for everything? I don't understand why you would want to switch depending on the movie.
__________________
Henry

LG OLED65C7P | Denon AVR-X3500H | ELAC Uni-Fi x7 | ELAC Debut 2.0 SUB3030 x2
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960 | LAV Filters | madVR | MPC-HC | Plex | X-Rite i1Display Pro | DisplayCAL | HCFR
VBB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th November 2020, 00:16   #60837  |  Link
VBB
Registered User
 
VBB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Long Beach, CA, USA
Posts: 563
@LordX2 - According to Sony "Gamma 7: Produces a sharper picture by emphasizing darker parts". Seems to be the darkest out of the available special modes, but unclear if it targets 2.2 or 2.4. Since you tonemap with madVR, it would be good if you entered the correct value there.
__________________
Henry

LG OLED65C7P | Denon AVR-X3500H | ELAC Uni-Fi x7 | ELAC Debut 2.0 SUB3030 x2
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960 | LAV Filters | madVR | MPC-HC | Plex | X-Rite i1Display Pro | DisplayCAL | HCFR
VBB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th November 2020, 00:18   #60838  |  Link
mrmarioman
Registered User
 
mrmarioman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by VBB View Post
@mrmarioman - if your display doesn't have any issues with 10/12-bit, why not just keep it at that for everything? I don't understand why you would want to switch depending on the movie.
Well, my TV at 10 bit only allows for 4:2:2. And I use it for gaming etc. So full RGB is needed sometimes. I guess with HDMI 2.1 TV's this will be a non-issue.
mrmarioman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th November 2020, 00:21   #60839  |  Link
VBB
Registered User
 
VBB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Long Beach, CA, USA
Posts: 563
Yeah, there's no automatic way to switch between color spaces, but again, you could simply leave the driver at RGB all the time and then auto-switch between 8 and 12-bit automatically depending on refresh rate. RGB should be superior to YCbCr 4:2:2 anyway.
__________________
Henry

LG OLED65C7P | Denon AVR-X3500H | ELAC Uni-Fi x7 | ELAC Debut 2.0 SUB3030 x2
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960 | LAV Filters | madVR | MPC-HC | Plex | X-Rite i1Display Pro | DisplayCAL | HCFR
VBB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th November 2020, 00:58   #60840  |  Link
claw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by ang3l View Post
yes, windows is in sdr mode, "play hdr game and apps" turned off and also the tv recognize the input signal as sdr

I forgot to report that the skin tones are way too reddish, so it may also be related to wide color gamut in some way, but in the amd radeon settings panel there is nothing about it, I tried to switch between rgb full range, limited, YcbCr 4:4:4 etc, but there is no effect, always darkened blacklevels and oversaturated colors

on the tv I tried to change all the settings, but the only one that works is that "setup hdmi hdr", which turn off the hdr functionality for the selected hdmi port

p.s.

another thing, if I leave that option on the tv on, so the hdmi on the tv is able to receive hdr metadata, but I connect the pc to the tv through my avr that is limited to 1080p with no uhd funciontality the black levels are correct

just to dimostrate that is not that option on the tv that turn wcg on for the incoming signal

I also tried to output the desktop at 1920x1080 connecting the pc directly to the tv, but nothing, windows recognize an hdr capable display and black levels/colors are wrongs
Do you have Report BT2020 to Display set in MadVR? Try turning it off. I believe that this option will send HDR metadata even if MadVR is tone mapping to SDR. A dark overly red picture could be a sign that your TV is switching to its HDR picture mode.
claw is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 00:39.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.