Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10th March 2018, 00:57   #49501  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,963
Quote:
Originally Posted by mclingo View Post
another oddity. If I put my gfx card in 8 bit 442 and MADVR in 10 bit it looks ok and HDR works
When using 8-bit output from the gfx card always set madVR to 8-bit. You do not want madVR dithering to 10-bit and then the GPU dithering that to 8-bit, better to simply dither to 8-bit once.

Why not use the gfx card set to RGB 8-bit? At least on Nvidia, HDR still works when using 8-bit RGB output and the quality would be better than having madVR set to 10-bit.

It sounds like your TV is bad at processing 10-bit input.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th March 2018, 01:16   #49502  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 1,201
unfortunately I cant set MADVR to 8 bit, HDR stops working in that it no longer triggers HDR mode on my TV.

The other option is to configure calibration but calibrating it for BT709 still looks a bit too red and BT2020 a bit too yellow, the correct setting seems to be somewhere in middle, rock and hard place...

Last edited by mclingo; 10th March 2018 at 01:20.
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th March 2018, 01:17   #49503  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,963
AMD's drivers are weird.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th March 2018, 01:33   #49504  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 1,201
just mine or everyone's?, guess thats what i'm trying to find out
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th March 2018, 01:35   #49505  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6,590
8 bit may work with the windows API the AMD API needs 10 bit because AMD...
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th March 2018, 01:49   #49506  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 1,201
ive gone back to using the calibration, i've calibrated for DCI-P3 with BT706/601 curve@2.20 - It seems to be good enough and I can run my full rig in 10 bit again. If anyone else has this issue or has an idea what it might be let me know.

Cheers all for your input.

Last edited by mclingo; 10th March 2018 at 02:02.
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th March 2018, 13:19   #49507  |  Link
mytbyte
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 198
Quote:
Originally Posted by mclingo View Post
sorry, maybe i'm misunderstanding the implication of what you just said , are you saying you have the same problem now on your Rig or that you havent actually tested it yet using a 4K AMD card?

Your assistance is much appreciated but dont put yourself too much.
It's OK, I'm a tinkerer the RX580 is in a laptop and I can't reproduce your problem on laptop's monitor...

I connected the laptop this morning via HDMI to a 2008 Panasonic plasma (HDready) and I still can't make it trip: HDMI 8, 10, 12 bits, any pixel format except RGB 4:4:4 Limited range (because it's not detected by the TV) from AMD driver, madVR set to 8 or 10 bits, D3D9 or 11, FSE or not, all look the same...

I also tried an LG monitor, did have some trouble when switching between RGB and YCbCr in regard to the video range (crushed picture), but nothing that would resemble your case...sorry...let's wait for madshi, see what he sayz...
mytbyte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th March 2018, 14:46   #49508  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 1,201
Quote:
Originally Posted by mytbyte View Post
It's OK, I'm a tinkerer the RX580 is in a laptop and I can't reproduce your problem on laptop's monitor...
..
ok, thanks very much for your help, it might only happen with RX cards connected to a 4K HDR TV maybe, i have a liveable workaround if this doesnt get solved by MADSHI.
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th March 2018, 16:45   #49509  |  Link
mytbyte
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 198
Quote:
Originally Posted by mclingo View Post
ok, thanks very much for your help, it might only happen with RX cards connected to a 4K HDR TV maybe, i have a liveable workaround if this doesnt get solved by MADSHI.
I seriously intend to connect it to my 4K TV (non HDR) these days (didn't have the time, the laptop is brand new) so watch this space
mytbyte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th March 2018, 09:14   #49510  |  Link
stefanelli73
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by clsid View Post
It might be a bandwidth issue. For such high resolutions, a lot of data needs to be copied to/from the GPU memory.

Try D3D11 hardware acceleration in LAV Video decoder.
it's the same thing also with D3D11.
stefanelli73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th March 2018, 09:37   #49511  |  Link
mrmojo666
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by mclingo View Post
just mine or everyone's?, guess thats what i'm trying to find out
same here with amd rx 460.

but honestly i found as workaround to get rid of strange glowing reds and oversaturated colors, to use only windowed mode. It happens only with FSE. So now all looks perfect 8bit or 10 biit. I don't know what i'm missing using windowed mode, but it works very well.
mrmojo666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th March 2018, 09:59   #49512  |  Link
mytbyte
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 198
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrmojo666 View Post
same here with amd rx 460.

but honestly i found as workaround to get rid of strange glowing reds and oversaturated colors, to use only windowed mode. It happens only with FSE. So now all looks perfect 8bit or 10 biit. I don't know what i'm missing using windowed mode, but it works very well.
Probably nothing if U use Windows 10, it was required before that for 10 bit output.
mytbyte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th March 2018, 10:54   #49513  |  Link
Polopretress
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 31
madVR bypassed with DXVA2 (native) decoder

i have a question linked to the hardware decoder used with Lav Audio. When i select DXVA2 (native) on a 32 bits configuration , madVR is bypassed for any treatment but it is working fine on a 64 bits configuration.

Is it a known behaviour ?


Today, is it better to select D3D11 or DXVA2 (copy back) ?
Polopretress is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th March 2018, 11:47   #49514  |  Link
mytbyte
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 198
@Polopretess: I don't find this to be true...it's only that DXVA native (not D3D11 native) doesn't work with some features of MadVR (like chroma scaling)...
mytbyte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th March 2018, 11:50   #49515  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 10,002
Quote:
Originally Posted by mytbyte View Post
@Polopretess: I don't find this to be true...it's only that DXVA native (not D3D11 native) doesn't work with some features of MadVR (like chroma scaling)...
The only features that don't work are IVTC and black border detection. Scaling, including Chroma, work just fine. The same limitations apply to D3D11 native, because those are software algorithms not on the GPU.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11th March 2018, 12:16   #49516  |  Link
mytbyte
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 198
@nevcariel: I don't know, man...when using LAV DXVA native decoder, chroma scaling is always reported as < or > DXVA in OSD, no matter what I choose in the settings...also madshi confirmed that...
mytbyte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th March 2018, 12:34   #49517  |  Link
el Filou
Registered User
 
el Filou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 645
You need to uncheck Use DXVA chroma upscaling when doing native DXVA decoding in the Trade quality for performance settings screen.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10 1909, MediaPortal 1, LAV Filters, ReClock, madVR. DVB-C TV, Panasonic GT60, 6.0 speakers Denon 2310, Core 2 Duo E7400, GeForce 1050 Ti
el Filou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th March 2018, 12:40   #49518  |  Link
sauma144
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 89
I think madshi should remove this "trade quality for performance" option.
sauma144 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th March 2018, 12:44   #49519  |  Link
mytbyte
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 198
@filou: OK...got it...defaults seem to be favouring weaker gfx hardware (perhaps some autodetection of gfx card's performance and auto-configuraton would be nice, or I'm missing that too)...MadVR seems more complex than any post-production compositing software I'm using...
mytbyte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th March 2018, 13:55   #49520  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6,590
DXVA chroma scaling for DXVA native decoding make a lot of sense because you will get worse chroma even with the trade quality for performance option.
if you want better quality use software, DXVA copy back or d3d11.

and DXVA native is default in MPC-HC not in the stand alone version of lavfilter.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sauma144 View Post
I think madshi should remove this "trade quality for performance" option.
no just no...
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:24.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.