Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Today, 12:14   #47721  |  Link
Backflash
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neo-XP View Post
I do not think you will see any difference with a 404p source, but NGU in gamma light appears generally very slightly sharper than NGU in gamma-linear light and the edges thinner.
Sometimes NGU gamma-linear light is sharper on some edges, but also "wrong" most of the time and/or unnatural on those edges, so I used "soften edges" before to try to get rid of them and to smoothen edges with aliasing too.
Not needed anymore with NGU in gamma light.
@madshi
400p example is for RCA+NGU only. I don't use RCA on 720p or higher.
I despise soften edges on any source. Why do you run NGU Sharp if you don't like sharpness?
I don't care if it's wrong, what I care about if it doesn't blur my image in places where I focus my view. And adjusted NGU Sharp seems slightly off to me.
It's pure preference thing and how my eyes work, NGU Standard/AA shouldn't have this problem to begin with.
Backflash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 13:30   #47722  |  Link
Neo-XP
Registered User
 
Neo-XP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 121
Quote:
Originally Posted by Backflash View Post
Why do you run NGU Sharp if you don't like sharpness?
You can always have more sharpness, but it comes with a cost.
I do like sharpness, but not for instance the ugly aliasing artifacts that come with it (with the linear-gamma NGU).
I did a comparison a while back : https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.p...66#post1804766
Soften edges was used to try to get rid of that and other ugly edges, but it was not perfect and I do not use it anymore with the NGU in gamma light.

Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
FYI, the new "remove compression artifacts can now be run as part of NGU" feature comes with a new option called "run as part of NGU, if possible", which allows you to turn this feature on/off. Ideally, I'd like to remove this new option and *always* run RCA as part of NGU, where possible. But I wanted to give you the chance to test both approaches to see if running both separately might be better for images quality or not. So please do test that and report back.
Running RCA separately from NGU performs better, but I think it is expected. The algo when running it as a part of NGU is less aggressive, so the strength needs to be increased a little to compare. I think RCA as part of NGU is good enough to activate it by default if possible.

Last edited by Neo-XP; Today at 14:23.
Neo-XP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 14:14   #47723  |  Link
Backflash
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neo-XP View Post
but it comes with a cost.
True. What i'm trying to say that this cost is okay for me personally, I get why you don't like it. I would like "NGU Sharp" to stay ridiculous option for weirdos like me.
Backflash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 14:34   #47724  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manni View Post
Just to report that I got build 1709 installed today, and everything is working fine with 385.28. MadVR switches in and out of HDR automatically, the OS HDR switch remains off, so that's a known working config. I was even able to reinstall WMC 8.8.1, so fairly painless after all.

I'll report if I hit any problems, but right now that seems fine. I won't try to upgrade the driver unless someone reports that a more recent version works fine with 1709.

EDIT: forgot to say that 4K23p with a MadVR custom res still works fine with one frame drop every hour or so (vs every 5mn without the custom res). So as far as I can see there is no reason not to upgrade to Falls Creators Update as long as you stay with 385.28 for nVidia. This was with the latest MadVR 0.92.10.
i couldnt get a custom res dialled in at all so i was stuck on frame drops every few mins, when i clicked "TEST" it looked ok, 23.976 was in there but when I looked at it again using edit it had reverted to 24.000, did this every time, gave up in the end, other people are also having same issue, is there a drive version this definately works on?
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 14:51   #47725  |  Link
Neo-XP
Registered User
 
Neo-XP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 121
Quote:
Originally Posted by Backflash View Post
True. What i'm trying to say that this cost is okay for me personally, I get why you don't like it. I would like "NGU Sharp" to stay ridiculous option for weirdos like me.
Well you can have the same sharpness now (or more) with NGU in gamma light, without the aliasing. And you can always use some upscaling refinements of you want even more sharpness, but I do not think more sharpness is needed in NGU itself.

In this matter, NGU Sharp + RCA make a lot of sense, because compression artifacts are much more visible when upscaling with NGU Sharp than NGU Standard for instance.
Unfortunately, RCA can not always be enabled (you will loose details on sources that do not need it) and there is no way (for now) to detect if a source needs it or not.

Last edited by Neo-XP; Today at 15:16.
Neo-XP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 15:03   #47726  |  Link
Manni
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 283
Quote:
Originally Posted by mclingo View Post
i couldnt get a custom res dialled in at all so i was stuck on frame drops every few mins, when i clicked "TEST" it looked ok, 23.976 was in there but when I looked at it again using edit it had reverted to 24.000, did this every time, gave up in the end, other people are also having same issue, is there a drive version this definately works on?
This has been reported a long time ago and is not a problem.

When you create a custom res with MadVR for 23p, the 24p option disappears from the driver in the drop-down list for refresh rate, and the custom res created is listed as 24p in the driver, but in reality, it's a 23p refresh.

So if you select 23p (with MadVR's auto refresh rate or with any software, for example, MyMovies), it's the 23p custom res (listed as 3840x2160, progressive with a 24p refresh rate in the driver) that will be applied. This is an interface bug in the driver, it has no effect in reality.

When this custom res is applied, I play all my 23p content at 23p and I have one frame drop every hour on my JVC.

You have to use 385.28. Any more recent version of the nVidia driver has a problem or another with Windows 10.
__________________
Win 10 Pro x64 V1709 MCE add-on
i7 3770K@4.2Ghz 16Gb@2.1Ghz EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2 11Gb@2GHz 385.28 RGB Full 4:4:4 12bits
MPC-BE / LAV / MadVR / MyMovies V5.24
Denon X7200WA to JVC RS500/X7000

Last edited by Manni; Today at 15:07.
Manni is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 15:20   #47727  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manni View Post
This has been reported a long time ago and is not a problem.

When you create a custom res with MadVR for 23p, the 24p option disappears from the driver in the drop-down list for refresh rate, and the custom res created is listed as 24p in the driver, but in reality, it's a 23p refresh.

So if you select 23p (with MadVR's auto refresh rate or with any software, for example, MyMovies), it's the 23p custom res (listed as 3840x2160, progressive with a 24p refresh rate in the driver) that will be applied. This is an interface bug in the driver, it has no effect in reality.

When this custom res is applied, I play all my 23p content at 23p and I have one frame drop every hour on my JVC.

You have to use 385.28. Any more recent version of the nVidia driver has a problem or another with Windows 10.
I dont think this is the same issue, i'll explain exactly what happens.

I fill in in like this:

http://www.avsforum.com/photopost/da...4_Capture.jpeg


I then click TEST and save it.

When I edit it to check it, it looks like this

http://videoff7.free.fr/1920x1080_24hz.jpg

I cant get it to save it as 23.976 which is why I cant get any better than a few mins, other people on NVIDIA forums have said the same thing, if I'm doing something wrong i'd be chuffed to bits If I could fix this so I could scrap my RX550 and its hanging issues,

What do you think i'm doing wrong then?
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 20:15   #47728  |  Link
Manni
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 283
Quote:
Originally Posted by mclingo View Post
I dont think this is the same issue, i'll explain exactly what happens.

I fill in in like this:

http://www.avsforum.com/photopost/da...4_Capture.jpeg


I then click TEST and save it.

When I edit it to check it, it looks like this

http://videoff7.free.fr/1920x1080_24hz.jpg

I cant get it to save it as 23.976 which is why I cant get any better than a few mins, other people on NVIDIA forums have said the same thing, if I'm doing something wrong i'd be chuffed to bits If I could fix this so I could scrap my RX550 and its hanging issues,

What do you think i'm doing wrong then?
What you're doing wrong is you're not using MadVR to create the custom res. You need to follow the doc and use the custom modes in display modes for your display in MadVR settings.
__________________
Win 10 Pro x64 V1709 MCE add-on
i7 3770K@4.2Ghz 16Gb@2.1Ghz EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2 11Gb@2GHz 385.28 RGB Full 4:4:4 12bits
MPC-BE / LAV / MadVR / MyMovies V5.24
Denon X7200WA to JVC RS500/X7000
Manni is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 20:19   #47729  |  Link
strumf666
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 71
HDR works on AMD. At least on Vega with today's crimson adrenalin drivers on fall's creators update, using PotPlayer.
Switching and playback, lav needs to be set to DXVA2 copyback or native d3d11 doesn't work. Not 100% stable though, switching between hdr and sdr (stopping playback or minimizing from fullscreen) can lock the player and/or os.

Last edited by strumf666; Today at 22:01.
strumf666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 21:37   #47730  |  Link
HillieSan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 98
I have 100% stable results with LAV set to 3d311 and madvr set to 3d311 presentation on AMD RX 480 with latest MPC BE. I will install adrenalin soon and see what happens.

BTW FSE does not work for GNU, but does work for the other algorithms.
HillieSan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 22:05   #47731  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manni View Post
What you're doing wrong is you're not using MadVR to create the custom res. You need to follow the doc and use the custom modes in display modes for your display in MadVR settings.
I had completely missed that, to be fair i[ve been using AMD for years so never had to use this, i might have a look at that then, cheers.
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 22:16   #47732  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by strumf666 View Post
HDR works on AMD. At least on Vega with today's crimson adrenalin drivers on fall's creators update, using PotPlayer.
Switching and playback, lav needs to be set to DXVA2 copyback or native d3d11 doesn't work. Not 100% stable though, switching between hdr and sdr (stopping playback or minimizing from fullscreen) can lock the player and/or os.
Hi, HDR is pretty stable on 17.11.2, starts, stops and skips no crashes.

however this might also be because MADVr doesnt have to switch resolutions as all of my HDR stuff is 4k the same as my desktop, most if not all my hangs happen when my player, KODI DS or MPC are jumping back from a 1080p movie back to my desktop 4k resolution.

When playing MVC 3D it hangs nearly every time if I play a 1080p movie straight from my 4k desktop using FSE, however if I drop my desktop down to 1080p so it doesnt have to switch... no crashes.

Pretty sure its the resolution change thats causing the crash.
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 22:24   #47733  |  Link
cyber201
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manni View Post
Just to report that I got build 1709 installed today, and everything is working fine with 385.28. MadVR switches in and out of HDR automatically, the OS HDR switch remains off, so that's a known working config. I was even able to reinstall WMC 8.8.1, so fairly painless after all.

I'll report if I hit any problems, but right now that seems fine. I won't try to upgrade the driver unless someone reports that a more recent version works fine with 1709.

EDIT: forgot to say that 4K23p with a MadVR custom res still works fine with one frame drop every hour or so (vs every 5mn without the custom res). So as far as I can see there is no reason not to upgrade to Falls Creators Update as long as you stay with 385.28 for nVidia. This was with the latest MadVR 0.92.10.
Hi Manni,
With FCU have you the bug of the Full Screen Exclusive Mode?
A black screen when windows try to set the correct refresh rate.

Thanks
Bye
cyber201 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 22:52.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.