Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > (HD) DVD, Blu-ray & (S)VCD > DVD & BD Rebuilder

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 9th January 2022, 13:44   #31101  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,928
Quote:
Originally Posted by cartman0208 View Post
Regarding NVENCCRE: can I feed it with BluRay m2ts files?
I tried several disks, 1080p and UHD and encode failed on every single one.
Code:
[01.09.22] NVENCC Reencoder v0.10.02
----------------------
[12:46:25]Start Job [1 of 1]
- Reencoding "00165.m2ts"
  -- Collecting input file information...
  -- Input : BDAV, 0x0, fps
  -- Output: H265 (HEVC), No Resize, Keep fps, CQ 25
- ERROR -- Encode failed.  Job aborted.
Interesting. I just tried one, and if you run the command line from a DOS window, you get a "permission denied" error as well as "failed to initiate file reader". Weird. Then if you change the output format to "m2ts" it works.

I'll look at it -- but right now it's just confusing.

You're better using BD-RB on a BD M2TS anyway. That way things like chapters etc. are kept (from the BD's MPLS file).

[Edit] Even weirder. By default it uses the name of the input file (in my case 00512.m2ts) in creating the output file name. So it tries to create "00512.mkv". If I change the output name so it includes an alpha character (like "A00512.mkv" or "00512A.mkv" it works fine. Then if I change the name to "00000.mkv" (also all numeric) -- it works. I have to be missing something???
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net

Last edited by jdobbs; 9th January 2022 at 13:57.
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2022, 13:57   #31102  |  Link
cartman0208
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 195
Sure, don't waste your time on it, I just thought I give it a try, since most movies are contained in one m2ts

How do you set m2ts as output? I can only choose between mkv, mp4 and mov

And I just wanted to ask about the commandline execution, but then I saw the nvlastcmd.txt in the workfolder


Edit: running the command in cmd runs fine and gives a proper mkv output

Last edited by cartman0208; 9th January 2022 at 14:07.
cartman0208 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2022, 14:04   #31103  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,928
Quote:
Originally Posted by cartman0208 View Post
Sure, don't waste your time on it, I just thought I give it a try, since most movies are contained in one m2ts

How do you set m2ts as output? I con only choose between mkv, mp4 and mov

And I just wanted to ask about the commandline execution, but then I saw the nvlastcmd.txt in the workfolder
Sorry. I can't just walk away from it. I have to figure out what's up.

I just looked, and the reason I get the "permission denied" is because the NVENCC process is actually running. So apparently I've gotten a signal that the process failed within NVENCCRE -- when it actually didn't. Trying to run the process again on the same output file name is the issue -- not the numeric name.

I set the target to M2TS manually by using the command line in "NVLASTCMD.TXT" (I put that there mainly for debugging).
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net

Last edited by jdobbs; 9th January 2022 at 14:07.
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2022, 14:21   #31104  |  Link
cartman0208
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 195
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
Sorry. I can't just walk away from it. I have to figure out what's up.

I just looked, and the reason I get the "permission denied" is because the NVENCC process is actually running.

...
Yeah, noticed that also... my GPU memory was about 90% used and I wanted to know why because I couldn't see open programs. From Task manager I could see nvencc.exe still running in multiple instances, but no other activity, neither encode or decode. Killing those processes freed the memory.
cartman0208 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2022, 14:28   #31105  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,928
Quote:
Originally Posted by cartman0208 View Post
Yeah, noticed that also... my GPU memory was about 90% used and I wanted to know why because I couldn't see open programs. From Task manager I could see nvencc.exe still running in multiple instances, but no other activity, neither encode or decode. Killing those processes freed the memory.
I found the issue. It is in the source file information collection using MEDIAINFO. M2TS files have some differences (from other container formats) in the way information is reported. That confused NVENCCRE.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2022, 14:48   #31106  |  Link
cartman0208
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 195
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
I found the issue. It is in the source file information collection using MEDIAINFO. M2TS files have some differences (from other container formats) in the way information is reported. That confused NVENCCRE.
That would explain the strange input information
Code:
-- Input : BDAV, 0x0, fps
cartman0208 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2022, 14:59   #31107  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,928
Quote:
Originally Posted by cartman0208 View Post
That would explain the strange input information
Code:
-- Input : BDAV, 0x0, fps
I've fixed NVENCCRE's inability to process source M2TS files. You can download the fixed version with this link.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2022, 19:38   #31108  |  Link
cartman0208
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 195
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
I've fixed NVENCCRE's inability to process source M2TS files. You can download the fixed version with this link.
Works great,
cartman0208 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2022, 03:20   #31109  |  Link
DrinkLyeAndDie
Registered User
 
DrinkLyeAndDie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 143
Quote:
Originally Posted by cartman0208 View Post
Regarding NVENCCRE: can I feed it with BluRay m2ts files?
I tried several disks, 1080p and UHD and encode failed on every single one.
Code:
[01.09.22] NVENCC Reencoder v0.10.02
----------------------
[12:46:25]Start Job [1 of 1]
- Reencoding "00165.m2ts"
  -- Collecting input file information...
  -- Input : BDAV, 0x0, fps
  -- Output: H265 (HEVC), No Resize, Keep fps, CQ 25
- ERROR -- Encode failed.  Job aborted.
Thanks for reporting this. I ran into the same issue and then got sidetracked and forgot to report it. Oops...

Thanks for fixing it, jdobbs!
DrinkLyeAndDie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2022, 04:54   #31110  |  Link
AmigaFuture
Registered User
 
AmigaFuture's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Within the main Source.
Posts: 885
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
I've fixed NVENCCRE's inability to process source M2TS files. You can download the fixed version with this link.
Ohhh, this is sweet also for slower GTX boards! This can be helpful to bypass the whole importing then extracting to reencode.
__________________
Life is not a journey to the grave; but rather to skid out broadside, thoroughly used, torn and warn and loudly proclaim; WOW; What a ride!!! Soon, I'm going to do it AGAiN in different skin!!
AmigaFuture is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th January 2022, 15:41   #31111  |  Link
Mark_Venture
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 217
EDIT: Never mind... human error. there wasn't enough free space on the drive.

Last edited by Mark_Venture; 26th January 2022 at 22:33.
Mark_Venture is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd January 2022, 09:44   #31112  |  Link
Timmy256
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Posts: 15
@jdobbs, I’ve fixed the large images as requested; hope this detailed report is OK now

---

Hi, I hope you are all doing well.

I found out this great application for the first time and I've been trying to use to compress a Blu-Ray movie decrypted in my HDD (plain files). I've tried about 25 times; switching the settings around, and still have the same issue.

The movie is “A Glitch in the Matrix"; around 35 GB uncompressed. It consists of the menu, main movie, trailer and a Zoom webinar Q&A extra. The most important problem happens with this last extra video. No matter how many settings I switched around, it ends up with the video sped up about 2x (perhaps even more) and the audio running normally. Here are a couple of facts:

- I'm trying this on a fresh copy of Windows 10; with everything installed and configured following the readme file and the “Inspect” reports turns out everything OK (posted at the bottom)
- If I try to preview the file by right clicking it within BD Rebuilder, it opens in Media Player Classic and it plays wrongly; exactly the same, with the video about twice as fast compared to the audio
- If I open the extra file directly from within the source folder, through VLC, it plays perfectly fine
- The file in question has two audio tracks that, seemingly, are exactly the same. It's not that one is 5.1 and the other Stereo (or something like that). This will be important later
- In my quest to find software to compress Blu Rays, I've tried DVDFab and exactly the same issue resulted after the process finished; with the video extremely sped up. After switching around several settings there, I've found that if I left the two audio tracks for the extra and use software compression (disabling Intel QuickSync), the finished video ended up right! But I'll really love to use BD Rebuilder instead; that's why I'm trying so hard to make it work
- If in DVDFab, I left only one audio track (no matter which one); even when disabling QuickSync and with the exact same settings as the previous point, the video again turned out to run extremely fast; while the audio plays normal. I have to left the two audio tracks in for it to render a fine, working video
- In my current settings, I have selected the option to not convert DTS, leave HD audio as is, etc; trying to minimize recoding as much as possible. The same issue still persists.
- Of course, I have tried the DirectshowSource, LAVF and FRIMSource serving settings; all producing the same results
- The only weird thing I've noticed is that, the log for that extra file, shows an “EXIT CODE: -2”, but continues processing as if nothing happened. Of course, I've tried searching for this exit code here and couldn't find anything about it

I don't know what issue exactly that damn extra video file has, that makes this fail over and over. I've been working on this for over a week; trying highest quality settings 2 pass (15+ hours), fast, auto, etc.; always the same result. The only thing that worked so far was DVDFab, if I configure it as described above.

Some questions that I have in my head:

- Why does that file has two seemingly audio tracks and why, if I only leave one in, DVDFab still produces a video 2x sped up?
- (This probably related to not knowing how BD Rebuilder works fully) Why when switching on and off the audio tracks in extra, other audio tracks (in different files), switch on and off along with it?
- Why the built in Media Player Classic preview also runs the source; untouched file at wrong speed, while VLC plays it fine? Does it have to do with some installed codecs? Remember, this is a fresh Windows 10 installation with nothing crazy going on and I've only ever used VLC for playing

An unrelated problem, but that also drove me nuts for the first couple of days, was that the process aborted around 50% with an audio recoding error. I think it's because the track in the main movie is DTS-HD and I've read in some old post that BD Rebuilder might have some problems with that? But should it still be able to convert that audio file too (hence the “leave HD audio alone” option)? When I activated that, BD Rebuilder doesn't try to touch the audio and fully completes, but would be nice to know also why it's not working for conversion of HD audio and if there was anything I could to make it work too.

Would you please help me to troubleshoot this in any way you can? Or letting me know how to run some “forensics” on that extra file, to post its data here (codecs; anything that may be useful to troubleshoot)?

I'm posting all this information and anything I can think of at the end, for you to be able to see.

Thanks in advance for any help you can provide on this matter; as it's truly driving me crazy trying to find out exactly where the problem lies! .

OUTPUT LOG
[10/01/21] BD Rebuilder v0.61.22
[22:09:10] Source: A.GLITCH.IN.THE.MATRIX.2021.1080P.BLURAY.AVC.DTS-HD.MA.5.1-FGT
- Input BD size: 33.05 GB
- Approximate total content: [02:27:22.216]
- Target BD size: 22.95 GB
- Windows Version: 6.2 [9200]
- Auto Quality: Very Good (Very Fast), 1-Pass VBR
- Decoding/Frame serving: DirectShow
- Audio Settings: AC3=0 DTS=0 HD=1 Kbs=640
[22:09:11] PHASE ONE, Encoding
- [22:09:11] Processing: VID_00000 (1 of 5)
- [22:09:11] Extracting A/V streams [VID_00000]
- [22:23:23] Reencoding video [VID_00000]
- Source Video: MPEG-4 (AVC), 1920x1080
- Rate/Length: 23.976fps, 156,204 frames
- Bitrate: 21,721 Kbs
- [22:23:23] Reencoding: VID_00000, Pass 1 of 1
- [00:41:30] Video Encode complete
- [00:41:30] Processing audio tracks
- Track 4352 (eng): Keeping original audio
- [00:41:30] Multiplexing M2TS
- [00:55:44] Processing: VID_00001 (2 of 5)
- [00:55:44] Extracting A/V streams [VID_00001]
- [00:55:50] Reencoding video [VID_00001]
- Source Video: MPEG-4 (AVC), 1280x720
- Rate/Length: 59.940fps, 15 frames
- [00:55:50] Reencoding: VID_00001, Pass 1 of 1
- [00:55:51] Video Encode complete
- [00:55:51] Processing audio tracks
- Track 4352 (eng): Keeping original audio
- Track 4353 (eng): Keeping original audio
- [00:55:51] Multiplexing M2TS
- [00:55:56] Processing: VID_00002 (3 of 5)
- [00:55:56] Extracting A/V streams [VID_00002]
- [00:56:10] Reencoding video [VID_00002]
- Source Video: MPEG-4 (AVC), 1920x1080
- Rate/Length: 23.976fps, 2,905 frames
- Bitrate: 13,820 Kbs
- [00:56:10] Reencoding: VID_00002, Pass 1 of 1
- [00:58:10] Video Encode complete
- [00:58:10] Processing audio tracks
- Track 4352 (eng): Keeping original audio
- [00:58:10] Multiplexing M2TS
- [00:58:26] Processing: VID_00007 (4 of 5)
- [00:58:26] Extracting A/V streams [VID_00007]
- [00:58:31] Reencoding video [VID_00007]
- Source Video: MPEG-4 (AVC), 1920x1080
- Rate/Length: 23.976fps, 15 frames
- Bitrate: 2,031 Kbs
- [00:58:31] Reencoding: VID_00007, Pass 1 of 1
- [00:58:32] Video Encode complete
- [00:58:32] Processing audio tracks
- Track 4352 (eng): Keeping original audio
- [00:58:32] Multiplexing M2TS
- [00:58:36] Processing: VID_00010 (5 of 5)
- [00:58:36] Extracting A/V streams [VID_00010]
EXIT CODE: -2
- Extracting video streams [VID_00010]
- Extracting audio/subtitle streams [VID_00010]
- [01:00:42] Reencoding video [VID_00010]
- Source Video: MPEG-4 (AVC), 1280x720
- Rate/Length: 59.940fps, 126,178 frames
- Bitrate: 2,075 Kbs
- [01:00:42] Reencoding: VID_00010, Pass 1 of 1
- [01:14:03] Video Encode complete
- [01:14:03] Processing audio tracks
- Track 4352 (eng): Keeping original audio
- Track 4353 (eng): Keeping original audio
- [01:14:03] Multiplexing M2TS
[01:14:43]PHASE ONE complete
[01:14:43]PHASE TWO - Rebuild Started
- [01:14:43] Rebuilding BD file Structure
[01:14:51] - Encode and Rebuild complete
- WORKFILES folder removed.
[01:14:53] JOB: A.GLITCH.IN.THE.MATRIX.2021.1080P.BLURAY.AVC.DTS-HD.MA.5.1-FGT finished.

INSPECT LOG
[10/02/21] Checking System Settings
- BD-Rebuilder v0.61.22
- Windows Version: 6.2 [9200]
- Working Path Free Space: 1,331.18GB
- AVISYNTH Version: 2.6.0.6, Ok
- LAVFILTERS: Ok
- X264: Ok
- X265: Ok
- AFTEN: Ok
- FAAC: Ok
- MP4BOX: Ok
- WAVI: Ok
- TSMUXER: Ok
- FRIMEncode: Ok
- FRIMDecode: Ok
[10/02/21] Systems Settings Check complete

LAST SETTINGS USED


THE FILE IN QUESTION OF THE EXTRA IN BD REBUILDER


THE ORIGINAL FILE CODEC INFO FROM VLC


THE SPED UP FILE CODEC INFO FROM VLC


MESSAGE THAT CAME OUT IN CAMTASIA WHILE IMPORTING THE SPED UP FILE TO CREATE THE SAMPLE (Does it mean anything that Camtasia detected the output as “High Frame Rate”?)


ORIGINAL VIDEO SAMPLE
https://youtu.be/1PCVyu4la00

SPED UP VIDEO SAMPLE
https://youtu.be/QAoe__M8kOI
Timmy256 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th January 2022, 14:10   #31113  |  Link
musiclover
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 142
@MrVideo:
Nightly tsMuxer build from 2022-01-24-02-07-36

"Allow muxing of pure EAC3 in Blu-rays"

See https://www.videohelp.com/software/tsMuxeR
musiclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th January 2022, 04:16   #31114  |  Link
MrVideo
Registered User
 
MrVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 2,016
I will test this. What caught my eye is the "pure" in your quote. To me that means EAC3 with an AC3 core.

Update: Works great in my Sony UBP-X800M2 bitstreamed to my Denon AVR-X8500H.

One step closer to getting BDRB working with these E-AC3 files, with no extra workarounds by Jdobbs.

Thanks for the tip about the release.

Last edited by MrVideo; 25th January 2022 at 06:52.
MrVideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th January 2022, 11:50   #31115  |  Link
gonca
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,143
If you replace tsmuxer and tsmuxer4k in the tools folder with the new one it should work.
I am doing imports successfully this way.

By the way,
pure E-AC3 means no core
gonca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2022, 03:47   #31116  |  Link
MrVideo
Registered User
 
MrVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 2,016
Quote:
Originally Posted by gonca View Post
If you replace tsmuxer and tsmuxer4k in the tools folder with the new one it should work.
I am doing imports successfully this way.
I don't see how, since BDRB detects that it is DD+ and does a recode. Jdobbs needs to change BDRB not to recode DD+ audio.
Quote:
By the way,
pure E-AC3 means no core
OK, just seems backwards to me. Pure to me means following the Dolby spec where DD+ has an AC3 core.

Over in the tsMuxer thread, there was one guy who tested this with his Oppo player and the player crashed. Ouch!
MrVideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2022, 10:03   #31117  |  Link
MrVideo
Registered User
 
MrVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 2,016
So, I tried to create a BD with three programs containing DD+. As I suspected, BDRB recoded the E-AC3 to mono AC3. At that point I then created three BD folders with tsMuxer. I renamed the three structures, appropriately to 1, 2 and 3. Copied over the renamed clip, play and m2ts files. I then edited the three playlists and repointed them to their appropriate m2ts files.

After putting the disc into the BD player, I selected one of the titles and the player went into stop mode, whereby I got the player's home screen.

No idea what I did wrong.

As a side note, I did not let BDRB do the backup stage. I used the pseudo, temporary, BD folder that was created by BDRB.
MrVideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2022, 12:01   #31118  |  Link
gonca
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,143
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrVideo View Post
I don't see how, since BDRB detects that it is DD+ and does a recode. Jdobbs needs to change BDRB not to recode DD+ audio.

OK, just seems backwards to me. Pure to me means following the Dolby spec where DD+ has an AC3 core.

Over in the tsMuxer thread, there was one guy who tested this with his Oppo player and the player crashed. Ouch!
I have done it, and it works
Replace tsmuxer and tsmuxer4k in the tools folder
Load your "mp4" with e-ac3 audio into tsMuxeR (standalone)
Create a BD folder
IMPORT that BD structure into BD_RB
gonca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2022, 12:27   #31119  |  Link
MrVideo
Registered User
 
MrVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 2,016
I have done the replace.

I have three files. I think I'm missing what BDRB can do. I have to look at something and get back to you.
MrVideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2022, 14:20   #31120  |  Link
MrVideo
Registered User
 
MrVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 2,016
OK. The LED bulb finally lit. You didn't catch what I was doing wrong and I finally caught on when you said the import the tsMuxer BD folder. I remembered something else that was mentioned in the thread, and was what was needed to be done in order to import more than one BD and that was to put all of the BDs in the same directory.

Once I did that, all was great.

Thanks for the help. It took some nudging, but I finally got there. This will be a lot easier when JDobb updates BDRB to do this. I know, wishful thinking, as it will help both of us and who know how many others.
MrVideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:57.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.