Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Yesterday, 19:48   #51501  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4,685
because a screen cost 400 bucks doesn't mean it can't be calibrated "perfectly".

if take a mastering display a cheap 400 buck calibrate them and put a out of the box 3k bucks TV next to them you have one that looks like garbage guess which one.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 21:08   #51502  |  Link
starlight2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 26
If i want Watch film 4k in the Fullhd with downscaling madvr...this is possible?this is best quality vs 1080p materials to display fhd? Thank you
starlight2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 21:12   #51503  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4,685
depends on the content but potential yes.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 22:03   #51504  |  Link
giulianoprs
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 15
I did not want to open a discussion for the "grain" that a certain film or TV series may have, I chose "the walking dead" just because in the registration phase there, I wanted to test the potential of madvr with determined situations, and thank all for the recommended advice and settings, unfortunately today the pc indeed windows 10 if blocked, no longer starts, that bad luck, I have to format and install all the software from the beginning, Ugh!
giulianoprs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 22:26   #51505  |  Link
Redemption80
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 12
Processing the grain out of remaster of old films is something that happens, but it usually gets met with so much abuse and one star rating for the BluRay etc... that it tends to put studios off too much tinkering. It still happens though.

I don't mind grain if it's not excessive but i will always favour a film source over a digital video source unless it's a sporting even.
I have even added it via post processing when dealing with lower quality sources as it helps hide other artefacts and creates the the illusion of more detail. I don't think that is the case with Walking Dead, i don't know about now, but to start with the show was filmed on 16mm film, which will always be grainy.

Anyway, that is not why i came her to post, and it's more of a question for Nvidia users.
is it just me, or does anyone else think we will be stuck with 390.77 forever.

I'm not much of a gamer these days, but i'm still considering going back to dual booting and creating a gaming and HTPC partition.

Last edited by Redemption80; Yesterday at 22:31.
Redemption80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 22:31   #51506  |  Link
amichaelt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dorohedoro View Post
Only is if the grain is the result of the director's intent.
Even if it wasn't, the grain can't be removed without impacting actual detail. One just has to look at the plasticky, waxy-faced Blu-rays that have been DNRed to see this. Or just watch the Terminator 2 Ultra-HD Blu-ray. It just looks like a waxy mess.
__________________
My project BDSup2Sub++: https://github.com/amichaeltm/BDSup2SubPlusPlus
amichaelt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 23:03   #51507  |  Link
JarrettH
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 827
Grain *is* the picture
JarrettH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 03:09   #51508  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2,783
Time to reign in the main topic boys.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 03:32   #51509  |  Link
Quiet
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 4
Okay, back to the topic.

Is it possible to use this kind of LUT's (.cube) in madVR by converting or directly:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/ezzdqrvjsj...elut.cube?dl=1
Quiet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 03:43   #51510  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4,685
the 3d lut has to be created from something. it's more likely you can create something from "this".
madVR supports eecolor or madVR 3D LUTs.

while it is clearly possible to create a 3d LUT from that file for madVR i doubt someone spends the time to write such a program.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 12:27   #51511  |  Link
mkohman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 16
Guys please don't shoot me for asking this question but I really need clarification in order to ensure I am using the correct setting when doing HDR to SDR in madVR...

In the calibration tab of madVR am I supposed to have the "display calibrated" checked and select BT2020 from the drop down menu or am I supposed to select "disable calibration control for this display"?

When disabled, playing HDR content really pops and the HDR looks amazing apart from people's faces being slightly reddish then usual with gamma set to 2.4 with my JVC with gamma set to normal that sorts it out but...

When I have "this display is calibrated" and I select BT2020 from the drop down menu on madVR then the HDR to SDR looks like normal SDR and the HDR effect is barely there....which is the correct setting that's needs to be applied in madVR please? Thank you..

Sent from my moto g(6) using Tapatalk
mkohman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 12:59   #51512  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4,685
did you calibrate your projector to bt2020.
if not you don't tell madVR that it is calibrated for that.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 13:10   #51513  |  Link
mkohman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
did you calibrate your projector to bt2020.
if not you don't tell madVR that it is calibrated for that.
Thank you.. No I haven't calibrated my JVC at all.. It's out the box as it is.. I take it that I don't tell madVR that it's calibrated and select the "disable calibration controls for this display"? Do you know how to sort out the overly saturated reds in the skin tones? Do I need to select Gamma as Normal as apposed to 2.4? Thanks

Here is what my JVC information is displaying.. It still says BT2020 but SDR as I am converting HDR to SDR with madVR does that look OK?

Sent from my moto g(6) using Tapatalk
mkohman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 13:32   #51514  |  Link
Ver Greeneyes
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 425
The option "disable calibration controls for this display" just makes madVR do slightly less work to present correct colors, the idea being that if your display isn't calibrated then anything madVR does to correct the color output is a waste of time. But if your display is calibrated to a particular standard out of the box and you think it's reasonably accurate, you should select "this display is already calibrated" so madVR does the extra work. The performance difference isn't big.
Ver Greeneyes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 13:35   #51515  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4,685
your display claims the input signal is bt2020.
there could be a lot of reason for that one for example you told your projector the input colorspace is bt2020 in this case madVR should be set to bt 2020 too.
than we have a line saying HDR type SDR and HDR meta data...
what ever is going on here this is not what SDR should provide.

i can't tell you anything about gamma here gamma 2.4 without calibration is just something unknown same for normal could be gamma 2.14 with a "nice" S curve.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 13:45   #51516  |  Link
mkohman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
your display claims the input signal is bt2020.
there could be a lot of reason for that one for example you told your projector the input colorspace is bt2020 in this case madVR should be set to bt 2020 too.
than we have a line saying HDR type SDR and HDR meta data...
what ever is going on here this is not what SDR should provide.

i can't tell you anything about gamma here gamma 2.4 without calibration is just something unknown same for normal could be gamma 2.14 with a "nice" S curve.
The movie being displayed is 4K HDR.. I am using RGB FULL 4.4.4 on my GPU end at 12bit colour.. The projector can do BT2020 for HDR and REC709 for SDR..

What I am doing is converting HDR to SDR with madVR in order to get a better tone mapping as the HDR mode in JVC projectors are dark and not very pleasing..

As mentioned before with the colours space set to BT2020 in madVR, the image looks like SDR but when it's not selected (disable calibration controls for this display) then with HDR movies the colours pop and seem very nice apart from skin tones being slightly red than usual..

What I am asking is for those who use madVR to convert HDR to SDR, do you select the display calibration option for this display or select this display is not calibrated? Thanks.. Hope this makes sense... Name:  MVIMG_20180611_003440985.jpeg
Views: 1
Size:  74.5 KBName:  MVIMG_20180611_003632726.jpeg
Views: 1
Size:  60.4 KBName:  MVIMG_20180611_003554650.jpeg
Views: 1
Size:  60.9 KB

Sent from my moto g(6) using Tapatalk
mkohman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 14:06   #51517  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4,685
your projector is currently saying SDR with HDR meta data and BT 2020.

and here i repeat again the projector thinks the input is BT 2020 and if this is true you will get messed up colors when SDR is send without telling madVR your device expects BT 2020 resulting is messed up skin colors and a vivid mode like colors. because madVr will convert the input source to BT 709 for SDR.

the calibration tap depends on your screens setting and behaviour not if you are using HDR->SDR conversation or not.

there is only one major difference between SDR and HDR and that is brightness.

so if you want a brighter image on a screen that can't even do SDR brightness like most projector try a lower gamma or a lower peak display nits setting. "colors" are the same between SDR and HDR.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 14:54   #51518  |  Link
mkohman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
your projector is currently saying SDR with HDR meta data and BT 2020.

and here i repeat again the projector thinks the input is BT 2020 and if this is true you will get messed up colors when SDR is send without telling madVR your device expects BT 2020 resulting is messed up skin colors and a vivid mode like colors. because madVr will convert the input source to BT 709 for SDR.

the calibration tap depends on your screens setting and behaviour not if you are using HDR->SDR conversation or not.

there is only one major difference between SDR and HDR and that is brightness.

so if you want a brighter image on a screen that can't even do SDR brightness like most projector try a lower gamma or a lower peak display nits setting. "colors" are the same between SDR and HDR.
Ok thanks for your help.. In that case are you suggesting that I should have BT2020 selected on madVR as well then? Thanks

Sent from my moto g(6) using Tapatalk
mkohman is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 14:59.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.