Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > (HD) DVD, Blu-ray & (S)VCD > DVD & BD Rebuilder

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 3rd November 2012, 06:25   #16061  |  Link
Crocluvr92
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 54
Yes, just not these titles:

V for Vendetta
The Matrix
Iron Man 2
Blood Diamond
Constantine
Crocluvr92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd November 2012, 09:03   #16062  |  Link
lukappaseidue
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 7
WINDOWS 8 compatibility issue

Hi everybody.
I've just installed latest release ob BD-Rebuilder but ,it seems that with WINDOWS 8 pro, the software doesn't start. Any solution to solve?
Thank You very much
lukappaseidue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd November 2012, 14:34   #16063  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,664
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crocluvr92 View Post
Yes, just not these titles:

V for Vendetta
The Matrix
Iron Man 2
Blood Diamond
Constantine
I've done all of those movies. In fact "The Matrix" is one of the test discs I keep on my harddrive and do for virtually every release.

I would suggest you completely remove HAALI, AVISYNTH, and FFDSHOW -- and they reinstall them all exactly as instructed in the first post of this thread.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd November 2012, 15:13   #16064  |  Link
setarip_old
Registered User
 
setarip_old's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 16,270
@lukappaseidue

Hi!

The following (from Post #1 in this thread) is likely required for proper installation under Windows 8:
Quote:
Note to Windows 7 Users: The first time (and only the first time) you run BD Rebuilder, you may have to "Run As Administrator". This is necessary so BD-RB can make CODEC preference changes in the Windows Registry.
setarip_old is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd November 2012, 15:43   #16065  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,664
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crocluvr92 View Post
Yes, just not these titles:

V for Vendetta
The Matrix
Iron Man 2
Blood Diamond
Constantine
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
I've done all of those movies. In fact "The Matrix" is one of the test discs I keep on my harddrive and do for virtually every release.

I would suggest you completely remove HAALI, AVISYNTH, and FFDSHOW -- and they reinstall them all exactly as instructed in the first post of this thread.
I'm running "The Matrix" right now just to be sure -- it has already completed the secondary video encode with no issues.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2012, 00:02   #16066  |  Link
lukappaseidue
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by setarip_old View Post
@lukappaseidue

Hi!

The following (from Post #1 in this thread) is likely required for proper installation under Windows 8:
thank you very much for your reply
I've followed the instruction of 1st page, but with no luck. the 1st time of usage a windows show ...OCX not registered.... soon after I tryed to "run as adiministrator".... but the system freeze
lukappaseidue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2012, 14:03   #16067  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,664
Quote:
Originally Posted by lukappaseidue View Post
thank you very much for your reply
I've followed the instruction of 1st page, but with no luck. the 1st time of usage a windows show ...OCX not registered.... soon after I tryed to "run as adiministrator".... but the system freeze
Aren't you glad you decided to upgrade to Windows 8 before the bugs are worked out?

I personally will wait until they wring it out. There has never been a clean major release of Windows (that I can remember) that didn't require patching after the first "final release" -- and I go all the way back to v1.00 in the 1980's. You can follow this very thread and see the issues they caused in Vista and Windows 7.

What OCX is it mentioning? There are several.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net

Last edited by jdobbs; 4th November 2012 at 14:07.
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2012, 14:51   #16068  |  Link
slimm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 9
It's running fine for me under Windows 8. I had to right click on the
REG_MSCOMCTL.BAT file and select "run as administrator".
slimm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2012, 15:02   #16069  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,664
Quote:
Originally Posted by slimm View Post
It's running fine for me under Windows 8. I had to right click on the
REG_MSCOMCTL.BAT file and select "run as administrator".
So that means that Windows 8 no longer includes the MSCOMCTL.OCX as a part of its standard distribution. Interesting. I added that .BAT file because some distributions (not all) of Vista & Windows 7 had that issue.

I'll add that step to the installation instructions.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2012, 16:23   #16070  |  Link
klas
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 42
But I think it is very slow.It is necessaryt to optimize for windows 8.
The extracting it is very, very slow.

Regards and zhanks for the program
klas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2012, 16:28   #16071  |  Link
lukappaseidue
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by slimm View Post
It's running fine for me under Windows 8. I had to right click on the
REG_MSCOMCTL.BAT file and select "run as administrator".
thank You very much
I will try e let you know
lukappaseidue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2012, 17:12   #16072  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,664
Quote:
Originally Posted by klas View Post
But I think it is very slow.It is necessaryt to optimize for windows 8.
The extracting it is very, very slow.

Regards and zhanks for the program
That has absolutely nothing to do with BD Rebuilder. Call Microsoft and tell them their new operating system sucks and is slower than Windows 7.

Do they know how ridiculous it is for someone to have to "optimize their code" for a new release of an operating system? How do you think Apple would fair if suddenly those 10,000+ apps for the iPad stopped working because they needed to be "optimized"?

I realize Microsoft owns the PC world right now -- but based on their attitude and lack of vision, I have doubts this will still be a M$ world in 5 years.

...stepping down off my soapbox.


By the way -- if it is slow, you typically want to check some of the security or search settings. For example, you will find that a drive that has indexing enabled (look at its properties) is significantly slower than one without -- and frankly it really doesn't give you much in return. I also find that disabling anti-virus software when I'm running jobs makes a lot of difference too. Any new "security features" in Windows 8? If so, try disabling them.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net

Last edited by jdobbs; 4th November 2012 at 17:19.
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2012, 23:31   #16073  |  Link
abbadon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 72
you should add Windows 8 to list of issues you don't support, would make life a lot easier
__________________
Win7x64...I had to...

RIP WinXP
abbadon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th November 2012, 13:52   #16074  |  Link
lukappaseidue
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by slimm View Post
It's running fine for me under Windows 8. I had to right click on the
REG_MSCOMCTL.BAT file and select "run as administrator".


systen still crashing


I've followed the "slimm" step:
Fist I've deleted BD_Rebuilder....
then unzipped the archive
Run "AS administrator" REG_MSCOMCTL.BAT
First time a window show that there is no MSCOMCTL.OCX
So i 've copyied the ocx file in windows directory a and system32 too.
again Run "AS administrator" REG_MSCOMCTL.BAT
and it was ok.
so, last step, I "run as administrator BDRB..
no luck.... system crash again (need to push reset button)
lukappaseidue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th November 2012, 13:54   #16075  |  Link
[SLiM]D12
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 127
Quote:
Originally Posted by lukappaseidue View Post
systen still crashing


I've followed the "slimm" step:
Fist I've deleted BD_Rebuilder....
then unzipped the archive
Run "AS administrator" REG_MSCOMCTL.BAT
First time a window show that there is no MSCOMCTL.OCX
So i 've copyied the ocx file in windows directory a and system32 too.
again Run "AS administrator" REG_MSCOMCTL.BAT
and it was ok.
so, last step, I "run as administrator BDRB..
no luck.... system crash again (need to push reset button)
It's something in your setup. I've been using BD-RB in windows 8 since the original RC1 win8 release. I'm now using the RTM on more than one machine without any issues at all.
__________________
[SLiM]
[SLiM]D12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th November 2012, 13:59   #16076  |  Link
lukappaseidue
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by [SLiM]D12 View Post
It's something in your setup. I've been using BD-RB in windows 8 since the original RC1 win8 release. I'm now using the RTM on more than one machine without any issues at all.
Please, could You let me know how Have You do it (step by step)?
Thank You

EDIT:


..... now it is ok.... just the time to go to bathroom, back again and see (after minutes, about 5) the application

Last edited by lukappaseidue; 5th November 2012 at 14:22.
lukappaseidue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th November 2012, 00:20   #16077  |  Link
klas
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by lukappaseidue View Post
systen still crashing


I've followed the "slimm" step:
Fist I've deleted BD_Rebuilder....
then unzipped the archive
Run "AS administrator" REG_MSCOMCTL.BAT
First time a window show that there is no MSCOMCTL.OCX
So i 've copyied the ocx file in windows directory a and system32 too.
again Run "AS administrator" REG_MSCOMCTL.BAT
and it was ok.
so, last step, I "run as administrator BDRB..
no luck.... system crash again (need to push reset button)
Zhank you very much
Regards
klas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th November 2012, 07:31   #16078  |  Link
omegaman7
Registered User
 
omegaman7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA, Oregon
Posts: 791
I plan to run Windows 8 for testing purposes soon. I seriously doubt I come across any problems, given how I like to run my OS's I disable the administrative crap. I'm the only one who uses my computer. They should almost ask this upon install. So we don't have to deal with this silly... stuff! And it sounds like more than a few are successfully using windows 8 and BD-Rebuilder.

Once again, I've stopped receiving updates to this thread. I guess I need to post here every so often :S I'm still running 4203, because I received no update. I should know better though

The program just works 99.9% of the time Heck, even Dvd rebuilder encounters the occasional problem. I forget what the last one was. Oh, that's right. It was an unstable Ram overclock. Oddly, it and another, were the only programs affected by it. (so technically, it wasn't the programs fault, an overclock was to blame).
__________________
Only one rooster, need be in the hen house...
omegaman7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th November 2012, 17:52   #16079  |  Link
lauguru
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 241
hello jdobbs
could be added in the next version of bd-rebuilder origin - iso folder?
thanks
lauguru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th November 2012, 18:42   #16080  |  Link
Ch3vr0n
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,348
why? Just use a virtual drive like "Virtual Clone Drive" available on slysoft.com, mount the iso, point BDRB to the virtual drive & done
Ch3vr0n is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 13:04.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.