Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > Avisynth Development

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 8th September 2018, 18:46   #41  |  Link
videoh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 600
I have my first pipeline running and the performance is off the charts:

http://rationalqm.us/board/viewtopic...1&p=8916#p8916
videoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th September 2018, 18:59   #42  |  Link
ChaosKing
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 494
Are you planning to use OpenCL someday or is CUDA and OpenCL too different?
__________________
Search and denoise
ChaosKing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th September 2018, 20:00   #43  |  Link
videoh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 600
I don't know very much about OpenGL, but I wouldn't rule it out. I'm not sure how OpenGL will interoperate with NVDec (CUVID). I was going to take some time to add MKV support to DGIndex/MPEG2Source next. I can look into it after that. Thank you for suggesting it.

Last edited by videoh; 8th September 2018 at 20:03.
videoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th September 2018, 20:28   #44  |  Link
ChaosKing
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 494
Cool, if you chnage your mind here are two OpenCL filters:
https://github.com/HomeOfVapourSynth...Synth-NNEDI3CL
https://github.com/Khanattila/KNLMeansCL

As far as I know OpenCL is like an open version of cuda. It runs a bit faster on amd cards but nvidia is catching up.
__________________
Search and denoise
ChaosKing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th September 2018, 20:36   #45  |  Link
videoh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 600
Thanks. I don't have to change my mind; it's just a matter of current priorities. Onward and upward.
videoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th September 2018, 08:14   #46  |  Link
kypec
User of free A/V tools
 
kypec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: SK
Posts: 827
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChaosKing View Post
Are you planning to use OpenCL someday or is CUDA and OpenCL too different?
Quote:
Originally Posted by videoh View Post
I don't know very much about OpenGL, but I wouldn't rule it out. I'm not sure how OpenGL will interoperate with NVDec (CUVID).
Probably just a typo but be sure to not confuse OpenCL with OpenGL
kypec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2018, 08:14   #47  |  Link
hydra3333
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: crow-land
Posts: 517
This initiative seems to be motoring along nicely in development stage, some handy filters already enabled (source, denoise, sharpen, HDR10toSDR), some in the pipeline, and very interesting end-to-end speeds.
http://rationalqm.us/board/viewtopic...start=40#p8988 was asking for suggestions for useful open-source filters to be ported to the "gpu pipeline" concept in which frames apparently aren't constantly consuming time and bandwidth shuttling between gpu and cpu.
One filter's source code seems to be included in the development-stage download.
hydra3333 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2018, 10:49   #48  |  Link
Seedmanc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Russia
Posts: 82
Speaking about 10 and CUDA, did anybody manage to get CUDA working on Win10? It just won't appear anywhere as available despite drivers reinstall and even installing the CUDA devkit. Same card (GTX 1060) works fine under Win7.
Seedmanc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2018, 15:37   #49  |  Link
videoh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 600
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seedmanc View Post
Speaking about 10 and CUDA, did anybody manage to get CUDA working on Win10? It just won't appear anywhere as available despite drivers reinstall and even installing the CUDA devkit. Same card (GTX 1060) works fine under Win7.
Of course CUDA works under Win10!

What do you mean by "it just won't appear anywhere as available"? What are you expecting to see?
videoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2018, 15:59   #50  |  Link
Seedmanc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Russia
Posts: 82
Well there's no checkbox in CUDA capability in GPU-Z, CUDA decoding isn't available in LAVfilters, Waifu2x crashes when CUDA enabled and so on. All that works in win7.
Google only shows some years old threads about Nvidia disabling CUDA in Win10, I guess I'm stuck in the past then.
Seedmanc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2018, 16:03   #51  |  Link
videoh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 600
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seedmanc View Post
Nvidia disabling CUDA in in10
Nonsensical FUD.
videoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2018, 16:14   #52  |  Link
amichaelt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seedmanc View Post
Well there's no checkbox in CUDA capability in GPU-Z, CUDA decoding isn't available in LAVfilters, Waifu2x crashes when CUDA enabled and so on. All that works in win7.
Google only shows some years old threads about Nvidia disabling CUDA in Win10, I guess I'm stuck in the past then.
No you're not. CUDA is fully supported in Windows 10.



This is why you don't rely on random Internet threads when you could have just gone to Nvidia's own website and gotten the actual facts.
__________________
My project BDSup2Sub++: https://github.com/amichaeltm/BDSup2SubPlusPlus
amichaelt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2018, 16:54   #53  |  Link
gonca
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Scarborough, Canada
Posts: 822
Quote:
Well there's no checkbox in CUDA capability in GPU-Z
Yes there is
Attached Images
 
gonca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2018, 17:14   #54  |  Link
videoh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 600
Probably he means it's there but it is unchecked.

I'd like to know what driver version he is using, and whether it is a laptop. There have been issues with laptops.

Last edited by videoh; 9th October 2018 at 17:20.
videoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2018, 18:15   #55  |  Link
Seedmanc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Russia
Posts: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by videoh View Post
Probably he means it's there but it is unchecked.

I'd like to know what driver version he is using, and whether it is a laptop. There have been issues with laptops.
Win10 has 399.24, strangely enough, the system info option on Nvidia CP shows CUDA as being installed. But when I select CUVID in LAVFilters it crashes. Sometimes Firefox reports that it "has been blocked access to videocard" even though I'm not watching video at the moment or anything.

It's a desktop, my mobo is Asus P8Z68 VLX. I have Win7 and Win10 installed on separate drives.

One thing I can think of is that my Win10 might be quite old since I've disabled all updates and whatnot seeing how their results usually range from inconvenience to destruction anyway. But then same applies to my Win7 installation and that one works fine for many years already. On Win7 I have 378.78 drivers.
Seedmanc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2018, 19:29   #56  |  Link
videoh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 600
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seedmanc View Post
One thing I can think of is that my Win10 might be quite old since I've disabled all updates
That's probably it. Early versions of Win10 did not support CUDA. You should update it. Make a system backup and then you can revert if needed. Win 10 has always been rock solid for me on 4 different machines with updates enabled.

Last edited by videoh; 9th October 2018 at 19:31.
videoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2018, 00:08   #57  |  Link
hydra3333
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: crow-land
Posts: 517
Isn't driver version 416.16 out ?
https://www.nvidia.com/Download/index.aspx?lang=en-us
hydra3333 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2018, 00:46   #58  |  Link
hydra3333
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: crow-land
Posts: 517
to quote from the latest release notes from alpha v0.2
Quote:
To give an idea of the performance gain possible, for a real-world script, using a pipeline increased the frame rate by over 300%, transforming a sub-real-time process to a real-time one.
.
.
.
Compared to the case where data is always transferred back to the GPU, i.e., when fsrc and fdst are all specified as "cpu", four full frame copies CPU<-->GPU and two copies to Avisynth+/Vapoursynth are eliminated.
Potential 300% speed-up is a substantial improvement by everyone's standards.

Last edited by hydra3333; 10th October 2018 at 00:48.
hydra3333 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2018, 02:36   #59  |  Link
videoh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 600
Quote:
Originally Posted by hydra3333 View Post
Potential 300% speed-up is a substantial improvement by everyone's standards.
And with a reduction in CPU utilization! We have to find a way to recruit more coders to make CUDA/CUDASynth filters. That's why the source code examples are so important. I may have to start porting core filters.

Last edited by videoh; 10th October 2018 at 02:38.
videoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2018, 02:38   #60  |  Link
videoh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 600
Quote:
Originally Posted by hydra3333 View Post
It is, but the poster says he has a very early Win 10, which may not be playing nice with the up-to-date nVidia drivers.
videoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.