Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Audio encoding

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 13th October 2017, 11:07   #14381  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 6,890
To sumarize the problem here.

I found two kind of EAC3 streams detected by eac3to without core (2 English) or with core (3 Spanish) like is show here (sample):

Code:
eac3to Eac30.m2ts
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
M2TS, 1 video track, 2 audio tracks, 0:01:23, 24p /1.001
1: h264/AVC, 1080p24 /1.001 (16:9)
2: E-AC3, English, 5.1 channels, 640kbps, 48kHz
3: E-AC3, Spanish, 7.1 channels, 768kbps, 48kHz, dialnorm: -27dB
   (core: AC3, 5.1 channels, 448kbps, 48kHz, dialnorm: -27dB)
Over this m2ts we can do, adding or not the -core, some times [ignored]:

eac3to Eac30.m2ts 2: output.eac3 [-core] -> OK eac3 output
eac3to Eac30.m2ts 2: output.ac3 [-core] -> OK recoded to ac3

All ok over track 2

eac3to Eac30.m2ts 3: output.eac3 -> ERROR
eac3to Eac30.m2ts 3: output.eac3 -core -> OK AC3.eac3 output
eac3to Eac30.m2ts 3: output.ac3 -> ERROR
eac3to Eac30.m2ts 3: output.ac3 -core -> useless, recoded core

Over track 3, can't extract or recode (maybe because: Dependent substream decoding is not implemented) the full eac3.
Can extract a perfect AC3 core (when demand eac3 extensión) or recode the core (useless)

Now the same m2ts converted to mkv with MkvToolNix is show by eac3to like:

Code:
eac3to Eac30.mkv
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
MKV, 1 video track, 2 audio tracks, 0:01:23, 24p /1.001
1: h264/AVC, English, 1080p24 /1.001 (16:9)
2: EAC3, English, 5.1 channels, 48kHz
3: EAC3, Spanish, 5.1 channels, 48kHz
Bitstream parsing for tracks 2 and 3 failed.  <WARNING>
Demuxing these tracks may still produce correct results - or not.  <WARNING>
And now:

eac3to Eac30.mkv 2: output.eac3 [-core] -> OK eac3 output
eac3to Eac30.mkv 2: output.ac3 [-core] -> ERROR

eac3to Eac30.mkv 3: output.eac3 [-core] -> OK eac3 output
eac3to Eac30.mkv 3: output.ac3 [-core] -> ERROR

Can extract both tracks but never decode/recode

EDIT:
Decoding track 3 with ffmpeg show always (from m2ts or mkv) the message: Dependent substream decoding is not implemented.
Then MkvToolNix don't extract the AC3 core, preserve the substream to convert 5.1 -> 7.1 even when eac3to show only 5.1 on mkv.
Remuxed the mkv to m2ts with tsMuxeR the track 3 is showed by eac3to like original Eac30.m2ts

Without free tools to decode EAC3 7.1 (always decode the core) the recommended option, by now, is extract the core from m2ts
eac3to Eac30.m2ts 3: output.eac3 -core
and rename to .ac3
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder.

Last edited by tebasuna51; 13th October 2017 at 12:12. Reason: add info
tebasuna51 is offline  
Old 13th October 2017, 11:12   #14382  |  Link
mini-moose
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 385
thanks Madshi for the great tool!

I think there are a few things that may/could use some updating:

1) E-AC3 audios with embedded Core (mentioned before)
2) libFLAC (very old version used, maybe worth updating)
3) libDcaDec (I think it's part of ffmpeg now?)
mini-moose is offline  
Old 13th October 2017, 12:30   #14383  |  Link
SeeMoreDigital
Life's clearer in 4K UHD
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Notts, UK
Posts: 12,219
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
To sumarize the problem here.

I found two kind of EAC3 streams detected by eac3to without core (2 English) or with core (3 Spanish) like is show here (sample):
Hi @tebasuna51,

It would seem that most if not all our current tools are unable to correctly identify Dolby Digital Plus audio streams

Have you noticed that when you run your 'Eac30.m2ts' sample file through TSmuxerGUI that it reports the first audio track as having 17 channels. And when you run the same file through MediaInfo it's unable to detect the AC3 cores at all. Or identify that the second audio track has been encoded with 7.1 channels.

By contrast, my Oppo UDP-203 is able to identify the first audio track as being a 5.1 channel Dolby Digital Plus stream and second audio track as being a 7.1 channel Dolby Digital Plus stream. But neither of my LG 'smart' TV's (which support Dolby Digital Plus) are able to detect either of the audio streams at all (ie: total silence). But my Panasonic 'smart' TV can detect the first audio stream.


Cheers
__________________
| I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout & A/V Gear |

Last edited by SeeMoreDigital; 13th October 2017 at 12:33.
SeeMoreDigital is online now  
Old 13th October 2017, 21:29   #14384  |  Link
zeropc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 114
madshi, can you please bring back the feature to show the applied delay/ amount x delay could not be fixed in the log?

this was actually quite helpful when syncing/editing audio.

thanks
zeropc is offline  
Old 13th October 2017, 22:57   #14385  |  Link
Snowknight26
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,430
It's still there.
Snowknight26 is offline  
Old 14th October 2017, 09:21   #14386  |  Link
zeropc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snowknight26 View Post
It's still there.
nope

Code:
eac3to v3.32
command line: "C:\Users\zeropc\Desktop\eac3to 3.32\eac3to.exe" "H:\xmen atmos.mkv" 2: "H:\x\xa1.thd" +18ms
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
MKV, 1 video track, 3 audio tracks, 29 subtitle tracks, 2:23:58, 24p /1.001
1: h265/HEVC, 3840x1600 24p /1.001 (12:5), 10 bits
2: TrueHD (Atmos), English, 7.1 channels, 48kHz
3: AC3, English, 5.1 channels, 640kbps, 48kHz
4: AAC, English, 2.0 channels, 48kHz, 9ms
   "Commentary with director Bryan Singer and writer Simon Kinberg"
5: Subtitle (PGS), English, "Forced"
6: Subtitle (PGS), English, "SDH"
7: Subtitle (PGS), Spanish
8: Subtitle (PGS), French
9: Subtitle (PGS), French
10: Subtitle (PGS), Spanish
11: Subtitle (PGS), Danish
12: Subtitle (PGS), Dutch
13: Subtitle (PGS), Finnish
14: Subtitle (PGS), German
15: Subtitle (PGS), Italian
16: Subtitle (PGS), Norwegian
17: Subtitle (PGS), Swedish
18: Subtitle (PGS), Chinese
19: Subtitle (PGS), Chinese
20: Subtitle (PGS), Japanese
21: Subtitle (PGS), English, "Commentary"
22: Subtitle (PGS), Spanish, "Commentary"
23: Subtitle (PGS), French, "Commentary"
24: Subtitle (PGS), French, "Commentary"
25: Subtitle (PGS), Spanish, "Commentary"
26: Subtitle (PGS), Danish, "Commentary"
27: Subtitle (PGS), Dutch, "Commentary"
28: Subtitle (PGS), Finnish, "Commentary"
29: Subtitle (PGS), German, "Commentary"
30: Subtitle (PGS), Italian, "Commentary"
31: Subtitle (PGS), Japanese, "Commentary"
32: Subtitle (PGS), Norwegian, "Commentary"
33: Subtitle (PGS), Swedish, "Commentary"
[a02] Extracting audio track number 2...
[a02] Creating file "H:\x\xa1.thd"...
Video track 1 contains 207088 frames.
eac3to processing took 16 minutes, 6 seconds.
Done.
zeropc is offline  
Old 14th October 2017, 13:28   #14387  |  Link
hubblec4
Matroska find' ich toll
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,370
Feature request

Hi madshi

Is it possible that eac3to scan the sup tracks and find forced sup's before I demux the sup track.

While eac3to scans the mpls (all tracks are listed) and for the sup tracks, you could add an info "forced sup's detected".
Code:
M2TS, 1 video track, 3 audio tracks, 10 subtitle tracks, 0:43:05, 24p /1.001
1: Chapters, 8 chapters
2: h264/AVC, 1080p24 /1.001 (16:9)
3: DTS Master Audio, English, 5.1 channels, 16 bits, 48kHz
   (core: DTS, 5.1 channels, 1509kbps, 48kHz)
4: DTS Master Audio, German, 5.1 channels, 16 bits, 48kHz
   (core: DTS, 5.1 channels, 1509kbps, 48kHz)
5: DTS Master Audio, Spanish, 5.1 channels, 16 bits, 48kHz
   (core: DTS, 5.1 channels, 1509kbps, 48kHz)
6: Subtitle (PGS), English
7: Subtitle (PGS), English
8: Subtitle (PGS), Danish
9: Subtitle (PGS), Finnish
10: Subtitle (PGS), German, forced detected
11: Subtitle (PGS), Hindi
12: Subtitle (PGS), Norwegian
13: Subtitle (PGS), Spanish
14: Subtitle (PGS), Swedish
15: Subtitle (PGS), Turkish
Really great would be if you could add a new "virtual" forced-sup track to the track list. Demux the forced-sup brings only the forced sups.

Code:
M2TS, 1 video track, 3 audio tracks, 10 subtitle tracks, 0:43:05, 24p /1.001
1: Chapters, 8 chapters
2: h264/AVC, 1080p24 /1.001 (16:9)
3: DTS Master Audio, English, 5.1 channels, 16 bits, 48kHz
   (core: DTS, 5.1 channels, 1509kbps, 48kHz)
4: DTS Master Audio, German, 5.1 channels, 16 bits, 48kHz
   (core: DTS, 5.1 channels, 1509kbps, 48kHz)
5: DTS Master Audio, Spanish, 5.1 channels, 16 bits, 48kHz
   (core: DTS, 5.1 channels, 1509kbps, 48kHz)
6: Subtitle (PGS), English
7: Subtitle (PGS), English
8: Subtitle (PGS), Danish
9: Subtitle (PGS), Finnish
10: Subtitle (PGS), German
11: Subtitle (PGS), Hindi
12: Subtitle (PGS), Norwegian
13: Subtitle (PGS), Spanish
14: Subtitle (PGS), Swedish
15: Subtitle (PGS), Turkish
16: Subtitle (PGS), German, forced
LG,
hubble

Last edited by hubblec4; 14th October 2017 at 13:31.
hubblec4 is offline  
Old 14th October 2017, 16:11   #14388  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 6,890
Quote:
Originally Posted by mini-moose View Post
2) libFLAC (very old version used, maybe worth updating)
You can replace libFLAC.dll with libFLAC_dynamic.dll (renamed) from
http://www.rarewares.org/files/lossl...170314-icl.zip

Quote:
3) libDcaDec (I think it's part of ffmpeg now?)
Yes, that was requested already.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SeeMoreDigital View Post
It would seem that most if not all our current tools are unable to correctly identify Dolby Digital Plus audio streams

Have you noticed that when you run your 'Eac30.m2ts' sample file through TSmuxerGUI that it reports the first audio track as having 17 channels.
Yep.

Just by curiosity I check some tsMuxeR versions and the first audio track is:
tsMuxeR 1.8.8: track not recognized
tsMuxeR 2.6.9: channels 94
tsMuxeR 2.6.11 or 12: channels 91

What is your version than show 17 channels?.

Quote:
Originally Posted by zeropc View Post
madshi, can you please bring back the feature to show the applied delay/ amount x delay could not be fixed in the log?

this was actually quite helpful when syncing/editing audio.
I don't see differences between log in 3.31 and 3.32 with this command.

BTW is know than eac3to can't delay thd tracks.
Only decoding that delay can be applied.

Quote:
Originally Posted by hubblec4 View Post
Is it possible that eac3to scan the sup tracks and find forced sup's before I demux the sup track.
The first scan must be quick, a depth scan becomes slow.
When you demux these tracks the log show the forced captions found.

For me is enough, there are other tools to manage sup's.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder.
tebasuna51 is offline  
Old 14th October 2017, 17:38   #14389  |  Link
SeeMoreDigital
Life's clearer in 4K UHD
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Notts, UK
Posts: 12,219
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
Just by curiosity I check some tsMuxeR versions and the first audio track is:
tsMuxeR 1.8.8: track not recognized
tsMuxeR 2.6.9: channels 94
tsMuxeR 2.6.11 or 12: channels 91

What is your version than show 17 channels?.
Hi @tebasuna51,

I'm using tsMuxeR GUI 2.6.12. But I've just noticed that if you drop the same 'Eac30.m2ts' file into the application, then remove it, and re-add it, the application reports different information...


Cheers (oh bugger... I've run out of beer )
__________________
| I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout & A/V Gear |
SeeMoreDigital is online now  
Old 14th October 2017, 18:44   #14390  |  Link
Q-the-STORM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
Now the same m2ts converted to mkv with MkvToolNix is show by eac3to like:

Code:
eac3to Eac30.mkv
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
MKV, 1 video track, 2 audio tracks, 0:01:23, 24p /1.001
1: h264/AVC, English, 1080p24 /1.001 (16:9)
2: EAC3, English, 5.1 channels, 48kHz
3: EAC3, Spanish, 5.1 channels, 48kHz
Bitstream parsing for tracks 2 and 3 failed.  <WARNING>
Demuxing these tracks may still produce correct results - or not.  <WARNING>
And now:

eac3to Eac30.mkv 2: output.eac3 [-core] -> OK eac3 output
eac3to Eac30.mkv 2: output.ac3 [-core] -> ERROR

eac3to Eac30.mkv 3: output.eac3 [-core] -> OK eac3 output
eac3to Eac30.mkv 3: output.ac3 [-core] -> ERROR

Can extract both tracks but never decode/recode
btw decode/recode should work after you demuxed eac3 and renamed to ac3....

So:
eac3to Eac30.mkv 2: output.eac3
then
rename to output.ac3
then
eac3to output.ac3 output2.wav -whatever


At least it works with my files that have eac3 tracks and no core. I always need to demux and rename, then decoding and recoding work.

That seems like a eac3to bug to me.
Q-the-STORM is offline  
Old 14th October 2017, 23:56   #14391  |  Link
hubblec4
Matroska find' ich toll
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,370
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
The first scan must be quick, a depth scan becomes slow.
When you demux these tracks the log show the forced captions found.

For me is enough, there are other tools to manage sup's.
I know but all other tools can't read sup's from the m2ts file. You have to extract them first.

I hope madshi has also the Bluray-specs and can do what makemkv does. There is not long scan to identify the forced sup's.
hubblec4 is offline  
Old 15th October 2017, 06:50   #14392  |  Link
Megalith
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 131
Anyone know of a GUI that is still regularly updated? It seems like most of them have been abandoned.
Megalith is offline  
Old 15th October 2017, 10:03   #14393  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 6,890
Quote:
Originally Posted by Q-the-STORM View Post
So:
eac3to Eac30.mkv 2: output.eac3
then
rename to output.ac3
then
eac3to output.ac3 output2.wav -whatever
Yep with track 2, with track 3 don't work.
And you don't need rename, eac3to identify the stream by the header not by extension, work fine also:

eac3to Eac30.mkv 2: output2.eac3
then
eac3to output2.eac3 output2.wav

With track 3:

eac3to Eac30.mkv 3: output3.eac3
then
eac3to output3.eac3 output3.wav -->
Code:
E-AC3, 7.1 channels, 0:01:23, 768kbps, 48kHz, dialnorm: -27dB
(core: AC3, 5.1 channels, 0:01:23, 448kbps, 48kHz, dialnorm: -27dB)
Removing AC3 dialog normalization...
Extracting E-AC3 core...
Decoding with libav/ffmpeg...
[libav] frame CRC mismatch  <WARNING>
[libav] get_buffer() failed  <WARNING>
The libav decoder reported error -22 while decoding.  <ERROR>
Aborted at file position 262144.  <ERROR>
You need:

ffmpeg -drc_scale 0 -i output3.eac3 -acodec pcm_s24le output3.wav
Quote:
...
[eac3 @ 00000000006bf5e0] Dependent substream decoding is not implemented.
Update your FFmpeg version to the newest one from Git.
If the problem still occurs, it means that your file has a feature which has not been implemented.
...
Or directly from the mkv:

ffmpeg -drc_scale 0 -i Eac30.mkv -map 0:2 -acodec pcm_s24le output3.wav

with the same WARNING
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder.
tebasuna51 is offline  
Old 15th October 2017, 10:15   #14394  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 6,890
Quote:
Originally Posted by Megalith View Post
Anyone know of a GUI that is still regularly updated? It seems like most of them have been abandoned.
HdBrStreamExtractor is updated in MeGUI -> Tools -> HD Streams Extractor

Quote:
MeGUI v2771 [HD Streams Extractor] added support for HEVC video tracks (requires eac3to 3.32+)
[Muxer] added support for the h265 file extension
Or UsEac3to v1.2.7

All other GUI's are abandoned.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder.
tebasuna51 is offline  
Old 15th October 2017, 10:40   #14395  |  Link
mini-moose
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 385
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
You can replace libFLAC.dll with libFLAC_dynamic.dll (renamed) from
[url]http://www.rarewares.org/files/lossless/flac_dll-1.3.2-git-2
Thanks. I know I can do that but be nice if it's updated in eac3to package too. Also, wasn't there some bug 1.3.2 and 1.3.2-1 was released? I don't see it in the flac website but it's on megui.
mini-moose is offline  
Old 15th October 2017, 13:12   #14396  |  Link
stax76
Registered User
 
stax76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: On thin ice
Posts: 6,837
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
HdBrStreamExtractor is updated in MeGUI -> Tools -> HD Streams Extractor



Or UsEac3to v1.2.7

All other GUI's are abandoned.
Last major feature megui implemented is x264 released 2004, it lacks anything major since then:

High DPI
VapourSynth
x265 full implementation
AV1
NVEnc
QSVEnc
stax76 is offline  
Old 15th October 2017, 14:44   #14397  |  Link
Atak_Snajpera
RipBot264 author
 
Atak_Snajpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 7,806
I would like to suggest small cosmetic addition to eac3to. It would be cool if extension .265 was also supported during demuxing. Currently only .h265 is recognized.
Atak_Snajpera is offline  
Old 15th October 2017, 14:50   #14398  |  Link
stax76
Registered User
 
stax76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: On thin ice
Posts: 6,837
There is also hvc due to most file extensions being 3 characters in Windows.

264 h264 avc
265 h265 hvc hevc
stax76 is offline  
Old 15th October 2017, 16:16   #14399  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 6,890
Quote:
Originally Posted by stax76 View Post
Last major feature megui implemented is x264 released 2004...
??

Here we are talking about eac3to GUI's.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder.
tebasuna51 is offline  
Old 15th October 2017, 21:10   #14400  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 6,890
The .h265 extracted with eac3to v3.32 from this sample don't play fine.

Extracted with MkvExtract is ok.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder.
tebasuna51 is offline  
Closed Thread

Tags
eac3to

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 16:44.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.