Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 Encoder GUIs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 8th May 2010, 20:59   #41  |  Link
Eretria-chan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,053
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zathor View Post
I am just guessing - maybe you have to install the visual c++ runtimes for x64?
Runtimes aren't backwards compatible.
To install the proper runtime, we would need to know:

- What version it is (2005/2008).
- If SP1 is installed or not (2008 only).

They have different runtimes.
Eretria-chan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2010, 23:59   #42  |  Link
rogersnm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 5
I've got the Microsoft Visual C++ 2008 SP1 Redistributable x64 and x86 and I also just installed the 2010 Runtime (both x64 and x86) and the 2005 SP1 Redistributable (again, x64 and x86) which have made no difference.

Event Viewer might have yielded some useful information, it generates 3 errors every time I attempt to run the executable.
---------------- Error 1 ----------------
Source: SideBySide
EventID: 32

Dependent Assembly Microsoft.Windows.Common-Controls could not be found and Last Error was The referenced assembly is not installed on your system.

---------------- Error 2 ----------------
Source: SideBySide
EventID: 59

Resolve Partial Assembly failed for Microsoft.Windows.Common-Controls. Reference error message: The referenced assembly is not installed on your system.

---------------- Error 3 ----------------
Source: SideBySide
EventID: 59

Generate Activation Context failed for C:\PathTo\MeGUI.exe. Reference error message: The referenced assembly is not installed on your system.
----------------------------------------

Edit: Possibly microsoft's fault http://support.microsoft.com/kb/914061
Edit #2: No joy, that hotfix is apparently included in SP2

Edit #3: After looking at sxstrace logs it looks like Windows Server 2003 doesn't possess the required assembly code.

Last edited by rogersnm; 9th May 2010 at 01:00.
rogersnm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2010, 10:42   #43  |  Link
KSab
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Russia
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by rogersnm View Post
I've got the Microsoft Visual C++ 2008 SP1 Redistributable x64 and x86 and I also just installed the 2010 Runtime (both x64 and x86) and the 2005 SP1 Redistributable (again, x64 and x86) which have made no difference.

Event Viewer might have yielded some useful information, it generates 3 errors every time I attempt to run the executable.
---------------- Error 1 ----------------
Source: SideBySide
EventID: 32

Dependent Assembly Microsoft.Windows.Common-Controls could not be found and Last Error was The referenced assembly is not installed on your system.

---------------- Error 2 ----------------
Source: SideBySide
EventID: 59

Resolve Partial Assembly failed for Microsoft.Windows.Common-Controls. Reference error message: The referenced assembly is not installed on your system.

---------------- Error 3 ----------------
Source: SideBySide
EventID: 59

Generate Activation Context failed for C:\PathTo\MeGUI.exe. Reference error message: The referenced assembly is not installed on your system.
----------------------------------------

Edit: Possibly microsoft's fault http://support.microsoft.com/kb/914061
Edit #2: No joy, that hotfix is apparently included in SP2

Edit #3: After looking at sxstrace logs it looks like Windows Server 2003 doesn't possess the required assembly code.
For me too most!
KSab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2010, 13:07   #44  |  Link
Zathor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2,408
You can try this one:
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/d...displaylang=en
Zathor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2010, 13:45   #45  |  Link
rogersnm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 5
"Setup cannot continue because this version of the .NET Framework is incompatibile with a previously installed one. For more information, see http://support.microsoft.com/support/kb/articles/q312/5/00.asp"

The x64 version of the .NET Framework 2.0 SP2 seems to already be installed.




Just FYI: Avisynth x64 is functioning well

Last edited by rogersnm; 9th May 2010 at 13:54.
rogersnm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2010, 16:26   #46  |  Link
KSab
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Russia
Posts: 6
Mine:

KSab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th May 2010, 22:55   #47  |  Link
newstd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 7
I just wanted to share with you this comparison test :

same DVD (157840 frames), with same settings for x264 (in constant quality) on win 7 x64 OS

Here are the statistic logs from :
megui x86 = encoded 157840 frames, 13.34 fps, 1654.44 kb/s
megui x64 = encoded 157840 frames, 18.38 fps, 1557.75 kb/s

Thanks Zathor for this useful initiative.
it's worth of it (even if not all encoders or plugins are not ready for 64-bit), especially when you don't have the last powerful Quad processor ...
Hoping now to see it on the stable server.
newstd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th May 2010, 08:53   #48  |  Link
AMED
Registered User
 
AMED's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 443
Should MeGUI be using a crazy amount of memory?



at the moment there are are total of 130 jobs loaded in to MeGUI and its up to job 120.
__________________
A Man Eating Duck
AMED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th May 2010, 11:55   #49  |  Link
ncatt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 10
Quote:
Should MeGUI be using a crazy amount of memory?
I saw this too when loading many jobs. My workaround was load all jobs, close and reopen megui, then start the encodes. Otherwise, very good job Zathor!!
ncatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th May 2010, 22:32   #50  |  Link
quantum5uicid3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 176
thx for confirming people. i tried to figure out what its doing with my limited expertise and if i had to guess, i'd say megui x64 is leaving avisynth threads open.
quantum5uicid3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2010, 00:41   #51  |  Link
Cyber-Mav
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 244
any difference in speed using megui in native 64bit mode vs the 32bit megui that uses the 64bit wrapper?
Cyber-Mav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2010, 05:43   #52  |  Link
Zathor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2,408
Didn't compare it myself, but:
http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.ph...59#post1390959
Zathor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2010, 08:02   #53  |  Link
AMED
Registered User
 
AMED's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 443
Quote:
Originally Posted by quantum5uicid3 View Post
thx for confirming people. i tried to figure out what its doing with my limited expertise and if i had to guess, i'd say megui x64 is leaving avisynth threads open.
I think you correct about AviSynth threads staying open. I just did a quick check by opening a FFMS indexed mkv file in the avisynth creator. I then closing the AviSynth creator by clicking the Red X and then tried to delete the mkv file and i get this.

__________________
A Man Eating Duck
AMED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th May 2010, 14:37   #54  |  Link
quantum5uicid3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 176
looks like i was wrong about 64bit ffmpeg's abilty to do avs in and ffvhuff out. it does actually work in many cases but fails with others.

zathor, can you change the pre-rendering to use this easily? it would make it easier to test.
Code:
ffmpeg -i input.avs -vcodec ffvhuff -context 1 -vstrict -1 -an output.avi
and any thoughts on memory behavior?

i forgot to add:
the memory problems occur only when using ffms, not directshowsource. unfortunately i can't duplicate the issue on the commandline.

Last edited by quantum5uicid3; 20th May 2010 at 12:33.
quantum5uicid3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2010, 00:28   #55  |  Link
quantum5uicid3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 176
i'll add that, i can't find any disadvantage to using ffmpeg over mencoder.

edit
i think multithreading works better too

Last edited by quantum5uicid3; 26th May 2010 at 00:39.
quantum5uicid3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd June 2010, 20:37   #56  |  Link
Lyle_JP
Unreasonable User
 
Lyle_JP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 213
I don't know if this is a problem with Megui x64, or the 64-bit NicAudio plugin from Squid80, but I'm getting an error every time I check the box for "Apply Dynamic Range Compression":

Quote:
--[Information] [6/3/2010 12:28:35 PM] Started handling job
--[Information] [6/3/2010 12:28:35 PM] Preprocessing
--[NoImage] Avisynth script
---[NoImage] LoadPlugin("C:\Program Files (x86)\MeGUI\tools\avisynth_plugin\NicAudio.dll")
---[NoImage] NicAc3Source("C:\YOU_ONLY_LIVE_TWICE\VIDEO_TS\You Only Live Twice T82 2_0ch 192Kbps DELAY 0ms.ac3", DRC=1)
---[NoImage] ConvertToMono()
---[NoImage] Normalize()
---[NoImage] return last
--[NoImage] Commandline used: -ignorelength -lc -br 96000 -if - -of "{0}"
--[Information] [6/3/2010 12:28:35 PM] Encoding started
--[Information] [6/3/2010 12:28:35 PM] Encode thread started
--[Information] [6/3/2010 12:28:35 PM] Avisynth script environment opened
--[Error] An error occurred
---[NoImage] Exception message: Script error: NicAc3Source does not have a named argument "DRC"
---[NoImage] Stacktrace
----[NoImage] at MeGUI.AviSynthClip..ctor(String func, String arg, AviSynthColorspace forceColorspace, AviSynthScriptEnvironment env)
----[NoImage] at MeGUI.AviSynthScriptEnvironment.ParseScript(String script)
----[NoImage] at MeGUI.AviSynthAudioEncoder.encode()
---[NoImage] Inner exception: null
Any thoughts? Oh, I'm using MeGui x64 0.3.4.15 and Avisynth 2.5.8 MT 64-bit from SEt.

Last edited by Lyle_JP; 3rd June 2010 at 20:46.
Lyle_JP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd June 2010, 22:32   #57  |  Link
Zathor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2,408
The NicAudio plugin from Squid80 is rather old (2006) and therefore I think that DRC is not supported.

You can post a request for an updated x64 build here: http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=152800 the source code for the recent x86 build is here: http://nicaudio.codeplex.com/
Maybe someone is able to compile a x64 build.
Zathor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd June 2010, 23:07   #58  |  Link
Eretria-chan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,053
Here's an x64 build of NicAudio compiled by myself: http://www.mediafire.com/?ozlnnjtgzam
Unfortunately, since the source wasn't designed for x64, it might or might not work. I'm not going to try fixing bugs, however. Let's just hope it works.
Compiled with VS2010, so you may need its runtime.
Eretria-chan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th June 2010, 14:06   #59  |  Link
Lyle_JP
Unreasonable User
 
Lyle_JP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 213
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eretria-chan View Post
Here's an x64 build of NicAudio compiled by myself: http://www.mediafire.com/?ozlnnjtgzam
Unfortunately, since the source wasn't designed for x64, it might or might not work. I'm not going to try fixing bugs, however. Let's just hope it works.
Compiled with VS2010, so you may need its runtime.
That worked great with DRC, and I didn't have to download any runtimes. I'll try it with PAL to NTSC slow-down and DTS, and if it works on those, it does everything I need!
Lyle_JP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2010, 02:01   #60  |  Link
Lyle_JP
Unreasonable User
 
Lyle_JP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 213
Checking back in. The NicAudio plugin provided worked with everything I threw at it. But Zathor must have already tested it himself since it seems to have been added to the Megui x64 update distribution (unless that's yet another compile).

I have another problem. One actually mentioned by someone else way back in 2008 to Sharktooth, but nothing was (AFAICT) ever done. Megui x64 is very unstable when the video provided by Avinsynth has not been resized to a mod16 height, regardless of video source. This has never really been a problem in 32-bit Megui, but the crashes are frequent and unpredictable with the 64 bit version, until you resize to a mod16 height, at which time the random crashing goes away. The crashes usually happen when opening a preview window or enqueing a video encoding job, but never seem to happen when actually processing a queue, which would seem to indicate that the crashes are not happening because of x264 or Avisynth.
Lyle_JP is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 15:16.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.