Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 Encoder GUIs

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 3rd June 2020, 02:02   #1941  |  Link
44vince44
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 188
Well, it is an old convention used in many video tools, that the video range is [start;end[
meaning that last frame is not included.
It is not a bug, it is intentional.

The reason it was made was the keyframes: when you cut between keyframes (which is the case in programs like Virtualdub), you select a range that starts at a keyframe Kb, and ends at Keyframe Ke.
Then the resulting range is [ Kb ; Ke [ Ke is EXCLUDED.
You can cut video and save it without re-encoding.

I don't know if that still has a meaning.

Last edited by 44vince44; 3rd June 2020 at 02:14.
44vince44 is offline  
Old 6th June 2020, 13:37   #1942  |  Link
DavidRyan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 25
I was hoping to use staxrip to encode a bunch of frames I have stored as images in a folder. So I made a simple avisynth input script [ ImageSource("Frames%04d.png", 0001, 1199, 24, pixel_type="RGB24") ] to generate a 24fps clip from the desired range of frames and saved it as input.avs in the folder. When opening this in Staxrip it appears to open correctly and I can preview the video, but if I try an x265 encode it errors out complaining of a missing y4m header.

I can open the same script in virtualdub and export an uncompressed AVI which staxrip can encode without any problems. I could also just encode the frames with ffmpeg. But it would be nice if I could open them directly as a clip in staxrip as I was initially attempting, so if anyone has any ideas on how I could best import this frame range into staxrip without running into the y4m header error later I'd appreciate any suggestions.
DavidRyan is offline  
Old 6th June 2020, 18:13   #1943  |  Link
stax76
Registered User
 
stax76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: On thin ice
Posts: 6,837
Maybe it has something to do with the color format, if you right-click Filters and choose Info, which color format does it show? Maybe try another piping tool, in the x265 dialog search field at the left bottom enter pipe. Or maybe try VapourSynth (Filters > Filter Setup > VapourSynth), the image source filter of VapourSynth is more convenient.

Last edited by stax76; 6th June 2020 at 18:16.
stax76 is offline  
Old 7th June 2020, 09:44   #1944  |  Link
DavidRyan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by stax76 View Post
Maybe it has something to do with the color format, if you right-click Filters and choose Info, which color format does it show? Maybe try another piping tool, in the x265 dialog search field at the left bottom enter pipe. Or maybe try VapourSynth (Filters > Filter Setup > VapourSynth), the image source filter of VapourSynth is more convenient.
Appreciate the suggestions, if I look at info it just says "Format : 1342177281". I tried other piping tools but didn't have any luck, but I'll look into VapourSynth now, been meaning to familiarise myself with it anyway. Guess some research into y4m is in order too. At least I have a workaround of using virtualdub first.

Thanks for the continued development of staxrip which I use all the time.
DavidRyan is offline  
Old 7th June 2020, 10:07   #1945  |  Link
stax76
Registered User
 
stax76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: On thin ice
Posts: 6,837
Quote:
Appreciate the suggestions, if I look at info it just says "Format : 1342177281". I tried other piping tools but didn't have any luck, but I'll look into VapourSynth now, been meaning to familiarise myself with it anyway. Guess some research into y4m is in order too. At least I have a workaround of using virtualdub first.

Thanks for the continued development of staxrip which I use all the time.
Format : 1342177281 could mean that staxrip does not understand this format, and maybe the piping tools or encoders don't understand it either, it could still be a valid format, does the preview work? The preview does a format conversion. Maybe you just need to make a format conversion. There are more ways to show the color format, and they might work better than my relative simple code:

Filters > Edit Code > Right-Click > Advanced Info > Info()

Filters > Edit Code > Right-Click > Advanced Info > avsmeter info

Filters > Edit Code > Right-Click > Advanced Info > avs2pipemod info

Last edited by stax76; 7th June 2020 at 10:16.
stax76 is offline  
Old 7th June 2020, 14:08   #1946  |  Link
44vince44
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 188
ImageSource("Frames%04d.png", 0001, 1199, 24, pixel_type="RGB24",
So you have a RGB24 format.
You need to convert it YUV
I would try in staxrip to insert the filter

ConvertToYUV420(matrix="Rec709")

or if your video is strictly less than 720 lines resolution:

ConvertToYUV420(matrix="Rec601")

Last edited by 44vince44; 7th June 2020 at 14:14.
44vince44 is offline  
Old 8th June 2020, 10:52   #1947  |  Link
DavidRyan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by stax76 View Post
Format : 1342177281 could mean that staxrip does not understand this format, and maybe the piping tools or encoders don't understand it either, it could still be a valid format, does the preview work? The preview does a format conversion. Maybe you just need to make a format conversion. There are more ways to show the color format, and they might work better than my relative simple code:

Filters > Edit Code > Right-Click > Advanced Info > Info()

Filters > Edit Code > Right-Click > Advanced Info > avsmeter info

Filters > Edit Code > Right-Click > Advanced Info > avs2pipemod info
Quote:
Originally Posted by 44vince44 View Post
ImageSource("Frames%04d.png", 0001, 1199, 24, pixel_type="RGB24",
So you have a RGB24 format.
You need to convert it YUV
I would try in staxrip to insert the filter

ConvertToYUV420(matrix="Rec709")

or if your video is strictly less than 720 lines resolution:

ConvertToYUV420(matrix="Rec601")
Great, that worked perfectly, I just added that line to my input script and now encoding proceeds without errors. What confused me initially was the preview in staxrip was working fine, I guess as stax pointed out that was doing its own conversion. As was virtualdub when I processed it through there first.

Thanks to you both for your time, this is very convenient now.
DavidRyan is offline  
Old 9th June 2020, 12:26   #1948  |  Link
Atlantis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 758
Question, is the x265 in staxrip a compile of this?
https://bitbucket.org/multicoreware/x265/wiki/Home
Atlantis is offline  
Old 9th June 2020, 12:48   #1949  |  Link
Patman
Registered User
 
Patman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 286
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atlantis View Post
Question, is the x265 in staxrip a compile of this?
https://bitbucket.org/multicoreware/x265/wiki/Home
It's a compile of this. Same like yours but git not mercurial.
__________________
Tools for StaxRip | x264 - x265

Last edited by Patman; 9th June 2020 at 12:50.
Patman is offline  
Old 10th June 2020, 02:03   #1950  |  Link
Atlantis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 758
I want to do a batch encode in staxrip. Is it possible in the settings to set a text to be appended to the end of the output files?
Like instead of -new, I want to use another text to be appended.
Atlantis is offline  
Old 10th June 2020, 13:19   #1951  |  Link
stax76
Registered User
 
stax76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: On thin ice
Posts: 6,837
You can try:

Options > Paths > Default Target Name

Requires using macros.


And also:

Tools > Advanced > Event Command
stax76 is offline  
Old 10th June 2020, 20:12   #1952  |  Link
Atlantis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 758
Thanks. I will try.

Question for Patman. Using x265, the changing bitrate that is showing during encode, is it the current bitrate or the average bitrate? Using CRF Quality encoding.
Atlantis is offline  
Old 11th June 2020, 19:42   #1953  |  Link
Patman
Registered User
 
Patman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 286
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atlantis View Post
Thanks. I will try.

Question for Patman. Using x265, the changing bitrate that is showing during encode, is it the current bitrate or the average bitrate? Using CRF Quality encoding.
It's the current bitrate.
__________________
Tools for StaxRip | x264 - x265
Patman is offline  
Old 11th June 2020, 21:40   #1954  |  Link
Atlantis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 758
I'm thinking having the average bitrate is more useful. Do any of your other versions show average bitrate? For example when you have a slow encode that is taking 2-3 days, it's good to know the average final bitrate at the moment. Having the current bitrate is not more useful than average.
Atlantis is offline  
Old 12th June 2020, 08:27   #1955  |  Link
44vince44
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 188
Atlantis, maybe it useful to have the average bitrate and i don't know what Patman is going to decide, but in all cases the instant (current) bitrate is very important as well and must be kept.
44vince44 is offline  
Old 12th June 2020, 08:28   #1956  |  Link
jlw_4049
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 391
Yes definitely like seeing the current bitrate

Sent from my SM-G986U1 using Tapatalk
jlw_4049 is offline  
Old 12th June 2020, 08:39   #1957  |  Link
44vince44
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 188
the avg bitrate would be easy to get:
avg kbps = current video size x 8 x video_fps / number_of_frames_written


need to adapt MB to KB

Last edited by 44vince44; 12th June 2020 at 08:43.
44vince44 is offline  
Old 12th June 2020, 11:36   #1958  |  Link
Atlantis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 758
Question. Why the current bitrate is important? It means nothing. Actually it is not very useful. Here is an example. You are doing a slow encode. It is saying it is at 11236.99 kb/s. This doesn't help anything at all. You don't know if it is going up much later or if it was much lower. At any point of the encoding, even the last minute, you don't have a useful information.

On the other hand if it was the average bitrate, it is very useful. At any moment you know how the end result will be. The more you get to the end of the encoding, the more the bitrate information is accurate.

So please explain why the current bitrate is important?
Atlantis is offline  
Old 12th June 2020, 12:01   #1959  |  Link
44vince44
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 188
I understand your concern, but in that case why ALL encoders show current bitrate if it has no meaning.
If Patman removes the current bitrate and replaces it with average bitrate, there will be many people complaining because the current bitrate is expected.
But I am not saying that the average bitrate is useless, this is why I put the formula to show it is easy to calculate.
It's up to Patman to decide.
Now, on the other hand, in Patman's builds: there is a very useful information: the estimated file size.
44vince44 is offline  
Old 12th June 2020, 12:17   #1960  |  Link
Zgin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 1
Hey, anyone here were using batch in staxrip? Let's say I have like 26 anime episodes in .mkv with .ass subtitles muxed in it. I want to encode it from .mkv to .mp4 with hardcoded subtitle. Were trying options > subtitles > every option and it just don't hardcode subtitles into .mp4 file. At the moment I have to open 26 stances of staxrip and in everyone manually open episode and then via ctrl + h add subtitle. Please help
Zgin is offline  
Closed Thread

Tags
aac, hdr, hevc, nvenc, staxrip, x264, x265

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:07.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.