Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > VapourSynth

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 4th December 2020, 15:19   #1  |  Link
jbd5010
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 4
vspipe Ignoring Contents of VPY Script

Hello, I have the following VapourSynth script:

Code:
import vapoursynth as vs
import havsfunc as haf
core = vs.get_core()
clip = core.ffms2.Source(source='T:\Captured\\LV_3.mpg')
clip = haf.QTGMC(clip, Preset='Slower', TFF=False)
clip = core.resize.Spline36(clip, 640, 480)
clip = core.std.Crop(clip, 8,8,0,4)
clip.set_output()
And I have the following batch file:
Code:
vspipe LV.vpy - | ffmpeg  -i pipe: -i "T:\Captured\LV_3.mpg" -c:v libx264 -crf 18 "K:\LV3_1.mp4"
Within VapourSynth editor, when I open the preview window, my QTGMC, resize, and crop functions all work and the video looks the way I want it to. But when I run my BAT file, all of those are ignored and it's like I'm just running FFMPEG directly on the source file and not processing using the VPY script.

The only warnings I get when running FFMPEG are:

Code:
Format ADP detected with only a low score of 25, misdetection possible!
and...

Code:
Thread message queue blocking; consider raising the thread_queue_size option (current value: 8)

Any ideas?
jbd5010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th December 2020, 12:39   #2  |  Link
Jukus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Russia
Posts: 87
Code:
vspipe --y4m LV.vpy - | ffmpeg -i pipe: -c:v libx264 -crf 18 "K:\LV3_1.mp4"
Jukus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th December 2020, 09:50   #3  |  Link
Selur
Registered User
 
Selur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 7,259
If your source is video only I agree with Junkus.

Assuming that your input is not video only:
My guess is that your aim was to process the video using Vapoursynth and process the audio through ffmpeg.
Problem with you call is that you have two inputs, but you are not providing a mapping to what ffmpeg should do with the content. And you are also not specifying what should happen with the audio (so ffmpeg will use some default audio reencoding settings, which is probably not what you want.)
Thus FFmpeg probably simply only processes the second input and ignores the first.
-> you might want to read up on ffmpeg and mapping (https://trac.ffmpeg.org/wiki/Map) and ffmpeg and audio handling (https://trac.ffmpeg.org/wiki/Encode/HighQualityAudio).

Cu Selur
__________________
Hybrid here in the forum, homepage
Selur is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ffmpeg, vapoursynth, vspipe

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 14:11.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.