Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 25th June 2018, 08:26   #51561  |  Link
ccrys
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 3
Can't see any changes after upscale

Hi to everyone!

I'm trying to use some upscale settings for improving image quality using MPC HC and madvr.

My target is upscale from 720p and 1080p to 2160p.

I used 720p anime and 1080 bluray movie at medium settings and high profile to upscale 2160p but I can't see any changes for image compared to the original.I have a lot of drops frames seems to upscale algoritms working but when i pause and save image as png/bitmap 100% quality (alt+i) at from MPC I don't see any changes.

The screenshots result are identical wich is weird :
source 1920 x 804 (4.2mb) and after uscpale 1920 x 804 (4.2mb);

-1280 x 720 1.88mb (original) and 1280 x 720 1.95mb upscaled.

Another result for 720 source: (print screen)
-3840 x 2160 (720p source) 23.7mb bmp - 3840 x 2160 (720p source) 23.7mb bmp (after upscale)

My setup: Win 10 X64 with last update, latest MPC and madvr;
Intel Skylake i5 6500, 8gb ram, GTX 1050ti 4gb, ssd Samsung 256gb, Samsung TV 55ju7500 2160p resolution 60hz.
Attachments Pending Approval
File Type: jpg madvr settings.jpg
File Type: jpg mpc hd settings.jpg
File Type: jpg 01 00 720p.jpg
File Type: jpg 01 00 up.jpg
ccrys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2018, 08:33   #51562  |  Link
ccrys
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 3
Another ss's:
Attachments Pending Approval
File Type: jpg 1 54 720p.jpg
File Type: jpg 1 54 up.jpg
File Type: jpg 05 14 fhd.jpg
File Type: jpg 05 14 up.jpg
ccrys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2018, 10:00   #51563  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 419
regarding the HDR toggle problem with latests AMD drivers, AMD have contacted me and I have provided them my DXDIAG and full Belarc report so it looks like thy are taking it seriously.
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2018, 11:29   #51564  |  Link
mrmojo666
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by mclingo View Post
regarding the HDR toggle problem with latests AMD drivers, AMD have contacted me and I have provided them my DXDIAG and full Belarc report so it looks like thy are taking it seriously.
I got the same requests, but i have a different feeling.

in the mail they sent me they are asking about app freezing (i never talk about freezing) and performance issue (never wrote about performance)
they ask me to demostrate with a video the issue.
Also seems it's not clear that the issue is happening from many versions of the driver.

I'm not sure that i want to do their job, debugging, starting from update my system to a driver that I already know is broken to send them what ? something that they can reproduce easly (they are amd) with the information that i've sent to them in terms of repro steps and software e Hw versions.

AMD is keeping to piss me off (sorry to be rude), starting from couple of years ago when they removed all video configurations in the drivers , they made me waste a lot of time to provide them all infomations requested and in the end all those useful controls never went back they closed the issue with no issue.

this is my opinion, if you have time to break you pc with broken driver and send them all the infos i say a big thank you to you , but i'm not sure that i will do the same.
mrmojo666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2018, 23:38   #51565  |  Link
Clammerz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccrys View Post
Another ss's:
Don't attach images directly to the forum. They take too long to be approved (no one can see them until they are approved).
Use an image hosting service like imgur, and post the links to your images.
Clammerz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th June 2018, 00:11   #51566  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4,741
same answer you are still comparing the same image with each other.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th June 2018, 02:03   #51567  |  Link
suanm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 88
I wanna ask why I send original dolby vision HDR mediadata with madVR to my TV set,my tv set doesn't decode the original dolby vision HDR? I'm very confient that there are hardware decoder chipsets on my TV set because i play some demonstration films from dolby co. website with my tv set.Doesn't madVR support to send original dolby vision HDR content to the display?Just support to send HDR10 content to the display?
suanm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th June 2018, 02:39   #51568  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,158
Dolby Vision decoding is not supported by anything free, as far as I can tell.

Playing back Dolby Vision is not simply sending different metadata, it is much more complex and no one has released the specs so no one knows how to do it.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th June 2018, 02:50   #51569  |  Link
suanm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
Dolby Vision decoding is not supported by anything free, as far as I can tell.

Playing back Dolby Vision is not simply sending different metadata, it is much more complex and no one has released the specs so no one knows how to do it.
Ah,i get it.Thank you,master,very much.

Last edited by suanm; 26th June 2018 at 03:06.
suanm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th June 2018, 07:58   #51570  |  Link
ccrys
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
same answer you are still comparing the same image with each other.

I think I saw the problem: every time when I take a SS the size depends for screen ratio from MPC. If I take a SS (alt+i) from full screen, all of them will be at same size and resolution: 3840 x 2160 ( my screen resolution).
If a take from half size player the resoltuion will be half of 2160p.
How can I obtain a SS with original video resolution?
How can I "force" to upscale to 2160? except madvr upscale settings.
ccrys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th June 2018, 11:01   #51571  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 419
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrmojo666 View Post
I got the same requests, but i have a different feeling.

in the mail they sent me they are asking about app freezing (i never talk about freezing) and performance issue (never wrote about performance)
they ask me to demostrate with a video the issue.
Also seems it's not clear that the issue is happening from many versions of the driver.

I'm not sure that i want to do their job, debugging, starting from update my system to a driver that I already know is broken to send them what ? something that they can reproduce easly (they are amd) with the information that i've sent to them in terms of repro steps and software e Hw versions.

AMD is keeping to piss me off (sorry to be rude), starting from couple of years ago when they removed all video configurations in the drivers , they made me waste a lot of time to provide them all infomations requested and in the end all those useful controls never went back they closed the issue with no issue.

this is my opinion, if you have time to break you pc with broken driver and send them all the infos i say a big thank you to you , but i'm not sure that i will do the same.
you are probably right, however this might be a bigger deal than we think as everything is going HDR at the moment so they may want to put some resources into this if netflix isnt work properly either.

I'm hopeful
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th June 2018, 12:45   #51572  |  Link
mrmojo666
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by mclingo View Post
you are probably right, however this might be a bigger deal than we think as everything is going HDR at the moment so they may want to put some resources into this if netflix isnt work properly either.

I'm hopeful
I agree even I'm still negative, in case I find some spare time to make all things requested, I will send to them.

Last edited by mrmojo666; 26th June 2018 at 14:55.
mrmojo666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th June 2018, 17:06   #51573  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,158
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccrys View Post
I think I saw the problem: every time when I take a SS the size depends for screen ratio from MPC.
...
How can I "force" to upscale to 2160? except madvr upscale settings.
Have you tried the various settings under rendering -> screenshots in madVR's options?
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th June 2018, 19:53   #51574  |  Link
SirSwede
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 35
Can someone please recommend settings for:
  • Chroma upscaling
  • Image upscaling
  • Dithering
When playing a 1080p, 50 fps, video to a 1080p, 50 Hz, screen with a GT740 GDDR5 card.

It won't do NGU unfortunately. Can it if I do some trade quality for performance?
SirSwede is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th June 2018, 20:12   #51575  |  Link
waldnebel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 9
Do I have to activate or to deactivate that "HDR and WCG" option in the display settings of Windows 10 if madvr is used as a video renderer?
waldnebel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th June 2018, 20:46   #51576  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,158
No, leave Window's HDR option off when using madVR.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SirSwede View Post
Can someone please recommend settings
Didn't we already give you a bunch of recommendations?

Jinc for everything since you cannot run NGU. SBR 100 for chroma upscaling is also an option, compare to Jinc and pick the one you like more.

Ordered Dithering.

Trade quality for performance options are not going to help you run NGU.
__________________
madVR options explained

Last edited by Asmodian; 26th June 2018 at 20:49.
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th June 2018, 20:57   #51577  |  Link
SirSwede
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
No, leave Window's HDR option off when using madVR.



Didn't we already give you a bunch of recommendations?

Jinc for everything since you cannot run NGU. SBR 100 for chroma upscaling is also an option, compare to Jinc and pick the one you like more.

Ordered Dithering.

Trade quality for performance options are not going to help you run NGU.
Yeah, but 50 fps wouldn't accept those recommendations unfortunately.
SirSwede is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th June 2018, 21:12   #51578  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,158
Ah I see, yes the GT740 is a very weak card. Hmm.. you might need to stick to the defaults for 50 fps, maybe try Spline or Lanczos 3 for chroma and image upscaling.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th June 2018, 23:10   #51579  |  Link
SirSwede
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
Ah I see, yes the GT740 is a very weak card. Hmm.. you might need to stick to the defaults for 50 fps, maybe try Spline or Lanczos 3 for chroma and image upscaling.
I like Error Diffusion 2 for dithering a lot, but when I moved to Ordered Dithering it seemed to be able to handle both Jinc and super-xbr, but wouldn't go any higher than the latter.
SirSwede is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th June 2018, 23:29   #51580  |  Link
HillieSan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 113
Same here. I am using a AMD RX 480 with Ordered Dithering with NGU. Error Diffusion 2 is a bit too heavy for this graphics card. I see no difference between Error Diffusion 2 and Ordered Dithering on my projector screen.

Last edited by HillieSan; 26th June 2018 at 23:49.
HillieSan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.