Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10th July 2018, 06:05   #51741  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4,741
can you make a screen of the OSD plz?
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th July 2018, 06:16   #51742  |  Link
heiseikiseki
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
can you make a screen of the OSD plz?
https://i.imgur.com/YiszMGB.jpg

https://i.imgur.com/pRYpf1S.jpg


I don't why if I turn on the showadvancestep then the rendering time would be increased.

Last edited by heiseikiseki; 11th July 2018 at 11:16.
heiseikiseki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th July 2018, 06:31   #51743  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4,741
to be expeceted just using it the incress it.
but 720 is pretty boring for a 1060.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th July 2018, 09:06   #51744  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,158
Quote:
Originally Posted by heiseikiseki View Post
I don't why if I turn on the showadvancestep then the rendering time would increase.
To elaborate on what huhn said, ShowRenderSteps needs to measure how long each step takes and to do this an extra flush is needed after each step, this slows down rendering overall. This is only true when the OSD is open.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th July 2018, 11:42   #51745  |  Link
heiseikiseki
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
To elaborate on what huhn said, ShowRenderSteps needs to measure how long each step takes and to do this an extra flush is needed after each step, this slows down rendering overall. This is only true when the OSD is open.
Oh!! Thanks for the explain!
heiseikiseki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th July 2018, 13:41   #51746  |  Link
zeus0r
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 4
hey there!

HDR passthrough via madvr is working fine and it puts my TV into HDR mode like it should. problem is: the picture is waaay too dark then. in dim scenes you can't even recognize faces properly.

so i tried the same files with the TV's internal mediaplayer -> perfect picture, not that dark.

any idea what could cause this?

4k SDR clips look wonderful via mpc-hc so it definitely is a HDR-specific problem.

my setup:

- philips 55pos901 oled tv
- gtx 980
- win 7
- mpc-hc + lavfilters + madvr (latest versions)
zeus0r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th July 2018, 16:23   #51747  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 419
could it simply be that HDR is invoking a different profile on your TV which is set to FULL instead of LIMITED?
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th July 2018, 17:58   #51748  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 751
I updated my driver and tried to do the manual method of creating a custom resolution.

First, I edited the EDID custom resolution created by madVR. The only thing that was different was the total number of pixels. This was entered and I played something. No change.

I deleted the custom resolution and started over. This time, when I finished, the driver entered the resolution as 23 Hz instead of 24 Hz. Still no go.

I then used CRU to create a custom resolution. It did not put anything into the GPU control panel, but the option to choose 24 Hz was removed, so it appeared to apply the correct EDID override. Played something and still no change.

So my apologies to the person I told to use the manual method of creating a custom resolution, as I couldn't figure it out, either.

The current driver doesn't seem to respond to anything but the default EDID. Not sure how common this is.

Custom resolutions are a total crapshoot...
Warner306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th July 2018, 21:59   #51749  |  Link
SirSwede
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 35
LAN Access - Let me see if I have understood this correctly

Please, let me see if I have understood the function LAN Access correctly:

If the menu says "Enable LAN Access", then LAN Access is disabled?

If the menu says "Disable LAN Access", then LAN Access is enabled?

Have I understood this correctly?

Thank you in advance!

SirSwede is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th July 2018, 22:26   #51750  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,158
That is correct, yes.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th July 2018, 10:04   #51751  |  Link
zeus0r
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by mclingo View Post
could it simply be that HDR is invoking a different profile on your TV which is set to FULL instead of LIMITED?
you mean a different picture settings profile?! (nope, it's the same)
zeus0r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th July 2018, 10:51   #51752  |  Link
MishNZ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 2
Video delay after initial start in DX11 Exclusive Mode

I use DSplayer with MadVR and I have everything set so that HDR passthrough works correctly. My display is 10bit so I use DX11 exclusive mode to get everything flowing correctly. The only downside is that with DX11 exclusive mode the audio starts and continues correctly while the video plays for a second then pauses for about five seconds then continues normally. This doesn't happen if I turn off exclusive mode. It also doesn't happen when seeking, just on initial playback. Any ideas?
Windows 10, GTX1050Ti.
MishNZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th July 2018, 12:19   #51753  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 419
Quote:
Originally Posted by MishNZ View Post
I use DSplayer with MadVR and I have everything set so that HDR passthrough works correctly. My display is 10bit so I use DX11 exclusive mode to get everything flowing correctly. The only downside is that with DX11 exclusive mode the audio starts and continues correctly while the video plays for a second then pauses for about five seconds then continues normally. This doesn't happen if I turn off exclusive mode. It also doesn't happen when seeking, just on initial playback. Any ideas?
Windows 10, GTX1050Ti.
Hi, this is fairly normal behaviour i'm afraid, this is unlikely to change, I get similar issues, mine plays audio for a second with a black screen, then starts after about 2-3 seconds but then plays perfectly fine. You just need to find a way to live with it mate.
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th July 2018, 12:30   #51754  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 5,442
I have a similar issue under Windows 7, normal 8 bit display, no HDR, even with small video dimensions and in windowed mode in MPC-HC: The video starts with several seconds blackness but plays fine if I return to the start. If you say it belongs to DX11 Exclusive mode, I will try turning it off (if it was at all enabled), but right now I am not at the PC with this problem...
__________________

New German Gleitz board
MediaFire: x264 | x265 | VPx | AOM | Xvid

Last edited by LigH; 11th July 2018 at 12:32.
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th July 2018, 13:09   #51755  |  Link
iSeries
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 482
Another oddity for me with Win 10 (with Nvidia 1050ti). I was on 1709 and all of a sudden started getting audio drops when bitstreaming, however, other than that playback was perfect in D3D11 fullscreen windowed (neither overlay or FSE would work well). I clean installed 1803, which fixed the bitstreaming issue - however I now have a new issue (and maybe it's not an issue, I don't know). In D3D11 windowed mode playback starts out as it did before, the refresh rate jumps around a little bit, and then after some seconds it locks....but now after a minute or two, the refresh rate starts getting erratic again, jumping around, and it stays like that for the duration of playback. I am using smooth motion so no frames are reported as dropped.

But now all of a sudden FSE works perfectly - refresh rate is rock solid after a few seconds of playback. Overlay is also now usable, before I was getting frame drops every minute or so for no reason, and I tested it for 15 minutes and didn't get any frame drops, and just as FSE, refresh rate is stable.

So the issue is only with fullscreen windowed. This is with both the latest Nvidia driver and with 385.28. Focus assist / game bar and all that other nonsense is turned off. Anyone else seeing this with windowed mode, or is it just me lol.
iSeries is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th July 2018, 13:09   #51756  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4,741
Quote:
Originally Posted by zeus0r View Post
hey there!

HDR passthrough via madvr is working fine and it puts my TV into HDR mode like it should. problem is: the picture is waaay too dark then. in dim scenes you can't even recognize faces properly.

so i tried the same files with the TV's internal mediaplayer -> perfect picture, not that dark.

any idea what could cause this?

4k SDR clips look wonderful via mpc-hc so it definitely is a HDR-specific problem.

my setup:

- philips 55pos901 oled tv
- gtx 980
- win 7
- mpc-hc + lavfilters + madvr (latest versions)
for a test
go to the nvidia control panel and change the output color format to YCbCr 4:2:2 and test again.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th July 2018, 17:28   #51757  |  Link
zeus0r
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
for a test
go to the nvidia control panel and change the output color format to YCbCr 4:2:2 and test again.
same dark mess...

i'll install win10, maybe it really is a win7 problem.
zeus0r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th July 2018, 18:33   #51758  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 751
Quote:
Originally Posted by zeus0r View Post
hey there!

HDR passthrough via madvr is working fine and it puts my TV into HDR mode like it should. problem is: the picture is waaay too dark then. in dim scenes you can't even recognize faces properly.
That's the image I would expect if your display didn't activate its tone mapping.
Warner306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th July 2018, 18:43   #51759  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 751
How about this for a denoising filter in madVR?

NVIDIA's AI can fix bad photos by looking at other bad photos

Check out the video at the end. It is pretty impressive, but there is a little loss in sharpness.

It looks like that button in the movies that enhances security footage.
Warner306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th July 2018, 20:03   #51760  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,289
Those AI algorithms from NVIDIA are all quite impressive, but way too slow for realtime video use. Its more like something for offline processing of really bad videos.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 13:51.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.