Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > (HD) DVD, Blu-ray & (S)VCD > (HD) DVD & Blu-ray authoring

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 27th September 2017, 13:35   #901  |  Link
MrVideo
Registered User
 
MrVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,461
Quote:
Originally Posted by r0lZ View Post
In one of the directories referenced by the %PATH% environment variable. For example, in C:\Windows\, or you can also put it in any directory and add that directory in the PATH variable (with Control Panel -> System and Security -> System -> Advanced System Settings -> Advanced tab -> Environment Variables -> User Variables frame).
My script is executed via cygwin. So my PATH is set up via that environment.
Quote:
As suggested by sef, you can also put it with the directory containing frimsource.dll itself, as it is theoretically dynamically added to the path when frimsource.dll is opened, but AFAIK it's not always sufficient.
It is in the same directory that frimsource.dll is in.
Quote:
If BDRB works, that might be because it changes its current directory to the directory containing libmfxsw32.dll when it needs it. An avisynth script does theoretically the same thing, but that depends of the version of fork of avisynth you use.
I do not know if jdobbs does any directory switching when he runs frimsource.
Quote:
Anyway, tell us where is your copy of libmfxsw32.dll (and of libmfxhw32.dll, if you have it). Maybe we will be able to understand why it doesn't work.
I did that, in the previous posts. I'm AMD, so no hw DLL.

I have a couple of other things I'm going to try after the computer frees up. I have a recoding job running at the moment. I'll report back.
__________________
My Total Eclipse 2017 Photos

Last edited by MrVideo; 27th September 2017 at 15:13.
MrVideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th September 2017, 14:49   #902  |  Link
MrVideo
Registered User
 
MrVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,461
OK, here is an update. In case I didn't mention it, the OS is XP-64.

I placed the two DLLs in the bin directory from which my script is run, which is in my $PATH. No diff.

I placed the two DLLs in the AVISynth/plugins directory and commented out the line that loads the frimsource.dll file.

I ran the AVISynth tool and it lists the DLLs that FRIMSource depends on. Two of them, d3d11.dll and dxgi.dll are not on my system. I guess that BDRB doesn't use any functions within those DLLs.

This gets further, sortof. Two error dialog boxes show up (both from x264.exe). The first error is that the entry point SetThreadErrorMode cannot be found in KERNEL32.dll. The 2nd is that the entry point EventRegister can't be found in ADVAPI32.dll. Then avs complains that there is no function FRIMSource.

I have no clue as to how BDRB is able to work when two entry points are not found in a couple of dependent DLLs.

No idea why trying to load the FRIMSource plugin via the AVS loadplugin doesn't want to work. At least it tries with the DLLs installed in the AVISynth plugins directory.
__________________
My Total Eclipse 2017 Photos
MrVideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th September 2017, 18:32   #903  |  Link
sef
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Russia
Posts: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrVideo View Post
the OS is XP-64.
From FRIMSource_readme.pdf, or FRIM_release_notes.txt, etc:
"Supported OS: Windows 7, Windows 8.x, Windows 10"

Last edited by sef; 27th September 2017 at 18:41.
sef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th September 2017, 02:26   #904  |  Link
MrVideo
Registered User
 
MrVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,461
Well, that is very confusing, since BDRB is using it and BDRB works very well under XP-64.

UPDATE: So, I'm going to try and see what happens under Win7. Well, I'm now going to have to go to the AVISynth thread because 2.6. is complaining that it can't find the Intel Media SDK. If it isn't one thing, it is another.
__________________
My Total Eclipse 2017 Photos

Last edited by MrVideo; 28th September 2017 at 07:37.
MrVideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th September 2017, 07:38   #905  |  Link
MrVideo
Registered User
 
MrVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,461
From what I can gather in the AVISynth thread, this is a FRIMSource want and not an AVISynth want. What does it takes to fix this error?

Trying to using FRIMSource would have resulted in my hair turning grey, if it weren't already grey.

Update: Looking at the Intel Media SDK at the Intel website, this is for Intel CPUs. I have an AMD CPU, so why is this being called? BDRD, under XP-64 and AMD CPU, has no issues using FRIMSource. From what I can gather, the associated SDK file is libmfxsw32.dll, which I have installed. It is in the AVISynth plugin directory, along with frimsource.dll.
__________________
My Total Eclipse 2017 Photos

Last edited by MrVideo; 28th September 2017 at 10:01.
MrVideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th September 2017, 10:30   #906  |  Link
MrVideo
Registered User
 
MrVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,461
I got desperate, so I moved the frimsource.dll and libmfx3sw32.dll to my cygwin home bin directory, which is in my $PATH. I then edited the avs script to look for frimsource.dll in that location.

I no longer get the SDK error, but I do get the following errors:
Code:
ERROR: undeveloped feature (-3),	..\frim_decode\src\pipeline_decode.cpp (297)
ERROR: undeveloped feature (-3),	..\frim_decode\src\pipeline_decode.cpp (818)
I keep getting closer and closer, only to take two steps forward and one step back. There's gotta be a light at the end of the tunnel at some point.

In case it isn't obvious, the AVS script is being called by the x264 program.
__________________
My Total Eclipse 2017 Photos

Last edited by MrVideo; 28th September 2017 at 10:32.
MrVideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th September 2017, 10:53   #907  |  Link
r0lZ
PgcEdit daemon
 
r0lZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 7,207
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrVideo View Post
Update: Looking at the Intel Media SDK at the Intel website, this is for Intel CPUs. I have an AMD CPU, so why is this being called? BDRD, under XP-64 and AMD CPU, has no issues using FRIMSource. From what I can gather, the associated SDK file is libmfxsw32.dll, which I have installed. It is in the AVISynth plugin directory, along with frimsource.dll.
As I wrote above, there are two different DLLs: libmfxsw32.dll (with "sw" for software) and libmfxhw32.dll (the hardware version). The hardware version requires the right Intel CPU and is installed with its driver. The software version can theoretically be used with any CPU, and must be "installed" manually. As long as it is accessible by the calling program, it can be placed in any directory. But it seems that some things do not work as expected when it is run under cygwin and/or XP. I don't know why.
__________________
r0lZ
PgcEdit homepage (hosted by VideoHelp)
BD3D2MK3D A tool to convert 3D blu-rays to SBS, T&B or FS MKV
r0lZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th September 2017, 11:15   #908  |  Link
MrVideo
Registered User
 
MrVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,461
Quote:
Originally Posted by r0lZ View Post
As I wrote above, there are two different DLLs: libmfxsw32.dll (with "sw" for software) and libmfxhw32.dll (the hardware version). The hardware version requires the right Intel CPU and is installed with its driver. The software version can theoretically be used with any CPU, and must be "installed" manually. As long as it is accessible by the calling program, it can be placed in any directory. But it seems that some things do not work as expected when it is run under cygwin and/or XP. I don't know why.
As I wrote, I am using the "sw" version from the BDRB install. The not working right when run under cygwin and/or XP is disheartening.
__________________
My Total Eclipse 2017 Photos
MrVideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th September 2017, 11:47   #909  |  Link
MrVideo
Registered User
 
MrVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,461
So, ok maybe using FRIMSource won't work. So, I went looking at FRIMDecode. The manual shows a nice example of piping the output to x264. So I created the following text file that I run with "sh frim.txt":
Code:
frimdecode -i::h264 00001.h264 -o - | \
x264 --input-csp i420 --input-res 1920x1080 --fps 29.97 \
--profile high --level 4.0 --bitrate 8000 --ref 4 \
--deblock 1:-1:-1 --me umh --subme 10 --psy-rd 1.00:0.15 --merange 24 \
--trellis 2 --deadzone-inter 21 --deadzone-intra 11 --fast-pskip \
--threads 12 --slices 4 --nr 0 --bframes 3 --b-pyramid strict \
--b-adapt 2 --b-bias 0 --direct auto --weightp 0 --keyint 30 \
--min-keyint 1 --scenecut 40 --rc-lookahead 60 --ratetol 1.0 \
--qcomp 0.60 --qpmin 10 --qpmax 51 --qpstep 4 --cplxblur 20.0 \
--qblur 0.5 --vbv-maxrate 16000 --vbv-bufsize 16000 \
--ipratio 1.40 --bluray-compat --open-gop --tff --sar 1:1 \
--output 0001_output.h264 -
So, what happens? I get the following errors:
Code:
ERROR: undeveloped feature (-3),        src\pipeline_decode.cpp (297)
ERROR: undeveloped feature (-3),        src\pipeline_decode.cpp (818)
In other words, the same errors when trying to use FRIMSource.

OK, let's run the following command in a CMD window:
Code:
[path to]\frimdecode -i::h264 00001.h264 -o 00001_output.yuv
I'm now not in a cygwin environment and guess what... the same two errors.

I'm going to end up pulling my hair out.
__________________
My Total Eclipse 2017 Photos
MrVideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th September 2017, 15:15   #910  |  Link
sef
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Russia
Posts: 60
Show your output of cmd, like that:

By the way, it's virtualbox ..
I'm just install Avisynth(first link in google(sourceforge)) and BD Rebuilder 0.50.24..
It's your "sh frim.txt":

P.S. Hello, r0lZ! I'm glad to see you (I have not written here for a long time)

Last edited by sef; 28th September 2017 at 16:43.
sef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th September 2017, 19:37   #911  |  Link
MrVideo
Registered User
 
MrVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,461
The output of the CMD window ONLY contains three lines; The two error lines shown above and one more:
Code:
ERROR: Cannot start decoding process.
It does not list any of the software's info at all.
__________________
My Total Eclipse 2017 Photos
MrVideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th September 2017, 22:16   #912  |  Link
sef
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Russia
Posts: 60
Make as I'm, in virtual machine..
Or, just for fun: make another user.. Install(reinstall), as i wrote above(Avisynth(first link in google(sourceforge)) and BD Rebuilder 0.50.24..) and.. ?????
sef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th September 2017, 23:03   #913  |  Link
MrVideo
Registered User
 
MrVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,461
I do not do virtual machines. The Win7 box is a new system. AVISynth 2.6 installed for the first time and BDRB installed for the first time. That is not the problem.
__________________
My Total Eclipse 2017 Photos
MrVideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th September 2017, 00:37   #914  |  Link
sef
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Russia
Posts: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrVideo View Post
I do not do virtual machines
Goodbye
sef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th September 2017, 06:36   #915  |  Link
MrVideo
Registered User
 
MrVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,461
At this point in time, I've decided to scrap this pursuit. It should not be this hard to get a simple program working. Many people are able to use it, but it just does not like me.
__________________
My Total Eclipse 2017 Photos
MrVideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th September 2017, 19:03   #916  |  Link
videofan3d
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Czech Republic
Posts: 286
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrVideo View Post
At this point in time, I've decided to scrap this pursuit. It should not be this hard to get a simple program working. Many people are able to use it, but it just does not like me.
Setting of PATH and other operational topics should be straightforward - this was already described many times here.
Regarding Cygwin - I never tried it.

But you are trying to run FRIM/Intel Media on Windows XP?
It is not guaranteed and supported. See here https://software.intel.com/en-us/media-sdk - only Win 7, 8.1, 10.
(If I remember correctly I tried it once few years ago - and it crashed. Obviously there is no point to investigate it further - Win-XP is perceived dead.)
videofan3d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th September 2017, 10:04   #917  |  Link
MrVideo
Registered User
 
MrVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,461
Quote:
Originally Posted by videofan3d View Post
But you are trying to run FRIM/Intel Media on Windows XP?
Initially. But, as noted, the recent posts are the result of trying on Win7.
__________________
My Total Eclipse 2017 Photos
MrVideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th October 2017, 18:06   #918  |  Link
frank
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 754
FRIMSource / FRIMDecode work very well in HW mode
BUT with 2 movies you'll get endless loop (B3D2MK3D):
- The Martian 3D
- Wonder Woman 3D
Black frames encoded. SW mode works. Same happens with DGMVCsource.
So something is wrong compiled with Intel's new SDK, I don't know. For the new Intel processors you have to use it.

Tested with Intel Core i7-7700HQ (Kaby Lake), Win10.
frank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th October 2017, 22:26   #919  |  Link
videoh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 562
Hi frank,

Have you been able to see what causes the looping in the code?

I'll buy one of those two blurays and see what I can discover for DGMVCSource().

You say latest IMSDK is needed for 7700K, so how can you report results for DGMVCSource() on 7700K (DGMVCSource uses an older IMSDK)?

Last edited by videoh; 16th October 2017 at 22:30.
videoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th October 2017, 12:16   #920  |  Link
frank
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 754
I only tested on my Dell XPS 15 9560 (Core i7-7700HQ). There are Intel drivers for GPU 330 and using of AVX2. That's why I think you need latest SDK for stable hardware support.
DGMVCsource and FRIM work well but not with that two movies. I only can see that the decoders hang.

Last edited by frank; 17th October 2017 at 12:28.
frank is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
encoders, mvc

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 17:18.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.