Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > Avisynth Development

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 31st May 2020, 13:32   #21  |  Link
Atak_Snajpera
RipBot264 author
 
Atak_Snajpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 7,438
Quote:
Originally Posted by wonkey_monkey View Post
Was in Program Files (x86). Moved to Desktop, but same error.
Try this
https://www.mediafire.com/file/hdpef...Tester.7z/file
Atak_Snajpera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st May 2020, 17:22   #22  |  Link
wonkey_monkey
Formerly davidh*****
 
wonkey_monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,008
Looks good! Thanks.
__________________
My AviSynth filters / I'm the Doctor
wonkey_monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st May 2020, 18:10   #23  |  Link
leon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 134
Thank you.

Can you please make the window resizeable? The start button gets buried under the taskbar. On Win7.
leon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd August 2020, 13:51   #24  |  Link
Myrsloik
Professional Code Monkey
 
Myrsloik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ikea Chair
Posts: 2,244
Bug report: you're more or less thread bombing systems with many cores

I didn't look at the internals but you seem to spawn one ffmpeg instance and effectively one ffvideosource instance per thread in system (I know you can limit the decoding threads in the script but that's not the default). Both ffmpeg and ffvideosource will in turn spawn as many threads as are available each. So if you have a system with 32 threads you get 32 * (32 + 32) threads and probably 32 more for the linear decoding. ~2080 threads! Or ~1000 threads if you do single threaded decoding.

You see the problem and accidental ways to make it worse. Solution:

Add a configurable number of threads and make it a template variable too. For example 4 threads would be a sane default. Note that the number of threads may affect the decoding result so having it as an explicit option is generally good. Also change the number of instances depending on the number of threads selected. For example if both ffmpeg and ffms2 uses 4 threads then only spawn system threads/4 instances to keep things sane.

Drag and drop would also be nice.
__________________
VapourSynth - proving that scripting languages and video processing isn't dead yet

Last edited by Myrsloik; 23rd August 2020 at 14:00.
Myrsloik is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 14:06.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.