Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 8th August 2018, 10:19   #52001  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 781
Quote:
Originally Posted by Msarc View Post
Are there any other solutions for Windows 10 1803 update issues,........t.
I've delayed the move to 1803 for fear of issues, can you list exactly what issues you have?
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th August 2018, 10:38   #52002  |  Link
Msarc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
can you make a screen of the OSD?
This is what I get after running for 15-20 seconds in windowed or fullscreen windowed:



In fullscreen exclusive, there are 0 drops/repeats and the queues are full. Just as I had in windowed mode before Windows v1803 update.


Quote:
Originally Posted by mclingo View Post
I've delayed the move to 1803 for fear of issues, can you list exactly what issues you have?
Massive frame drops/repeats when not running in fullscreen exclusive mode. Like something is eating up performance, even though CPU/GPU are only about 35%/50% loaded.
There's an issue open on the bug tracker with more details and reports from other users.

Last edited by Msarc; 8th August 2018 at 10:40.
Msarc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th August 2018, 10:40   #52003  |  Link
Schwartz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 44
Found an issue yesterday thanks to involuntary internet problems.

When madVR can't connect to the internet (ethernet working, internet offline), it takes several seconds longer to start up and also produces ~6 seconds of black before the video shows properly.

Please put an option somewhere to turn off this connection stuff?

Last edited by Schwartz; 8th August 2018 at 11:17.
Schwartz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th August 2018, 10:50   #52004  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 781
Quote:
Originally Posted by Msarc View Post
This is what I get after running for 15-20 seconds in windowed or fullscreen windowed:.....//bugs.madshi.net/view.php?id=568]an issue open on the bug tracker[/url] with more details and reports from other users.
Thanks, what are your GFX specs, why are you using 60hz playback?
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th August 2018, 11:16   #52005  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,716
he is using 60 hz because the file is 60 hz.

it doesn't enter windowed fullscreen and you have a slight composition mismatch is this a custom resolution for a 60 hz monitor?

can you please try it again with madVR retested to defaults settings you can backup your setting.bin before that.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th August 2018, 11:20   #52006  |  Link
Msarc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by mclingo View Post
Thanks, what are your GFX specs, why are you using 60hz playback?
AMD R9 290
It's just a 60fps video. But if you're wondering if it might be the cause, it isn't. It's the same video I was watching before 1803 without problems. I've also been watching 24fps/30fps videos interpolated to 60fps with BlueskyFRC for the past couple of years and all are suddenly having same issue after 1803 update.


Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
it doesn't enter windowed fullscreen and you have a slight composition mismatch is this a custom resolution for a 60 hz monitor?

can you please try it again with madVR retested to defaults settings you can backup your setting.bin before that.
I simply made the screenshot with the window maximized, there's no difference with it being fullscreen.
It's not a custom resolution, it's the native 1920x1200 for my Dell U2412M. Same one I've been using for the last 7-8 years.

I had already tried default MadVR settings. There are no drops/repeats with them, but that's only because there's little processing done by default. As soon as I add things back one at a time (from scratch, not by replacing settings.bin), the issue gradually comes back as well. There isn't one specific setting that causes it - as far as I can tell, all that matters is how much each one impacts performance, because 1803 appears to only allow MadVR to use roughly half of the system's normal performance.

Last edited by Msarc; 8th August 2018 at 11:48.
Msarc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th August 2018, 12:35   #52007  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,716
can you change the refreshrate to true 60 hz for a test please? it is currently running at 59p.

you changed the queue setings for what ever reason. and seeing a screen with default setting even trhough it works can still help.

does this still happens with windows 7 overlay?
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th August 2018, 12:55   #52008  |  Link
QBhd
QB the Slayer
 
QBhd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Toronto
Posts: 449
He's correct, 1803 made me reduce ALL my profile settings. I bet only people who pushed their GPU very close to the edge noticed this. If your settings were not very demanding, I bet you wouldn't even notice the switch. I also bet if a person in this scenario had paid attention to their GPU usage before and after they would have seen a huge spike in usage... I have thrown every trick and tweak, including the kitchen sink at this issue to no avail.

Starting to wonder if MS added an ultra hidden crypto miner in the OS to make a few bucks!! LOL :P

Seriously starting to wonder if this was also the cause of my R9 270X to fail (black screen when the GPU goes into a standard resolution, low-def such as safe mode still works)… At least my ancient HD 5770 still works so I can wait for Vega prices to fall or Navi to be released (Polaris sucks for madVR and is therefore not an option)

QB
__________________
QBhd is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 8th August 2018, 13:33   #52009  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,716
i don't see 6 ms as pushing it to the limited.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th August 2018, 15:22   #52010  |  Link
Msarc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
can you change the refreshrate to true 60 hz for a test please? it is currently running at 59p.
I'm not sure I can, it's the only one available.

Quote:
you changed the queue setings for what ever reason. and seeing a screen with default setting even trhough it works can still help.
Alright, here's after default reset. Don't mind those few drops/repeats shown, they only happened when opening the file and switching to fullscreen, they don't happen during playback.

Quote:
does this still happens with windows 7 overlay?
Yes, turning it on/off makes no difference.

Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
i don't see 6 ms as pushing it to the limited.
That's the thing. It shouldn't even be 6 ms. Before 1803 and now in FSE, this file plays at around 10-11 ms, which is when everything works right with no drops.
It's like 1803 no longer allows MadVR to use the system at full power.
Msarc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th August 2018, 15:59   #52011  |  Link
Ver Greeneyes
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 445
Quote:
Originally Posted by Msarc View Post
It's like 1803 no longer allows MadVR to use the system at full power.
Yeah, that's what I noticed too. I'm not sure if it's related to GPU usage or GPU memory use, but any complex algorithms including super-xbr cause my queues to stop filling up despite the processing times being very low. That's on a GTX 1080, so hardly a weak GPU.
Ver Greeneyes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th August 2018, 16:28   #52012  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,716
Quote:
Originally Posted by Msarc View Post
I'm not sure I can, it's the only one available.
does the refreshrate change in FSE? it is clearly running at 59p

Quote:
Alright, here's after default reset. Don't mind those few drops/repeats shown, they only happened when opening the file and switching to fullscreen, they don't happen during playback.
can you now add NGU sharp for the scaler don't touch anything else.

Quote:
Yes, turning it on/off makes no difference.
sorry i forgot AMD doesn't support it.

Quote:
That's the thing. It shouldn't even be 6 ms. Before 1803 and now in FSE, this file plays at around 10-11 ms, which is when everything works right with no drops.
It's like 1803 no longer allows MadVR to use the system at full power.
the ms increase that's more than strange. you are not using 2 screen by any chance?

@Ver Greeneyes

don't use optimal power saving setting in the nvidia control center and the problem should disappear which is sadly the default setting.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th August 2018, 16:51   #52013  |  Link
Msarc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
does the refreshrate change in FSE?
No.

Quote:
can you now add NGU sharp for the scaler don't touch anything else.
All default with NGU Sharp Med
All default with NGU Sharp High

Quote:
you are not using 2 screen by any chance?
No, just one.
Msarc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th August 2018, 16:56   #52014  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,716
that's messed up i try may r9 270 later.

edit: and with later i mean days i guess at week end.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th August 2018, 17:33   #52015  |  Link
Ver Greeneyes
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 445
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
@Ver Greeneyes

don't use optimal power saving setting in the nvidia control center and the problem should disappear which is sadly the default setting.
Nah, I've had it set to Adaptive for MPC-HC for ages. This started after the update to 1803.
Ver Greeneyes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th August 2018, 17:42   #52016  |  Link
Siso
Registered User
 
Siso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 387
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ver Greeneyes View Post
Nah, I've had it set to Adaptive for MPC-HC for ages. This started after the update to 1803.
Adaptive make rendering spikes, if you want no spikes, use prefer maximum performance.
Siso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th August 2018, 21:52   #52017  |  Link
XTrojan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 88
Anyone knows what gives the best details between software decoding and DXVA2 Copyback decoding on LAV filters?

Decoding HEVC ~ 80GB files puts my 8700k CPU at load, even though it's clocked at 5GHz
XTrojan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th August 2018, 22:06   #52018  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,716
only dxva2 native has lower image quality and that not a decoding issue so you what ever works best for you.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th August 2018, 23:02   #52019  |  Link
XTrojan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
only dxva2 native has lower image quality and that not a decoding issue so you what ever works best for you.
Obviously DXVA2 Copyback is superior than software if image quality is equal between them, the question is if it is, I heard some people getting more artifacts with DXVA2 copy-back
XTrojan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th August 2018, 03:09   #52020  |  Link
HelmedHorror
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 31
I'm switching from MPC-HC to MPC-BE, but MPC-BE doesn't seem to want to cut out the black bars the way MPC-HC does. I set up the options between the two to be as identical as possible, and of course madvr's settings are the same between the two.

Is it a known issue that MPC-BE doesn't cooperate well with madvr's black bar features? I did find this old discussion between madshi and someone else on the MPC-BE thread regarding madvr black bar support, but it's kind of over my head in the technical details. Also it's old.

Wasn't sure if I should ask this here or in the MPC-BE thread...
HelmedHorror is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 18:03.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.