Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 4th November 2019, 16:37   #57741  |  Link
tp4tissue
Registered User
 
tp4tissue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 406
Heads up guys, i1Display Pro was recently on sale for $155 (after rebate), record low price $135 (no rebate) a few black fridays ago.

This black friday, look out for bhphoto (seller) or adorama (seller) sales on rakuten (marketplace) (bf coupon stack).


Movies are unwatchable without Madvr's greatest feature, 3DLut.
__________________
Ghetto | 2500k 5Ghz

Last edited by tp4tissue; 4th November 2019 at 16:40.
tp4tissue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2019, 19:32   #57742  |  Link
madjock
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 223
Movies are unwatchable without Madvr's greatest feature, 3DLut.



Wow.
__________________
Windows 10-1903 | i5-3570k | GTX 1070 Windforce OC Rev2 8GB : 430.64 | Yamaha RX-V377 | Philips 65PUS6703 - 65"
madjock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2019, 20:36   #57743  |  Link
chros
Registered User
 
chros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,487
Quote:
Originally Posted by tp4tissue View Post
Movies are unwatchable without Madvr's greatest feature, 3DLut.
So, you don't watch HDR content, right?
Just kidding, I know what you mean.
__________________
Ryzen 5 2600,Asus Prime b450-Plus,16GB,MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X 6GB(v385.28),Win10 LTSB 1607,MPC-BEx64+LAV+MadVR,Yamaha RX-A870,LG OLED65B8(2160p@23/24/25/29/30/50/59/60Hz)
chros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2019, 22:53   #57744  |  Link
Manni
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 732
Quote:
Originally Posted by chros View Post
So, you don't watch HDR content, right?
Just kidding, I know what you mean.
You can't use a 3D LUT in HDR because you use passthrough, but if you tonemap to SDR you can use a 3D LUT with pixel shader, I do

I wouldn't say it's unwatchable without a 3D LUT though, it depends on the display. After an Autocal, a JVC is very close to reference so a 3D LUT doesn't bring much. But if your display can't be calibrated to a reasonable baseline, then yes, a 3D LUT can make a big difference.

It can also make things significantly worse if you don't know what you're doing
__________________
Win10 Pro x64 b1903 MCE
i7 3770K@4.0Ghz 16Gb@2.18Ghz EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2 11Gb@2GHz 436.48 RGB Full 8bits
MPC-BE/LAV/MadVR/jRiver/MyMovies V5.25
Denon X8500H>HD Fury Maestro>JVC RS2000
Manni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th November 2019, 10:52   #57745  |  Link
chros
Registered User
 
chros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,487
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manni View Post
You can't use a 3D LUT in HDR because you use passthrough, but if you tonemap to SDR you can use a 3D LUT with pixel shader, I do
Exactly But you don't want to tonemap to SDR if you have an HDR capable display.

Btw, 88" OLEDs are coming ...
__________________
Ryzen 5 2600,Asus Prime b450-Plus,16GB,MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X 6GB(v385.28),Win10 LTSB 1607,MPC-BEx64+LAV+MadVR,Yamaha RX-A870,LG OLED65B8(2160p@23/24/25/29/30/50/59/60Hz)
chros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th November 2019, 11:54   #57746  |  Link
Klaus1189
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Bavaria
Posts: 702
For 30k
Klaus1189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th November 2019, 12:48   #57747  |  Link
chros
Registered User
 
chros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,487
Quote:
Originally Posted by Klaus1189 View Post
For 30k
Hopefully they will be cheaper in 4k (not 8k) especially after Samsung jumped in (3-4 years).
__________________
Ryzen 5 2600,Asus Prime b450-Plus,16GB,MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X 6GB(v385.28),Win10 LTSB 1607,MPC-BEx64+LAV+MadVR,Yamaha RX-A870,LG OLED65B8(2160p@23/24/25/29/30/50/59/60Hz)
chros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th November 2019, 01:32   #57748  |  Link
an3k
Registered User
 
an3k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Munich, Germany
Posts: 169
Is this a known bug?

Even though "madVR Settings > devices > [Display] > display modes > switch to matching display mode..." is DISABLED, madVR switches to 1920x1080p23 when I play a 1920x1080p23 MVC H.264 MKV file. If I play a 2D 1920x1080p23 H.264 MKV nothing happens. If I disable "madVR Settings > rendering > stereo 3d > enable stereo 3d playback" madVR does not switch the resolution anymore but I can't see the the video in 3D. If I set "madVR Settings > devices > [Display] > display modes > list of all display modes madVR may switch to:" to 2560x1440p144 the screen still goes black for a second, the windows are getting rearranged, screen flickers again and the video finally plays.

I played with EDID and custom modes already. I can't get the same settings which are used before playing the MVC file, thus I want to completely DISABLE that monitor switching.
an3k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th November 2019, 02:07   #57749  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,683
Not a bug, working as intended. madVR only supports 3D in 23.976 Hz.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th November 2019, 02:46   #57750  |  Link
an3k
Registered User
 
an3k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Munich, Germany
Posts: 169
That is not directly correct because if I set "madVR Settings > devices > [Display] > display modes > list of all display modes madVR may switch to:" to 2560x1440p144 I can watch 3D in 144-ish Hz.

However, my main goal is to stop madVR from switching the display mode at all.
an3k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th November 2019, 02:56   #57751  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,882
you can not watch 3d without switching into 3d mode which is a mode switch.

madVR 3d may work in other modes but that doesn't change that it only support 1080p23 3D.

btw. dispalyport doesn't have the bandwidth for 1440p 144 hz 3d that's like 1440p 288 hz 2d.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th November 2019, 03:15   #57752  |  Link
an3k
Registered User
 
an3k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Munich, Germany
Posts: 169
Uhm, I may have forgotten to say Side-By-Side!

MPC-HC / madVR never goes into real 3D mode, simply because I don't have any 3D capable display. Instead madVR shows the MVC H.264 MKV in Side-By-Side mode.

I tested this on my second PC which has the identical monitor but using HDMI. On HDMI the monitor supports a maximum of 60 Hz and does NOT support 23 or 24 Hz. If I play the same file there no display mode change happens. I made sure the settings for MPC-HC and madVR are identical on both PCs.

Last edited by an3k; 8th November 2019 at 03:21.
an3k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th November 2019, 08:36   #57753  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,817
If you set madVR into side-by-side mode in the display options, then it will not do mode switching for 3D. My guess is that your settings are not actually identical, because even if you copy the settings file you need to re-configure the display part on each system.
Also, if you don't have a 3D display, what good is side-by-side mode anyway?
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 8th November 2019, 12:10   #57754  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 842
If you sellotape a piece of cardboard vertically down your face between your eyes and sit just at t the right distance from the TV you can emulate a 3D monitor.

__________________
OLED EF950-YAMAHA RX-V685-Win101809-4K 444 RGB 60hz-AMD RX580 19.9.2
KODI DS - MAD/LAV 92.14/0.74.1 - 3D / DIRECT3D11 / MADVR 10bit
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th November 2019, 13:49   #57755  |  Link
an3k
Registered User
 
an3k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Munich, Germany
Posts: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevcairiel View Post
If you set madVR into side-by-side mode in the display options, then it will not do mode switching for 3D.
Thank you, that did the trick. Keeping it on auto causes the mode switch event though its SBS too.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nevcairiel View Post
My guess is that your settings are not actually identical, because even if you copy the settings file you need to re-configure the display part on each system.
Also, if you don't have a 3D display, what good is side-by-side mode anyway?
The settings are identical. The difference is that my secondary PC only supports 59 Hz and 60 Hz, thus madVR cannot find a suitable 1920x1080 mode and just doesn't change the display mode at all. Primary PC supports 23, 24, 59, 60, 85, 100, 120, 144 Hz. SBS mode is fine for VR headsets. You can't directly shove the video onto the HMD but need a software player that creates a virtual display or screen in VR. Basically all of these players support SBS.
an3k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th November 2019, 14:19   #57756  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,882
steam supports this BTW.

using madVR and some settings in steam where used as a guide to get 3D video playback into VR headset may years back and on top of it smooth motion was highly recommended because of the 90 hz issue.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th November 2019, 17:18   #57757  |  Link
Siso
Registered User
 
Siso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 402
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
you can not watch 3d without switching into 3d mode which is a mode switch.

madVR 3d may work in other modes but that doesn't change that it only support 1080p23 3D.

btw. dispalyport doesn't have the bandwidth for 1440p 144 hz 3d that's like 1440p 288 hz 2d.
Does displayport 1.2 support 3440x1440p@72 hz?
Siso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th November 2019, 17:49   #57758  |  Link
an3k
Registered User
 
an3k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Munich, Germany
Posts: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by Siso View Post
Does displayport 1.2 support 3440x1440p@72 hz?
Yes, maximum for DisplayPort 1.2 is 3840  2160 @ 75 Hz uncompressed RGB / 4:4:4 video using HBR2 transmission mode.
an3k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th November 2019, 18:46   #57759  |  Link
Siso
Registered User
 
Siso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 402
Quote:
Originally Posted by an3k View Post
Yes, maximum for DisplayPort 1.2 is 3840  2160 @ 75 Hz uncompressed RGB / 4:4:4 video using HBR2 transmission mode.
Thank you for the reply.
Siso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th November 2019, 20:51   #57760  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,683
Quote:
Originally Posted by an3k View Post
That is not directly correct because if I set "madVR Settings > devices > [Display] > display modes > list of all display modes madVR may switch to:" to 2560x1440p144 I can watch 3D in 144-ish Hz.
You already figured this out but SBS is not 3D from madVR's point of view (it is not using a 3D output format).
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 14:06.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.