Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 4th August 2019, 19:19   #57041  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 4,141
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wull View Post
If I wished to watch a 4K HDR movie without HDR, do you simply select 'passthrough HDR to display' and uncheck 'send HDR metadata to the display'?
No. To watch HDR video as SDR you need to convert it to SDR. Do not select "passthrough HDR to display". If what you want is to watch the HDR video as your (SDR) display presents it your settings are correct but the video will appear washed out.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wull View Post
As I've tried this expecting the 4K image to look similar to a 1080p pic and it doesn't. I used the same picture settings for each, yet the 4K looked a little washed out in comparison.
Yes, you need to convert HDR to SDR for it to look correct on a SDR display. madVR does this pretty well but it will never look exactly like the SDR master. Mastering is a creative process that results in different video for SDR and HDR.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th August 2019, 20:03   #57042  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,127
Quote:
Originally Posted by Knight77 View Post
So wait...in madvr "already calibrated" setting should I select those too? Even if I'm using MPC-BE and madvr just to watch 2160p HDR and my TV switch to BT2020?
The calibration settings only refer to the display's SDR mode. HDR content is passthrough unless you select pixel shaders with SDR output.
Warner306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th August 2019, 20:15   #57043  |  Link
Wull
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
No. To watch HDR video as SDR you need to convert it to SDR. Do not select "passthrough HDR to display". If what you want is to watch the HDR video as your (SDR) display presents it your settings are correct but the video will appear washed out.



Yes, you need to convert HDR to SDR for it to look correct on a SDR display. madVR does this pretty well but it will never look exactly like the SDR master. Mastering is a creative process that results in different video for SDR and HDR.
Thank's for explaining that. Which setting within madVR do I select to convert HDR to SDR? Would it be this? (let madVR decide: Sends HDR data to displays capable of HDR, otherwise coverts to SDR using pixel shader math). My Display is capable of HDR. I was just hoping to watch a 4K image with no HDR.

Last edited by Wull; 4th August 2019 at 20:26.
Wull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th August 2019, 23:50   #57044  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,409
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wull View Post
My Display is capable of HDR. I was just hoping to watch a 4K image with no HDR.
Each time I try to respond to this statement I just stop short lol.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2019, 00:38   #57045  |  Link
el Filou
Registered User
 
el Filou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 733
Maybe Wull wants to compare HDR and SDR to show a comparison to other people?
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10 1909, MediaPortal 1, LAV Filters, ReClock, madVR. DVB-C TV, Panasonic GT60, 6.0 speakers Denon 2310, Core 2 Duo E7400, GeForce 1050 Ti
el Filou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2019, 00:39   #57046  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 4,141
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wull View Post
Sends HDR data to displays capable of HDR, otherwise coverts to SDR using pixel shader math). My Display is capable of HDR. I was just hoping to watch a 4K image with no HDR.
Since your display supports HDR you would need to set madVR to convert to SDR using pixel shader math all the time.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2019, 02:40   #57047  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,127
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
Each time I try to respond to this statement I just stop short lol.
That sounds like the definition of HDR on a projector.
Warner306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2019, 10:51   #57048  |  Link
mrmojo666
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 107
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warner306 View Post
Windows 1903 is known to have issues with banding
also with the the proper hotfix ?
__________________
AMD Ry 1500x - 8GB - RX460 4GB
TV Philips 55pus6501+ Marantz 1608 avr
WIN10(1903) 4K/444RGB
Mediaportal - Mpc-hc
MADVR-D3D11/10bit
mrmojo666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2019, 11:30   #57049  |  Link
tp4tissue
Registered User
 
tp4tissue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 630
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wull View Post
I used the same picture settings for each, yet the 4K looked a little washed out in comparison.
HDR -> SDR shader , the image is still HDR fitted to a different signal output to the TV.

THE TV could be in SDR, but it's outputting what the HDR signal should look like (in HDR) as rendered by Madvr.

The HDR to SDR shader is advantageous because Madvr currently does a better job tonemapping than many, if not most tvs for HDR content.

You are not suppose to compare an HDR file to SDR file, they will never look the same, because they are color-graded differently to different specifications.

HDR to SDR does not chop off the HDR and leave you with an SDR image.

It's taking an HDR image, and sending it in an SDR signal that the TV can understand in its SDR mode, but the image is still HDR.
__________________
Ghetto | 2500k 5Ghz
tp4tissue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2019, 12:50   #57050  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,127
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrmojo666 View Post
also with the the proper hotfix ?
I'm sure it will be fixed, but it was/is an issue.
Warner306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2019, 13:21   #57051  |  Link
mrmojo666
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 107
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warner306 View Post
I'm sure it will be fixed, but it was/is an issue.
sorry to insist, it should be fixed, the hotfix was released last week. As i posted days ago.

IMO keeping to state: "there is, was, willl bugs" creates just confusion on users. It looks like more a win10 blaming without reasons

another story if there is something tested with hotfix installed and the bug persists......
__________________
AMD Ry 1500x - 8GB - RX460 4GB
TV Philips 55pus6501+ Marantz 1608 avr
WIN10(1903) 4K/444RGB
Mediaportal - Mpc-hc
MADVR-D3D11/10bit
mrmojo666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2019, 14:07   #57052  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6,882
your first link talks about 10 bit banding with your own words.

bit deep has nothing to do with the issues it happens an all application all screen all bit deeps we only found one workaround and that's d3d9 overlay which ignores the WDDM.

we have two reports that 18941 doesn't have the issue but that's not enough to call it fixed in that version yet.

if you think or if they fixed it for you test it and report that and but don't claim they fixed it because you read a line about 10 bit banding so it has to be that issues.

not saying they haven't fixed it yet just saying none has confirmed it.

or do it like this does KB4505903 and/or KB4501375 fix the issue can someone confirm that?

but don't come in like i have no banding so there is no banding...
do you even know the requirements to trigger the system wide banding on 1903?
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2019, 14:20   #57053  |  Link
Wull
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
Since your display supports HDR you would need to set madVR to convert to SDR using pixel shader math all the time.
Thanks to all the above. I now understand the differences between HDR & SDR

Yep, I own a projector. The reason for this question was to see what my options are. Basically I’ve been using to great effect madVR’s zoom for movies that have IMAX presentation. So I was thinking of forgoing HDR in favor of zoom.

As my projector doesn’t have the blanking feature like the JVC’s, I see my only options now are either to watch Blu-ray IMAX presentations/zoom or use the projectors zoom to shrink the IMAX image to fit my screen. Or I could just overspill, which looks rubbish.

Anyone using JRiver/madVR - HDR pixel shader with a gtx1080?

Last edited by Wull; 24th August 2019 at 18:08.
Wull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2019, 14:30   #57054  |  Link
mrmojo666
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 107
IMO you just like to blame something.

Are you using 1903 with proper hotfix ? are you still having banding ?

If you answer NO at the first question for sure you must stop talking about it.

I read a lot of blaming words from you but you never cleared if you have tried 1903 with hotfix or not.

If you are using 1903 with hotfix and you still having banding, as you like to say for the opposite, that is not proving at all is a windows problem, but we can talk about it to try to understand the point.

So keep saying it's not fixed because you didn't tried is unfair and childish.

I have 1903 with hotfix and no banding. i know that my experience (and there is another user with the same experience) not prove anything. But at least I've tried and i can talk about my experience.

What piss me off if this blaming that you and others keep to do all the time, in the past was on AMD cards, now it's on win10 ..tomorrow what it will be ?

If i was a new madvr user I would be scared to use it, reading your posts....

PS: this is my gut feeling, will all the respect for you guys
__________________
AMD Ry 1500x - 8GB - RX460 4GB
TV Philips 55pus6501+ Marantz 1608 avr
WIN10(1903) 4K/444RGB
Mediaportal - Mpc-hc
MADVR-D3D11/10bit

Last edited by mrmojo666; 5th August 2019 at 14:56.
mrmojo666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2019, 15:01   #57055  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6,882
so you fixed a problem you never had? https://forum.doom9.org/showpost.php...ostcount=56881
ironic isn't it.
Quote:
So keep saying it's not fixed because you didn't tried is unfair and childish.
but i'm childish for testing this properly?
just a reminder i didn't say this update doesn't fix it we have no one confirming it yet. i have a post where "there is no issue" and "look they fixed it" and "just google it" from you so?

and now this:
Quote:
I have 1903 with hotfix and no banding. i know that my experience (and there is another user with the same experience) not prove anything. But at least I've tried and i can talk about my experience.
if you really want to help confirm the requirements first to trigger the bug. don't blindly claim "my system is fine without understanding the issue/ having it" and don't claim it is fixed if you never confirmed to have it!
Quote:
If you answer NO at the first answer for sure you must stop talking about it.
sorry i'm on 18941 to test the issue i have to reinstall windows to go back to 1903. still communicating with other user about this problem BTW. https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.p...48#post1879948
feel free to join. but claiming i didn't test this is well just leave it at this...
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2019, 15:30   #57056  |  Link
mrmojo666
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 107
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
so you fixed a problem you never had? https://forum.doom9.org/showpost.php...ostcount=56881
ironic isn't it.

but i'm childish for testing this properly?
just a reminder i didn't say this update doesn't fix it we have no one confirming it yet. i have a post where "there is no issue" and "look they fixed it" and "just google it" from you so?

and now this:

if you really want to help confirm the requirements first to trigger the bug. don't blindly claim "my system is fine without understanding the issue/ having it" and don't claim it is fixed if you never confirmed to have it!

sorry i'm on 18941 to test the issue i have to reinstall windows to go back to 1903. still communicating with other user about this problem BTW. https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.p...48#post1879948
feel free to join. but claiming i didn't test this is well just leave it at this...
you are talking about 1903 with hotfix without have tested with your hands ahahahahaha funny this does not look like a good testing, looks like more not testing at all

I have posted as other user did to share my experience, i posted link to a MS hotfix that should fix it (for the sake of trying to help), you said that hotfix is for other issues and actually you were wrong. sorry but what does make you think you are more credible than MS ?

And now you are telling lies , saying that i said there is no issue because i haven't had the issue ? that is not true.

You like to blame that's all. and in this way you are not providing a good service to madvr.

And if you want to close this pointless discussion, i think we make a favor to all the thread.
__________________
AMD Ry 1500x - 8GB - RX460 4GB
TV Philips 55pus6501+ Marantz 1608 avr
WIN10(1903) 4K/444RGB
Mediaportal - Mpc-hc
MADVR-D3D11/10bit
mrmojo666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2019, 16:53   #57057  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6,882
every one can read your posts just saying.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2019, 20:00   #57058  |  Link
el Filou
Registered User
 
el Filou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 733
The '1903 banding issue' is not fixed yet, Microsoft is listing the general issue (of which the visible banding is only one effect) in the Windows 1903 official list of known issues, and the current status is still only 'mitigated': https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/win...903#601msgdesc
(this doesn't specifically mention banding, but the list of scenarios that "may have issues" corresponds to the problem reported)

Their only 'mitigation' btw is to reboot when it happens, but it doesn't work for all those scenarios/not for long.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10 1909, MediaPortal 1, LAV Filters, ReClock, madVR. DVB-C TV, Panasonic GT60, 6.0 speakers Denon 2310, Core 2 Duo E7400, GeForce 1050 Ti
el Filou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2019, 20:43   #57059  |  Link
JonnyRedHed
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Wales
Posts: 37
Hi guys.

Have you seen this (OC3D Article url) Nvidia tells users to update their drivers to patch security flaws

Thing is I'm still on an old gpu (MSI 670 OC), and have been happy just using madvr and NV 385.28 WHQL.

Do I and others still using 385.28 now need to update to the latest NV (410.60 or newer).

Last edited by JonnyRedHed; 5th August 2019 at 20:45.
JonnyRedHed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2019, 21:50   #57060  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 10,049
Thats not the first driver with security fixes. A whole list of them was fixed in between 385 and today. If you care about that is up to you entirely.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:11.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.