Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 26th December 2019, 12:26   #58241  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6,882
as said many times before everything that changes the results will make it mathematical incorrect.

the not neutral look, blur and sharpness loss are just a problem of your screen.

smooth motion will never be able to beat frame rate matching at best you will not see the difference but your device has to be up to this task.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th December 2019, 12:41   #58242  |  Link
el Filou
Registered User
 
el Filou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 733
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoelArt View Post
I tried ReClock but I haven't found any setting in it that works with potplayerm MPC-HC or BE versions. Does someone know how to set up perfect working ReClock with any of those?
What do you mean no settings that work? ReClock is automatic. Its icon should turn yellow and it should say something like "Cannot sync this CINEMA video to your hardware, but to improve playback media will be played at 24.000 fps".
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10 1909, MediaPortal 1, LAV Filters, ReClock, madVR. DVB-C TV, Panasonic GT60, 6.0 speakers Denon 2310, Core 2 Duo E7400, GeForce 1050 Ti
el Filou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th December 2019, 13:05   #58243  |  Link
Morgin187
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 21
Hey folks. I've been trying so many settings but cant get rid of colour banding. My question is what settings in Madvr, TV (samsung qled) and pc effect colour banding and artifacts in dark scenes (purple'ish box's). I've tried everything. please help
Morgin187 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th December 2019, 13:28   #58244  |  Link
JoelArt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by el Filou View Post
What do you mean no settings that work? ReClock is automatic. Its icon should turn yellow and it should say something like "Cannot sync this CINEMA video to your hardware, but to improve playback media will be played at 24.000 fps".
Ah yes I get that with ReClock as well but the frame cadence isn't stable and my Motionflow stutters a lot.

But I might have finally found a working solution: In PotPlayer 32-bit, if I install (don't know if its build in but I have it installed) and use AviSynth and put this in the script:
Code:
potplayer_source()
ChangeFPS(30)
I get a very stable frame cadenced and far and few stutters. So it seem I now can keep my desktop refresh rate at 60hz and watch 24p movies as I wished for. I have tried it on a couple of movies, aniem and even with HDR and madVR and it seem to work just fine but I need more testing to be sure.

Last edited by JoelArt; 26th December 2019 at 14:20.
JoelArt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th December 2019, 16:45   #58245  |  Link
Siso
Registered User
 
Siso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 508
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
your device has to be up to this task.
By device you mean monitor or video card?
Siso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th December 2019, 18:32   #58246  |  Link
VBB
Registered User
 
VBB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Long Beach, CA, USA
Posts: 564
He means the display. Having used smooth motion myself for about half a year now, I can say that, at least on my OLED, it does not alter the original look at all. And like I said earlier, the slight blur is welcome, because without it, OLED motion is too harsh at 24Hz. In order for smooth motion to work, you have to disable all interpolation and pull-down/cadence processing, and of course run everything at 60Hz.
__________________
Henry

LG OLED65C7P | Denon AVR-X3500H | ELAC Uni-Fi x7 | ELAC Debut 2.0 SUB3030 x2
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960 | LAV Filters | madVR | MPC-HC | Plex | X-Rite i1Display Pro | DisplayCAL | HCFR
VBB is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 26th December 2019, 19:11   #58247  |  Link
Siso
Registered User
 
Siso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 508
Quote:
Originally Posted by VBB View Post
He means the display. Having used smooth motion myself for about half a year now, I can say that, at least on my OLED, it does not alter the original look at all. And like I said earlier, the slight blur is welcome, because without it, OLED motion is too harsh at 24Hz. In order for smooth motion to work, you have to disable all interpolation and pull-down/cadence processing, and of course run everything at 60Hz.
That's true, I'm using a refresh rate of 72 hz with reclock on a monitor, tested 2 days ago smooth motion on 60 hz, and it felt little weird to me. But as huhn said, in one review I read that my monitor has mediocre motion handling...

Last edited by Siso; 26th December 2019 at 20:25.
Siso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th December 2019, 01:22   #58248  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,409
Quote:
Originally Posted by VBB View Post
Having used smooth motion myself for about half a year now, I can say that, at least on my OLED, it does not alter the original look at all. And like I said earlier, the slight blur is welcome, because without it, OLED motion is too harsh at 24Hz.
It's noticeable to me on mine. It was most noticeable on animated content which is also where I noticed it more on my plasma too. The overall crispness of the picture was slightly dulled making it less vibrant and less pleasing to look at. I didn't think it would matter as much on an OLED based on Asmodian's testimony of the same but the difference to me is rather apparent. I'll sacrifice the motion smoothing in this case.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th December 2019, 02:18   #58249  |  Link
VBB
Registered User
 
VBB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Long Beach, CA, USA
Posts: 564
What I mean by original look is there is no interpolation applied with smooth motion. SM only blends frames. It does nothing else to the picture.
__________________
Henry

LG OLED65C7P | Denon AVR-X3500H | ELAC Uni-Fi x7 | ELAC Debut 2.0 SUB3030 x2
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960 | LAV Filters | madVR | MPC-HC | Plex | X-Rite i1Display Pro | DisplayCAL | HCFR
VBB is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 28th December 2019, 04:11   #58250  |  Link
WuNgUn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 93
Whenever I'm watching a movie, and subtitles come on, I get a stutter and then playback just starts dropping frames....
If I stop and restart, playback is fine again, until subs are shown again.

Sent from my SM-G965U1 using Tapatalk
WuNgUn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th December 2019, 14:34   #58251  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6,882
if you use the new subtitle interface then there is little you can do about it to really fix it.

madVR knows there are subtitles but it doesn't prepare to render them the needed rendersteps are not loaded and when it has to display subs is has to do this instantly which is not possible under all situations and after that it buffers them it will stop after a while if subtitles aren't shown for a long time so the issue can happen more then one time per file.

you can try small queue a different subtitle renderer like xy vsfilter and settings that doesn't make your GPU do much work so it maybe fast enough to avoid the dropping of frames.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th December 2019, 19:01   #58252  |  Link
x7007
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 262
Do we still need to change in nvidia cp to YCbCr 4:2:2 10bit or 12bit for best HDR in the player like potplayer? or just enable OS HDR vs NV HDR? what is the best course?
x7007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th December 2019, 19:03   #58253  |  Link
WuNgUn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by x7007 View Post
Do we still need to change in nvidia cp to YCbCr 4:2:2 10bit or 12bit for best HDR in the player like potplayer? or just enable OS HDR vs NV HDR? what is the best course?
Don't use Win10 HDR...
As far as I know, RGB full and make sure MadVR is setup to pass thru HDR meta data to the TV

Sent from my SM-G965U1 using Tapatalk
WuNgUn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th December 2019, 20:11   #58254  |  Link
biship
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 19
I have a GTX 1050 with latest NVIDIA drivers and a LG C9.
All video types work perfectly with MadVR except HDR.
I just get a black screen.

Windows 10 HDR is disabled, Nvidia is set to 8Bit RGB Full. MadVR is at default settings (except for 2160p23, 2160p24, 2160p25, 2160p29, 2160p30, 2160p50, 2160p59, 2160p60)
I've tried many combinations of HDR pass-through, bit depth, windowed/exclusive mode, present 0 to many frames in advance.
Nothing seems to fix it.

With HDR 4K, I get either no, or a few frames, showing the OSD (with times looking perfect). Audio continues fine.
Help appreciated!
__________________
LG OLED65C9PUA | Denon AVR-X3500H | Windows 10 | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050 | LAV Filters | madVR | MediaPortal | Plex

Last edited by biship; 28th December 2019 at 20:13.
biship is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th December 2019, 20:17   #58255  |  Link
WuNgUn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 93
Quote:
=biship;1894060
I just get a black screen
Check rendering settings...
I've seen similar issues with my 960 with windows overlay, full screen exclusive, desktop comp, etc. settings...
Try turning all this off

Sent from my SM-G965U1 using Tapatalk

Last edited by WuNgUn; 29th December 2019 at 03:29.
WuNgUn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th December 2019, 13:49   #58256  |  Link
JoelArt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by biship View Post
I have a GTX 1050 with latest NVIDIA drivers and a LG C9.
All video types work perfectly with MadVR except HDR.
I just get a black screen.

Windows 10 HDR is disabled, Nvidia is set to 8Bit RGB Full. MadVR is at default settings (except for 2160p23, 2160p24, 2160p25, 2160p29, 2160p30, 2160p50, 2160p59, 2160p60)
I've tried many combinations of HDR pass-through, bit depth, windowed/exclusive mode, present 0 to many frames in advance.
Nothing seems to fix it.

With HDR 4K, I get either no, or a few frames, showing the OSD (with times looking perfect). Audio continues fine.
Help appreciated!

PotPlayer (madVR as rendered of course)
Windows 10 HDR is enabled (if not it will kick in once I launch a video)

My settings:

Devices > TV >
Calibration:
[x]disable calibration controls for this display.
HDR: passthrough HDR to display
[x] send HDR meta data to the display

Rendering>General Settings:
[x] delay playback start..
[x] delay playback start after seeking
[_] enable windows overlay
[_] enabled automatic fullscreen exclusive mode
[_] disable desktop composition
[x] use D3D 11 for presentation
[_] present a frame for every VSync
[_] use a separate device for presentation
[_] use a separate device for DXVA
JoelArt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th December 2019, 14:02   #58257  |  Link
WuNgUn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoelArt View Post

I know I can change the refresh rate to get smooth playback but then the mouse movement and windows will feel super sluggish and switching between refresh rates is super annoying manually, and even if I set up the player to do it automatically the whole screen goes black for a moment making jumping in and out a video to check something in a browser, eg a word or an actor/ess really jarring.
This, as far as I know, is something you gotta live with... My set up is exactly the same. When I sit down for a program, I watch the program. Jumping in and out of full screen to do other stuff on the PC just isn't a great experience. Lol
If I use 60Hz playback, then "movie" profile is disabled, as is a lot of the "expert settings" on my Samsung TV.

Sent from my SM-G965U1 using Tapatalk
WuNgUn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th December 2019, 17:07   #58258  |  Link
WuNgUn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 93
So, who's running dual, mixed video cards?
I'm retiring my desktop PC with R9 280 AMD card and gonna test it in my HTPC with GTX 960...
Apparently this works with DX12

Sent from my SM-G965U1 using Tapatalk
WuNgUn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th December 2019, 20:19   #58259  |  Link
el Filou
Registered User
 
el Filou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 733
madVR won't be able to use both at the same time.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10 1909, MediaPortal 1, LAV Filters, ReClock, madVR. DVB-C TV, Panasonic GT60, 6.0 speakers Denon 2310, Core 2 Duo E7400, GeForce 1050 Ti
el Filou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th December 2019, 20:23   #58260  |  Link
WuNgUn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by el Filou View Post
madVR won't be able to use both at the same time.
Yup... No workie


Sent from my SM-G965U1 using Tapatalk
WuNgUn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 19:31.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.