Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > VapourSynth

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 30th August 2015, 20:18   #1701  |  Link
Are_
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Ibiza, Spain
Posts: 311
Also I think Linux binaries will not be much useful to him. :/
Are_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th September 2015, 12:10   #1702  |  Link
Myrsloik
Professional Code Monkey
 
Myrsloik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ikea Chair
Posts: 2,279
Don't forget to install all updates. Here's a friendly reminder.
__________________
VapourSynth - proving that scripting languages and video processing isn't dead yet
Myrsloik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th September 2015, 17:25   #1703  |  Link
Myrsloik
Professional Code Monkey
 
Myrsloik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ikea Chair
Posts: 2,279
Now for a small poll. Should the next version be compiled for python 3.4 or 3.5?

This of course assumes python 3.5 will be released by then. It's probably less than a week away.
__________________
VapourSynth - proving that scripting languages and video processing isn't dead yet
Myrsloik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th September 2015, 18:23   #1704  |  Link
stax76
Registered User
 
stax76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: On thin ice
Posts: 6,658
I would prefer 3.5.
stax76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th September 2015, 00:21   #1705  |  Link
Khanattila
Registered User
 
Khanattila's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 440
Quote:
Originally Posted by HolyWu View Post
Unfortunately VS-FFT3DFilter's processing is single-threaded, which make it not significantly faster than DFTTest. More importantly, it supports only 8-bit input and will introduce banding after denoising. I'd recommend KNLMeans as one of the other choices if he has a decent GPU.
Without offending anyone, I'd recommend always KNLMeans
__________________
github.com
Khanattila is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th September 2015, 00:39   #1706  |  Link
Sparktank
47.952fps@71.928Hz
 
Sparktank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 938
Quote:
Originally Posted by Myrsloik View Post
python 3.4 or 3.5?
I remember some time before when I first tried to install, VS was done using older python and I had already installed newest updates for python. I had decided to wait for VS to update to newest python, but by then a lot of time had passed and I forgot.

So, I would vote for the newest python, 3.5.
Anyone new looking into VS will be off to a very fresh start, as fresh as possible, at least.
__________________
Win10 (x64) build 18362| GPU Caps Viewer 1.42.4.0
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 3GB (GP106) 3071MB/GDDR5 | (r435_95-4)
NTSC | DVD: R1 | BD: A
Intel Xeon X5660 @2.80GHz

Last edited by Sparktank; 10th September 2015 at 05:01. Reason: *"stat" to "start".... "stat" ??? o_O
Sparktank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th September 2015, 07:45   #1707  |  Link
feisty2
I'm Siri
 
feisty2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Providence, RI
Posts: 2,504
3.5, always not a bad thing tryna stay update
__________________
If I got new ideas, will post here: https://github.com/IFeelBloated
feisty2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th September 2015, 22:00   #1708  |  Link
Myrsloik
Professional Code Monkey
 
Myrsloik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ikea Chair
Posts: 2,279
Here's R28 test 2.

WARNING! The VS2015 runtime needs to be installed manually for now

Note that this build was made with VS2015 and without tcmalloc. Speed comparisons to R27 would be interesting to see. Apart from the compiler switch it's more or less purely a bugfix release.

Code:
r28:
get_core() can now be used in callbacks and other external functions in python
now returns an error message saying that windows needs to be updated in certain cases when plugin loading fails
fixed loop filter (nodame)
lut and lut2 can now output float as well
now accepts scripts that start with a BOM as well
fixed an image corruption bug with 9-16 bit input to rgvs when the c++ code is used
fixed division by zero issues in muldivrational in vshelper.h
blankclip can now create 0 (unknown/variable) fps clips
added float support to planedifference and planeaverage
added half support to addborders
relevant compile time options are now in the version string
Still uses python 3.4 obviously.
__________________
VapourSynth - proving that scripting languages and video processing isn't dead yet

Last edited by Myrsloik; 8th September 2015 at 22:03.
Myrsloik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th September 2015, 19:50   #1709  |  Link
mastrboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 303
How do one use a similar function to avisynths import() ?

I tried the "python way": exec(open('filter.vpy').read()) but that just resulted in a error message: Unhandled C++ Exception...

Edit: Nevermind, I forgot to remove the source filter from the filter.vpy template, now it works...
__________________
(i have a tendency to drunk post)

Last edited by mastrboy; 11th September 2015 at 19:54. Reason: added info
mastrboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th September 2015, 20:11   #1710  |  Link
Myrsloik
Professional Code Monkey
 
Myrsloik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ikea Chair
Posts: 2,279
Quote:
Originally Posted by mastrboy View Post
How do one use a similar function to avisynths import() ?

I tried the "python way": exec(open('filter.vpy').read()) but that just resulted in a error message: Unhandled C++ Exception...

Edit: Nevermind, I forgot to remove the source filter from the filter.vpy template, now it works...
How did you get the unhandled C++ exception? If you can describe it and provide the exact scripts you used it'd help a lot. It should never crash because of python exec...
__________________
VapourSynth - proving that scripting languages and video processing isn't dead yet
Myrsloik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th September 2015, 20:18   #1711  |  Link
mastrboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 303
Quote:
Originally Posted by Myrsloik View Post
How did you get the unhandled C++ exception? If you can describe it and provide the exact scripts you used it'd help a lot. It should never crash because of python exec...
Here here was my ep01.vpy
PHP Code:
import vapoursynth as vs
core 
vs.get_core(threads=8)
vid core.avisource.AVIFileSource('I:/ep01.avs')
exec(open('filter.vpy').read()) 
and here was my filter.vpy when it crashed:
PHP Code:
import vapoursynth as vs
core 
vs.get_core(threads=8)
vid core.avisource.AVIFileSource('I:/filter.avs')
vid core.resize.Spline(clip=vidwidth=960height=540)
super core.mv.Super(vid)
mvbw3 core.mv.Analyse(superisb=Truedelta=3overlap=4,blksize=8)
mvbw2 core.mv.Analyse(superisb=Truedelta=2overlap=4,blksize=8)
mvbw core.mv.Analyse(superisb=Truedelta=1overlap=4,blksize=8)
mvfw core.mv.Analyse(superisb=Falsedelta=1overlap=4,blksize=8)
mvfw2 core.mv.Analyse(superisb=Falsedelta=2overlap=4,blksize=8)
mvfw3 core.mv.Analyse(superisb=Falsedelta=3overlap=4,blksize=8)
out core.mv.Degrain3(clip=vidsuper=supermvbw=mvbwmvfw=mvfwmvbw2=mvbw2mvfw2=mvfw2mvbw3=mvbw3mvfw3=mvfw3thsad=275)
#out = core.hist.Luma(clip=out)
out.set_output() 
ep01.avs is:
PHP Code:
DGsource("ep01.dgi"
As you can see, I forgot to comment some stuff out in filter.vpy when it crashed, also filter.avs did not exist since I renamed that to ep01.avs
__________________
(i have a tendency to drunk post)
mastrboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th September 2015, 09:56   #1712  |  Link
cybersharky
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 131
What python path's are needed to install vapoursynth? What registry locations does the installer check?

On attempting to install I get:


my user and system paths start with:
Code:
C:\Python34\;C:\Python34\Scripts;
but they do also have:
Code:
C:\Enthought\Canopy32\User;C:\Enthought\Canopy32\User\Scripts;
I need Canopy's python 2 version for courses I'm doing.

Yes, I have installed python 3.4.3 for all users.

I'm on Windows 8.1 x64, all the latest updates installed.
cybersharky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th September 2015, 11:13   #1713  |  Link
Are_
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Ibiza, Spain
Posts: 311
We can't see your image because it looks like it's not public.
Are_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th September 2015, 11:25   #1714  |  Link
Myrsloik
Professional Code Monkey
 
Myrsloik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ikea Chair
Posts: 2,279
Quote:
Originally Posted by cybersharky View Post
What python path's are needed to install vapoursynth? What registry locations does the installer check?

On attempting to install I get:


my user and system paths start with:
Code:
C:\Python34\;C:\Python34\Scripts;
but they do also have:
Code:
C:\Enthought\Canopy32\User;C:\Enthought\Canopy32\User\Scripts;
I need Canopy's python 2 version for courses I'm doing.

Yes, I have installed python 3.4.3 for all users.

I'm on Windows 8.1 x64, all the latest updates installed.
It check for HKCU/HKLM(32/64) SOFTWARE\Python\PythonCore\3.4\InstallPath. The standard keys written by the python installer.
__________________
VapourSynth - proving that scripting languages and video processing isn't dead yet
Myrsloik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th September 2015, 12:39   #1715  |  Link
cybersharky
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 131
Quote:
Originally Posted by Myrsloik View Post
It check for HKCU/HKLM(32/64) SOFTWARE\Python\PythonCore\3.4\InstallPath. The standard keys written by the python installer.
Thanks deleted the 64 bit references and was able to install vapoursynth
cybersharky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2015, 07:40   #1716  |  Link
hajj_3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,011
python 3.5.0 is out now.
hajj_3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2015, 11:38   #1717  |  Link
~ VEGETA ~
The cult of personality
 
~ VEGETA ~'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Planet Vegeta
Posts: 121
Quote:
Originally Posted by hajj_3 View Post
python 3.5.0 is out now.
Is it necessary to update from 3.4 to 3.5?
~ VEGETA ~ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2015, 16:56   #1718  |  Link
hajj_3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,011
Quote:
Originally Posted by ~ VEGETA ~ View Post
Is it necessary to update from 3.4 to 3.5?
when the creator of vapoursynth releases a new version you will need to upgrade to v3.5.
hajj_3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2015, 17:09   #1719  |  Link
Myrsloik
Professional Code Monkey
 
Myrsloik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ikea Chair
Posts: 2,279
Python 3.5 will be required for the next release (and the test versions before that from now on). If someone with VS2010 wants to step up and compile modules for older Pythons I won't object. The biggest reason I don't support multiple versions on windows is testing.

Theoretically 2.x could work too but once again, testing. And ancient compilers. From now on I will only use VS2015 (or later) to compile this project on windows.

So now we should all celebrate Python 3.5 and its switch to a modern compiler. I can finally remove that old crap from my computer.

Btw, you should all use VS2015 too, the community edition is free.
__________________
VapourSynth - proving that scripting languages and video processing isn't dead yet
Myrsloik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2015, 17:35   #1720  |  Link
feisty2
I'm Siri
 
feisty2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Providence, RI
Posts: 2,504
Quote:
Originally Posted by Myrsloik View Post
From now on I will only use VS2015 (or later) to compile this project on windows.
I assume that would fix the mysterious vs2015 plugin vspipe crash?
__________________
If I got new ideas, will post here: https://github.com/IFeelBloated
feisty2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
speed, vaporware, vapoursynth

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:54.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.