Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 AVC / H.264

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 1st February 2012, 18:54   #1  |  Link
Dmitry Vergheles
Registered User
 
Dmitry Vergheles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 330
H264/AVC frame accurate editing (AVCHD/MOV/MP4/MKV) of SolveigMM

Hi Guys, we've just released SolveigMM Video Splitter 3 with support of frame acuracy editing of h264 video (in addition to MPEG-2 and Windows Media)

http://www.solveigmm.com/en/products/video-splitter/

It would be grate to have a feedback / suggestions or bug reports.

- New and improved interface
- MOV/MKV/MP4/AVCHD formats frame accurate trimming and joining
- Thumbnails on timeline feature
- Time format switching (time and frame\ time)
- Now it is possible to set markers within a frame (it is useful in case one frame is too long - 1 minute or so)




We'll post here a demo key shortly.
__________________
Regards,
Dmitry Vergeles
Solveig Multimedia - Video Editing Software

Last edited by Dmitry Vergheles; 8th February 2012 at 15:58.
Dmitry Vergheles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd February 2012, 00:53   #2  |  Link
CruNcher
Registered User
 
CruNcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,949
Interface:

I like the interface the storyboard is nice, and you find fast your way without reading the manual how to use it getting the idea of fragments (the batch functionality) and the slider, markers very nicely layed out (also the time zoom function) very different to what all the Chinese All in one Converter Studios and Splitters do
Also from a Design Point it looks more Windows like then in comparison Avidemux QTs framework (though that says nothing about efficiency,robustness and quality) or i guess you could also make the compare with VideoRedos Interface which isn't so nice (also 1 very big plus you don't brake the editing flow with different editing modes but allow anything in 1 task)

So for the Interface a clear 1

Engine (Dshow based):

As expected to reach frame accuracy it uses Smart Rencode with Elecards H.264 Encoder hehe i missed that Elecard logo though you have overwrite capabilities of decoder and encoder decisions it seems this makes it also very unique as the Preview can be accelerated either via DXVA native/copy back or Quicksync
The Preview of H.264 is by default done with the Elecard Decoder, parser/muxer <- (here most of the issues will come from) in the backend are all Solveigs own ones as expected

VideoRedo Smart Reencode = Mainconcept
SolveigMM Smart Reencode = Elecard

PS: Dimtry your Introduction Video cant bee seen here in Germany (its blocked) as the GEMA didn't bought the rights for the Music used in it in Germany (YoutubeID @ least marks it as such)
__________________
all my compares are riddles so please try to decipher them yourselves :)

It is about Time

Join the Revolution NOW before it is to Late !

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=168004

Last edited by CruNcher; 2nd February 2012 at 05:48.
CruNcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd February 2012, 10:23   #3  |  Link
Ulf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 66
SolveigMM Video Splitter craches for any file I throw at it with the error message:
Quote:
Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: BEX
Application Name: SMMVSplitter.exe
Application Version: 3.0.1201.27
Application Timestamp: 4f222e9e
Fault Module Name: StackHash_0a9e
Fault Module Version: 0.0.0.0
Fault Module Timestamp: 00000000
Exception Offset: 00000000
Exception Code: c0000005
Exception Data: 00000008
OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.256.1
Locale ID: 1053
Additional Information 1: 0a9e
Additional Information 2: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789
Additional Information 3: 0a9e
Additional Information 4: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789
I am running Windows 7 x64. I have tried different compatibility modes and turned off Data Execution Prevention. Nothing seems to help. Any idea?
Ulf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd February 2012, 11:39   #4  |  Link
smok3
brontosaurusrex
 
smok3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 2,395
+
.works here (win7 64), seems to do the job.

-
.There seems to be some Elecard logo issues.
.The editing gui is (at least) two pane (player, recorder) and nothing will change that, not even fcp x.
.The colors in gui should be really pale (if unsure what that means: don't use colors), video must stay in center focus all the time.

professional illustration:
Code:
----------------  ----------------
|              |  |              |
| play         |  | rec          |
|              |  |              |
|              |  |              |
----------------  ----------------
buttons           buttons
----------------------------------
timeline |      |   |  |       |
----------------------------------
__________________
certain other member

Last edited by smok3; 2nd February 2012 at 11:52.
smok3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd February 2012, 12:36   #5  |  Link
Stanislav Mikhailenko
Registered User
 
Stanislav Mikhailenko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ulf View Post
SolveigMM Video Splitter craches for any file I throw at it with the error message:

I am running Windows 7 x64. I have tried different compatibility modes and turned off Data Execution Prevention. Nothing seems to help. Any idea?
Ulf, could you make log files to determine the problem?

Use this instruction: How can I record log files
__________________
Solveig Multimedia - Video Editing Software
Stanislav Mikhailenko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd February 2012, 14:03   #6  |  Link
Dmitry Vergheles
Registered User
 
Dmitry Vergheles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 330
Quote:
Originally Posted by CruNcher View Post
Interface:

I like the interface the storyboard is nice, and you find fast your way without reading the manual how to use it getting the idea of fragments (the batch functionality) and the slider, markers very nicely layed out (also the time zoom function) very different to what all the Chinese All in one Converter Studios and Splitters do
Also from a Design Point it looks more Windows like then in comparison Avidemux QTs framework (though that says nothing about efficiency,robustness and quality) or i guess you could also make the compare with VideoRedos Interface which isn't so nice (also 1 very big plus you don't brake the editing flow with different editing modes but allow anything in 1 task)

So for the Interface a clear 1

Engine (Dshow based):

As expected to reach frame accuracy it uses Smart Rencode with Elecards H.264 Encoder hehe i missed that Elecard logo though you have overwrite capabilities of decoder and encoder decisions it seems this makes it also very unique as the Preview can be accelerated either via DXVA native/copy back or Quicksync
The Preview of H.264 is by default done with the Elecard Decoder, parser/muxer <- (here most of the issues will come from) in the backend are all Solveigs own ones as expected

VideoRedo Smart Reencode = Mainconcept
SolveigMM Smart Reencode = Elecard

PS: Dimtry your Introduction Video cant bee seen here in Germany (its blocked) as the GEMA didn't bought the rights for the Music used in it in Germany (YoutubeID @ least marks it as such)

Hi Cruncher,
Thank you for good opinion. To make a right stoybord was a really challenge
BTW - didn't know that Redo uses MC.


>>that Elecard logo
Tha's not a bug, that's restrictions of evaluation version. After registration - no logos, neither in preview nor in transcoded parts.

>>The Preview of H.264 is by default done with the Elecard Decoder, parser/muxer <-
Not for all AVC formats

>>PS: Dimtry your Introduction Video cant bee seen here in Germany (its blocked) as the GEMA didn't bought the rights for the Music used in it in Germany (YoutubeID @ least marks it as such)

Yeah, I know, I also can't watch it.
We are changing audio layout there.
__________________
Regards,
Dmitry Vergeles
Solveig Multimedia - Video Editing Software
Dmitry Vergheles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd February 2012, 14:07   #7  |  Link
Dmitry Vergheles
Registered User
 
Dmitry Vergheles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 330
Quote:
Originally Posted by smok3 View Post
+
.works here (win7 64), seems to do the job.

-
.There seems to be some Elecard logo issues.
.The editing gui is (at least) two pane (player, recorder) and nothing will change that, not even fcp x.
.The colors in gui should be really pale (if unsure what that means: don't use colors), video must stay in center focus all the time.

professional illustration:
Code:
----------------  ----------------
|              |  |              |
| play         |  | rec          |
|              |  |              |
|              |  |              |
----------------  ----------------
buttons           buttons
----------------------------------
timeline |      |   |  |       |
----------------------------------

Hi smok3,
Thanks. Logos is trial restrictions.

>>The editing gui is (at least) two pane (player, recorder) and nothing will change that, not even fcp x.

Could please you explain this point in more detail?

>>The colors in gui should be really pale (if unsure what that means: don't use colors), video must stay in center focus all the time.

Well, may be it makes sense to add some color sets.
__________________
Regards,
Dmitry Vergeles
Solveig Multimedia - Video Editing Software
Dmitry Vergheles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd February 2012, 00:22   #8  |  Link
Ulf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stanislav Mikhailenko View Post
Ulf, could you make log files to determine the problem?

Use this instruction: How can I record log files
No need. I found the problem. After uninstalling MysticThumbs it works. MysticThumbs is a software that generates thumbnails of many image formats not natively supported by Windows. Seems to interfere with SolveigMM Video Splitter 3.

Correction:
It had noting to with MysticThumbs - just a coincidence that SolveigMM worked after uninstalling MysticThumbs. I have a system with an Optimus NVIDIA hybrid graphics card. In the NVIDIA Control Panel I set the preferred graphics processor to "Integrated graphics" and SolveigMM works again. I did the same for Subtitle Workshop and finally I got the movie preview window to work.

Last edited by Ulf; 4th February 2012 at 14:22.
Ulf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd February 2012, 08:49   #9  |  Link
smok3
brontosaurusrex
 
smok3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 2,395
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dmitry Vergheles View Post
>>The editing gui is (at least) two pane (player, recorder) and nothing will change that, not even fcp x.

Could please you explain this point in more detail?
Editing is always partially picture comparison and single window editor will mostly make that more difficult (even something that may be seen as strictly technical goes into the same basket imho).

One could improve on that with some simple addons as well : "view X-comp" and "EE" buttons on the record side.
X-comp - shows 50:50 recorder and player frame for the time that button is pressed.
EE - shows player frame in record window for the time that button is pressed (fast switching must be possible). That is old fashioned tape to tape standard.

(I'am amazed there is no nle that would offer this two)
__________________
certain other member
smok3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd February 2012, 10:05   #10  |  Link
Ghitulescu
Registered User
 
Ghitulescu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,719
When one picks the START/END frames, are they included in the cut or not?
Smart rendering occurs up to I-frames or IDR-frames (important for DVB-S2 streams, and why not, for older PCs)?
Are all streams (say TXT, DVB-subtitles) kept and processed?
What about variable delays, so often found in SAT recordings (main features has an audio delay, the commercials another), are they accounted for?

Sorry for these questions, I know that I can download the trial and do myself this, but I don't install trials PER DEFINITION on my working PC.
__________________
Born in the USB (not USA)
Ghitulescu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd February 2012, 12:41   #11  |  Link
andybkma
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 183
Found a bug: When typing in the end time of the scene that you want to split, on the right counter if you type in the number 3 and anything above 3 (4, 5, 6 etc) for milliseconds (example: 00:11:26;30) it causes the whole timer to jump up one second (so if I type in the previous example, the timer jumps to 00:11:27;00 instead of staying at 00:11:26;30). However if you type in the number for 1 or 2 for the milliseconds it works (00:11:27;20). So this must be a bug as I am not able to accurately put in the end split time I want into the timer. This happened with any video format.
andybkma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th February 2012, 00:04   #12  |  Link
Dmitry Vergheles
Registered User
 
Dmitry Vergheles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 330
Quote:
Originally Posted by smok3 View Post
Editing is always partially picture comparison and single window editor will mostly make that more difficult (even something that may be seen as strictly technical goes into the same basket imho).

One could improve on that with some simple addons as well : "view X-comp" and "EE" buttons on the record side.
X-comp - shows 50:50 recorder and player frame for the time that button is pressed.
EE - shows player frame in record window for the time that button is pressed (fast switching must be possible). That is old fashioned tape to tape standard.

(I'am amazed there is no nle that would offer this two)

Agree. But at the moment we don't alter picture, no effects appliable.
__________________
Regards,
Dmitry Vergeles
Solveig Multimedia - Video Editing Software
Dmitry Vergheles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th February 2012, 00:05   #13  |  Link
Dmitry Vergheles
Registered User
 
Dmitry Vergheles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 330
Hi Ghitulescu,
>When one picks the START/END frames, are they included in the cut or not?
Should be included
__________________
Regards,
Dmitry Vergeles
Solveig Multimedia - Video Editing Software
Dmitry Vergheles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th February 2012, 00:07   #14  |  Link
smok3
brontosaurusrex
 
smok3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 2,395
Quote:
But at the moment we don't alter picture, no effects appliable.
Dmitry Vergheles: schnitt is what iam talking about (nothing to do with effects). Sorry if this is getting totally off-topic...
__________________
certain other member

Last edited by smok3; 4th February 2012 at 00:10.
smok3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th February 2012, 11:27   #15  |  Link
andybkma
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 183
Quote:
Originally Posted by andybkma View Post
Found a bug: When typing in the end time of the scene that you want to split, on the right counter if you type in the number 3 and anything above 3 (4, 5, 6 etc) for milliseconds (example: 00:11:26;30) it causes the whole timer to jump up one second (so if I type in the previous example, the timer jumps to 00:11:27;00 instead of staying at 00:11:26;30). However if you type in the number for 1 or 2 for the milliseconds it works (00:11:27;20). So this must be a bug as I am not able to accurately put in the end split time I want into the timer. This happened with any video format.
Any comment on my bug report? Do you need any other information?
andybkma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th February 2012, 21:54   #16  |  Link
Dmitry Vergheles
Registered User
 
Dmitry Vergheles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 330
Quote:
Originally Posted by andybkma View Post
Any comment on my bug report? Do you need any other information?
Hi Folks,
sorry for delayed answers.

andybkma, that's not a bug, because format is h:min:sec;frame, so the latest digits are frames.

You can also change it to h:min:sec,millisec, but then you'll see 3 digits in this field
__________________
Regards,
Dmitry Vergeles
Solveig Multimedia - Video Editing Software
Dmitry Vergheles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th February 2012, 21:57   #17  |  Link
Dmitry Vergheles
Registered User
 
Dmitry Vergheles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 330
Quote:
Originally Posted by smok3 View Post
Dmitry Vergheles: schnitt is what iam talking about (nothing to do with effects). Sorry if this is getting totally off-topic...
Ok, I understand the idea that you need to preview somewhere a possible editing result before you start it's rendering. We'll do such a feature but probable in the same window, it is necessary to think about. But in any way, we are going to make version 4, with ability to work at the same timeline with multiple files (now only one file in timeline depicted).
__________________
Regards,
Dmitry Vergeles
Solveig Multimedia - Video Editing Software
Dmitry Vergheles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th February 2012, 22:00   #18  |  Link
Dmitry Vergheles
Registered User
 
Dmitry Vergheles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 330
Hi Ghitulescu,
Sorry also for delayed answer.

>When one picks the START/END frames, are they included in the cut or not?
Should be included

>>Smart rendering occurs up to I-frames or IDR-frames (important for DVB-S2 streams, and why not, for older PCs)?
Good question, actually IDR can be meet in an input stream very seldom, so at the cue-points we re-make IDR (something like that, can't tell you full details)

>>Are all streams (say TXT, DVB-subtitles) kept and processed?
Not yet

>>What about variable delays, so often found in SAT recordings (main features has an audio delay, the commercials another), are they accounted for?
Not yet, but in our to-do list.

>>Sorry for these questions, I know that I can download the trial and do myself this, but I don't install trials PER DEFINITION on my working PC.
If you want, we'll send you a key for evaluation.
__________________
Regards,
Dmitry Vergeles
Solveig Multimedia - Video Editing Software

Last edited by Dmitry Vergheles; 6th February 2012 at 22:06.
Dmitry Vergheles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th February 2012, 22:05   #19  |  Link
Dmitry Vergheles
Registered User
 
Dmitry Vergheles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 330
Btw, there is a cool feature to set timeline in frame by frame mode
__________________
Regards,
Dmitry Vergeles
Solveig Multimedia - Video Editing Software
Dmitry Vergheles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th February 2012, 22:23   #20  |  Link
Dmitry Vergheles
Registered User
 
Dmitry Vergheles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 330
Quote:
We'll post here a demo key shortly.
It seems at this stage it is easier to give evaluation keys. Please let me know who have an interest. We need name, surname, email and company (optional), can be sent to PM.
__________________
Regards,
Dmitry Vergeles
Solveig Multimedia - Video Editing Software
Dmitry Vergheles is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:22.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.