Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > Avisynth Development

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 26th November 2017, 13:40   #1261  |  Link
videoh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 326
The source file you linked is an MKV but your script shows you opening a VOB and you said you get issues with DGIndex but it cannot open MKV. So can't help you with this.
videoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2017, 15:34   #1262  |  Link
Sharc
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by pcroland View Post
I tried DGIndex but there were still some glitches, for example the luma frame changed as it should but the chroma frames remained the same. I got an ASUS 1050 2GB, the encoding time is now 8fps and for some reason the glitches disappeared also
What do you mean by glitches? Your source.mkv has badly blended even and odd fields. I doubt that you can get anything useful out of this ....
Sharc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2017, 20:58   #1263  |  Link
pcroland
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Hungary
Posts: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by videoh View Post
The source file you linked is an MKV but your script shows you opening a VOB and you said you get issues with DGIndex but it cannot open MKV. So can't help you with this.
I used mkvtoolnix to cut out a 1min sample, sorry

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharc View Post
What do you mean by glitches? Your source.mkv has badly blended even and odd fields. I doubt that you can get anything useful out of this ....
I know there's a terrible fieldblend, the glitches that I was talking about: in the encode.mkv file you can see frames flipping upside-down randomly in the first 5 sec. But now it's fixed, thanks for the help.
pcroland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th November 2017, 11:00   #1264  |  Link
Khanattila
Registered User
 
Khanattila's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 420
Quote:
Originally Posted by Groucho2004 View Post
There are a bunch of potential culprits for the glitches. First and foremost, DirectShowSource is the worst choice for your source. Use DGIndex/DGDecode for VOB.
If that doesn't solve the glitch problem, test each of the filters/functions separately.

Yes, get a decent card (GTX1060/70/80).
Or a Vega card, when I can buy one.
__________________
https://github.com/Khanattila
Khanattila is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2017, 12:28   #1265  |  Link
lordsmurf
Registered User
 
lordsmurf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 120
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnmeyer View Post
For me, any filter that cannot get about 1 fps is a unusable. I simply don't have multiple days to devote to any individual film or video. Life is full of "engineering trade-offs," and performance does matter.
This was my same conclusion. It has a lot of potential -- but in the next decade sometime, when CPU and/or GPU is faster. I've already been through this -- 90s filtering not usable until 2000s, 00s filter not until 10s. Right now, it's little more than a tease.

Goodbye KNLmeansCL, may we meet again!
__________________
Back in town.
If you want my advice, then find me at the DigitalFAQ forum. Glad to assist.
lordsmurf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2017, 12:35   #1266  |  Link
TheFluff
Excessively jovial fellow
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: rude
Posts: 974
it was a while since I used knlmeanscl but I believe last time I tried it, it was pushing somewhere around 25 fps, and that was on a computer that is now five years old (i5-3570k, gtx... 670? I think?)

you can be in the next decade right now if you want to, is what I'm sayin'
TheFluff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2017, 12:46   #1267  |  Link
Groucho2004
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3,525
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheFluff View Post
it was a while since I used knlmeanscl but I believe last time I tried it, it was pushing somewhere around 25 fps, and that was on a computer that is now five years old (i5-3570k, gtx... 670? I think?)

you can be in the next decade right now if you want to, is what I'm sayin'
Talking about decades - Even my old GT240 which I bought almost a decade ago delivers reasonable speed with KNLMeansCL if the parameters are set to sane values.
If you're getting < 5fps you're either using unreasonable settings or you should consider updating your hardware. Otherwise just forget about GPU filters.

By the way - Intel integrated graphics are utterly useless for OpenCL.

Last edited by Groucho2004; 7th December 2017 at 12:48.
Groucho2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2017, 13:22   #1268  |  Link
Sharc
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,263
Those with a NVIDIA GPU may also want to try DGDenoise(), as an alternative to KNLmeansCL
Sharc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2017, 15:17   #1269  |  Link
lordsmurf
Registered User
 
lordsmurf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 120
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheFluff View Post
it was a while since I used knlmeanscl but I believe last time I tried it, it was pushing somewhere around 25 fps, and that was on a computer that is now five years old (i5-3570k, gtx... 670? I think?)
you can be in the next decade right now if you want to, is what I'm sayin'
You're not going to get 25fps from this:

Code:
SetFilterMTMode("DEFAULT_MT_MODE", 2)
AVISource("BadToonSample.avi")
ConvertToYV16(interlaced=true)
orig=last
ev=orig.assumetff().separatefields().selecteven()
od=orig.assumetff().separatefields().selectodd()
ev
ue_chroma = UToY(ev).blur(0,1.5).binomialblur(5).ttempsmooth(maxr=6,lthresh=150, strength=6).KNLMeansCL(d=3, 
\ a=8, h=6, device_type = "GPU", device_id = 1, channels="Y")
ve_chroma = VToY(ev).blur(0,1.5).binomialblur(5).ttempsmooth(maxr=6,lthresh=150, strength=6).KNLMeansCL(d=3, 
\ a=8, h=6, device_type = "GPU", device_id = 1, channels="Y")
YToUV(ue_chroma, ve_chroma)
MergeLuma(ev)
ev_filtered=last
od
uo_chroma = UToY(od).blur(0,1.5).binomialblur(5).ttempsmooth(maxr=6,lthresh=150, strength=6).KNLMeansCL(d=3, 
\ a=8, h=6, device_type = "GPU", device_id = 1, channels="Y")
vo_chroma = VToY(od).blur(0,1.5).binomialblur(5).ttempsmooth(maxr=6,lthresh=150, strength=6).KNLMeansCL(d=3, 
\ a=8, h=6, device_type = "GPU", device_id = 1, channels="Y")
YToUV(uo_chroma, vo_chroma)
MergeLuma(od)
od_filtered=last
interleave(ev_filtered,od_filtered)
assumefieldbased().assumetff().weave()
Prefetch(6)
KNLMeansCL will make the script crawl at about 1fps.

It's an ugly nth gen video with horrible chroma errors. I wrote a script that will suffice, with about 10fps, but the above is better -- but only in quality, not speed. The 1-hour video would take 165+ hours to process, which is not reasonable.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Groucho2004 View Post
you should consider updating your hardware. Otherwise just forget about GPU filters.
My i7-6700K with 16gb RAM doesn't need updating. I'm not a gamer, and have no need for expensive graphics cards. Furthermore, all those cards do is add room heat, as well as fan noise.

I can borrow a card, but I don't think it's going to give a usable performance boost. This is just a slow filter, GPU or not.

Feel free to test the above script, share your fps results.

Can anything replace KNLmeansCL for the sake of speed?
__________________
Back in town.
If you want my advice, then find me at the DigitalFAQ forum. Glad to assist.

Last edited by lordsmurf; 7th December 2017 at 15:33.
lordsmurf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2017, 16:03   #1270  |  Link
Groucho2004
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3,525
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordsmurf View Post
KNLMeansCL will make the script crawl at about 1fps.
Hardly surprising with 4 calls to the filter and d=3, a=8. Even a GTX1080 would struggle.
Not to mention that you're running it in 6 threads which just consumes GPU memory and probably slows it down even further.
Groucho2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2017, 16:10   #1271  |  Link
Groucho2004
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3,525
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordsmurf View Post
Furthermore, all those cards do is add room heat, as well as fan noise.
Do you think if you offload your filtering needs to the CPU it will create less heat?
Groucho2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2017, 16:42   #1272  |  Link
lordsmurf
Registered User
 
lordsmurf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 120
Quote:
Originally Posted by Groucho2004 View Post
Hardly surprising with 4 calls to the filter and d=3, a=8. Even a GTX1080 would struggle.
Not to mention that you're running it in 6 threads which just consumes GPU memory and probably slows it down even further.
Correct. Sometimes filters need to be stacked to be useful. Doing so makes them unusable. Been there, done that. But time changes that, and eventually stacking is negligible. Been there, done that too.

I deal with videos that others consider impossible. But sometimes "impossible" is merely a temporary state.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Groucho2004 View Post
Do you think if you offload your filtering needs to the CPU it will create less heat?
Since I'd rarely use the card's GPU, yes. The CPU isn't running 100% 24/7/365, as I'm not encoding constantly. But a video card would be on 24/7/365, thus heat and noise, neither of which are needed or wanted.
__________________
Back in town.
If you want my advice, then find me at the DigitalFAQ forum. Glad to assist.
lordsmurf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2017, 16:43   #1273  |  Link
lansing
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 800
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordsmurf View Post

KNLMeansCL will make the script crawl at about 1fps.

It's an ugly nth gen video with horrible chroma errors. I wrote a script that will suffice, with about 10fps, but the above is better -- but only in quality, not speed. The 1-hour video would take 165+ hours to process, which is not reasonable.
You may look at my short tutorial to how to tweak the settings. Your D and A settings are insane. Not even the dragon ball z level set need that high of an A.
lansing is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2017, 16:57   #1274  |  Link
Groucho2004
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3,525
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordsmurf View Post
The CPU isn't running 100% 24/7/365, as I'm not encoding constantly. But a video card would be on 24/7/365, thus heat and noise, neither of which are needed or wanted.
What do you mean by "a video card would be on 24/7/365"? What applies to the CPU also applies to the graphics card. If they're idle (at least with modern devices), they consume very little power. Your logic is flawed.
Groucho2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2017, 17:59   #1275  |  Link
Khanattila
Registered User
 
Khanattila's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 420
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordsmurf View Post
This was my same conclusion. It has a lot of potential -- but in the next decade sometime, when CPU and/or GPU is faster. I've already been through this -- 90s filtering not usable until 2000s, 00s filter not until 10s. Right now, it's little more than a tease.

Goodbye KNLmeansCL, may we meet again!

A. Buades, B. Coll and J.-M. Morel,
"A non-local algorithm for image denoising",
2005 IEEE Computer Society Conference on Computer Vision and Pattern Recognition.
__________________
https://github.com/Khanattila
Khanattila is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2017, 18:00   #1276  |  Link
johnmeyer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: California
Posts: 1,886
I agree that the D & A settings are a major contributor to the slow speed. I've done a lot of performance checks, and setting either of these much above the defaults will slow things to a crawl. Setting them both above the defaults, and you definitely are going to be taking the proverbial slow boat to China.
johnmeyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2017, 18:25   #1277  |  Link
lordsmurf
Registered User
 
lordsmurf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 120
Quote:
Originally Posted by Groucho2004 View Post
What do you mean by "a video card would be on 24/7/365"? What applies to the CPU also applies to the graphics card. If they're idle (at least with modern devices), they consume very little power. Your logic is flawed.
The computer is on 24/7/365, thus so would be a graphics card.

I have no graphics card, and am using the Intel 530 HD graphics built into i7-6700 using Asrock motherboard.

The CPU is extremely cool when idle -- much lower than graphics cards. Right now, it has mild load, and is only at 25. I have a Noctua on it. I think the TDP of an average fancy graphics card is something like 2x-3x that of a CPU. At best, a graphics card would be in the 30s or 40s when "idle", maybe higher. And I put that in quotes because there's really no "idle" on graphics cards, compared to CPUs, it just gets hot or hotter.

It gets worse when you pay extra for a graphics card to heat the room, then pay again to have the AC cool the room, plus all the fan noise from BOTH the graphics card fan and the AC. When I built this rig, cooling and noise was the priority, with an i7-6700K being required for horsepower.

BTW: The Intel 530 does seem to use GPU on KNLmeansCL, even if the OpenCL must be 0 in the script. The GPU is still 3x faster than pure CPU with the above script. GPU is about 15% CPU on 4 threads, while 100% CPU on 8 threads is 3x slower.

Quote:
Originally Posted by lansing View Post
You may look at my short tutorial to how to tweak the settings. Your D and A settings are insane. Not even the dragon ball z level set need that high of an A.
Insane values for insanely bad nth gen VHS. That wasn't my script, but I'll continue to play with it. So far, trying to lower values would just disable the good it was doing on the video.

Not sure what the Dragonball reference is to.
__________________
Back in town.
If you want my advice, then find me at the DigitalFAQ forum. Glad to assist.

Last edited by lordsmurf; 7th December 2017 at 19:01.
lordsmurf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2017, 18:39   #1278  |  Link
Groucho2004
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3,525
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordsmurf View Post
Right now, it has mild load, and is only at 25. I have a Noctua on it. I think the TDP of an average fancy graphics card is something like 2x-3x that of a CPU. At best, a graphics card would be in the 30s or 40s when "idle", maybe higher. And I put that in quotes because there's really no "idle" on graphics cards, compared to CPUs, it just gets hot or hotter.
TDP is mostly irrelevant for the idle/load power consumption, it just tells you how much the chip can handle.
Idle consumption of a 1060/70 for example is about 5-7 W, see here.

Anyway, I give up. I suggest you try to gather some facts before posting.
Groucho2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2017, 18:54   #1279  |  Link
lordsmurf
Registered User
 
lordsmurf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 120
Quote:
Originally Posted by Groucho2004 View Post
TDP is mostly irrelevant for the idle/load power consumption
I disagree. It's a pretty good guide for what temperatures you can expect, both at idle and 100%. Again, I get 25 from a CPU with mild load, but an "idle" GPU would easily be in the 30s-40s or more, at least doubling my system heat output. TDP suggested it. TDP of that CPU is about 90, while TDP of most fancy graphics cards are well into the 100s-200s.
__________________
Back in town.
If you want my advice, then find me at the DigitalFAQ forum. Glad to assist.

Last edited by lordsmurf; 7th December 2017 at 19:01.
lordsmurf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2017, 19:14   #1280  |  Link
Groucho2004
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3,525
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordsmurf View Post
I disagree. It's a pretty good guide for what temperatures you can expect, both at idle and 100%. Again, I get 25 from a CPU with mild load, but an "idle" GPU would easily be in the 30s-40s or more, at least doubling my system heat output. TDP suggested it. TDP of that CPU is about 90, while TDP of most fancy graphics cards are well into the 100s-200s.
I can see that measurements and facts are not your thing. Good luck with your future endeavours.
Groucho2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 23:34.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.