Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Audio encoding

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 26th January 2015, 05:35   #12961  |  Link
dade49
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by stinman View Post
The only way to to extract a TrueHD atmos stream now is to run a MKV thru MakeMKV and out put the TrueHD atmos to flac, then the flac can be converted to wavs.
This is much simpler. Extract the TrueHD Atmos stream to a multi-channel wav via ffmpeg, and then run that wav through eac3to to dts or whatever.
Code:
ffmpeg -i 00000.m2ts -map 0:1 extract.wav
eac3to extract.wav extract.dts
dade49 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2015, 14:02   #12962  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,883
Post about ffmpeg moved to ffmpeg syntax thread.

Please don't use this thread for ffmpeg discussions.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2015, 05:12   #12963  |  Link
Arm3nian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 177
I'm experimenting with the dolby headphone wrapper plugin that's available with foobar, so I'm remapping channels with eac3to to see the effects. My source file is the song from the end of the first hobbit movie (7.1 channel dts-hd ma). I downmix to 5.1 and then analyze the channels with the foobar oscilloscope. The default output of eac3to is L,R,C,LFE,SL,SR, and is verified by the waveforms. The loudest is the center, followed by the left and right, then the two surrounds, and the LFE is near non existent, but is there.

http://imgur.com/DeIVxyd

I did the same thing but remapped the channels to L,R,SL,SR,LFE,C. As can be seen in the oscilloscope, the center is still the loudest (6th waveform), followed by the left and right (first and second waveforms), but the LFE somehow has more activity now and is louder (5th waveform). The SL and SR are closely related in activity and amplitude to each other, just like before remapping, but have lower activity and amplitude than the LFE... and also have lower amplitude than before the remap.

http://imgur.com/mTc9GgA

What's going on? Does eac3to apply different mix levels while disregarding which channel is what and going just based on sequential order, or is foobar doing something.

Last edited by Arm3nian; 31st January 2015 at 05:15. Reason: more info :)
Arm3nian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2015, 11:34   #12964  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,883
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arm3nian View Post
...I did the same thing but remapped the channels to L,R,SL,SR,LFE,C.
Please put the log or at least the command line used to do this.

Quote:
Does eac3to apply different mix levels while disregarding which channel is what and going just based on sequential order,
Of course, the channel order define which channel is what.

Quote:
or is foobar doing something.
I don't know what you do with foobar.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2015, 13:26   #12965  |  Link
stax76
Registered Lurker
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 6,427
Hi everybody,

I've improved StaxRip's eac3to support quite much lately, maybe a few people here have some interest to look at the latest release:

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.ph...91#post1707791



stax76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st February 2015, 00:51   #12966  |  Link
Arm3nian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 177
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
Please put the log or at least the command line used to do this.
Of course, the channel order define which channel is what.
hobbitsongchannel6mix - Log.txt
So if the channels are not in the default order when remapped then they get mixed at wrong levels?

Last edited by Arm3nian; 1st February 2015 at 01:43.
Arm3nian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st February 2015, 19:17   #12967  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,883
eac3to input71.dt output.wav -down6
finish with:
Code:
FL' = FL       (0)
FR' = FR       (1)
FC' = FC       (2)
LF' = LF       (3)
SL' = BL + SL  (4 + 6)
SR' = BR + SR  (5 + 7)
But with remap: eac3to input71.dt output.wav -down6 -0,1,4,5,3,2
finish with:
Code:
FL' = FL       (0)
FR' = FR       (1)
FC' = BL       (4)
LF' = BR       (5)
SL' = LF + SL  (3 + 6)
SR' = FC + SR  (2 + 7)
Seems first remap the first 6 channel and after mix the Side channels .

Maybe you need 2 pass, first to only -down6 and after remap with -0,1,4,5,3,2
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th February 2015, 03:05   #12968  |  Link
Arm3nian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 177
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
eac3to input71.dt output.wav -down6
finish with:
Code:
FL' = FL       (0)
FR' = FR       (1)
FC' = FC       (2)
LF' = LF       (3)
SL' = BL + SL  (4 + 6)
SR' = BR + SR  (5 + 7)
But with remap: eac3to input71.dt output.wav -down6 -0,1,4,5,3,2
finish with:
Code:
FL' = FL       (0)
FR' = FR       (1)
FC' = BL       (4)
LF' = BR       (5)
SL' = LF + SL  (3 + 6)
SR' = FC + SR  (2 + 7)
Seems first remap the first 6 channel and after mix the Side channels .

Maybe you need 2 pass, first to only -down6 and after remap with -0,1,4,5,3,2
Yeah two passes works as expected. Madshi can change it to were the order of the commands matter; as of right now it always remaps first. I personally don't care though, just experimenting.
Arm3nian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2015, 13:26   #12969  |  Link
kevmitch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 15
6.1 flac channel order

This seems to be a semi-popular topic, but I don't think my specifc question has previously been answered.

With lord of the rings 6.1 dts-hd-ma audio

Code:
C:\> eac3to lotr.mkv
MKV, 1 video track, 5 audio tracks, 5 subtitle tracks, 2:07:41, 24p /1.001
1: h264/AVC, English, 1080p24 /1.001 (16:9)
2: DTS Master Audio, English, 6.1 channels, 24 bits, 48kHz
   (core: DTS-ES, 6.1 channels, 24 bits, 1509kbps, 48kHz)
   "Surround 6.1"
...
I decode it to flac (arcsoft 1.1.0.0)
Code:
C:\> eac3to lotr.mkv 1:lord_of_the_rings.flac
What order will the tracks be in the flac file for example if I open it in audacity?

I have verified that the flac is bit-for-bit identical (including channel order) to the makemkv decode results. This post on the makemkv forum says that the channel order should therefore be

L R C LFE Ls Rs Cs

However, if I produce my own 7 channel flac file (with libsoundfile/audiolab), I find that downmixing it with eac3to

Code:
eac3to my_7_channel.flac my_7_channel.stereo.flac -downstereo
emperically uses the following matrix
Code:
[[ 1.      0.      0.7071  0.      0.7071  1.      0.    ]
 [ 0.      1.      0.7071  0.      0.7071  0.      1.    ]]
which suggests that it is interpeting my file to have the order

L R C LFE Cs Ls Rs

Is this discrepancy due to differing channel mask between my file and that created by eac3to? Or is my first conclusion incorrect that eac3to places the centre surround channel last in the flac when decoding from dts-hd-ma?
kevmitch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2015, 13:50   #12970  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,943
The "official" FLAC 6.1 order is L R C LFE Cb Ls Rs .. unfortunately 6.1 is annoying and both orders are commonly used.
See here: http://xiph.org/flac/format.html#frame_header (scroll down to <4> channel assignment)

Quote:
7 channels: front left, front right, front center, LFE, back center, side left, side right
The MakeMKV post you referenced is old, since FLAC did add official 7 and 8 channel orders now.
However, it may be nice and write metadata into the FLAC headers to indicate the channel order, which eac3to should hopefully read.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2015, 19:06   #12971  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,883
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevmitch View Post
This post on the makemkv forum says that the channel order should therefore be

L R C LFE Ls Rs Cs
And the info in the post is wrong.

I tested MakeMKV decoding to wav a DTS-MA 6.1 and output the standard 6.1 channel order (the same than eac3to output):

FL FR FC LF BC SL SR

where
BC = Back Center
SL = Side Left
SR = Side Rigth

Talking about channel order please use always the channel names and order defined here to avoid confusions.

The channel names and order inside a encoded format can be differents but, to transcode, we needs always decode to standard WAV order and channels, to allow the new encoder convert the audio to their internal order and channels.

Standard order for 7.1 is (like I put in my precedent post):

FL FR FC LF BL BR SL SR
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder.

Last edited by tebasuna51; 11th February 2015 at 19:09.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2015, 17:17   #12972  |  Link
Thunderbolt8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,176
regarding 2.1 DTS-HD MA tracks: Does the arcsoft bug (LFE channel cannot be decoded) still exist in each arcsoft version? Or is there a version which is not affected by the bug?

when I play such a track with MPC-HC & LAV Audio with arcsoft capabilities, I wont hear the LFE channel then? what happens when I transform the 2.1 track with eac3to, using the arcsoft decoder, e.g. into wavs. will the LFE channel then be processed incorrectly? but when I just demux the track nothing happens?
__________________
Laptop Acer Aspire V3-772g: i7-4202MQ, 8GB Ram, NVIDIA GTX 760M (+ Intel HD 4600), Windows 8.1 x64, madVR (x64), MPC-HC (x64), LAV Filter (x64), XySubfilter (x64)
Thunderbolt8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2015, 18:07   #12973  |  Link
stax76
Registered Lurker
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 6,427
Code:
M2TS, 1 video track, 2 audio tracks, 5 subtitle tracks, 24p /1.001
1: Chapters, 24 chapters
2: h264/AVC, 1080p24 /1.001 (16:9)
3: DTS Master Audio, English, 5.1 channels, 24 bits, 48kHz
(core: DTS, 5.1 channels, 24 bits, 1509kbps, 48kHz)
4: AC3 Surround, English, 2.0 channels, 320kbps, 48kHz
5: Subtitle (PGS), English
6: Subtitle (PGS), Swedish
7: Subtitle (PGS), Norwegian
8: Subtitle (PGS), Danish
9: Subtitle (PGS), Finnish
a03 The ArcSoft and Sonic decoders don't seem to work, will use libav instead.
a03 The libav DTS decoder doesn't decode the full DTS-HD information.
Creating file "V:\Blurays and DVDs\Saving Mr Banks\Saving Mr Banks_Chapters.txt"...
v02 Extracting video track number 2...
a03 Extracting audio track number 3...
a03 Extracting DTS core...
a03 Decoding with libav/ffmpeg...
a03 Reducing depth from 64 to 32 bits...
a03 Encoding AAC <0.50> with NeroAacEnc...
v02 Creating file "V:\Blurays and DVDs\Saving Mr Banks\Saving Mr Banks.h264"...
a03 0:21:12 The source file seems to be damaged (sync byte missing).
v02 0:21:13 The source file seems to be damaged (sync byte missing).
v02 0:21:13 The source file seems to be damaged (discontinuity).
a03 0:21:12 The source file seems to be damaged (discontinuity).
a03
Can somebody tell me what could be the reason for this error?

Currently it's not possible that GUIs can read colored eac3to output, because of this I don't have the full error message.
stax76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2015, 19:45   #12974  |  Link
Snowknight26
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,395
The reason is probably that "the source file seems to be damaged."
Snowknight26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2015, 22:13   #12975  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,883
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thunderbolt8 View Post
regarding 2.1 DTS-HD MA tracks: Does the arcsoft bug (LFE channel cannot be decoded) still exist in each arcsoft version? Or is there a version which is not affected by the bug?
Using dtsdecoderdll v1.1.0.0 the LFE is decoded without problems.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2015, 22:21   #12976  |  Link
GCRaistlin
Registered User
 
GCRaistlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 321
Does the DRC bug still exist in 3.27?
__________________
Magically yours
Raistlin
GCRaistlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2015, 23:06   #12977  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,883
Quote:
Originally Posted by GCRaistlin View Post
Does the DRC bug still exist in 3.27?
Seems you talk about the NERO DRC bug

Now the default decoder for AC3 is libav instead Nero for that problem.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2015, 23:20   #12978  |  Link
GCRaistlin
Registered User
 
GCRaistlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 321
tebasuna51, using libav leads to another issue, doesn't it?
__________________
Magically yours
Raistlin
GCRaistlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2015, 01:19   #12979  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,943
Quote:
Originally Posted by GCRaistlin View Post
tebasuna51, using libav leads to another issue, doesn't it?
Those issues have long been fixed.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2015, 11:22   #12980  |  Link
r0lZ
PgcEdit daemon
 
r0lZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 7,375
Another question about the Arcsoft DTS decoder. Is it better to use it when decoding "regular" 5.1 DTS tracks? Or is it useful only for the recent 7.1 evolutions? AFAIK, a decoder that is able to decode a specific format (without bugs) should give exactly the same result than another decoder, and therefore there is no advantage to use the slow Arcsoft decoder when decoding a DTS tracks that the libav decoder can also decode properly. Am I right?
__________________
r0lZ
PgcEdit homepage (hosted by VideoHelp)
BD3D2MK3D A tool to convert 3D blu-rays to SBS, T&B or FS MKV
r0lZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
eac3to

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 18:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.