Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > (HD) DVD, Blu-ray & (S)VCD > DVD & BD Rebuilder

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 23rd August 2012, 06:28   #15521  |  Link
Adbear
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 129
Quote:
Originally Posted by nozuul View Post
I actual tried the full backup first with this movie. It completed without any errors, but the disk will not play in any blue ray player I have, or on the computer. I read on other boards that other people were having this issue with Hunger Games. I just made a movie only backup and it worked fine. Entire disk gave me a headache...
Did you check that the rip plays back on your PC before running it through BD rebuilder. Some of the people over on the Slysoft forum had to re-rip the movie with everything set to 'default' and just the region code removed before they got a working copy.
Adbear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd August 2012, 06:42   #15522  |  Link
nozuul
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adbear View Post
Did you check that the rip plays back on your PC before running it through BD rebuilder. Some of the people over on the Slysoft forum had to re-rip the movie with everything set to 'default' and just the region code removed before they got a working copy.
I have not yet tried to re-rip it, partly because I was able to get the main movie, and partly because I didn't recall ever messing with the default settings to begin with. Just figured I'd call the main movie good enough and not risk another disk. I'm cheap that way.
nozuul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd August 2012, 06:45   #15523  |  Link
Adbear
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 129
But did you check the original rip by playing it on your PC in PDVD or TMT?
Adbear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd August 2012, 17:28   #15524  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 21,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by AmigaFuture View Post
Perhaps for the adventure which leads to experience? Especially if you ~go~ around the world just to get to that other side of the street..the people you meet, the sites you see, the adventures you have while getting there. Much like some blind friends helping Me to "see"/hear video/audio with more detail than just accepting "What Is". If I just accepted "It looks/sounds good enough.." then where's the beyond mainstream adventure in That?

I thought it pretty cool what Jellyhead1 did.

High Speed option for BD-25 is swEEEEt, but an option for rebuild without compression would be really nice. Something like DVD Rebuilder has. A thought, for what it's worth.
To force a disc to rebuild without compression you would add FORCE_NOENCODE=1 to your config file.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd August 2012, 17:46   #15525  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 21,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by nozuul View Post
I actual tried the full backup first with this movie. It completed without any errors, but the disk will not play in any blue ray player I have, or on the computer. I read on other boards that other people were having this issue with Hunger Games. I just made a movie only backup and it worked fine. Entire disk gave me a headache...
I would check the original and make sure it is good. In all the discs I've done in testing (a huge number) I have yet to have found one that will not successfully backup in full backup mode. The only exception might be related to playback of secondary audio with DTS Express -- and even that is dependent on certain players.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd August 2012, 17:52   #15526  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 21,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by jellyhead1 View Post
True, you can do that with BDRebuilder but you will wait 1.5+ hrs to find out if you have the movie you want. I use TSMuxer when creating a movie only BR so I can check to make sure the movie plays as it should without wasting hrs with BDRebuilder. I suppose you can just use the preview feature in BDRebuilder but I just like to do it this way, it only takes a matter of minutes with TSMuxer. When done I use BDRebuilder to resize.

BDRebuilder doesn't currently offer any way to create a movie with extras stripped but retaining the menu. This is why all the extra steps are necessary before using BDRebuilder to resize. I use MultiAVCHD to blank all playlists I don't want such as previews and warnings. When there are multiple playlists for the same clips it doesn't work correctly though.

I'm hoping the blanking feature in BDRebuilder will be functional soon.
1. You don't have to wait... that's why there is a preview mode. The fact that you don't like to preview isn't the same thing as "you have to wait 1.5 hours". You have to preview some way even if you do it your way...

2. BD-RB does offer a mode with extras stripped out. Although it is experimental, you may want to search this thread.

3. Blanking works now (see #2) -- but, like any other way of blanking you need to review it and make sure you are blanking what you want.

So I guess the point is... until you learn all the features of the software you shouldn't make assumptions as to what it can and can't do -- or telling others the same.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net

Last edited by jdobbs; 23rd August 2012 at 18:00.
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd August 2012, 22:35   #15527  |  Link
colinhunt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,022
Found a bug relating to aspect ratios. Did a full backup of Eureka's Punishment Park (UK release) which includes a 28:29min introduction by the director. The source video specs, according to MediaInfo, are AVC, 35Mbps CBR, 16:9 AR, 24fps progressive -- and a resolution of 1440x1080.

BD-RB v0.41.01's Stream window says the file is MPEG-4 (AVC), 1080p, 24fps. Encoding log says of the file:

- [21:57:36] Processing: VID_00006 (3 of 4)
- [21:57:36] Extracting A/V streams [VID_00006]
- [21:59:41] Reencoding video [VID_00006]
- Source Video: MPEG-4 (AVC), 1920x1080
- Rate/Length: 24,000fps, 41*032 frames
- Bitrate: 25*172 Kbs
- [21:59:41] Reencoding: VID_00006, Pass 1 of 2
- [22:09:29] Reencoding: VID_00006, Pass 2 of 2
- [22:53:05] Video Encode complete

What comes out after processing is an AVC file with an AR of 4:3 and a resolution of 1440x1080. The image is horizontally squashed.
colinhunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd August 2012, 23:23   #15528  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 21,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by colinhunt View Post
Found a bug relating to aspect ratios. Did a full backup of Eureka's Punishment Park (UK release) which includes a 28:29min introduction by the director. The source video specs, according to MediaInfo, are AVC, 35Mbps CBR, 16:9 AR, 24fps progressive -- and a resolution of 1440x1080.

BD-RB v0.41.01's Stream window says the file is MPEG-4 (AVC), 1080p, 24fps. Encoding log says of the file:

- [21:57:36] Processing: VID_00006 (3 of 4)
- [21:57:36] Extracting A/V streams [VID_00006]
- [21:59:41] Reencoding video [VID_00006]
- Source Video: MPEG-4 (AVC), 1920x1080
- Rate/Length: 24,000fps, 41*032 frames
- Bitrate: 25*172 Kbs
- [21:59:41] Reencoding: VID_00006, Pass 1 of 2
- [22:09:29] Reencoding: VID_00006, Pass 2 of 2
- [22:53:05] Video Encode complete

What comes out after processing is an AVC file with an AR of 4:3 and a resolution of 1440x1080. The image is horizontally squashed.
Is this from an original BD disc?
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net

Last edited by jdobbs; 23rd August 2012 at 23:29.
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th August 2012, 09:52   #15529  |  Link
jellyhead1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
2. BD-RB does offer a mode with extras stripped out. Although it is experimental, you may want to search this thread.
I guess I don't understand how it works, i only see a full disk and movie only. How are the extras stripped.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
3. Blanking works now (see #2) -- but, like any other way of blanking you need to review it and make sure you are blanking what you want.
I guess I don't understand how the blanking function works. For me this option is always greyed out. I do have all the required apps installed including #2 - Avisynth v2.58




NM, I just found post #12911

Last edited by jellyhead1; 24th August 2012 at 17:52.
jellyhead1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th August 2012, 12:06   #15530  |  Link
colinhunt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
Is this from an original BD disc?
Only pre-processing was done by AnyDVD for ripping to HDD. Original really has a resolution of 1440x1080, something I haven't seen on a Blu-ray before.
colinhunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th August 2012, 12:40   #15531  |  Link
RobertM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 435
Quote:
Originally Posted by jellyhead1 View Post
I guess I don't understand how it works, i only see a full disk and movie only. How are the extras stripped.
Here's a link to where the discussion began about how to use these experimental features: http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.ph...77#post1526277
RobertM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th August 2012, 14:09   #15532  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 21,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by colinhunt View Post
Only pre-processing was done by AnyDVD for ripping to HDD. Original really has a resolution of 1440x1080, something I haven't seen on a Blu-ray before.
It's legal according to the spec, but I've never seen one either. The reason it is stretched is because 1440x1080 should always be displayed with black bars on the sides (making it 1920x1080). I'm going to look around and see if I can find an original in that format so I can do some testing.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th August 2012, 16:42   #15533  |  Link
ihmcjacky
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 9
When the region is set to Chinese (taiwan), bd-rebuilder cannot read the bd folder and encounters the following message


But when I try to change the region setting to English, it does not appear, please note and fix this bug, thanks!
ihmcjacky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th August 2012, 17:29   #15534  |  Link
Adbear
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 129
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
It's legal according to the spec, but I've never seen one either. The reason it is stretched is because 1440x1080 should always be displayed with black bars on the sides (making it 1920x1080). I'm going to look around and see if I can find an original in that format so I can do some testing.
Are you sure about that, 1440 uses non square pixels (1.33) so it should always show as full frame without black bars down the side. All my own 1440x1080 footage plays back as full frame when I put it onto a Blu-ray

Last edited by Adbear; 24th August 2012 at 17:43.
Adbear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th August 2012, 20:10   #15535  |  Link
A.Fenderson
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 230
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adbear View Post
Are you sure about that, 1440 uses non square pixels (1.33) so it should always show as full frame without black bars down the side. All my own 1440x1080 footage plays back as full frame when I put it onto a Blu-ray
Agreed. I have a number of adult releases that use 1440x1080, some interlaced some progressive, and they're all 16:9 DAR, which is the only BD-spec allowed DAR for this resolution. I can understand why this would cause confusion, because the BD spec was built for a world of square pixels and HD, and yet there it is: anamorphic encoding at HD resolution.

edit: this might have been a concession to formats such as HDV which actually capture at 1440x1080, 16:9.

Last edited by A.Fenderson; 24th August 2012 at 20:12.
A.Fenderson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2012, 00:03   #15536  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 21,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by ihmcjacky View Post
When the region is set to Chinese (taiwan), bd-rebuilder cannot read the bd folder and encounters the following message


But when I try to change the region setting to English, it does not appear, please note and fix this bug, thanks!
That's probably because of the way I am using text strings in some code areas. In order to get it to work with an Asian language you'll probably have to set the "Language for Non-Unicode programs" in the control panel to a western language. I believe its under "Regional and Language Options".
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2012, 00:04   #15537  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 21,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adbear View Post
Are you sure about that, 1440 uses non square pixels (1.33) so it should always show as full frame without black bars down the side. All my own 1440x1080 footage plays back as full frame when I put it onto a Blu-ray
I'm confused. How can you display full screen with no black bars on a 16:9 screen without distortion? When you say "full frame" are you talking about "full" as in full-screen (4:3) or "full" as in "fills the screen on my 16:9 monitor"?

Have you backed any of these up with BD-RB? Did they reencode correctly?
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net

Last edited by jdobbs; 25th August 2012 at 00:09.
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2012, 03:11   #15538  |  Link
NightHawkGuy
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 34
Recently I had a case of Windows 7 x64 displaying an exception popup about wavi.exe when it was finished for a rare Blu-Ray with LPCM for audio on the main title and BD Rebuilder would convert the LPCM audio track to AC3. The BD Rebuilder process would stop and wait for user input when the error message popped up.

I did some searching and found that someone had done a small code change about a year ago to wavi from the wavi v1.06 source to create wavi v1.06m specifically to resolve the bug in wavi that causes that exception to happen when wavi is cleaning up to close down.

I downloaded the newer wavi.exe version (v1.06m) and used it (in place of the older v1.06) with bd rebuilder and it worked fine this time, no more problem with using LPCM audio track and converting to AC3, no more error message.

Here is the link to the doom9 thread about the wavi fix, which includes the download link to the wavi106m.zip file:
http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=161639

Another source of a wavi bug fix for v1.06 regarding: bug in wav header - ID: 2957741
http://sourceforge.net/tracker/?func=detail&aid=2957741&group_id=196137&atid=956250

Might be useful in future bd rebuilder version to include that newer version of wavi to resolve the rare bug with some titles with LPCM audio track, if conversion to AC3 is desired.

Last edited by NightHawkGuy; 25th August 2012 at 03:21.
NightHawkGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2012, 05:35   #15539  |  Link
SquallMX
Special SeeD
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Mexico
Posts: 333
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
I'm confused. How can you display full screen with no black bars on a 16:9 screen without distortion? When you say "full frame" are you talking about "full" as in full-screen (4:3) or "full" as in "fills the screen on my 16:9 monitor"?

Have you backed any of these up with BD-RB? Did they reencode correctly?
1440x1080 mode is anamorphic (16:9 material encoded at 4:3 resolution), I use that format for my BD9 backups (great middle point between 720p and full 1080p), BD-Rebuilder probably is using SAR 1:1 when re-encoding causing the wrong playback ratio, for proper playback just change the value to "--sar 4:3".

PD: It would be great to have an option for use that resolution on BD-Rebuilder .
SquallMX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2012, 07:06   #15540  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 21,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by mayhem2408 View Post
After playing around a bit, I have captured the command line sent to mkvmerge and reproduced the problem at the command line, however if I remove the --default-duration 0:23.976fps parameter from the command line, the resulting file does not appear to be corrupt. I also tried changing the default duration to 0:24000/1001p and that appears to work OK as well. Has anyone else experienced this problem.
I've modified the MKV output so that it no longer has any subtitles defaulted to "on". You'll see it in the next release.

I've never had an issue with setting the default-duration with fps... but I'll do some testing just to make sure everything is kosher.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net

Last edited by jdobbs; 25th August 2012 at 07:32.
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 13:39.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.