Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Newbies

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 30th April 2009, 12:07   #1  |  Link
Gaby83
言承旭...我爱你!
 
Gaby83's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: In my hommy~ =x
Posts: 35
Am I over-filtering my video?

Hello!

I'm newbie in this new filters I'm using, and I feel satisfied with the result, but the encode speed is too slow (0.5 - 1 fps), so I wonder if I'm over-filtering my video, maybe you can gimme some advices of how to configurate so the encode may speed up a little with the same results.

Well, my video is too blocky, so, I've tried to get rid of that blocks and make the image a bit sharpened so I added some grain too, but I'm not sure if this combination of filters is right because it slows too much the encode, here is some screens:

Original:

Filtred:


Original:

Filtred:



And this is the script I'm using:
Code:
Directshowsource("C:\01.rmvb",audio=false,fps=29.970,convertfps=true)
DeBlock_QED(quant1=30,quant2=51)
LimitedSharpenFaster(SMode=4,LMode=3,Strength=1000,wide=true,soft=75)
EEDI2()
TurnRight().EEDI2().TurnLeft()
FFT3DGPU(sigma=1,bt=3,sharpen=0.7,precision=2)
BicubicResize(608,448,0,0.75)
TweakColor(sat=1.1,bright=15,hue=2,cont=1.1)
AddGrain(5,0,0)
Please gimme some advices so I can learn about this cool filters, as you can notice, english is not my first language, and Is kinda hard for me understand everything in filter's manuals, but I'm giving my best!

Thank you very much

Last edited by Gaby83; 30th April 2009 at 12:12.
Gaby83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th April 2009, 12:12   #2  |  Link
dat720
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 870
It may not be that you are 'over filtering' the video, it maybe that you are 'over filtering' for you hardware..... each new filter you add puts more load on the processor, if your processor isn't that powerful to begin with running to many filters will cause slow speeds like this.

Oh and the filtered screen caps are way too grainy.... remove the AddGrain filter or lower its value. And BicubicResize is not a very nice resize filter when it comes to quality, try Lanzcos3 or even one of the spline filters, will look better but will bring another speed hit!

And i'm not an expert on filter order but i would usually do the resize first.

Last edited by dat720; 30th April 2009 at 12:19.
dat720 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th April 2009, 12:23   #3  |  Link
Gaby83
言承旭...我爱你!
 
Gaby83's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: In my hommy~ =x
Posts: 35
Oh, thanks dat, I've though that too, that may be my computer cant handle those filters... I have a P4 3.2 GHz 2GB RAM DDR2 and a Video Card nVidia GeForce 8400GS 256mb of video, it sux for encoding I guess. What do you think?

I'll make the changes you told me and see what happens, thank you so much for your answer, it was so fast!
Gabriella.

Last edited by Gaby83; 30th April 2009 at 12:25.
Gaby83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th April 2009, 12:34   #4  |  Link
dat720
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 870
2gb RAM is fine, its the CPU that's letting you down there....
You should look at even a middle of the range Core 2 Duo they are pretty cheap now, you could probably get away with just a upgrade of your Motherboard and CPU, or if your motherboard supports C2D processors (assuming its a LGA775 socket motherboard) you could just drop in a better CPU.

Like i said, no expert with filters but that's the things i would change.... for my tastes its also a little to bright.
dat720 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th April 2009, 12:55   #5  |  Link
Gaby83
言承旭...我爱你!
 
Gaby83's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: In my hommy~ =x
Posts: 35
Thanks dat, yes, my motherboard is socket LGA775, I'll be upgrade my computer when I save some money, for me now its impossible xD

I noticed it was too bright too, so I already change it, from 15 to 12, also, I Changed what you said, and now isnt that grainy but I notice that is more blocky again, what should I raise to get rid of more blocks but not damage too much the details? :/ any idea?
Gaby83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th April 2009, 18:52   #6  |  Link
BigDid
Actually in reserve
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,605
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gaby83 View Post
Thanks dat, yes, my motherboard is socket LGA775, I'll be upgrade my computer when I save some money, for me now its impossible xD
...
Hi,

I just updated my processor from a E4700 to E5300 C2D. Actually at 3450 (stock 2600), no voltage change and climbing.
A E5200 can be found for 60 euros and can also get a high overclock.

Maybe you could post your updated script to see what can still be improved...?

Did
__________________
Having a problem with AutoGK? Read & use the FAQ & MORE FAQ first
Want to exchange on AutoGK? try doom10.org
In reserve (inactive) for an undefined period of time.
BigDid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2009, 01:58   #7  |  Link
Gaby83
言承旭...我爱你!
 
Gaby83's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: In my hommy~ =x
Posts: 35
Oh, thanks BigDid, yes, I'll think about it

Here is my updated script, still some blocks are left, but I dunno what to do to get rid of them whitout demage details:

Directshowsource("C:\01.rmvb",audio=false,fps=29.970,convertfps=true)
DeBlock_QED(quant1=30,quant2=51)
LimitedSharpenFaster(SMode=4,LMode=3,Strength=1000,wide=true,soft=75)
EEDI2()
TurnRight().EEDI2().TurnLeft()
FFT3DGPU(sigma=1,bt=3,sharpen=0.7,precision=2)
spline64Resize(608,448)
TweakColor(sat=1.1,bright=10,hue=2,cont=1.1)
AddGrain(3,0,0)
Gaby83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2009, 02:26   #8  |  Link
movmasty
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 970
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gaby83 View Post
Oh, thanks BigDid, yes, I'll think about it

Here is my updated script, still some blocks are left, but I dunno what to do to get rid of them whitout demage details:

Directshowsource("C:\01.rmvb",audio=false,fps=29.970,convertfps=true)
DeBlock_QED(quant1=30,quant2=51)
LimitedSharpenFaster(SMode=4,LMode=3,Strength=1000,wide=true,soft=75)
EEDI2()
TurnRight().EEDI2().TurnLeft()
FFT3DGPU(sigma=1,bt=3,sharpen=0.7,precision=2)
spline64Resize(608,448)
TweakColor(sat=1.1,bright=10,hue=2,cont=1.1)
AddGrain(3,0,0)
buy a new pc?? i get at least 3.5 fps on my oldxp2600 with 480mb of ram and more filters than you, over 11 with AMD 6400, thus 22 using both cpu...
but using virtualdub, thought NSU deblocking is veeeeery slow

as said put all filters(except deblocking) AFTER resize

get rid of all those sharpener and grain, to sharp use a contrast or levels filter, faster and producing more pleasant results
movmasty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2009, 02:37   #9  |  Link
movmasty
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 970
Quote:
Originally Posted by dat720 View Post
And BicubicResize is not a very nice resize filter when it comes to quality, try Lanzcos3 or even one of the spline filters, will look better but will bring another speed hit!
But spline filters doesnt blur??

What quality can you aspect from a blocky video that was deblocked?????

bicubic is more than ok, and you can tune it to sharp a bit

then levels is ok to sharp, dont rem the asynt settings but just set black and white points, try black double than white,
and also remove brightness from tweak colors
movmasty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th May 2009, 10:27   #10  |  Link
Gaby83
言承旭...我爱你!
 
Gaby83's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: In my hommy~ =x
Posts: 35
Thanks so much for your advices, I'll test them!
Gaby83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
addgrain, deblock, filtering

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.