Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 Encoder GUIs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 23rd February 2020, 21:31   #1361  |  Link
imhh11
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 137
thanks but the GCC builds don't work on my end. it says it's missing libgcc_s_seh-1.dll

Last edited by imhh11; 23rd February 2020 at 21:42.
imhh11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2020, 22:27   #1362  |  Link
imhh11
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 137
same error
imhh11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2020, 12:51   #1363  |  Link
Mzvasturbo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 15
Hi is it possible to rip with 2computers at the same time. I have a pc with i7 and other pc with i5 cpu both conected in my home network i rip 4k hdr movies using x265 cpu only. Now my i7 struggles even at medium preset so if there is a way my i5 pc could help it would be great. O and i found some nice settings for 4k hdr compression i get very nice rezults and small files if anyone is interested write me in private.
Mzvasturbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2020, 15:38   #1364  |  Link
stax76
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 6,328
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mzvasturbo View Post
Hi is it possible to rip with 2computers at the same time. I have a pc with i7 and other pc with i5 cpu both conected in my home network i rip 4k hdr movies using x265 cpu only. Now my i7 struggles even at medium preset so if there is a way my i5 pc could help it would be great. O and i found some nice settings for 4k hdr compression i get very nice rezults and small files if anyone is interested write me in private.
Not with StaxRip but with RipBot264.
stax76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2020, 16:23   #1365  |  Link
Mzvasturbo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 15
And finally i figure out x265 settings i like. Staxrip with encoding server is the future
Mzvasturbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2020, 02:19   #1366  |  Link
chipxtreme
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mzvasturbo View Post
And finally i figure out x265 settings i like. Staxrip with encoding server is the future
What were your settings?
chipxtreme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2020, 09:30   #1367  |  Link
Natty
Noob
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 224
Quote:
Originally Posted by Patman View Post
Short explanation to my builds:

x265-3.3+2 - Default Branch / Master Branch
x265M-3.3+2 - Default Branch / Master Branch with customization to display estimated file size
Natty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2020, 20:39   #1368  |  Link
mikraphne
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 1
I've been doing 4K encodes perfectly fine for awhile, and was wondering about HDR10+. I know how to use the HDR10plus parser tool to generate a JSON from a raw HEVC file, but how do I insert this file into Staxrip to have it embedded within the .mkv?
mikraphne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2020, 22:43   #1369  |  Link
MrBrownCow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Patman View Post
I added a stable version of x265 (3.3+1) that was compiled with GCC 9.2.0 and MSVC 1924 (VS2019). Short explanation to my builds:

x265-3.3+1 - Stable Build
x265-3.3+2 - Default Branch / Master Branch
x265M-3.3+2 - Default Branch / Master Branch with customization to display estimated file size

Pls test and give feedback...
the GCC version was consistently about 4% faster vs the MSVC on my ryzen 3900X testing with a few short files.

Thank you!
MrBrownCow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2020, 23:21   #1370  |  Link
imhh11
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 137
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikraphne View Post
I've been doing 4K encodes perfectly fine for awhile, and was wondering about HDR10+. I know how to use the HDR10plus parser tool to generate a JSON from a raw HEVC file, but how do I insert this file into Staxrip to have it embedded within the .mkv?
here:




you will want to add --dhdr10-opt too

Last edited by imhh11; 26th February 2020 at 23:23.
imhh11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2020, 08:01   #1371  |  Link
stax76
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 6,328
--chromaloc --vpp-sub --vpp-sub-charset --vpp-sub-shaping --videoformat --colormatrix --colorprim --transfer --fullrange

Were all these switches removed from qsvenc or is the documentation incomplete?
stax76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2020, 20:48   #1372  |  Link
Patman
Registered User
 
Patman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 250
Quote:
Originally Posted by stax76 View Post
--chromaloc --vpp-sub --vpp-sub-charset --vpp-sub-shaping --videoformat --colormatrix --colorprim --transfer --fullrange

Were all these switches removed from qsvenc or is the documentation incomplete?
Only vpp-sub (--vpp-sub --vpp-sub-charset --vpp-sub-shaping) switches were removed. All other switchen can be found here
Patman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2020, 20:49   #1373  |  Link
Patman
Registered User
 
Patman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 250
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrBrownCow View Post
the GCC version was consistently about 4% faster vs the MSVC on my ryzen 3900X testing with a few short files.

Thank you!
Thanks for your feedback!
Patman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2020, 22:37   #1374  |  Link
Mzvasturbo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by chipxtreme View Post
What were your settings?
Try it on average 4k hdr bluray source.
preset medium
--crf 17 --level-idc 5.1 --output-depth 10 --rdoq-level 2 --aq-mode 4 --aq-motion --max-merge 3 --ref 4 --master-display "G(13250,34500)B(7500,3000)R(34000,16000)WP(15635,16450)L(x,x)" --colorprim bt2020 --colormatrix bt2020nc --transfer smpte2084 --range limited --max-cll "x,x" --hdr --hdr-opt --repeat-headers --hrd --aud --deblock -1:-1 --no-sao

If you can go slow preset it is like this.
--crf 17 --preset slow --level-idc 5.1 --output-depth 10 --aq-mode 4 --aq-motion --master-display "G(13250,34500)B(7500,3000)R(34000,16000)WP(15635,16450)L(x,x)" --colorprim bt2020 --colormatrix bt2020nc --transfer smpte2084 --range limited --max-cll "x,x" --hdr --hdr-opt --repeat-headers --hrd --aud --deblock -1:-1 --no-sao

It gives me very good rezults and small files.
For heavy grainy movies like midway 2019 filesize with above settings is very big almost the same as tune grain. So in movies like that it is better to use tune grain if you want quality. Or some other settings mybe some grain remove filter to get better compression and smaller file.

Last edited by Mzvasturbo; 27th February 2020 at 22:40.
Mzvasturbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2020, 23:13   #1375  |  Link
stax76
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 6,328
Quote:
Originally Posted by Patman View Post
Only vpp-sub (--vpp-sub --vpp-sub-charset --vpp-sub-shaping) switches were removed. All other switchen can be found here
Thanks, I'll update it later. Which GCC version did you use to build x265?


@all

I was working on this VFW interface replacement, it worked out well I think and I've tested all I could think of, I hope the new build is fine as well as the updated tools. In the next weeks I don't plan to work on anything larger, so I should have time for staxrip and mpv.net maintenance. Sorry for things not addressed yet, I have to catch up. I hope there are some useful improvements, have fun.

Code:
### 2.0.7.1 Beta

- new: icons added in encoder dialog menus
- new: option dialog is shown in case a tool has multiple help
       resources, x265 for instance has a local help file containing
       the console help and it has a comprehensive online help.
       L-Smash-Works for instance has separate help pages
       for AviSynth and for VapourSynth
- new: medium quality for x264 was changed from crf 20 to 22
- new: medium quality for x265 was changed from crf 20 to 18
- new: %dpi% macro added, returnes the DPI value of the main dialog screen
- new: High DPI aware Info() AviSynth filter profile added to misc section
- new: the VFW interface used to access AviSynth and VapourSynth
       was replaced with a new library
- new: a dozen new x265 switches
- new: nvenc switches --colorrange, --psnr, --ssim
- new: search matches in the video encoder config dialog
       stay now permanently highlighted with bold font
- new: the search feature in the video encoder config dialog now
       also searches in option values, for instance searching
       for 'medium' will find and highlight the 'preset' switch
- new: in the video encoder config dialogs the context menu of the
       command line preview has a new menu item to search
       for the switch or string at the caret or cursor
- new: Opus format enabled for MP4Box muxer, this was requested
       but did not work in my test
- new: bmp format for cover art can be used in muxer dialog

- update: nvenc 4.65
- update: qsvenc 3.31
- update: vceenc 5.02
- update: x265 3.3+2-gbe2d82093 GCC Patman
- update: ffmpeg N-96788 GCC 9.2.0 Patman
- update: mkvtoolnix 43
- update: MP4Box 0.8.0-rev178-g44c48d630 Patman

- fix: x265 three pass encoding (untested)
- fix: zoom in/out was flipped in preview dialog
https://www.dropbox.com/sh/4ctl2y928...dd3yqcAHa?dl=0

https://1drv.ms/u/s!ArwKS_ZUR01g0kH4...3GaKe?e=qbOfGS

Last edited by stax76; 27th February 2020 at 23:56.
stax76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th February 2020, 07:35   #1376  |  Link
Patman
Registered User
 
Patman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 250
Quote:
Originally Posted by stax76 View Post
Thanks, I'll update it later. Which GCC version did you use to build x265?
I use GCC 9.2.0 to build x265.
Patman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th February 2020, 08:49   #1377  |  Link
JKyle
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 123
@stax76:

Thanks for the update.


But even with 2.0.7.1 Beta, the following things related to x265 options don't seem to have been fixed.

1) refine-ctu-distortion is named incorrectly



2) High Tier doesn't work



3) Options with the 'no-' switch do not show up the help file when right-clicked




JKyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th February 2020, 12:52   #1378  |  Link
Patman
Registered User
 
Patman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 250
Quote:
Originally Posted by JKyle View Post
@stax76:

2) High Tier doesn't work
This switch only had an effect when a level is set. I can't see in the commandline, that you set a level.
Patman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th February 2020, 14:47   #1379  |  Link
JKyle
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by Patman View Post
This switch only had an effect when a level is set. I can't see in the commandline, that you set a level.
Oops, my bad!
Yes, youíre right, as itís obviously explained in the help.


Last edited by JKyle; 28th February 2020 at 14:54.
JKyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th February 2020, 21:42   #1380  |  Link
shodan5000
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 9
When trying to open a source file with the newest beta I only get a message stating:

System.DllNotFoundException: Unable to load DLL 'FrameServer': The specified module could not be found. (Exception from HRESULT: 0x8007007E)

Any ideas on how to fix this issue?
shodan5000 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
aac, hdr, hevc, staxrip, x265

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 22:59.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.