Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 20th July 2021, 22:12   #61781  |  Link
Sunspark
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by el Filou View Post
Whatever is the cause, 28% Vs 9% for GPU and 13% Vs. 3% for CPU (assuming the clocks are the same as huhn said) is a much bigger difference than anything possibly due to the OS, especially the GPU because WDDM 2.x is supposed to be more resource efficient than WDDM 1.1.

What hardware do you have?
When I set madVR to DXVA scaling on my desktop (1440p), it uses only 17% at 450 MHz on my old Radeon 7870 i.e. nothing, and my 4690K is only at 4,8% at lowest clock 800 MHz.
It's an Intel Core i5-5250U (Broadwell, 2 cores, 4 threads) using integrated graphics Intel HD Graphics 6000 (Broadwell GT3).

Turning off image scaling (Normal size vs touch window from inside) does not change the 28%.

Likewise, this high utilization does not happen with any other video renderer.. MpcVR, EVR-CP, whatever VLC uses, whatever Windows Film & TV uses, etc. only specifically with MadVR and it's not limited to .92.17 because I tried an older version (.90.17).

The issue does not occur on Windows 7. It's so strange, I can't figure it out.

Who knows, maybe it's a bug in Windows 10 itself.. MS has had a run of breaking things lately.

I suppose I should try installing the Windows 11 preview (if it lets me) into a partition and see if anything changes.
Sunspark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd July 2021, 17:22   #61782  |  Link
el Filou
Registered User
 
el Filou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 823
Can you try to change Windows power plan from Balanced to High performance, just for a test? Or just change the power balance setting (forgot what it's called) in the Intel Graphics control panel ?

That's a 15W part which is not a lot, maybe it's getting in some power save mode where the clocks are much lower? Are you sure the playback clocks are the same as on Win7?
The utilization percentages are not a bad thing per se, it all depends on how much power it actually uses, but I don't see why they would differ so much.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10 20H2, MediaPortal 1, LAV Filters/ReClock/madVR. DVB-C TV, Panasonic GT60, Denon 2310, Core 2 Duo E7400 oc'd, GeForce 1050 Ti 466.27
el Filou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th July 2021, 21:11   #61783  |  Link
bitterman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sunspark View Post
Is MadVR not very compatible with Windows 10?

I have GPU usage of approx 28% (9% in Windows 7) and it doesn't seem to be related to the LAV filters decoding mode (tried them all as well as 3 different versions of LAV) or various madvr output settings (exclusive, windowed, overlay, backbuffers, etc). CPU usage is also higher than in 7 as well (13% vs 3%).

I copied over my Windows 7 MadVR install using an older version with different settings and it did not change the %s. So we know it's not specific to .92.17 here. It's not the player, because when I changed it to EVR-CP CPU, GPU %s then dropped to a more normal number.

Using DXVA2 for the downscaling and upscaling. Changing to something else like Lanczos does not improve things. All other players not using MadVR have significantly lower CPU and GPU usage.

So, what's different about the Windows 7 environment that it doesn't stress the system as much when playing a video? In Windows 10, the fans start whining because even though the CPU usage is about 13% the integrated GPU is at 28%.
I encounter the exact same issue.

Using:
Windows 10 21h1 (latest build)
MPC-HC 1.9.14
madVR 0.92.17
Nvidia drivers 471.11 (with a GTX 970)


Last edited by bitterman; 24th July 2021 at 21:36. Reason: typo
bitterman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th July 2021, 21:54   #61784  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7,084
check what part of the GPU it could be easily the hardware decoder.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th July 2021, 23:02   #61785  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 10,129
Percentages can also be rather misleading if the GPU has a dynamic clock. It could run at what seems a high percentage but run at a lower clock because the driver/OS figured out that this is plenty to do the task at hand.
If you really want to check, collect more data points with actual GPU monitoring tools (eg. GPU-Z might be the simplest that shows much more data), not task manager.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th July 2021, 10:45   #61786  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,465
Anyone had any luck with automatic profile selection on a mounted ISO? I'm only using location and resolution as the conditions and both are correct but it's not taking.
MPC-BE even specifies the location in it's recent files list so it appears to be parsing this location correctly but madVR isn't having a bar of it.
ryrynz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 25th July 2021, 16:31   #61787  |  Link
brazen1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 302
If I understand you correctly, auto profile selection has always worked perfectly for mounted iso's using resolution here.

Quote:
if (srcWidth > 1920) and (deintFps < 25) "2160p 24fps"
else if (srcWidth <= 1920) and (srcHeight > 1080) "2160p 24fps"
else if (srcheight <= 2160) and (deintFps > 58) "2160p 60fps"

else if (srcWidth > 1280) and (srcWidth <= 1920) "1080p"
else if (srcWidth <= 1280) and ((srcHeight > 720) and (srcHeight <= 1080)) "1080p"

else if (srcWidth > 960) and (srcWidth <= 1280) "720p"
else if (srcWidth <= 960) and ((srcHeight > 540) and (srcHeight <= 720)) "720p"

else if (srcWidth <= 960) and (srcHeight <= 540) "540p"
__________________
HOW TO-Kodi 2D-3D-UHD (4k) HDR Guide Internal & External Players
W10 21H1 960-4GB RGB 4:4:4 @Matched Refresh Rates 8,10,12bit
KODI 20 MPC-HC/BE PDVD19 DVDFab 3,5 & 6 PotPlayer
82" Q90R Denon S720W
brazen1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th July 2021, 08:21   #61788  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,465
No issues with resolution, location is the problem.

if (srcHeight <= 480) and (filepath = "E:\*.*")
"480"

E: is the ISO mounted location.
I've also tried E:\Video_TS\*.* but that doesn't work either. I've had to resort to using an else statement to get it to select the appropriate profile.

Can anyone else confirm this?
ryrynz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 26th July 2021, 17:00   #61789  |  Link
el Filou
Registered User
 
el Filou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 823
It works for Blu-ray ISOs but not DVDs.
I think it's because the DVD Navigator doesn't pass filename/path information (when opening VOB files directly, it works)?
I can see that also in ReClock, it says File: DVD from DVD drive (in mpc-hc) whereas with a BD ISO it shows the path of index.bdmv even when opening as disc.
I've tried with filename = "*DVD*" but it doesn't work either.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10 20H2, MediaPortal 1, LAV Filters/ReClock/madVR. DVB-C TV, Panasonic GT60, Denon 2310, Core 2 Duo E7400 oc'd, GeForce 1050 Ti 466.27

Last edited by el Filou; 26th July 2021 at 17:06.
el Filou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th July 2021, 17:34   #61790  |  Link
Sunspark
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 76
el Filou: I did try High Performance, it didn't change anything.

nevcairiel: These two images show the same file being played. It seems that something in Win10 is triggering heavier power consumption with madVR but I don't have an understanding as to what it could be.



Sunspark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th July 2021, 13:58   #61791  |  Link
el Filou
Registered User
 
el Filou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 823
@Sunspark: can you create a file named ShowRenderSteps (with no file extension) in madVR's program files folder, and then take screenshots of madVR OSD during playback (wait for the clocks and GPU utilization to stabilize) on both Win7 and Win10 and compare the figures? To check if the GPU utilization is due to one particular step of madVR's pipeline or if all steps have higher rendering times on Windows 10.
(I know it's cumbersome, but I don't see another way to find out what is causing that much higher usage)
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10 20H2, MediaPortal 1, LAV Filters/ReClock/madVR. DVB-C TV, Panasonic GT60, Denon 2310, Core 2 Duo E7400 oc'd, GeForce 1050 Ti 466.27
el Filou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th July 2021, 15:26   #61792  |  Link
SirMaster
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 129
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
No issues with resolution, location is the problem.

if (srcHeight <= 480) and (filepath = "E:\*.*")
"480"

E: is the ISO mounted location.
I've also tried E:\Video_TS\*.* but that doesn't work either. I've had to resort to using an else statement to get it to select the appropriate profile.

Can anyone else confirm this?
In MPC, enable the web interface and open up the variables page:

http://localhost:13579/variables.html

Here you can see the paths for playing media files that MPC will be sending to madVR, so check the paths of your playing ISOs to see how you would write your profile selection rules.
SirMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th July 2021, 18:35   #61793  |  Link
Sunspark
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by el Filou View Post
@Sunspark: can you create a file named ShowRenderSteps (with no file extension) in madVR's program files folder, and then take screenshots of madVR OSD during playback (wait for the clocks and GPU utilization to stabilize) on both Win7 and Win10 and compare the figures? To check if the GPU utilization is due to one particular step of madVR's pipeline or if all steps have higher rendering times on Windows 10.
(I know it's cumbersome, but I don't see another way to find out what is causing that much higher usage)
Thanks el Filou for the suggestion to look closer again with the ShowRenderSteps.

The mystery is solved.

In Win7 I wasn't using exactly the same settings, so I thought to myself, let's try to make it more like the setup in Win10 for consistency in measurement so I added a module I wasn't using there, and all of a sudden, heavy usage in Win7 too.

It was the subtitle renderer that was adding all the extra usage, but also another setting as well. Different combinations of stuff will vary cpu & gpu usage, etc. slightly but it generally came down to 2 settings together. Overlay mode and the subtitle renderer.

overlay mode on, xysubfilter on - heavy usage
overlay mode off, xysubfilter on - heavy usage
overlay mode on, internal subtitle renderer on - heavy usage
overlay mode off, internal subsubtitle renderer on - normal usage
overlay mode on, assfilter on - heavy usage
overlay mode off, assfilter on - heavy usage

There is only 1 combination in mpc-hc that doesn't crank up the power if you need to have subtitles on as I do. DON'T use D3D9 Windowed Overlay mode and ONLY use the player's internal subtitle renderer.

Such a shame, because xysubfilter has sharper rendering and better positioning. Sigh..

Incidentally, in D3D9 windowed (non-overlay) mode backbuffers has lower cpu/gpu usage than frames in advance.

Image below is what it looks like with xysubfilter active.. all the extra rendering steps that doesn't happen with the internal subtitle renderer.

Sunspark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th July 2021, 18:48   #61794  |  Link
el Filou
Registered User
 
el Filou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 823
Excellent news.
Have you tried D3D11 presentation to see if it worked better than D3D9? Broadwell's iGPU should be recent enough to work well with it, but sometimes there are quirks.
Quote:
Originally Posted by SirMaster View Post
In MPC, enable the web interface and open up the variables page. Here you can see the paths for playing media files that MPC will be sending to madVR
That's really strange, it shows the correct path (E:\VIDEO_TS\VIDEO_TS.IFO), but the rule still doesn't work when it's a DVD. Are you sure that's how madVR gets its file info?
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10 20H2, MediaPortal 1, LAV Filters/ReClock/madVR. DVB-C TV, Panasonic GT60, Denon 2310, Core 2 Duo E7400 oc'd, GeForce 1050 Ti 466.27
el Filou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th July 2021, 19:07   #61795  |  Link
clsid
*****
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5,345
MPC does not send any filenames to madVR. I assume madVR uses standard DirectShow interfaces to get the filename from the source filter. The DVD navigator probably does not implement that interface.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sunspark View Post
Such a shame, because xysubfilter has sharper rendering and better positioning. Sigh..
Nonsense. You can let the internal renderer run at 4k resolution if you want. You need to check your settings.
__________________
MPC-HC 1.9.15
clsid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2021, 08:18   #61796  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,465
Quote:
Originally Posted by clsid View Post
MPC does not send any filenames to madVR. I assume madVR uses standard DirectShow interfaces to get the filename from the source filter. The DVD navigator probably does not implement that interface.
Can we fake it somehow so the path can be parsed for MadVR to pick up on? Having a profile specifically for DVD ISOs would be quite a boon.

Last edited by ryrynz; 29th July 2021 at 09:15.
ryrynz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2021, 13:42   #61797  |  Link
clsid
*****
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5,345
If it isn't working properly, then it is something that madshi has to fix. I have checked and the DVD Navigator does also expose the required interface for getting file path.
https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/win...lesourcefilter

What you could try is to check if the path variable is empty for ISOs. Or if it does not contains any / or \ characters.
__________________
MPC-HC 1.9.15
clsid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2021, 21:29   #61798  |  Link
doffen
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by clsid View Post
MPC does not send any filenames to madVR. I assume madVR uses standard DirectShow interfaces to get the filename from the source filter. The DVD navigator probably does not implement that interface.

Nonsense. You can let the internal renderer run at 4k resolution if you want. You need to check your settings.
Is there still any advantages of using xysubfilter then?
doffen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2021, 21:36   #61799  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7,084
Quote:
Originally Posted by doffen View Post
Is there still any advantages of using xysubfilter then?
sub title moving, smooth motion compatible and calibration but sharpness was never part of it.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2021, 22:01   #61800  |  Link
doffen
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 15
Thanks! I'll stick with xysubfilter then since I use 3dlut with madvr. (assuming these works for the subtitles as well)
doffen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 20:32.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.