Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > (HD) DVD, Blu-ray & (S)VCD > DVD & BD Rebuilder

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 2nd November 2011, 19:42   #13481  |  Link
jfcarbel
Programmer
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 496
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
Well, I did explain it in the same post as the one that says how to enable the "Movie-and-Menus" test. But here it is again... double click on the title (in the streams list) and you'll see "Edit Mode" appear. You can then right click on any stream and blank/unblank its playlist (which may include other streams). You can also preview it (to see if it is the right stream) by selecting "Preview" (rather than blank/unblank). The ones that have been preselected to be blanked by "Movie-and-Menus" will be "grayed out" in the list.
I was aware of what you meant by unblanking it. However, in this case it would mean another 6-7 hour rencode as well for the main movie stream.

What are the options to avoid that? That is, is there a way to just copy some files from the original source to get it working?
For me, I tried the stream and its clipinf file, but not sure if I am missing something else.
jfcarbel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd November 2011, 19:45   #13482  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,973
Quote:
Originally Posted by jfcarbel View Post
I was aware of what you meant by unblanking it. However, in this case it would mean another 6-7 hour rencode as well for the main movie stream.

What are the options to avoid that? That is, is there a way to just copy some files from the original source to get it working?
For me, I tried the stream and its clipinf file, but not sure if I am missing something else.
C'mon. I explained very clearly that the movie-and-menus mode wasn't "ready for primetime" -- that's why it's disabled except for those who read this thread and want to test it. You apparently decided to test it, assumedly knowing it needs more work -- but now are complaining because it isn't perfect yet?

I'm a little disappointed. My hope would be that the folks who decided to test it would "help out" by reporting their experiences -- but have a little patience, as this isn't an easy task in blu-ray.

You typically can't just "copy files" because there can be interconnections between CLPI/M2TS sets via MPLS references. All three have to be updated accordingly.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net

Last edited by jdobbs; 2nd November 2011 at 19:53.
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd November 2011, 20:02   #13483  |  Link
MILLZY
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
C'mon. I explained very clearly that the movie-and-menus mode wasn't "ready for primetime" -- that's why it's disabled except for those who read this thread and want to test it. You apparently decided to test it, assumedly knowing it needs more work -- but now are complaining because it isn't perfect yet?

I'm a little disappointed. My hope would be that the folks who decided to test it would "help out" by reporting their experiences -- but have a little patience, as this isn't an easy task in blu-ray.

You typically can't just "copy files" because there can be interconnections between CLPI/M2TS sets via MPLS references. All three have to be updated accordingly.
If you go back a few posts jdobbs you would see that i was reporting my experiences with the movie and menu mode and my question wasnt answered,and my question in no way was a complaint.
I do understand the complexities of a BD structure and i know how hard it must be to navigate, and you are doing a cracker job with no complaints from me.

Last edited by MILLZY; 2nd November 2011 at 20:20.
MILLZY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd November 2011, 20:20   #13484  |  Link
jfcarbel
Programmer
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 496
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
C'mon. I explained very clearly that the movie-and-menus mode wasn't "ready for primetime" -- that's why it's disabled except for those who read this thread and want to test it. You apparently decided to test it, assumedly knowing it needs more work -- but now are complaining because it isn't perfect yet?

I'm a little disappointed. My hope would be that the folks who decided to test it would "help out" by reporting their experiences -- but have a little patience, as this isn't an easy task in blu-ray.

You typically can't just "copy files" because there can be interconnections between CLPI/M2TS sets via MPLS references. All three have to be updated accordingly.
I was reporting my experience, but in no way was complaining.
In fact I wanted to dig deeper to see if I could assist more but I lack understanding of how bluray handles first play and menus.

I do know this feature is not ready for prime time and if a file copy workaround is available I have no problem doing that when issues occur until its resolved. But it looks like this is alot more complex then I thought so that would not be an option. I would like to dig into the internals more to see how its all interconnected, but it seems BDInfo is not a tool that would be able to aid in this. Are there other tools I can look at for exploring a bluray discs structure and organization?

If there is anymore info I can provide to aid in diagnosing the issue then please let me know. I am one of those who also donates multiple times, so I don't take your work for granted and I think while the blanking and movies and menu is not ready for primetime, its working pretty darn good already.
jfcarbel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd November 2011, 21:28   #13485  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,973
Your support is greatly appreciated.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd November 2011, 22:10   #13486  |  Link
MILLZY
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
Your support is greatly appreciated.
I think you need a holiday mate or a good old old fashioned drinking bender to clear your head and chill for a while.
I think you need a break from all this, its not going to be the end of the world if you take a break for a while....
Not trying to be full of it by the way.
Just a little bit of concern thats all.....

Last edited by MILLZY; 4th November 2011 at 18:09.
MILLZY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd November 2011, 00:31   #13487  |  Link
Capsbackup
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,995
Quote:
Originally Posted by jfcarbel View Post
I tried to use BDInfo to see what playlist is using 00941. But BDInfo is only showing about 10 playlists while the playlists folder on disc is showing many more. Is there a reason BDInfo is not showing all the playlists?
If you click on "Settings" at the bottom in BDInfo, and check "Filter Playlists With Length <" and put 1 sec., that is the best you can get.
Capsbackup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd November 2011, 06:49   #13488  |  Link
jfcarbel
Programmer
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 496
Quote:
Originally Posted by Capsbackup View Post
If you click on "Settings" at the bottom in BDInfo, and check "Filter Playlists With Length <" and put 1 sec., that is the best you can get.
Yep, that showed more playlists, oddly the 00941 stream was in none shown. Since its a static background, I bet the stream is even less then 1 second possibly. Unless it can be used just by BD-Java without a playlist.

Perhaps that's the issue is that BD-Java static streams with just a still image are not caught. Not sure if this is going to be something BD-Rebuilder would be able to catch.

Perhaps this means if we see a bd-java title to make sure to check all the extremely short streams via edit mode. But, I think we cannot go by filesize. While this file was bigger then most short streams in size, its video duration was only 750ms.
So perhaps it might also be useful in Bd-Rebuilder to list the duration of the video stream.

MILLZY- prehaps you can list the info on that stream that held the static background image for your backup

Here is some info on the stream:

Code:
General
ID                               : 0
Complete name                    : T:\BD_Rips\ROB_ROY\BDMV\STREAM\00941.m2ts
Format                           : BDAV
Format/Info                      : Blu-ray Video
File size                        : 3.98 MiB
Duration                         : 1s 440ms
Overall bit rate                 : 21.7 Mbps
Maximum Overall bit rate         : 48.0 Mbps

Video
ID                               : 4113 (0x1011)
Menu ID                          : 1 (0x1)
Format                           : MPEG Video
Format version                   : Version 2
Format profile                   : Main@High
Format settings, BVOP            : No
Format settings, Matrix          : Default
Format settings, GOP             : N=1
Duration                         : 750ms
Bit rate mode                    : Constant
Bit rate                         : 40.0 Mbps
Width                            : 1 920 pixels
Height                           : 1 080 pixels
Display aspect ratio             : 16:9
Frame rate                       : 23.976 fps
Color space                      : YUV
Chroma subsampling               : 4:2:0
Bit depth                        : 8 bits
Scan type                        : Progressive
Bits/(Pixel*Frame)               : 0.805
Stream size                      : 3.58 MiB (90%)
jfcarbel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd November 2011, 15:42   #13489  |  Link
Capsbackup
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,995
@jdobbs;
I have not had much success with using the blank feature to blank warnings. For me, they don't show up in BD-RB. As jfcarbel states, some streams are not shown.
Alternately, if I open the original Blu-ray or the BD-RB backup with multiAVCHD in re-author mode, every mpls/m2ts is visible.
Of course with this option to blank anything does bring about potentially more problems, but with a little practice I have had success.
Capsbackup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2011, 00:14   #13490  |  Link
sfcav
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 32
PredictAndEncode() 0006 2803 error

I've seen several comments in various posts on PredictAndEncode errors, but not the one I'm getting.

I have a captured mpg file that plays fine and is clean by TSDoctor, but when I try to shrink it with BD-RB I get the above error as soon as Reencoding starts. I've tested two RB versions (0.39.01 and 0.39.02) and get the same error. I've successfully used BD-RB with similar files in the past so why it's happening now is a mystery (at least to me).


Thoughts?

Here's the INF file:

[Status]
LABEL=AVCHD
VERSION=v0.39.02 (beta)
SOURCE_SIZE=4469588616
SOURCE_VIDEO_SIZE=4469495808
TARGET_SIZE=1258291200
REDUCTION=.281507902915568
RESIZE_1080=0
AUDIO_TO_KEEP=eng;
KEEP_HD_AUDIO=-1
SUBS_TO_KEEP=all
BACKUP_MODE=0
MOVIEONLY_TYPE=0
USE_LAVF=0
QUICK=0
ENCODE_STEP=1.5
[00000]
AUDIO=1
PGS=
VIDEO2=0
V2MBRATE=0

-------------------------------------

Here's the log file:

[14:34:29] BD Rebuilder v0.39.02 (beta)
- Source: AVCHD
- Input BD size: 4.16 GB
- Approximate total content: [00:42:26.725]
- Target BD size: 1.17 GB
- Windows Version: 5.1 [2600]
- Quality: High Quality (Default), Two Pass
- Audio Settings: AC3=0 DTS=1 HD=1 Kbs=640
[14:34:30] PHASE ONE, Encoding
- [14:34:30] Processing: VID_00000 (1 of 1)
- [14:34:30] Extracting A/V streams [VID_00000]
- Extracting video streams [VID_00000]
- Extracting audio streams [VID_00000]
- [14:38:10] Reencoding video [VID_00000]
- [14:38:10] PredictAndEncode() 00006 2803
[14:52:27] - Aborted by user request
sfcav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2011, 15:45   #13491  |  Link
By-Tor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: beside the computer
Posts: 31
hi jdobbs,
hope you can help, I have started to have problems playing bd25 full back ups of the last 5 films i've backed up using v0.39.02. In that proir to using this version i've had no
trouble playing my back ups, but since using this update none of my back ups play on my LG bd370 ? but will play on my samsung bd1400 and my panasonic portable player
I'm using same settings as always and same media, this media from same packet works no problem on the LG bd370 using v0.39.01, any idea's as the LG is my main unit i use
films backed up are
salt
fantastic mr fox
knowing
and
battlestar galactica disc's 1 and 2 of the complete series
all data looks fine but LG does not like any more ?

Last edited by By-Tor; 4th November 2011 at 15:46. Reason: missed some data
By-Tor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2011, 15:46   #13492  |  Link
By-Tor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: beside the computer
Posts: 31
original disc's play fine in LG bd370
By-Tor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2011, 16:07   #13493  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,973
Quote:
Originally Posted by By-Tor View Post
hi jdobbs,
hope you can help, I have started to have problems playing bd25 full back ups of the last 5 films i've backed up using v0.39.02. In that proir to using this version i've had no
trouble playing my back ups, but since using this update none of my back ups play on my LG bd370 ? but will play on my samsung bd1400 and my panasonic portable player
I'm using same settings as always and same media, this media from same packet works no problem on the LG bd370 using v0.39.01, any idea's as the LG is my main unit i use
films backed up are
salt
fantastic mr fox
knowing
and
battlestar galactica disc's 1 and 2 of the complete series
all data looks fine but LG does not like any more ?
Uninstall/reinstall BD-RB and all components. Unless you have enabled the DTSX_ENABLE option, nothing has changed that could cause your issues. If you have DTSX_ENABLE set, turn it off. It is for testing only.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2011, 18:14   #13494  |  Link
By-Tor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: beside the computer
Posts: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
Uninstall/reinstall BD-RB and all components. Unless you have enabled the DTSX_ENABLE option, nothing has changed that could cause your issues. If you have DTSX_ENABLE set, turn it off. It is for testing only.



thanx for quick reply will check later when encode finishes
By-Tor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th November 2011, 17:14   #13495  |  Link
1Bullet
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 35
posible bug 0.39.02?

with version 0.39.02 just started noticing the following as well.
My last 2 Blu ray rip are slightly larger than a standard single layer BD disc. So I use BD rebuilder to resize ( I have changed the name of the label).

This film had only one video and one audio DTS MA 5.1 and no subtitles after my rip. I have my BD-RB audio setting boxes first 2 and the last one checked in BD rebulder (in short BD rebuilder is to leave audio alone ?)
So if the video was not reencoded and the audio was not renecode. How did the move shrink 1.3 gb. and notuse the X264 encoder?
I have seen this now twice with this version, but I have not watched them yet.

[Status]
LABEL=XXXXXXXXX
VERSION=v0.39.02 (beta)
SOURCE_SIZE=25546303488
SOURCE_VIDEO_SIZE=25546303488
TARGET_SIZE=24222105600
REDUCTION=.948164794620011
RESIZE_1080=0
AUDIO_TO_KEEP=eng;
KEEP_HD_AUDIO=0
SUBS_TO_KEEP=eng;
BACKUP_MODE=1
MOVIEONLY_TYPE=0
USE_LAVF=0
QUICK=0
ENCODE_STEP=0
COMPLETED=1
REBUILD_COMPLETE=1
[00000]
AUDIO=1
PGS=
VIDEO2=0
V2MBRATE=0
M2TS_TARGET=24222105600
USE_ORIGINAL=1
NSTART=27000000
NEND=281749920
NSIZE=22730188800
FLINK=0
MLINK=0

[20:46:12] BD Rebuilder v0.39.02 (beta)
- Source: xxxxxxx
- Input BD size: 23.79 GB
- Approximate total content: [01:34:21.109]
- Target BD size: 22.56 GB
- Windows Version: 6.1 [7601]
- MOVIE-ONLY mode enabled
- Auto Quality: Good (Very Fast), ABR
- Audio Settings: AC3=0 DTS=0 HD=0 Kbs=640
[20:46:13] PHASE ONE, Encoding
- [20:46:13] Processing: VID_00000 (1 of 1)
- [20:46:13] Extracting A/V streams [VID_00000]
- [21:01:57] Reencoding video [VID_00000]
- [21:01:57] Keeping original video (no reencode)
- [21:01:57] Reencoding audio tracks (if req'd)
- [21:01:57] Multiplexing M2TS
[21:16:40]PHASE ONE complete
[21:16:40]PHASE TWO - Rebuild Started
- [21:16:40] Rebuilding BD file Structure
[21:31:47] - Encode and Rebuild complete
- WORKFILES folder removed.
[21:31:47]JOB: xxxxxx finished.

My answer is probably going to come from demuxing both the video and then audio track on the orginal file and the completed BD rebuilder file, as something became smaller.
1Bullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th November 2011, 17:32   #13496  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,973
I guess I don't see the issue. The log shows that the video and audio both were kept intact. So the process happened as it should. It's likely there was something else in the source M2TS other than just the audio/video you saw. It's easy to put in NUL packets or an unreferenced audio track (for example) if someone wanted to make the M2TS a little larger and force dual layer.

Bottom line: The log shows BD-RB did exactly as it should. After it demuxed what was requested it saw that no reencoding was necessary, and it didn't reencode.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net

Last edited by jdobbs; 5th November 2011 at 17:34.
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th November 2011, 17:48   #13497  |  Link
1Bullet
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
I guess I don't see the issue. The log shows that the video and audio both were kept intact. So the process happened as it should. It's likely there was something else in the source M2TS other than just the audio/video you saw. It's easy to put in NUL packets or an unreferenced audio track (for example) if someone wanted to make the M2TS a little larger and force dual layer.

Bottom line: The log shows BD-RB did exactly as it should. After it demuxed what was requested it saw that no reencoding was necessary, and it didn't reencode.
You are right demuxed both audio from the orginal and BD-RD and same size. My first thoughts were BR-RB was encoding the Audio track. Unfortunatly I have never come across the null packets until this build.

Last edited by 1Bullet; 5th November 2011 at 17:50.
1Bullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th November 2011, 17:51   #13498  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,973
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1Bullet View Post
You are right demuxed both audio from the orginal and BD-RD and same size. My first thoughts were BR-RB was encoding the Audio track.
The log shows less than a second in the audio encoding phase, indicating it had to have kept the original.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th November 2011, 17:54   #13499  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,973
BD Rebuilder v0.39.03 (beta)

I've updated the first post of this thread with links to a new version of BD-RB (v0.39.03). Changes for this release:
Code:
- Corrected an issue in which under certain rare
  circumstances a main feature could be seen as
  a menu -- and the feature may not be listed in
  the streams list on BD-25 or unwanted audio may 
  not be removable.
- Corrected an error in experimental DTSX code
  that could cause M2TS files to not fall on
  proper aligned unit boundaries.
- Updated CLPI correction routine to modify the 
  TS_recording_rate value after updates to the
  M2TS by experimental DTSX code.
- Fixed an issue related to arrival_time_stamp
  rollover that incorreclty set permission bits
  in packet headers (DTSX experimental code).
- Added a SETUP option to cause an audible "beep"
  when a job is complete.
- Added a feature in which batch mode will not
  overwrite existing output folders, but instead
  add a suffix to the output title.
- Added a new AUTO_TWOPASSONLY hidden option. By
  setting this value to "1" you can prevent the
  automatic quality selector from ever doing one
  pass ABR encoding.
- Regressed the included version of X264.EXE to 
  a previous release (r2085) due to reported LAVF
  decoding issues.
- Regressed the included version of X264-64.EXE to 
  a previous release (r2085) due to reported LAVF
  decoding issues.
- Other minor corrections and cosmetic fixes.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th November 2011, 19:17   #13500  |  Link
Ch3vr0n
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,368
Sweet to see my "audio tune" request to be implemented ^^

** Edit ** wanted to test the new version so i ran the Mamma Mia disc (that was previously rebuilt with the glitchy x264). When previewing stream 00124 (that was auto selected to be blanked) the following error occured



Is it because the source file is mpeg2

Last edited by Ch3vr0n; 5th November 2011 at 20:10.
Ch3vr0n is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:43.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.