Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > (HD) DVD, Blu-ray & (S)VCD > DVD & BD Rebuilder

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 4th August 2012, 01:24   #15441  |  Link
Ch3vr0n
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,368
I can confirm that, its very often it selects streams that shouldn't be. Just this last disc i did (wrath of the titans), there's a simple picture in the background with audio running and then the menu that pops up. BDRB had selected it for blanking. When i launched the output iso i found a big black square above the menu where the picture was supposed to be, so i was forced to do a rerun (running that one atm). For once where i didn't preview every auto-selected stream, "it" does that. That goes to show it can never hurt to preview al streams. However it does what it's supposed to do on the other part, blank out all the trailer & notices crap nobody wants to watch anyway and retain full disc playability and that's what i'm after. If i have to "waste" half an hour previewing streams to get the disc to the state i want it in, so be it. It's more then worth it.

@Amiga: i think i've had that problem a couple times myself too, i usually end up doing a standard full disc backup in those cases if. With AnyDVD having stripped the UOP's (clips ya normally can't skip otherwise etc), ya can simply skip em and head straight for the menu/movie. Nothing i can't live with.
Ch3vr0n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th August 2012, 07:17   #15442  |  Link
AmigaFuture
Registered User
 
AmigaFuture's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Within the main Source.
Posts: 895
JDobbs, that's why I typed "Something to consider." This is bug reporting so experimental is part of that, I get that. ~Grin~

I see there's a JAR directory; now. I did notice with the warning being part of Auto Blanking, the final didn't function. Hmm.. Perhaps a clue? I don't yet get the structure of Blu-ray disks like I do mostly for DVD. So..enjoying learning.

Ch3vr0n, I've noticed it before, too. First time I've typed about it.

I know that time doesn't actually exist (not what this thread is about so, that's as far as I go here) so I don't get "concerned" with "Waste" or "Lack" of time. I may check an older/new version of AnyDVD for possible causes. The feeling I get concurs with JDobbs about Java...an area I'm still learning with Blu-ray.
__________________
Life is not a journey to the grave; but rather to skid out broadside, thoroughly used, torn and warn and loudly proclaim; WOW; What a ride!!! Soon, I'm going to do it AGAiN in different skin!!
AmigaFuture is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th August 2012, 08:29   #15443  |  Link
frank
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: https://t.me/pump_upp
Posts: 811
Secondary Video/Audio

Full Backup of Harry Potter Philosopher ULTIMATE EDITION works (incl. PIP)
but

- you cannot activate the secondary audio stream (the last)
AUD_015 (2nd) DTS-Express, Stereo, English
Whatever language you select, the stream will not be activated. The red cross remains on selection window.
Full Backup then will play the main audio stream.

- you cannot deactivate the secondary video
VC-1, 480p, 23.976fps

Tested with 0.40.10 and 0.41.01

--------
Ok, I see: Problem is the DTS Express Codec in secondary stream...

Last edited by frank; 4th August 2012 at 14:43.
frank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th August 2012, 14:49   #15444  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,973
Quote:
Originally Posted by AmigaFuture View Post
JDobbs, that's why I typed "Something to consider." This is bug reporting so experimental is part of that, I get that. ~Grin~

I see there's a JAR directory; now. I did notice with the warning being part of Auto Blanking, the final didn't function. Hmm.. Perhaps a clue? I don't yet get the structure of Blu-ray disks like I do mostly for DVD. So..enjoying learning.

Ch3vr0n, I've noticed it before, too. First time I've typed about it.

I know that time doesn't actually exist (not what this thread is about so, that's as far as I go here) so I don't get "concerned" with "Waste" or "Lack" of time. I may check an older/new version of AnyDVD for possible causes. The feeling I get concurs with JDobbs about Java...an area I'm still learning with Blu-ray.
I'll look into finding a reliable way of identifying streams with BD-J -- and not blank those.

Hmm... but I've always heard that time is money... and money exists. And while money can't buy happiness, lack of money can certainly make you miserable. So, in a way, time can buy you happiness.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net

Last edited by jdobbs; 4th August 2012 at 14:53.
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th August 2012, 14:55   #15445  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,973
Quote:
Originally Posted by frank View Post
Full Backup of Harry Potter Philosopher ULTIMATE EDITION works (incl. PIP)
but

- you cannot activate the secondary audio stream (the last)
AUD_015 (2nd) DTS-Express, Stereo, English
Whatever language you select, the stream will not be activated. The red cross remains on selection window.
Full Backup then will play the main audio stream.

- you cannot deactivate the secondary video
VC-1, 480p, 23.976fps

Tested with 0.40.10 and 0.41.01

--------
Ok, I see: Problem is the DTS Express Codec in secondary stream...
I've really spent a lot of time trying to figure out what it is that some players don't like about the way I'm remuxing DTS-Express.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th August 2012, 16:46   #15446  |  Link
Capsbackup
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,995
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
I've really spent a lot of time trying to figure out what it is that some players don't like about the way I'm remuxing DTS-Express.
Also, at least with some, maybe most, standalone players you need to set the players audio setup to "mixed" (Sony's) to even be able to play and hear the secondary audio for the PiP option.
Capsbackup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th August 2012, 17:58   #15447  |  Link
AmigaFuture
Registered User
 
AmigaFuture's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Within the main Source.
Posts: 895
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
I'll look into finding a reliable way of identifying streams with BD-J -- and not blank those.

Hmm... but I've always heard that time is money... and money exists. And while money can't buy happiness, lack of money can certainly make you miserable. So, in a way, time can buy you happiness.
BD-J: Cool. I've noticed the same [was] happening with multiAVCHD though I haven't checked the newest incarnation. I didn't attribute it to Java...hmm..

Our lives are about abundance yet what Has been taught/passed for generations/tradition (after about ages 5-7) most parents start teaching away from it...from Their parents lessons. That's a very flawed way of viewing Reality and it keeps abundance (Well-Being) from coming in (Much more depth there..then I'll share here). I've switched from Things Make Me Happy to Happy Before I get stuff and focus on appreciation of what I have and am creating (MUST remain Focused)...with great appreciation for contrast. 0 regrets/excuses, and a massive love of Life. The Secret (1st edition, best one) was my catalyst of major change; away from The Matrix (the Trilogy is about it, but missing some info..), I became very aware of some of my sloppy creations. Very skeptical...but I kept with it (Nudges). Woah..extremely cool!! Check into Abraham-Hicks (Ask, and It Is Given; The Vortex..) for further info if you like. My recent donation is part of those changes. You replied, so..respectfully, so did I. Anything more should probably be in a PM.
__________________
Life is not a journey to the grave; but rather to skid out broadside, thoroughly used, torn and warn and loudly proclaim; WOW; What a ride!!! Soon, I'm going to do it AGAiN in different skin!!
AmigaFuture is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2012, 05:10   #15448  |  Link
Maverick Enigma
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2
Fixed_crf not working?

Jdobbs:

First of, thank you for this great app! I have used several video encoding app, but so far, yours tops them all in term of simplicity and performance!

About the bug, it seems like fixed_crf paramter is not applied correctly. From what I understand, the smaller the fixed_crf value, the bigger the size of the movie. But no matter what fixed_crf values i set, the sizes of the reencoded movies are the same. Other settings are: Custom Target Size (####), High Quality, One Pass (CRF) encoding. I also notice that the size of the movie only goes down, when I set the Custom Target Size to a really small value (1000). Increasing Custom Target Size has no effect on the size.
I first noticed this in v.40.xx, but it could have happened even before that.
Maverick Enigma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2012, 13:52   #15449  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,973
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maverick Enigma View Post
Jdobbs:

First of, thank you for this great app! I have used several video encoding app, but so far, yours tops them all in term of simplicity and performance!

About the bug, it seems like fixed_crf paramter is not applied correctly. From what I understand, the smaller the fixed_crf value, the bigger the size of the movie. But no matter what fixed_crf values i set, the sizes of the reencoded movies are the same. Other settings are: Custom Target Size (####), High Quality, One Pass (CRF) encoding. I also notice that the size of the movie only goes down, when I set the Custom Target Size to a really small value (1000). Increasing Custom Target Size has no effect on the size.
I first noticed this in v.40.xx, but it could have happened even before that.
I've been using is quite a bit in testing lately -- it's working for me. The way to check is to look at LASTCMD.TXT (in the BD-RB folder) while the encode is executing. If it is working right you'll see "-crf xx" in the command line (xx will equal the fixed value you've used). Something to note: BD-RB does not accept a value less than 10, and will disable fixed_crf with any specified value that is smaller -- so it may be possible that's your issue. Generally a value of 18-20 will give you a result that is identical to the original, so anything less than 10 would be a waste anyway.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net

Last edited by jdobbs; 5th August 2012 at 13:58.
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2012, 21:20   #15450  |  Link
Fozziedd2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 3
Did something more radical change with the latest version 4101? Everytime I start off with BD Rebuilder, it locks and closes. I updated this version as I always do, but something seems to be different... Any thoughts or other reports?
Fozziedd2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2012, 22:59   #15451  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,973
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fozziedd2 View Post
Did something more radical change with the latest version 4101? Everytime I start off with BD Rebuilder, it locks and closes. I updated this version as I always do, but something seems to be different... Any thoughts or other reports?
Nope... you're the only report of any issue like that. Sounds like something else in your system, but I can't really tell without more details. What do you mean by "locks and closes"? The two seem to be mutually exclusive.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2012, 23:56   #15452  |  Link
steveg32
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
I've backed up MIB. It's been a long time, though.
v0.41.01, "Men In Black (#1)", Full Backup was no problem to BD-25, but unable to backup as Movie-Only Backup>Alternate Movie-Only Output (DVD-5). Tried both available Playlists (016 Chapters). This is the 1st & only time this has ever happened.

@jdobbs, can you duplicate? Sorry but I deleted all ini files, etc.

- Windows Version: 6.1 [7601]
- AVISYNTH Version: [2.5.8.0], Ok
- HAALI Splitter: [1.9.42.1], Ok
- FFDSHOW: [3882], Ok
- WIN7 preferred AVC CODEC: Ok
- WIN7 preferred VC-1 CODEC: Ok
- WIN7 preferred MPEG2 CODEC: Ok
- FFDSHOW VC-1 set to "wmv9", Ok
- FFDSHOW MPEG2 set to "libavcodec": Ok
- FFDSHOW AVC set to "ffmpeg-mt": Ok
- AnyDVD settings check: Ok.
- BD Rebuilder v0.41.0.1, Ok
- X264: Ok
- AFTEN: Ok
- FAAC: Ok
- MP4BOX: Ok
- WAVI: Ok
- TSMUXER: Ok

Mahalo brah
steveg32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th August 2012, 00:41   #15453  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,973
Quote:
Originally Posted by steveg32 View Post
v0.41.01, "Men In Black (#1)", Full Backup was no problem to BD-25, but unable to backup as Movie-Only Backup>Alternate Movie-Only Output (DVD-5). Tried both available Playlists (016 Chapters). This is the 1st & only time this has ever happened.

@jdobbs, can you duplicate? Sorry but I deleted all ini files, etc.

- Windows Version: 6.1 [7601]
- AVISYNTH Version: [2.5.8.0], Ok
- HAALI Splitter: [1.9.42.1], Ok
- FFDSHOW: [3882], Ok
- WIN7 preferred AVC CODEC: Ok
- WIN7 preferred VC-1 CODEC: Ok
- WIN7 preferred MPEG2 CODEC: Ok
- FFDSHOW VC-1 set to "wmv9", Ok
- FFDSHOW MPEG2 set to "libavcodec": Ok
- FFDSHOW AVC set to "ffmpeg-mt": Ok
- AnyDVD settings check: Ok.
- BD Rebuilder v0.41.0.1, Ok
- X264: Ok
- AFTEN: Ok
- FAAC: Ok
- MP4BOX: Ok
- WAVI: Ok
- TSMUXER: Ok

Mahalo brah
I'll see what I can find...
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th August 2012, 01:07   #15454  |  Link
AmigaFuture
Registered User
 
AmigaFuture's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Within the main Source.
Posts: 895
Since the last 2 versions BD-RB hasn't crashed while I've un/blanked, changed settings, etc. The older versions crashed sometimes just after I made some change to settings. 7 64-bit. Program stability seems good with my machine.
__________________
Life is not a journey to the grave; but rather to skid out broadside, thoroughly used, torn and warn and loudly proclaim; WOW; What a ride!!! Soon, I'm going to do it AGAiN in different skin!!
AmigaFuture is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th August 2012, 02:31   #15455  |  Link
Ch3vr0n
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,368
41.01 runs just fine here too. Just finished 2 encodes with it. Wrath of the titans (menu's & movie) and battleship (full disc backup)
Ch3vr0n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th August 2012, 15:22   #15456  |  Link
k-c-ksum
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 268
just got around to backing up FATF again. The secondary video is now progressive
__________________
k-c-ksum
k-c-ksum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th August 2012, 16:48   #15457  |  Link
rippn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 48
Getting this error:

[23:08:36]PHASE TWO - Rebuild Started
- [23:08:36] Rebuilding BD file Structure
- [23:08:53] CorrectMPLS() 00009 2408
[05:51:28] - Aborted at user request

Any suggestions?
rippn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th August 2012, 23:21   #15458  |  Link
Ch3vr0n
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,368
Quote:
Originally Posted by rippn View Post
Getting this error:

[23:08:36]PHASE TWO - Rebuild Started
- [23:08:36] Rebuilding BD file Structure
- [23:08:53] CorrectMPLS() 00009 2408
[05:51:28] - Aborted at user request

Any suggestions?
Euhm ye, post the rest of the logfile, not a 4 line segment. The info in the logfile is there for a reason.
Ch3vr0n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th August 2012, 05:21   #15459  |  Link
Maverick Enigma
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
I've been using is quite a bit in testing lately -- it's working for me. The way to check is to look at LASTCMD.TXT (in the BD-RB folder) while the encode is executing. If it is working right you'll see "-crf xx" in the command line (xx will equal the fixed value you've used). Something to note: BD-RB does not accept a value less than 10, and will disable fixed_crf with any specified value that is smaller -- so it may be possible that's your issue. Generally a value of 18-20 will give you a result that is identical to the original, so anything less than 10 would be a waste anyway.
I checked the lastcmd.txt and the crf value is there, but it still did not apply correctly. While messing around, I moved the fixed_crf parameter to the end of the ini file, and it stared working However, it looks like the encoded movie's size depends on the value set in Custom Target Size when fixed_crf is set to 15.

Org. size: 24.4GB
Fixed_crf: 18
Custome target size: 43000MB
Encoded size: 4.83GB

Org. size: 24.4GB
Fixed_crf: 18
Custome target size: 1000MB
Encoded size: 4.83GB

Org. size: 24.4GB
Fixed_crf: 15
Custome target size: 43000MB
Encoded size: 7.3GB

Org. size: 24.4GB
Fixed_crf: 15
Custome target size: 1000MB
Encoded size: 6.92GB

Any idea?
Maverick Enigma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th August 2012, 12:11   #15460  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,973
Quote:
Originally Posted by rippn View Post
Getting this error:

[23:08:36]PHASE TWO - Rebuild Started
- [23:08:36] Rebuilding BD file Structure
- [23:08:53] CorrectMPLS() 00009 2408
[05:51:28] - Aborted at user request

Any suggestions?
I just looked in that routine -- and, while I can't be positive, it appears your MPLS might be corrupted. Error 9 means there is a subscript is out-of-range, and the subscript offset referenced there is taken directly from the MPLS file.

What disc are you attempting?
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 17:30.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.